Image of Jinene Hotel

Jinene Hotel

17 of 21 hotels in Sousse

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Eve
7 years 7 months ago
Food was great! Not much to eat if you are vegatarian! Hotel was clean, carpets in the bedroom were always dirty as the same dead bugs and sand were always on the floor.
Hotel is really a 2 star grade and needs updating. The location was ok, nearest towns were about an hours walk in both directions, plenty of taxis though!

Staff were great and did their best to entertain you! Outside staff would sleep on the sun loungers in the indoor swimming pool talk endlessly on the mobile phone and smoke in there while you were swimming ewww!!!

I would'nt visit again though, was bored for some of the time there as it was in febuary and the weather was cold with only the older generations from other countries staying there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Rosemarie Hadi-Ismail
10 years 2 months ago
My husband and I have just returned from a lovely holiday in the Jinene Hotel. The friendly maid kept our basic but spacious room very clean. The majority of the staff were pleasant and helpful and the 'Animation' entertainers were absolutely wonderful keeping us well entertained every night. The restaurant was clean and the food adequate although a little bland, there was plenty to eat and for all tastes. The hotel pool is lovely although we spent more time on the beach which was just a few minutes away. The beech area is quite busy and I would advise any single young ladies to beware of the local 'casanovas' who for some reason are allowed to parade it (there is security to make sure they don't get too near the guests). This is certainly a family hotel and there was an evening disco for the kids which I am sure the adults enjoyed too. All in all we had a great time and we will certainly be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
June Anne Westhead
10 years 3 months ago
i stayed at this hotel for 3 years on and off its the best holiday ever the hotel is fabulas the rooms are larg clean and the made service is good the food is good with lots of variatie as for the hotel staff they are the best we have ten oclock on nights and woodge on days these people are the best as fothe anemation people work really hard i am veary close to the dj azziz as we have been seeing each other for a long time he is the best all so mareo is a good anemater these people are friendley kind and helpfull i cant wate to book in to the hotel again so keep the good work up and see you soon anne x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
Lee
10 years 11 months ago
Food at the hotel was the worst I've ever had the only thing I had was the chicken and that was dry.

If the rooms were redecorated and the food improved it would be a bit better but not going back. Same songs every night for the disco.

Go to the irish bar down the road out of the main gate turn right down to the 2nd rounderbout turn right. its about 200yards on your left.(full english breakfast,afternoon tea,live football,darts,karaoke,live music,hot+cold food the steaks are the best mmmm I loved them.... its called O'Conners
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: t/cook

Jennifer
11 years 5 months ago
The pool area was lovely. Plenty of sunbeds and cushions available.

Bar staff always near at hand to order drinks or food. Beach area was ok. Loads of seaweed though. Not sure if they clean it up in summer. We preferred to stay by the pool.

The entertainment team organised things all through the day and would come round asking if you wanted to participate. No hassle if you just want to sit and read a book. Think this would be a great hotel for families, all the kids there seemed to love it. The entertainment at night was ok. Always a show of some sort followed by a disco. Not my usual cup of tea but it was fine for on holiday. If you don't like it there are plenty of places ouside you can go. Just ask the rep for suggestions. Taxis were very cheap.

Food at the hotel was the worst I've ever had. I'm vegetarian and really struggled unless I wanted cabbage at every meal. It was the same salads at breakfast, lunch and dinner. My husband is not vegetarian but he struggled as well. Breakfast was the worst. After a couple of days we asked if we could have lunch instead of dinner. We ate out every evening. Lots of lovely restaurants in Port el Kantaoui.

Rooms were not the best. Carpet half way up the walls. Cleaned every day though. The rest of the hotel was lovely.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. If the rooms were redecorated and the food improved it would be fantastic!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Timothy
11 years 6 months ago
Brilliant hotel, location and weather. Would definately recommend!!!

Me and my friends had a great time here. The nightlife is ok as long as you find the right place and are willing to look. Food ok its edible and there is always plenty of it. Definately worth every penny.

Staff great. Entertainment was ok but was the same every night which got a bit boring. The best thing to do was eat tea, get ready and go out. It is based right in the middle of Sousse and Port El Kantaoui so you always had the choice of which town you wanted to visit. I recommend Kantaoui as there was more to do.

The marina is lovely and you can get cheap boat rides from there. Also there is a water park there which looked really good but was not open due to time of year...Will definatley be going back. Highly recommended to people of all ages.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Tony
11 years 7 months ago
Nice hotel but would not come again as I feel there are other countries that are better for holidaying at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Jess
11 years 8 months ago
I have stayed in the Jinene hotel before and it was great, this time we stayed in the Royal Jinene which I found wasn't as good.

One of the receptionists was very rude and arrogant which made you uncomfortable at times.

The rooms were bigger than in the Jinene but not by much. Towels were changed regularly but were often took and not brought back.

Food was good and was always something you liked.

Entertainment is usually great here in the summer but in the winter there's nothing going on because there aren't many people and also the weather is not always hot, so if you want to chill out this is the holiday for you!

It was a good holiday all in all but you can't swim in the outdoor pool it's too cold, although the indoor pool is heated which is a bonus!

To be honest I went back to see my boyfriend who works as an entertainer at the hotel but if it wasn't for him I don't think I would of enjoyed my holiday as much as I did.

If you have children you are better off in the summer when there is more to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Michelle
11 years 8 months ago
Staff are great can't do enough although some do make you feel a bit uncomfertable. Would come again as people in Tunisia are really friendly.

Food was ok I suppose, bit repetative and bland.
Rooms kept clean by maids who very friendly.

Would recommend for singles or couples not too good for children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Claire
11 years 10 months ago
The rooms are great, the hygiene was brilliant, the food was lovely, the area is great as we loved the bars and restaurants.

The hotel staff are the best I even know the manager he was very nice. I have been here lots and I am going back in 2 weeks to see boyfriend Sam who phones me all the time as we have a son together and he will meet his son for first time he is only 11 weeks old.

The entertainment is top azzy is the best D.J. ever keep up the good work lads hope to see you in two weeks.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.