Image of Gran Costa Adeje Hotel

Gran Costa Adeje Hotel

28 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
5 stars
Avenida de Bruselas, 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Spain

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Victoria Marks
Ok but not a 5 star...
5 months ago
Firstly we did have a great stay here, the food was lovely, the rooms were nice and the location was great. Some aspects of the hotel are done very very well, like the touches the staff make at dinner and also the room service. It also has a very nice layout and there are many parts to it where alot of thought has gone into it to make it a very nice well presented hotel.

The potetntial that the hotel has is immense but while there are some nice touches as mentioned above and it does have that 5 star capability, it does lack in some areas where you would think as a 5 star hotel, it would excel. For example, there is no kettle, tea or coffee in your room and you had to pay €12 to hire a kettle (what is all that about???). You also had to pay €2 a day to use the safe which seemed also strange for a 5 star hotel. This you get free in your room in nearly all hotels I have ever been in..

The food was nice, but a little repetitive after being there for 10 days and again for a 5 star hotel you would think that the level and choice of food would be great.

The pool is very nice, the weather was great and really made it a great holiday. It is a big pool area and sometimes felt overcrowded and also the children did love it, so from that perspective it is a great hotel for families. The hotel just seemed to lack things and because it is published as a 5 star I think that personally it makes you expect more from the hotel when really it is a 4 star. The one thing that we found was that it was very clean and there were plenty of staff there to ensure that all things were cleaned and kept very well.

We would not go there again but it is a good hotel and one that I would recommend going if i was asked.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended
A.Ros
Looking forward to going back
5 years 6 months ago
I went on half board basis as I wanted to try their a la carte restaurant, La Laja. The buffet is fantastic. Great salad and cheese choice, what is my favourite and superb breakfast buffet, plenty of cereals, bread, bakery, German cakes are awesome. High chair provided for my daughter and smiles of the staff with her messy attitude.

Well located for my husband to play golf and for me to go to the beach, also nice shopping centre close to the beach with exclusive brands.

Hotel staff were very friendly and extremely nice with my daughter, what I'm very happy about.
For entertainment I'm happy about the mini disco and mini golf, with that and the pools I'm more than happy.
Looking forward getting a few days off to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jamie
Absolutely beautiful hotel
6 years 7 months ago
I visited this hotel in January with my wife and two children. We had an excellent time, the hotel is absolutely beautiful.

We went all inclusive and I was actually quite impressed, the food wasn't too bad. We did go to the A la Carte restaurant at an extra cost but it was well worth it. We did not stay for the entertainment every night as we wanted to venture out a little but what we see we quite enjoyed.

I would certainly return to this hotel. Staff made us feel very welcome and were great with service, everything was all nice and clean, which is something I was worried about as I did read on some reviews that the cleanliness was not upto 5 star standards.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D R Thompson
8 years 10 months ago
This hotel is a favourite of mine and I have visited many times. The quality of food in the main restaurant has fell to an all time low, not well presented and allowed to stand in bain-maries for far too long, also the choice had reduced. It was our fault but we should not have been in that restaurant but should have been in the smaller La Laja restaurant that was much better but the food was repetetive with regards to choice. The hotel is well appointed but is wearing and will require a lick of paint and material upgrade within the rooms shortly.
Depends what you pay as to whether it is vfm but the food needs to improve otherwise people will prefer elsewhere.
The Chinese Acrobatics Act was special and no one could say they were not entertained.
A group of Russians were using the hotel whilst we were there, on holiday courtesy of their company (we class this as a benefit in kind) and they do not understand social behaviour, they do not queue, give consideration to others so it would be worth checking to see if they were in the hotel in large numbers and avoid like the plague!
Not sure which beach the previous commentators were referring to but there is a splendid golden sand beach less than 10 minutes adjacent the Del Duque Hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Johann Gunn
9 years 1 month ago
The hotel is really nice, spacey and with relaxed atmosphere. It is very clean and the staff is helpful.

The location is a 3-400 meters from the beach, but then again the beach is not so very pleasant in the vicinity. It is a bit rocky and the sand is black, not white. The hotel makes up for that with a fantastic and large pool area.

To go to a white sand beach you have to go to "playa de las americas" which is a 5min taxi ride from here or about 30 min walking distance.

They have a "no reserve" policy for the sunbeds so the sunbeds are easier to get hold of. If people reserve sunbeds and dont use them for some period of time, their stuff is put aside so others can use them.

Ive only gone to the breakfast buffet, but it is excellent with lots to choose from.

Over all this hotel is very nice and I am happy that I chose it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Urval Utsyn

Recommended
Graham
9 years 6 months ago
We stayed in this hotel, during late January and early February. The reception area is very large, but in many ways lacks any form of atmosphere, also the bars are located within the reception area which can make the reception area a bit noisy.

Rooms are large, but a number of rooms like many other hotels overlook a road.

The pool area was clean, and a number of pre school age children seemed to like the pool area in general.

The price of drinks were abut average, for this sort of hotel.

The biggest problem was the main dining area, which reminded me of a motoway cafe on a busy day. There was no management of the staff, and the quality of the food left much to be desired, for example the hot food was always lukewarm.

Food quality was of 3 star level rather than than five star.

Its not a hotel we would return to as many beter hotels for a similar price are in the locality.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

D R Thompson
9 years 8 months ago
We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and chose it because it meets our needs in terms of standards,amenities, location and most of all good value for money.
The hotel is nipping clean although the rooms are beginning to tire and will soon need redecoration/refurbishment.
The location is a quiet area but within easy reach of beach and other resort facilities.
The majority of staff were aiming to please, polite and responsive, although the odd one did seem to have undergone a charisma by-bass.
The animation team seemed absent to many programme activities and the night time entertainment consisted of magicians, acrobats and the animation teams efforts to star in Greas and Saturday Night Fever.
The hotel represents good value for money, you get what you pay for in this world but at times you can achieve good value for money, for VFM I had no complaints with this 10 day holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
David
9 years 8 months ago
Excellent value for money. Staff on the whole were professional and pleasant, especially the reception and bar staff. Main exception to this was the dining room, as has been identified before. Food could have been better, though the choice was quite good. Rooms quite large and had everything you would expect. Price of drinks in the hotel quite reasonable, although the mixers were expensive.Pool areas all nice and clean. Did not see too much of the entertainment, although the tributes were quite good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
If you want to stay in the Ritz, spend
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Douglas
10 years ago
When we arrived, we thought we had picked,the best. As the reception was grand indeed. Arrived about 10.30.pm.@ a cold buffet was laid on. We thought this is it we have picked the best, but that is where it stopped @ reception,rooms were ok, but not 5 star, breakfast,ok, if you like brussel sprouts for breakfast,but evening meals,are a disgrace, not what you would call 5 star.

This hotel would be lucky to get 3 stars, in the uk.the food is deplorable, I mean the steaks, or chicken, or fish, is cooked on a flat grill, with no flavour, nothing & its the cheapest of meats, & once cooked there stacked so high,its cold when you choose it.

Honestly im not a fussy person but believe me the food is a disgrace. I have never been to a hotel anywhere & seen as many people from the same hotel on half board eating out every night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.