30 independent reviews of the Selen Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mh., 48700 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey
Selen Hotel
Selen Hotel Location
Ranked #76 of 113 hotels in Icmeler


4/5
Selen Hotel Selen Hotel is rated 3.63 out of 5 from 30 Reviews
70% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (30 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Selen Hotel Reviews

1/5
1
"Awful.. Never again.."
Chelsea visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler in August 2013
Just got back from the Selen Hotel a few days ago.. This was the third time I have been to Turkey and usually stay at Babadan (lovely place) but this was fully booked so tried this hotel. NEVER AGAIN! I would rather not go on holiday at all. The hotel staff were RUDE, AWFUL PEOPLE. Did not like it if you didn't stay in the hotel for food every single day and night and showed it. They didn't help with cases when we was going (not that we wanted them to!) and just stood with smirks on there horrible faces. The food was awful.. I had a chicken burger and the bread was so hard I could hardly bite through it.

Maids were nice and tried there best to keep rooms tidy with fresh towels everyday but there were mucky ...
finger marks ALL OVER the walls. Leo and Alex who worked in the little bracelet and hair shop in the hotel were the only nice ones there.. they were lovely. I will NEVER go back again. It spoilt my holiday and I could not wait to get home. Nearly everyone staying in the hotel who i spoke to said the same thing. I'm not usually one to complain but it was disgusting the way the staff treated people.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3
"Great value for money"
Shell had a holiday at Selen Hotel, Icmeler in June 2011
We were expecting the worst when we arrived at the Selem Apartments but were pleasantly surprised.

Although the rooms were very basic and could have done with some up-grading, they were clean and tidy. We did have a problem with one of the lights not working but this was quickly dealt with i.e., within 15 minutes a handyman came and replaced it. The maids came in daily, cleaned the apartment and brought fresh towels.

Nothing seemed too much trouble for them and we believe we got great value for money.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Hot Holidays

3/5
3

bitsy4 visited the Selen Hotel in May 2010
not for us,very noisy bar till 4 or 5 most mornings,any complaints wher ignored,if you whent out to eat managment didnt speak,your excpected to stay in hotel for all meals and drinks.selen does not have a genarator to cover power cuts unless u want a drink,we had power cut for 5 hours no shower,no toilet no flushing at 30 to40dgr,not nice i could go on but im not ,so if you want to stay up till 5 in the morning this is for you.have been to icmeler for eight years this is the worst sorry.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Janice Findlay had a holiday at Selen Hotel in April 2010
this hotel has been taken over by new owners. They have really made a difference to it. The new Chef is really good and his steaks are the best. The hotel is very central and within walking distance of everything. The best hotel staff I have ever had they make you feel like part or their family, nothing is too much trouble for them. No matter what time you arrive there is someone there to take your cases to reception and then to your room.All the staff came to wave us off at the bus when we left.I was so sad to leave and will definatley go back next year.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

mr mackay miss jones had a holiday at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in September 2009
arrived late so stayed at my friends app the first night went up in the morning to pick up key and see room .we decided to stay at my friends so went back to hotel on day 6 to return the key and was told that we were never to stay there again [my reply was i had not ]although good loc and pool rooms very small i well defo not stay or book for hotel again

Tour Operator: on the beach.com
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

andrea had a holiday at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in August 2009
allocated an attic room having specifically requested to not have an attic room. Room was not ready - light bulbs out, no bedding for sons bed, air con faulty. The lads who took us to the room however ran round for us. The pillows were absolutely filthy. The apartment on closer inspection in the morning was disgustingly dirty. Grease, foot prints on the bedroom walls!, dirty cutlery, I bleached and flashed everything I could before we could use the kitchenette. Bathroom - shower curtain stained with urine along the bottom. Husband had to scrub bathroom floor ( a first!) patio curtains held together with safety pins!

Maids were friendly and seemed constantly around so I can't understand the state of the room.

Pool area unfortunately was dirty and the pool water murkey. We decamped to another apartment block ...
we knew well. Yes we could have caused a rumpus but this was a late deal and was cheap and to be honest I just wanted to get on with the hols. We literally just used the room to secure our belongings.

The 3 scores for entertainment and staff reflect the fact we didn't hang around.

We asked about a late check out and were quoted

Read More

Tour Operator: travel republic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

tony baugh stayed at Selen Hotel, Icmeler in August 2009
I did not stop in the selen 11 for the 2weeks booked,because the toilet brock after 4 days and there was a problem with staff as to the time it took, for it\'s repair,2 days in my oppion was to long,so i insisted that Thomas cook find me another hotel, this they did,We found the manement in the selen 2, were at best disrespectfull, aggresive and hostill,The rooms are very small butt are clean,breakfast needs a lott to be desired,the hotel staff round the pool are funny butt can at times come very xclose to the mark when kids are about,i could not recommend this hotel, you can get better for your money.


Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

The Jones and MacAllisters stayed at Selen Hotel in July 2009
The apartments are found across a quiet road from the main hotel, and whilst basic, are kept clean by attentive maids who create sculptures with your clean towels!!
The main hotel has an excellent restaurant where you can get a full english breakfast for

Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sarah had a holiday at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in June 2009
Been back for a few days,me and my hubby had a great time at the SELEN APART, a maid service daily for bed sheets and towels, altho floor was never washed, basic s/c, but fine.
It consisted of 2 ring burner, kettle, fridge with icebox,utensils, chopping board (looked like it needed a good wash) altho never used the cooking side of things as food was very cheap at the hotel, good value for money, a full english breakfast for 5 lira (

Tour Operator: Goldtrail

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

R Still had a holiday at Selen Hotel, Icmeler in June 2009
Stayed here 2 years ago, and came back again since we enjoyed it so much. It is still a great place to stay and is ideally situated in a quiet street within easy access for the centre of Icmeler, restaurants, market and supermarkets. The apts are clean, with decent storage space for clothes, etc, and a balcony on which to sit out and enjoy the scenery and weather. They are cleaned every day with linen changed daily as well. The cleaners always greet you and their creativity with the clean towels and flower petals was a nice touch. Apts are reasonably roomy for a 1 bedroom and plenty of space for a family of 4 and are well furnished. Plenty of utensils, crockery, etc, if you want to do the whole self catering thing, and these were all in good ...
condition, etc as well. The hotel did not have any formal entertainment as such, other than their excellent Turkish night, but the staff did a great job of entertaining everyone most nights with a mix of the usual activity type dances, some of the local turkich dances, and some of their own dance routines which they look as if they have choreographed. Great place for families, with a good sized pool and decent sized waterslide, and the staff are very helpful and friendly and try to make sure that everyone can get a sunbed that needs one

Read More

Tour Operator: DIY

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

evans stayed at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in April 2009
have stayed at these apartments before.They are basic but in a great location so we returned.The cleaners did a great job our complaint was the restaurant manager at the selen hotel across the road.He was very aggressive towards us and other clients trying to make us eat in his restaurant.He even told us that he cleaned our rooms and gave us fresh linen so we should eat there.We explained that we were self catering and we would eat when and where we liked.It got so bad we had to complain to the hotel selen manager.Its a shame really but because of the restaurant manager we will not be returning to these apartments.

Tour Operator: onthebeach
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Gillian Thomson stayed at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in July 2008
We found the Hotel Selen to be a good hotel, the staff were always very nice and polite although we did get to a stage where we made a dash for it at night so that we were not getting pressured to eat in the restaurant. we were bed and breakfast but did eat in the restaurant twice which certainly had no complaints about, the food was excellent.

only had breakfast on the morning we were leaving as never organised enough the other mornings!!! breakfast was fine, fresh omelette were good and bread was nice and soft.

defo needed air conditioning which worked well.

we had a view of the main street which was great for people watching. as expected the main street was very loud but you could not hear much when you shut the balcony door so no complaints.

bathroom was a ...
bit on the small side & very dark, could do with a bit more lighting in it.

pool is small & no sunshine till later on. we went to it one day but had people diving bombing in & belly flopping which was a pain. mind you we prefer the beach anyway and on the plus side the beach side is a two min walk away. we went to the dilek bar on the beach during the day which was very handy and also the staff were great and the food and drink cheap enough.

biggest complaint we would have was the noise during the night, we had people running up and down the corridor at all hours of the night, shouting, laughing and banging doors. we eventually complained to reception who were waiting on our complaint as evidently they had had a few complaints that day & said they knew who had been doing it.

also brochure mentions a roof top bar which we thought would be great to use and a lobby bar but both were shut. there was a pool bar which was at the back of the hotel and very very quiet. wasnt much life after about 11pm

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

John Wightman visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in April 2008
Hotel mesoy exclusive.

In our party there were 30 from newcastle, we arrived by private transfer from Icmeler online which I would fully recomend alot cheaper and quicker than the normal transfers from the airport.

We arrived early morning we were all alocated our rooms.

The rooms were small but very well refurbished there were a few minor faults but were rectified very quickly. The hotel grounds were fantastic pool areas lovely.

Hotel staff always around if you needed anything they would sort it for you.

The staff were very friendly, has an the hotel rep was always on hand for advice and very friendly nothing was too much trouble for him well done hasan.

The food was excellent plenty of choice and fresh. All in all our party loved the hotel so much we are all booking up for it ...
in may 09 30 plus this time look forward to seeing you all next may for 2 weeks this time see you then hasan thank you for a lovely holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: On The Besch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Michelle visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler in July 2007
We booked with Perfect Choice Holidays to different apartments upon arrival we were informed these were double booked and would be staying at the Selen II Apartments - what a disappointment
The location is great, the staff are great but the cleanliness not good and the apartments are in need of upgrading - one of the beds fell to pieces and we were told it would be repaired the next day but the next day never appeared. The air con broke down but was repaired within a couple of hours - this was needed because it was it in the fifties.
The pool area is pretty small to cope with the 80 hotel rooms and 30 apartments and is fully in the shade at about 4pm, also the slide can be a bit of a nuisance no one is in charge anything goes

Tour Operator: Perfect Choice Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Eddie & Michelle visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in July 2007
Just back from the selen 11 hotel. Had a fantastic time there . We were booked for self catering but found the apartment to small for my wife & 2 children.I went to see the manager of the hotel if he could move us to a bigger room and to my surprise he moved us straight away into the hotel which is across the road without any fuss.The staff were first class and always aimed to please.Booking for next year.Come on 2008.

Tour Operator: Scott Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ray Still had a holiday at Selen Hotel in June 2007
We managed to experience both the hotel accommodation as well as the apartments due to a booking error on our arrival.

The accommodation consists of 2 blocks - a 4 storey main hotel block and a 3 storey apartment block just across the road with a mix of studios and 1 bedroomed apts. We ended up in 2 hotel rooms initially due to there not being a 1 bedroomed apt available for us at the time, and they threw in breakfast for us as a gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience.

The hotel rooms ate quite small, but clean and lets face it, you are generally only using them for sleeping in and getting freshened up and changed. Some overlook the pool area, the others look toward the beautiful hills surrounding Icmeler.

Breakfast is the usual buffet fare you get at ...
most hotels with something for everyone and is in the main hotel building.

There aren\'t safety deposit boxes in every room, but there are plenty in the main lobby area you can rent. After a few days we got into our 1 bedroomed apartment which was very clean and reasonably sized, but it does depend on the location withing the block as to the size, as the layout seemed to vary.

There is aircon inthe bedroom which you have to pay for and was necessary(44C in shade, 56C in direct sun some days!!).

Pool is not the biggest I have seen but is big enough for everyone who stayed at the complex and there is a small baby/paddling pool. There is a reasonable sized water slide which kept everyone of all ages happy, although is not supervised and you need to keep an eye on some of the more enthusiatic users, and the only accident we saw was when some young hero decided to walk down the slide when there was no water, he slipped and broke a tooth....

Hotel restaurant has a good menu and is reasonably priced compared to others in the area, and at lunchtimes, they have a good lunch/snack menu too. Staff can\'t do enough for you and are very courteous, friendly and helpful at all times, and remember your names. There is no formal entertainment as such but the bar staf and some of the kitchen staff provide entertainment with the usual fare of cheesy dance tunes(Steps, Whigfield, YMCA, etc), as well as teaching you how to do some traditional Turkish Folk dancing which is fantastic.

There is a Turkish night once a week with belly dancers, etc. The complex is well located - situated in a quite street just off of the main road into Icmeler, 5 mins from large Tamsa supermarket, 5 mins from main strip, 5 mins from canal and market stalls, 5 mins from beach and 10 mins from large weekly market in Icmeler.

It isn\'t the liveliest of hotels, but it was clean, the food was good, the staff were great, and the location was ideal for us as a family of 4 with 2 daughters aged 6 & 8, and we will be back there again in the next couple of years.

Read More

Tour Operator: Scot Travel Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Kath stayed at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in May 2007
The hotel was kept spotlessly clean, rooms cleaned everyday,clean towels everyday,and bed changed every other day.

The pool area was kept clean by the bar staff who were always very polite and pleasant.

The breakfast was typically Turkish but the chef would cook you omlettes or fried eggs if you wanted them.There was plenty of cheese, tomatoes,cucumber,cooked meat,cereals,jam,honey and fresh bread, juice and tea or coffee,therefore no need for anyone to go hungry!

The Hotel is located on a quiet road with plenty of bars nearby and just a five minute walk down to the beach.

The staff were superb,despite working very long hours,they were always cheerful.Not much in the way of entertainment apart from the Turkish night,we didnt go but other people said it was a great night.

Would recommend this hotel and will definately be staying there again!


Tour Operator: Perfect Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Colin Hampshire visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in September 2006
We stayed at this hotel in September 2006 as well as October 2006, on both occassions the staff were brilliant.

The rooms were always welcoming and clean,and the hotel food was excellant. We could not fault this hotel at all. Even when we left the hotel to eat out occasionly the staff were always there to attend to our needs; ie drinks from the bar when we returned.

The pool is kept spotlessly clean and has a water slide that both children and adults enjoyed to use. The staff are excellent with children and even came in the pool for games of water football against the guests!

All the staff are genuinely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. We hope that the same staff are all there next year (2007) as they played a big part in us having a ...
fantastic time!

The chef even went out of his way to cook different meals to accomodate our 4 year old son who has a very limited diet, and very hard to please.

The staff try to entertain with traditional Turkish dances as well as organised Turkish nights.

I would recommend families and couples to stay here as it has a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere with the luxury of good service and good food.

Read More

Tour Operator: Low cost beds

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Paul,Elaine,Emma and laura chapman visited the Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in August 2006
Enjoyed our stay at Selen 2 hotel.

Would definately go back again next year, hotel staff very helpful and the bar staff were excellent especially Albert,Neil and Zetie.

Entertainment which was Turkish night was good and the hotel cleanliness was also good.

The only down point was the size of the rooms which were a bit on the small side.



Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

kellie stayed at Selen Hotel, Icmeler, Turkey in July 2006
We stayed at Selen II for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time! Reception manager, Yusuf, was brilliant! Bar staff are all excellent, especially Alper and Zyya.

Nothing is too much trouble for them and they made us all feel very welcome, especially the children. Pool area was kept immaculate as were the rooms. Breakfast wasn`t up to much but a great restaurant \"MOONLIGHT\" in the same road served fantastic meals.

Hotel is in a great location, not far from the main stretch and beautiful beach just a few minutes walk. On the whole the hotel staff and atmosphere are addictive,

Icmeler is beautiful, and can`t wait to go back in October!!!!!!!

Tour Operator: olympic holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share