Image of Marhaba Hotel

Marhaba Hotel

9 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 70 reviews
3 stars

70 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    20
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Valerie
Excellent hotel, as good as the last time we went
5 years ago
This was my second visit to the hotel and can honestly say it was just as good as last time. Still clean, rooms made up every day, clean towels and bedding. The food is excellent. So many choices.

The hotel has had a lot of the walkways resurfaced, which made walking to beach a lot easier for me as im disabled.

The staff recognised my mum and me and it was fantastic we were treated like family.

The entertainment were all new to us but still as good and the new team has female entertainers aswell.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tara
We all loved it
5 years 2 months ago
The food was very good, and even if you didn't like the food, they did spaghetti bolognese, pizza and chips every day.

Our room was cleaned every day, with clean sheets and towels too, which was great. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and polite.

The entertainers made our holiday what it was; they were very friendly and got everyone involved with everything they did.

We would definitely visit Hotel Marharba again we all loved it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Neilm
5 years 6 months ago
Hotel check in could not find booking at first but while we enjoyed some local tea it was discovered under my partners name rather than lead passenger. Porter took control of baggage and set off to room, it was obvious on this walk that the hotel was working to improve some rooms and corridors were in poor condition in some areas, the hotel is very large and depending on room number it could be some distance from main lounge dining room etc.

Room 345 was comfortable though basic and clean good view of pool and gardens with sea views. Maid cleaned room every day and changed sheets and towels all to a good standard.

Food choices were plenty and all food we experienced was to a good if not excellent standard every day.

All inclusive drinks were ok myself and partner enjoyed them all and the wines was also palatable.

Entertainment and animation was as you would expect but the animation team were very enthusiastic but not too much so to pester.

Bingo each evening 10 dinar 4 tickets however we observed Tunisian guests only paying 6 dinars so be mindful it does not appear to be a level charge.

Pool area and sun beds all very clean observed pool being checked several times per day and cleaning each morning whilst there.

Taxi to Port (PEK) 5 dinars Sousse medina 4-5, each time driver attempt to get more, no change etc etc so have correct money or hop out and buy a bag of crisps as I did when reaching drop off. It is possible to walk to PEK approx. 2hrs and Sousse medina 30-40 mins or Marhaba Harbour approx. 30 mins.

The hotel PEK and Sousse were very very quiet for the obvious reasons there were no Germans (whoop whoop) or Italian nor French or Russian guests in fact only approx. 150-200 British so there was no queuing issues for food drinks sun beds etc however if hotel was to be anything like full capacity from what I could see this may be a big issue for guests.

Spoke with reception evening before leaving and there was no urgency to leave room for 12 (it was very quiet however) enjoyed breakfast and lunch on final day and all inclusive drinks up to leaving around 5pm.

Taxi to airport 15 Dinars check in no problem hand luggage was not weighed on this occasion? Duty free as you would expect however there was no Hand Rollling tobacco and only drum available in most shops in Sousse PEK etc. Top tip Monastir airport refreshments are expensive so be prepared and take water food with you if required or be prepared to spend spend spend, if you fancy a beer get a six pack from duty free 6 Dinar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Valerie
Brilliant all round
5 years 6 months ago
My mother and I stayed in the Marharba hotel in Sousse. It is a lovely hotel and even though it is having a lot of work done possibly due to its age this did not cause any problems with our stay.

We were half board this did not mean we were excluded from anything. The food was brilliant, so much choice and so much food, we went half board yet were never hungry; the food was never cold and different meals every day. The hotel put on such a selection is was impossible not to find something to eat.

The rooms are cleaned every day with clean linen and towels every day, the cleaning staff would always knock before entering the room and come back if you were still in.

The staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help us ( I am disabled and use an airgo walking chair ). The porters helped every day taking my chair up the 3 steps to our ground floor corridor. There was an option to move rooms but did not feel the need to.

The animation team are fantastic, great bunch and always getting guests to join in with the fun and games. They were not pushy if you did not want to join in; they were always polite and tried not to leave anyone out, always going to each guest and asking if they would like to join in.

I had a brilliant holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lisa
Ideal location for the beach
5 years 8 months ago
This was our first time to Tunisia, after reading some reports on the hotel we went with an open mind and was a bit worried about what to expect.

On arrival all our worries were soon forgotten. We were All Inclusive and cannot fault anything about this holiday.

The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice, my husband is a fussy eater but he ate more here than he does at home.

The hotel was nice and clean; our room was cleaned everyday although basic it served its purpose.

Hotel staff were very friendly. The animation team were a lovely bunch of guys although the entertainment was not up to much. Location of hotel was ok, just a few minutes walk into town of Sousse. Ideal location if you like the beach.

We had a fantastic time whilst we were here and would not hesitate in coming back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John
We would not recommend.
5 years 8 months ago
This hotel is poor, the food was cold, same old stuff beef that they re-cooked.

Rats running free around indoor pool.

If you gave a tip to the bar staff they looked after you, I gave them 2 dnr which is about £1.

Maid was good as well, clean sheets. Shame I waited for a pillow for 6 days.

Outside pool was -5 but I did go on the water slides but got out quick.

Entertainment was poor.

Would not recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Richard Farley
Enjoyable cheap holiday
5 years 10 months ago
I had an enjoyable cheap holiday and well looked after. For a 3 star hotel it had good food and a very friendly lady cleaned our room to a good standard. Not sure what some people expect considering what they paid. Weather was good but the outside pool was a bit cold, in fact the sea was warmer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John
An excellent value for money 3 star hotel
5 years 10 months ago
This was our second stay at this hotel, we went all inclusive both times. It is an excellent value for money 3 star hotel. There are safety deposit boxes behind reception, this costs 27 dinars but you are given 20 dinars deposit back when you return the key so. The hotel is showing its age but it is clean and well maintained.

The staff are helpful and diligent and we found a small tip goes a long way. I am a very fussy eater and usually end up with just a plate of chips abroad but, this hotel food is more than edible and even enjoyable most days. Some food is cooked on the spot for you, pizzas, steak, kebabs, pancakes and omelettes.

The rooms are clean but basic, most with sea views. The hotel is on the sea front and you walk from the hotel onto the beach {no roads to cross}. The resort is nice but out of the hotel and on the beach you will be constantly harassed by all manor of sellers but the hotel does provide adequate security on the beach for its residents. My advice is do not buy anything from any of them, avoid conversation and just say no thank you.

The hotel evening entertainment is poor to say the least, we did hope that it would of improved since our last visit but it was a let down. There is one game of bingo every night and amazingly an associate of the bingo caller won twice whilst we were there.

All in all we did have a nice stay and would not put anyone off going. It is a cheap holiday and it is good value for your money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Nick
Basic hotel, food and facilities
5 years 10 months ago
Just back after a week in the Hotel Marhaba, Sousse, Tunisia. I went on a late deal, all inclusive package which was cheap. Much was promised but not much was delivered.

I was first assigned a dusty room with no balcony or terrace with a child's cot in the corner, and then was moved to a room with cockroach problems, and eventually to a third room on day four of my visit.

The food was adequate but nothing special. Quantity over quality. We had to queue for drinks and the food was buffet style - more queues. Queues for everything, even a glass of cola, juice (vile cordial mix), food, pool side items, everything. The real-juice bar and smoothies were nowhere to be seen.

The entertainment was simple and basic. The animation team did their best but darts, dance competitions, and disco's are a difficult to sell day in and day out.

If you want a cheap holiday in a 1965 built hotel with basic comforts, which include lots of unexceptional food, limited internet access (one computer in the lobby) and unlimited alcohol (limited only by the endless queues), then this is the holiday for you!

Things I liked - it was low cost, location was a mile from Sousse on the beach, inexpensive massages in gym centre,a day trip to local sights, room staff were friendly and thorough in their work, although did expect tip for bottle of water that they were required to leave in room.

Happy to be home! Will chalk this up to experience and consider it a life lesson.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Barbara Horton
Lovely!
6 years ago
I travelled with my daughter, we arrived at the hotel at night and were welcomed with a drink, check-in was quick and our cases were carried to our room by a member of staff.

We had a pool view, which we requested. The room was spacious and very clean, sheets/towels were changed daily and a bottle of water left each day. There was a long walk along the corridors to the room, but we soon got used to that.

You were given a card to place on a numbered table in the restaurant, where you sat each day for meals; I thought this was a good idea. So you were not looking round for somewhere to sit. You got a ticket to give to the waiter, for drinks. We both found the food to be very nice, a good variety, we didn't eat out once!

The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable. The animation team worked hard to entertain day and night.

The pool was quite large and very clean. We particularly liked the walk along the beach to Sousse, the beach was lovely, very soft sand.

We would definitely visit this hotel again, but wouldn't recommend it for people who have walking difficulties; there are a lot of steps.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: