Image of Riadh Palms Hotel

Riadh Palms Hotel

13 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
4 stars

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good location
3 years 5 months ago
Nice hotel but furniture is shabby and needs refurbishment. The room offered was small and overlooked the street and kitchen roofs so we upgraded to a sea view room. Stunning view and worth the extra cost of £260 for 14 days. The food was excellent, fresh and plenty of choice. Entertainment was dire and consisted of bingo and young people trying to mime/impersonate Michael Jackson and Patrick Swayze. If all you want is a nice beach holiday this may be for you. Everyone is looking for a tip.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext

Hotel tip: Sea view rooms are best but more expensive

Recommended
Trev
7 years 4 months ago

this is 100% truth.
aprox 2dinar to pound and you want a lot of them.
ask for a room away from the hotel renovations work or you will be upat 7.30 and not back in till 1900hrs.
5 dinar a day to give to the security men if you dont want your towels taken off the beach chairs every time you get up.
3 dinar a day for the safe and you need it .
2 dinar a day for the tv control,
5 dinar a day for the fridge .
standared day time entertainment.
ever night entertainment same differant dress 1 night a week you have to pay 10 dinar per person to see some snakes and a small monkey.
food hot with good choice but same every day.
beach very good no stones and no fish .
drinks no rum - brandy and very slow bar service if full .
we went and it was 55% full and had probs getting a chair 0n beach or pool.
dont use the free hotel bus its not free only to get on . ha ha . use the train one every 30mins but only pay one way they have 3 but all dif and you pay for a return you have to wait for it and thats a 90min round trip.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Paige
7 years 4 months ago
i loved it the animation team is fab i loved it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Brenda Walker
7 years 5 months ago
We were on AI basis and found the hotel was kept very clean with cleaners continually doing the rounds. We enjoyed the food but I have to say if you don't enjoy Tunisian food you would probably complain at what was on offer. There was more than enough to choose from at every meal and it waiters kept continually filling our glasses up with wine throughout. They were very pleasant and in no way expected us to tip them every time as some people would indicate. The only draw back was having to return to the hotel dining area to eat lunch as the beach bar was not open at this time of the year and so it disrupted our beach life as we had to go in and get changed every lunch time whereas we would have preferred to eat something light around the beach. We did in fact make up sandwiches at breakfast for the last few days and take them to the beach with us as it was possible to buy drinks on the beach. We were allowed one evening meal in the A La Carte restaurant which was waiter service, this made a nice change. The hotel was in a fantastic location on the beach and within easy walking distance to Sousse centre, we also walked along the beach one day to Port El Kantoui which was nice. We upgraded our room before we went to have a sea view and this was well worth doing as we had a larger room even though we didn't particularly go out on to the balcony that much. We found the staff very friendly and the bar staff did not expect tips either and worked very hard. The local drinks (spirits) left a lot to be desired but we did get used to them, the beer was okay and we found Tiberine and Coke to be the best drink although surprisingly the whisky wasn't too bad. The gin didn't taste anything like gin as we know it but the brandy was palatable too. The only rude person we came across was the person in charge of the sunbeds who was only waht I can describe as horrible, he expected tips every day from people just for putting a sunbed out for them. We were quite happy to do this ourselves but he objected to this. To my mind sunbeds should already be set out on the beach when you go down to the beach, in fact every hotel we saw allthe way to Port El Kantoui had their beds set out on the beach. One of the reasons for going AI is so that you don't have to carry money around with you.We can't comment too much on the entertainment as we only tried it one night and after about 15 minutes we left as it was useless and geared up for the children. This was held in the disco from 9 pm which I thought was much too late for young children as it didn't finish until about 11 pm. We did try the disco one night which was supposed to start at 11 pm but after waiting for half an hour and nothing happened we got bored and left. I think this needs to start at 11 pm as there is nothing else to do and people got fed up of hanging around and just went to bed. There is a fantastic spa in the hotel and on the second day we spent all morning having various massages and treatments and went back for more on our last day, it is well worth a visit and totally relaxing. We do intend going back next year though as all in all we had a brilliant holiday and will give the entertainment another try.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hotels4u.com

Recommended
Elliot Smith
7 years 11 months ago
it was famtastic
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
8 years ago
We have just returned from an all inclusive week at this hotel and would certainly not return.

The hotel has a wonderful location right on the beach and is certainly worth paying the supplement for a sea-view. It is a huge hotel with a lovely swimming pool and plenty of sun beds so there wasn't a mad crack of dawn scramble for them. There is also plenty of seating in large comfy chairs and sofas around the impressive foyer and lounge. It is generally kept very clean, apart from looking run-down and tired in some places. In fact another guest told us they had visited this hotel a few years ago only to find it was now run-down and they certainly would not return again.

The rooms are extremely spacious with a balcony or terrace and are cleaned and towels changed daily. The maid was a lovely lady who could not do enough for us. Some of the other staff were rather rude and begrudging to the British guests. One English couple asked for their tablecloth to be changed as it was stained from the previous occupant and the waiter replied "are you English?" What has this got to do with having a tablecloth changed?

Now the bad bits - the food and drink. Don't get me wrong, I am not a pie and chips junk food freak and am fully aware of Muslim culture and different foods etc. etc. as I have written reviews for hotels all over the world - but this was dreadful. Breakfast was a mad scramble, if you could find a plate as they often ran out. Apart from the usual bread and pastries, the only thing remotely edible was fried or scrambled eggs. This was obvious by the length of the queue for eggs. Other hot dishes included re-heats of last night's dinner and stewed onions, pepper and beetroot. If you can eat this for breakfast, you will do better than we did. Lunch and dinner were not much better. There was plenty of cous cous, pasta and more pasta (because it is cheap) and very poor quality cuts of meat and fish. It was the same fish every day choped lengthways so it was full of bones and covered in a different sauce. There was a carvery which was only used 3 times in the week and every time it was turkey legs. They were just chopped up in front of you and big lumps of skin, bone and any other part of it just dumped on your plate. We did not see one piece of chicken all the time we were there! My husband is a healthy eater and will try anything in the way of vegetables and salads, but even he struggled and had chips 3 times as there was nothing else to eat.

We had one night off when we had our complimentary visit to the al a carte restaurant. This was slightly better, but was basically the same food as the main restaurant but put on the plate for you!

The drinks were not much better. The beer and wine were passable but there was only local gin, whisky and vodka (watered down) and that was it. No other local brands of anything else. They were just chucked at you in the nearest glass to hand whatever shape, so you could get your wine in a whisky tumbler! Tea and coffee were from machines which were often broken and always had long queues as cups ran out.

The entertainment staff were pleasant but the entertainment was a bit cheesey. Even one of the animation team said the food was terrible and everyone complained about it.

In summing up, I would say it is such a shame about the food and drink in this hotel as the hotel itself and its location is superb. We hated the food, but if we were not all inclusive, there were few few places outside to eat at. We will not be returning.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Susan
8 years 4 months ago
Having read many mixed reviews we still decided to give this hotel a shot and I am glad we did.

Its by no means the nicest looking or modern hotel but it has everything you require to make it a good and enjoyable holiday.

Our room was a big family room that fitted 4 beds easily with a seperate bathroom and seperate toilet. It also had a balcony and as we were on the 6th floor had an amazing sea view. The rooms were cleaned daily and sheets changed once a week but towels everyday. I found on the whole the hotel was really clean (few occasions I came down to the pool area at 7am and some things were not moved from the night before etc)

Perfectly situated on the beach with a beach bar and resturant which served fast food (pizza's were awesome) then a buffet resturant upstairs that served breakfast,lunch and dinner. They also had an a la carte resturant you could visit once a week

Food was plentiful and I found it to be varied. I found the people that complained most about the food are the ones that wanted their home foods catered for (chicken nuggets and chips etc) Its a differet country they have different foods its good to try new things

Staff was always pleasant and very helpful. Mini Disco was a hit with many kids inc mine
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Family

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Riadh Palms, we had a fantastic holiday and have already booked to return in September. The weather wasn't on our side, but we made the best of it. The hotel was spotless, the room was made up everyday and kept very clean, bedding and towels were folded into amusing shapes and designs. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was a bit "cheesy!" but it was out of season and the animation team did their best!! The hotel is located right on a lovely soft sandy beach and about a ten minute walk into Sousse centre and a short road train ride into Port El Kantoui, 7 dinars return for 2 of us (approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Donna
8 years 11 months ago
Having read the reviews of this hotel I was dubious about my holiday. However, my partner and I returned yesterday from a wonderful weeks holiday.

The hotel probably doesn't deserve the 4* rating probably more 3*. Some of the hotel looks a little tired and they should definitely sack the decorator (he seems to get more paint on the carpet / tiles than on the walls). Bathroom a little dated and could do with re-grouting. That aside the staff all very friendly and helpful. The whole hotel was very clean. Food OK. in am a vegetarian so did find it a little limited but still something for everyone.

Hotel right on the beach, pool lovely.

The all inclusive package was good, Basically food, Beer, wine - all day. Spirits and limited cocktails in the evening.

Entertainment OK. not the best.

If you fancy eating out then head to the Saloon Bar. (come out of the hotel and turn right, Top of the hill on the left) Biggest burger I have ever seen. Cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel republic

Recommended
Fay
9 years 1 month ago
We found the hotel extremely clean, our room was lovely and modern-well maintained, marble floor with a good view. The staff were very friendly and eager to please. The selection of food was excellent, although long queues at the pool bar/restaurant at times.The pool was nice and clean.We were probably over generous with tipping waiters etc but we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back again. My five year old daughter loved it and the staff loved her.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: www.otbeach.com

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.