30 independent reviews of the Kapmar Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Kenan Evren Bulvari 4, 48700 Marmaris, Turkey
Kapmar Hotel
Kapmar Hotel Location
Ranked #90 of 112 hotels in Icmeler


3/5
Kapmar Hotel Kapmar Hotel is rated 3.23 out of 5 from 30 Reviews
60% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (30 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 2 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 5 stars

Kapmar Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Nice Hotel (but not for children)"
Jeff & Janette had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in May 2013
13 readers found this review helpful

The Kapmar hotel is in a central position and only 500mts from the beach.

Upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant man on the front desk named Murat. If you stay at the Kapmar and need anything or find a problem see Murat and he will get it sorted.
The hotel was very clean and the maids do a very good job, cleaning the rooms on a daily basis.
We stayed half board. Breakfast; juice, tea, coffee, eggs, spam, olives, tomatoes, cucumber. Evening meal; soup, chicken, stew. Salad. The food was ok but take care what you eat as I found some meat that had gone off and it smelt awful which I pointed out to the waiter who just took it away and said no more.

The pool was small but ample for the hotel. The poolside bar served half decent ...
food but the staff try to charge too much or short change you most of the time.

The entertainment was really none existent apart from the English DJ that would perform a couple of nights, He actually livened the place up. There are plenty of bars and places to eat out. We had a very entertaining night at majestic bar by the canal (Recommend) especially when the d.j decided to join in and dance on the bar. I have never seen anything so funny in my life and just wish I had recorded it.

The boat trips are a must, they are approx. 10 per person with a meal, from 10am till 5pm. The drinks on board are expensive. Try to book the boat called the Mehmet! This is run by a very nice family who will really look after you.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Up with the best"
lance cartwright stayed at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in September 2011
7 readers found this review helpful

Just come back from Turkey and stayed in the Kapmar hotel and I just cannot believe the reviews I have read. This hotel is great, this is the first time I have been in the Kapmar and I enjoyed every minute off it.

It is very clean and our room got cleaned every day towels bedding ect. We will be going back next year in this hotel I have been to Turkey now for 14 years and this hotel is up there with the best.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

margie and willis visited the Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in August 2009
4 readers found this review helpful

we stayed at kapmar end of aug 2009 for 2 weeks . found hotel to be clean . staff helpful and always smiling ,maid service everyday , breakfast typically turkish , never tried the evening meals that were served but set menu was always posted and sounded good value for about 20 lira ,location very good quite central.Occasional entertainment and bbq were available in the hotel, but can not comment as we spent our evenings out with friends , we were never given any hassle to attend .Have stayed in many hotels in Icmeler and would stay here again .

Tour Operator: hotels 4 u

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

jane visited the Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in October 2007
5 readers found this review helpful

There was a group of 10 adults and one child. Only six of us stayed at this hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily, and that was the most important thing. The owner [grumpy] was not very helpful at all.My husband, my little boy and myself shared a room and were woken at four in the morning with the A/C pouring water out. When I mentioned it the next morning grumpy was more concerned that I was telling him and not my husband. My friend got told off at breakfast one morning for using the wrong spoon in the coffee, we found this quite amusing.You need to pay for your drinks as you get them as we found out. They tried to tell us we hadn\'t paid a bar bill twice, we knew we had paid it and therefore paid every ...
time we ordered after that.Its a shame that this was the case as this could be a fantastic hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for and it was cheap.I would consider using again if only for somewhere to sleep. If you consider staying here keep children away from the owner apparently he cannot tolerate children and this was shown to me when he snatched the snooker balls and cue from my son as he was too young to play even though the bar staff had let him play. Only had breakfast here twice but its cheap enough to eat out anyway.

Read More

Tour Operator: on the beach

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

pea and bea had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in September 2007
2 readers found this review helpful

The hotel is very much in need of redecoration but the cleaners did very well to keep it clean and linen was replaced almost every day.

On that basis I was happy to stay at this hotel unfortunately as has been said before in previous reviews there is a man who works there who very much needs to retire as he obviously does not enjoy his work!

He is unfriendly and grumpy with the guests.(that is the reason for the 1 opposite).

The food can only be described as minimal and watch out for the air conditioning as I was woken up one night with water pouring all over me from the air conditioning unit apparently there is a bottle on the balcony which a pipe fits into and this must be emptied regularly!

Would have been a good idea to ...
tell guests about this!!!

Other guest were conplaining about the lack of hot water and yes most days it was bearly warm.

Central position with very good hairdressers located below hotel called Trendy.

Read More

Tour Operator: tailormade hols
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

pauline stayed at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in September 2007
1 reader found this review helpful

The hotel was not very clean.
There was a young man who was employed there who was extremely rude and abusive.
The elderly gentleman I found to be very helpful and friendly.
The female on reception seemed ok, until informing me that our airport pick up was changed to 45 minutes later than arranged; the pick up was made at the origional time. I decided to keep to the origional time to be on the safe side. Just as well I did or we would have missed our flight home. Was this her intention???


Tour Operator: travel republic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Debbie had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in August 2007
1 reader found this review helpful

The Hotel looks ok from the outside, and is in a fabulous, central location, but that\'s where it ends. Everything inside is very old, dark, dingy and mostly broken! We never saw the pool being cleaned in two weeks! The breakfast consisted of bread, eggs, tomatoes, cucumber and some curled up, dried out cold meats! With nothing to drink except tea or coffee.
The hotel staff weren\'t really helpful, except for the night receptionist, who was lovely! We bought some drinks from the bar, but were told on several occasions that they had no change and would give us our change later, we\'re still waiting! There were no lights on our corridor at night, and we heard the maids crying on several occasions, when we asked why, we were told that they weren\'t getting paid and the Hotel was going bankrupt!I ...
definitely wouldn\'t recommend this hotel to anyone, I\'ve been to turkey 8 times and this is the worst hotel, by far, we\'ve had the misfortune to stay in!

Read More

Tour Operator: Goldtrail
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Emma Woolley visited the Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in August 2007
Well, it was the first time i have stayed in icmeler and i would just liek to say it is amazing! The people and the place are wonderful and i cant wait to go back again! However this hotel is a different matter ...

WE arrived at about ... 4.30am and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who soon became close to our party. However the hotel had on record there was only 7 of us in our party when origionally there had been 9 but one person had to pull out. The night receptionist (who we nicknamed charlie) sorted this out for us. When we arrived in our room they were average to say the least. However when my friend came to go sleep that morning she soon realised there was plastering coming off the ceiling! not a good start ...
to the holiday ...

When we went down the next day we found for breakfast we had the choice of ... Cheese, cucumber, tomato or funny looking meat ... yum ...

Over the next few days we dodged the hotel as much as we could, spending time at the beach or in bars. I would not suggest buying drinks from the bar as you may be short changed to say the least ...

A few days into the holiday my freind went to icmeler market where she had her phone stolen. She was unsure it it had been stolen at the market or if she had misplaced it in the hotel however only \"charlie\" seemed the least bit bothered and actually tried to help her find it in the hotel. She then had to go to marmaris police station with a turkish interpretor to report it and \"charlie\" went with her in his own free time to try and help.

It then became our saying that \"charlie was the only good thing about the hotel\" ... and guess what ... after not been paid for 3 months and working nearly 24/7 even he got fed up of the hotel!!!

I am not joking when i say the hotel was a disgrace!

. The rooms has plug sockets coming off the walls.
. Unless you were the only person in the hotel showering, the water was cold.
. The owners children ran wild, Wetting other guests when they were reading, had mobiles in there hands or even listening to music. The had no respect for anyone at all and when asks to stop there response was simply \"no.\" The owner himeslf didnt even seem to bother until people literally started to get up form the pool and leave.
. Outside the hotel you are bombarded every time you leave by the same man mithering you to have your hair braided.
. We found the bar staffs comments offensive as they watched you sunbathing with your bikini on and looked you up and down as you came back to the hotel from a night out.
. There was no rules put in place and people were swimming in the pool and causing total uproar at 3am!

On the whole this hotel is a total and utter disgrace, and its such a pitty with it been in such an amazing location!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Glyn Atkinson visited the Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in August 2007
Follow on report - second visit to this hotel.

From speaking to the staff, the hotel is in the throes of being sold / taken over from ownership by the old man and his daughter.

Plainly speaking, the hotel is in desperate need of invetment and re-decoration. We were remembered from last year, and were treated accordingly, with a daily checked bill for items bought from the bar, including the evening meal. No problems apart from the amount of running float in the bar till - zero.

We were extremely happy with the quality of food, not a huge choice of extras, but the menu revolved round on a weekly basis and was presented and served in a clean condition.

We could see other British families with children who turned their noses up and went elsewhere. Sorry, I\'m not a chicken and ...
chips person in England, so the food is no problem to the wife or myself. No tummy trouble at all for the fortnight, whereas we saw several people obviously suffering from problems with restaurant food.

I will go back to Icmeler next year, not to stay here but to check on progress on changes for the better.

Shame really, this hotel is so central, and needs better disability access, more gentle slopes on the entrance paths, and repairs to the second lift. The lights are only off because the circuits are turned off to save money - my request to turn lights on was resolved immediately without argument.

The work on the paddling pool fencing was done while we were there. Seats were also brought in, along with some better, not new, sun beds.

I cannot honestly recommend the hotel at the moment until more work on renovation is concluded.


Read More

Tour Operator: Med Hotels
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stones family stayed at Kapmar Hotel in July 2007
Typical 3star Turkish hotel. Dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful,excellent - they will treat you with the same respect you treat them! Problem with lack of hot water resolved quickly. Food very good value for money - you get what you pay for. Yes, the pool is deep but it is clean along with the sunbathing area. We had no problem with the drinks bill at all. This hotel is basic but if you are looking for a comfortable clean bed and value for money at the cheap end of the market then this is your place. It is away from the noisy bars unlike some of the other hotels.

Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Mark n Cath stayed at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in June 2007
Having been to Icmeler on several occasions this was our first time in this Hotel and it will be our last.

It is very outdated, the food was appalling and the staff extremely unhelpful ( unusual for turkey ) We went on a half board basis and beleive me we had to eat out most of the time.

The bar staff leave a lot to be desired and for anyone going in the next few weeks then please please watch your bar bills.. 3 times we were ripped off.

We would pay our bill at the bar and then the staff would pass the bill to reception who would then put it onto our room number as being unbpaid so we ended up paying twice.

After we sorted this out they tried to offer us a free bottle of wine saying ...
it was a mistake, well I'm sorry but to offer a free bottle is admitting the problem, because if I was so sure that I had done nothing wrong then I wouldnt be giving things away.

The pool is a reasonable sized but it was only cleaned once in the 2 weeks we were there and that was one morning at 9.30 and all they did was walk round the edge pouring some sort of white powder in, which then left the pool unusable for 2 hours.

The night porter, The chef and the waiter Ali are fine but be wary of the rest and write down exactly what you had to drink.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly won't be going back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Med Hotels
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Mark had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel in June 2007
We stayed at this hotel due to the offer we got BUT we will NEVER stay there again! Can i please advise that you (if you can) change your hotel if you are booked into this one. As im not allowed to name names let me just point out that a certain few members of staff seem to be making \" a bit of pocket money \" from your drinks bill....! The food really is rubbish and the staff do not seem to want to help in any way should you have a problem. The resort however is first class with a fantastic choice of bars and places to eat, the people outside the hotel are friendly. We have been to this resort several times now and dispite our stay at this hotel from hell, we WILL be going back! ...
different hotel of course. For a nice spot of nightlife try the wonder boys bar and to eat at, should you need to i would say you will..... try the kingsland or barrons along with the titanic. All of which are clean, tidy and with fantastic staff as well. If you have to stay at the same hotel as we did BEAWARE OF THE POOL DEPTH, its over six feet deep all round with no ledge underwater to stand on, the only shallow bit is near the so called kiddies pool and even the entry and exit steps are coming away from the wall....! And do not get checked into a room at the rear of the hotel as your outlook is on to the appts across the allyway where the turkish staff sleep (sometimes 8 to a room)you will have to keep your curtains drawn to have any privacy at all (day or night) make sure you get a room at the front! There was no lighting on the fourth floor walkways at night so you had to feel your way down the corridors when returning to your room after sunset, Only one lift worked and the ramps for weelchairs and prams are like the side of everest! There is no food or drinks allowed to be taken into your room from outside the hotel and your bags may be checked when coming back in to see if you have got any! PLEASE PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS, i have no reason to tell you anything but the truth as we saw it, All im trying to do is warn you about the proplems we encounted during our stay. THE RESORT IS FIRST CLASS AND THE PEOPLE ARE GREAT, why do such a small number of the hotel staff have to spoil such a paridise resort as this one, Once again, if your booked in to this hotel or are thinking about it, Re-book or think again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Med hotels
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Butterworth stayed at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in May 2007
This is the second visit to this Hotel and we are returning in September. This Hotel is extremely good value for money.

We were bed and breakfast and the choice for breakfast is as good if not better than a lot of hotels we have stayed at in Turkey.

The sheets were changed three times a week and the towels every other day. The cleaners cleaned the rooms every day and did a fairly good job.

The pool area and the bar are clean and tidy ( although new mattresses for the loungers wouldn\'t go amiss )

We also found the staff very helpful and polite.

This is typical Turkish 3 star hotel. The position is excellent. Roll on September I say as there will a party of 13 of us. We can't wait!

Tour Operator: Med Hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

C McFarlane had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in October 2006
What a let down. After reading previous reports I was quite looking forward to visiting this hotel. I\'m now sorry I did.

Previous reports about the hotel being accessible to disabled people are wrong. Not only are there a flight of steps to enter the hotel, there are also steps leading to the lifts.

The lifts are very small and I\'m not sure that they could accommodate a wheelchair and an attendant. There are ramps but these are too steep to be attempted and I would only recommend them for pulling cases up.

Hotel is very dull and dreary. Not enough lighting being used. Some evenings there was no lighting in our corridor at all.

The maids attended daily to change towels and sheets were changed maybe once a week. Beds were very clean though. ...
No dusting done in bedrooms for the two weeks we stayed there. Bathrooms were given a quick \'once over\'......

The breakfast was typically Turkish which we expected but the evening meal was so very limited that we ate in the hotel 2 nights out of 14. There was one choice of a hot dish - either chicken, meat, fish etc. accompanied by rice, veg or sometimes chips. There was always salad stuff but honestly I have put out a bigger choice and quantity for a buffet at home. The sweet was something sickly in a little dish or melon on the odd night.

I always went into the dining area to check out the food each night in case I got lucky.....but only did twice. Anyway there are so many nice places to eat in Icmeler that the food was not a big problem - although we had paid for half board.

The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the middle of everything you want access to.

The front of house staff were not too welcoming but the little girl on the bar would bend over backwards for you - if you could get her to understand what you wanted.....The boys in the dining area were nice enough.

Yes we did get to meet the \'grumpy old man\' and he did live up to his reputation......grumping when I had the nerve to go and ask him why we had had no hot water for four days in a row......it was getting near to the end of the season seemed to be his answer !!!!

Pool a good size but hard to enter and exit as both of the sets of stairs go into the deepest end and one of the sets was broken and shaky. Never saw the pool being cleaned once in all the time we were there and it got particularly dirty after a bad storm one night but wasn\'t cleaned then either.

Entertainment - non existent..........

I would not choose to visit this hotel again.

I am no stranger to Icmeler so have a few hotels to compare this to. We visit twice a year usually but will be sticking to our regular hotel in future and only booked this at very short notice as the other one was fully booked.

Read More

Tour Operator: Vision
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

joan and nicola stayed at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in October 2006
We have been going to Icemeler for 13 years usually 3 to 4 times a year and I have never been so disappointed with a hotel or apartments in my life.

They were disgusting to say the least. Our room was crawling with cockroaches, and it looked like it had never been cleaned. The towels were stained and really dirty.

The pool and sunbathing area shocked me the most they were thick with dirt. The staff were extremly unhelpful and we were left to fend for ourselves when our flight was cancelled and we had to stay an extra night.

We would never go back again and I wouldnt even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Tour Operator: turkish airline
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Studzinski had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in August 2006
First time we have had Half Board in Turkey for us this was excellent we had no complaints whatsoever regarding any of the food probably the best choice of Breakfast we have had in Turkey.

The staff were all polite and friendly. The cleanliness of this hotel was excellent.

The location could not have been better as we tend to spend a lot of time on the Beach.

There was no entertainment in the Hotel but we prefer to explore the area anyway, so this was not a problem. We were concerned when we read previous reports about a grumpy old man, this was not the case we spoke to him on many occasions and he could not have been nicer.

We would certainly visit this hotel again. We felt that it was excellent value for the money we paid

Tour Operator: Vision

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sloman had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel in August 2006
We absolutely loved this hotel - the owner and his daughter were wonderful - even offering to babysit our 10 year old if we wanted to go out.

They love well behaved children here and make them feel welcome. We treated them with respect and that was returned in bucketfuls.

The food was not particularly good (OK if you like salad) but the service was excellent and friendly and the rooms, although very tired, were cleaned regularly.

Although there is no entertainment it is very central and you can find all you want just outside (perfect if you need a good nights sleep after all the walking and swimming).

The pool is a good size and clean and the bar food quick and tasty.

We would definately re-visit.

Tour Operator: Med Hotel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Duncan Lister had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel in July 2006
We went in July 2006 and, after reading reviews we were a bit worried, but we should not have been. The place is a bit \"tired\" but it has charm and character. We found food to be quite acceptable, the staff were great fun and always helpful. Icmeler is an excelent place to stay and the hotel is in a great possition. Although we were half board we still ate out 3 or 4 times because is still quite cheap. Some people want a champagne holiday at lemonade prices. this place isn\'t champers but it is value for money, clean and in a great location for walking round town on a night.

Tour Operator: budget

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

brenda hunnam stayed at Kapmar Hotel in June 2006
All the staff are brilliant, always friendly & helpful. It is a bit dated but it is comfortable and very clean.

The location could\'t be better.

As for the hotel entertainment there is plenty going on just a few steps out side the doors of the Bellamare. I personally like to get out and about so this didn't bother me at all. Plus I think I was there a little eary in the season so the entertainment had\'nt really started up yet.

I came back to the hotel most nights/early mornings very late after eating, drinking and dancing at quite a few of the excellent bar and restaurants.

To name a few, the gunay, the romance palace, the great corner bar and the dreamboys next to the canal. Even then the bar was open, within reason that is, to have ...
another drink or two and a chat with staff on duty before I finally went to my room 109.

I never had any breakfast as you can guess I never got up in time so I can't comment on the meals but some of the other guest I spoke to said they were fine.

The bellamare is an excellent hotel, friendly, cheap and very clean what more do you want.

The restaurant bars are too many to mention so just get out and find them your guaranteed to have fun and to meet new friends both Turkish and English I've even made friends with a Russian lady who I hope to visit soon.

Oh and Beril and Yashi at Ebru gold are the nicest people I've met.(hope youv'e had the baby now).

Oh! And you can't beat Icmeler leather on kaybal st;
well this is enough, I loved the hotel and the people of Icmeler and as you can gather I will be returning to both.


Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Glyn Atkinson had a holiday at Kapmar Hotel, Icmeler in May 2006
1 reader found this review helpful

Having booked the hotel at one week\'s notice with no other guidance, I decided to visit as many sites as possible for resort and hotel information.

The hotel DOES need redecoration, but is clean throughout, and well looked after by good staff.

My review is an honest one and is being given after discussion with others who were staying in the hotel at the same time.

The owner - this is an old gent, and if he is the same person that others have written about, has had a full front lobal bypass, as he is a complete charmer, especially with the elderly ladies in the hotel.

The staff - always helpful and friendly, cleaners highly efficient, pool kept immaculate at all times, litter kept to a minimum, good around the several children staying at the time.

The hotel - clean, old, but well ...
preserved. 80 + rooms over five floors with two lifts. Staff on hand 24 hours per day to help with cases on arrival. Good knowledge of resort facilities. Very central for banks, restaurants, local weekly market, and five minutes to the beach.

Personal opinion - we are already making plans for two weeks in the same hotel next year - so it can\'t be as bad as all of the previous reviews - in my humble opinion.

Read More

Tour Operator: Med Hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share