Image of Kapmar Hotel

Kapmar Hotel

92 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

3 out of 5 from 30 reviews
3 stars
Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Kenan Evren Bulvari 4, 48700 Marmaris, Turkey

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nice Hotel (but not for children)
3 years 8 months ago
The Kapmar hotel is in a central position and only 500mts from the beach.

Upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant man on the front desk named Murat. If you stay at the Kapmar and need anything or find a problem see Murat and he will get it sorted.
The hotel was very clean and the maids do a very good job, cleaning the rooms on a daily basis.
We stayed half board. Breakfast; juice, tea, coffee, eggs, spam, olives, tomatoes, cucumber. Evening meal; soup, chicken, stew. Salad. The food was ok but take care what you eat as I found some meat that had gone off and it smelt awful which I pointed out to the waiter who just took it away and said no more.

The pool was small but ample for the hotel. The poolside bar served half decent food but the staff try to charge too much or short change you most of the time.

The entertainment was really none existent apart from the English DJ that would perform a couple of nights, He actually livened the place up. There are plenty of bars and places to eat out. We had a very entertaining night at majestic bar by the canal (Recommend) especially when the d.j decided to join in and dance on the bar. I have never seen anything so funny in my life and just wish I had recorded it.

The boat trips are a must, they are approx. £10 per person with a meal, from 10am till 5pm. The drinks on board are expensive. Try to book the boat called the Mehmet! This is run by a very nice family who will really look after you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lance Cartwright
Up with the best
5 years 4 months ago
Just come back from Turkey and stayed in the Kapmar hotel and I just cannot believe the reviews I have read. This hotel is great, this is the first time I have been in the Kapmar and I enjoyed every minute off it.

It is very clean and our room got cleaned every day towels bedding ect. We will be going back next year in this hotel I have been to Turkey now for 14 years and this hotel is up there with the best.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Margie And Willis
7 years 4 months ago
we stayed at kapmar end of aug 2009 for 2 weeks . found hotel to be clean . staff helpful and always smiling ,maid service everyday , breakfast typically turkish , never tried the evening meals that were served but set menu was always posted and sounded good value for about 20 lira ,location very good quite central.Occasional entertainment and bbq were available in the hotel, but can not comment as we spent our evenings out with friends , we were never given any hassle to attend .Have stayed in many hotels in Icmeler and would stay here again .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Jane
9 years 2 months ago
There was a group of 10 adults and one child. Only six of us stayed at this hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily, and that was the most important thing. The owner [grumpy] was not very helpful at all.My husband, my little boy and myself shared a room and were woken at four in the morning with the A/C pouring water out. When I mentioned it the next morning grumpy was more concerned that I was telling him and not my husband. My friend got told off at breakfast one morning for using the wrong spoon in the coffee, we found this quite amusing.You need to pay for your drinks as you get them as we found out. They tried to tell us we hadn't paid a bar bill twice, we knew we had paid it and therefore paid every time we ordered after that.Its a shame that this was the case as this could be a fantastic hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for and it was cheap.I would consider using again if only for somewhere to sleep. If you consider staying here keep children away from the owner apparently he cannot tolerate children and this was shown to me when he snatched the snooker balls and cue from my son as he was too young to play even though the bar staff had let him play. Only had breakfast here twice but its cheap enough to eat out anyway.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Pea And Bea
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel is very much in need of redecoration but the cleaners did very well to keep it clean and linen was replaced almost every day.

On that basis I was happy to stay at this hotel unfortunately as has been said before in previous reviews there is a man who works there who very much needs to retire as he obviously does not enjoy his work!

He is unfriendly and grumpy with the guests.(that is the reason for the 1 opposite).

The food can only be described as minimal and watch out for the air conditioning as I was woken up one night with water pouring all over me from the air conditioning unit apparently there is a bottle on the balcony which a pipe fits into and this must be emptied regularly!

Would have been a good idea to tell guests about this!!!

Other guest were conplaining about the lack of hot water and yes most days it was bearly warm.

Central position with very good hairdressers located below hotel called Trendy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Pauline
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel was not very clean.
There was a young man who was employed there who was extremely rude and abusive.
The elderly gentleman I found to be very helpful and friendly.
The female on reception seemed ok, until informing me that our airport pick up was changed to 45 minutes later than arranged; the pick up was made at the origional time. I decided to keep to the origional time to be on the safe side. Just as well I did or we would have missed our flight home. Was this her intention???
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Debbie
9 years 4 months ago
The Hotel looks ok from the outside, and is in a fabulous, central location, but that's where it ends. Everything inside is very old, dark, dingy and mostly broken! We never saw the pool being cleaned in two weeks! The breakfast consisted of bread, eggs, tomatoes, cucumber and some curled up, dried out cold meats! With nothing to drink except tea or coffee.
The hotel staff weren't really helpful, except for the night receptionist, who was lovely! We bought some drinks from the bar, but were told on several occasions that they had no change and would give us our change later, we're still waiting! There were no lights on our corridor at night, and we heard the maids crying on several occasions, when we asked why, we were told that they weren't getting paid and the Hotel was going bankrupt!I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, I've been to turkey 8 times and this is the worst hotel, by far, we've had the misfortune to stay in!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Emma Woolley
9 years 4 months ago
Well, it was the first time i have stayed in icmeler and i would just liek to say it is amazing! The people and the place are wonderful and i cant wait to go back again! However this hotel is a different matter ...

WE arrived at about ... 4.30am and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who soon became close to our party. However the hotel had on record there was only 7 of us in our party when origionally there had been 9 but one person had to pull out. The night receptionist (who we nicknamed charlie) sorted this out for us. When we arrived in our room they were average to say the least. However when my friend came to go sleep that morning she soon realised there was plastering coming off the ceiling! not a good start to the holiday ...

When we went down the next day we found for breakfast we had the choice of ... Cheese, cucumber, tomato or funny looking meat ... yum ...

Over the next few days we dodged the hotel as much as we could, spending time at the beach or in bars. I would not suggest buying drinks from the bar as you may be short changed to say the least ...

A few days into the holiday my freind went to icmeler market where she had her phone stolen. She was unsure it it had been stolen at the market or if she had misplaced it in the hotel however only "charlie" seemed the least bit bothered and actually tried to help her find it in the hotel. She then had to go to marmaris police station with a turkish interpretor to report it and "charlie" went with her in his own free time to try and help.

It then became our saying that "charlie was the only good thing about the hotel" ... and guess what ... after not been paid for 3 months and working nearly 24/7 even he got fed up of the hotel!!!

I am not joking when i say the hotel was a disgrace!

. The rooms has plug sockets coming off the walls.
. Unless you were the only person in the hotel showering, the water was cold.
. The owners children ran wild, Wetting other guests when they were reading, had mobiles in there hands or even listening to music. The had no respect for anyone at all and when asks to stop there response was simply "no." The owner himeslf didnt even seem to bother until people literally started to get up form the pool and leave.
. Outside the hotel you are bombarded every time you leave by the same man mithering you to have your hair braided.
. We found the bar staffs comments offensive as they watched you sunbathing with your bikini on and looked you up and down as you came back to the hotel from a night out.
. There was no rules put in place and people were swimming in the pool and causing total uproar at 3am!

On the whole this hotel is a total and utter disgrace, and its such a pitty with it been in such an amazing location!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Follow on report - second visit to this hotel.

From speaking to the staff, the hotel is in the throes of being sold / taken over from ownership by the old man and his daughter.

Plainly speaking, the hotel is in desperate need of invetment and re-decoration. We were remembered from last year, and were treated accordingly, with a daily checked bill for items bought from the bar, including the evening meal. No problems apart from the amount of running float in the bar till - zero.

We were extremely happy with the quality of food, not a huge choice of extras, but the menu revolved round on a weekly basis and was presented and served in a clean condition.

We could see other British families with children who turned their noses up and went elsewhere. Sorry, I'm not a chicken and chips person in England, so the food is no problem to the wife or myself. No tummy trouble at all for the fortnight, whereas we saw several people obviously suffering from problems with restaurant food.

I will go back to Icmeler next year, not to stay here but to check on progress on changes for the better.

Shame really, this hotel is so central, and needs better disability access, more gentle slopes on the entrance paths, and repairs to the second lift. The lights are only off because the circuits are turned off to save money - my request to turn lights on was resolved immediately without argument.

The work on the paddling pool fencing was done while we were there. Seats were also brought in, along with some better, not new, sun beds.

I cannot honestly recommend the hotel at the moment until more work on renovation is concluded.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Stones Family
9 years 5 months ago
Typical 3star Turkish hotel. Dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful,excellent - they will treat you with the same respect you treat them! Problem with lack of hot water resolved quickly. Food very good value for money - you get what you pay for. Yes, the pool is deep but it is clean along with the sunbathing area. We had no problem with the drinks bill at all. This hotel is basic but if you are looking for a comfortable clean bed and value for money at the cheap end of the market then this is your place. It is away from the noisy bars unlike some of the other hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: