33 independent reviews of Kalkan, Turkey
Kalkan Location

3/5
Kalkan is rated 3 out of 5 from 33 Reviews

Kalkan Hotels

Kalkan Reviews

3/5


Kay Baker visited here on July 2005
Beautiful small town with dramatic views, freindly people and grogeous food. Its very hilly so may not be suitable for all.

There are not very many night clubs (thank goodness) but many excellent resturants (150+) and bars which will stay open until the last customer leaves.

Numerous boat trips (inc. SCUBA diving) and excursions leave from Kalkan so you should be able to suit at a reasonable price, or DIY using the Dolmus.

The local beach is small and stony but pleasant, there is boat service to beach clubs and Kaputas and Pataras Beaches are easily reached via the excellent Dolmus service.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

5/5


Rosindale visited here on July 2005
The resort of Kalkan is built on slopes, heading down towards the harbour. The resort was very clean and there are 180 places to eat to pick from. These range from roof top terraces playing live music (Jazz, Classical Guitar, Singers) which tend to be a bit more expensive, but there are cheaper places to eat as you head away from the town centre. There is no Disco as such so if you are looking for that kind of night life, Kalkan is not the place to go. There are various bars and some lovely shops. The beach is in the Town which consists of Pebbles and there are beach clubs with sun bathing platforms as the closest ...
sandy beach is either Patara or Kaputas, easily reached on a dolmus. Kalkan is a more up market resort, do not confuse it with other areas of Turkey that are more lively!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Belinda visited here on May 2005
Kalkan is beautiful. As a fishing village there are no beaches, but there are \"beach clubs\" with swimming platforms, or Patara Beach 20 minutes away.

With over 150 rooftop restaurants you can\'t fail to find somewhere nice to eat. A little bit expensive, so if on a budget go to Ali Baba\'s in the main street.

The bars and restaurants stay open as long as customers are there. There is a nightclub near the harbour and several of the bars have dancing late at night.

The Marina Restaurant has belly dancing every Sunday evening, lots of laughs.

Go to the reception of The Pirat Hotel to book a Turkish Bath ... very relaxing.

Sizeable market every Thursday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

5/5


David visited here on May 2005
Kalkan is a most beautiful town - so much character and comes to life of an evening. So many gifts shops and restaurants and bars - you wont have time to visit all - but visit the Lizo Hotel for some of the best food in town!

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Maggie Thirlway visited here on May 2005
This part of Turkey has everything from antiquities, roman ruins, beautiful coast line, amazing views and wonderful food.

The Lizo is exceptional but if you feel as we did that you ought to savour the delights of other Kalkan restaurants, you will not be disappointed. There are so many restaurants to choose from and most are extremely good.

We did unfortunately find one the ‘Gironda’ that were perhaps trying to be too ambitious. Last year we had a wonderful evening during their opening week and were hoping that we would repeat the experience but it was not to be. It was very disappointing, we spoke to the owner but were left with the distinct feeling that we were ‘one couple’ ...
in many tourists that they cater for and so, ‘tough’ !!! A shame because we will never go there again………… especially when there is so much competition out there. But hey, try it …. you may be lucky. Be warned though it is not cheap. I would say the most expensive in Kalkan.

As for beaches, there is a small pebble public beach in Kalkan itself which is easy to find and cheap to hire loungers and parasols. The pretty Kaputas Beach and the famous 18 Kilometre Patara Beach are both just a bus (dolmus) ride away. If you want to spend a little more there are the Beach Clubs. You can take the very pleasant free ferry over to the Mahal Beach which we found to be both relaxing and stimulating – the swimming is wonderful. The same applies to the Kalamar Beach Club which you can get to by taxi which the Club will then pay for and the return fare !

We would highly recommend visits to the Saklikent Gorge, the ruined city of Myra and the sunken city of Kekova. Also the markets of Fethiye and Kalkan are interesting places to get a bargain. If you hire a car and are interestd in ruins, do not miss Arikanda, it is amazing .... better than Rome !!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Christina Mansfield visited here on April 2005
My husband and I first visited Kalkan in May 2005. We are now totally hooked and have fallen simply in love with this small harbour town even visiting out of season.

We can recommend the end of March and April as being wonderful. Not too hot yet on the whole still sunny. Kalkan itself although now becoming more developed still retains its sleeply peaceful ambience during the day and at night you can enjoy many truly good restaurants.

Aubergine, Gardenia, Marina, Cati (our personal cheapie favourite where the locals go in the winter. Food is cheap and so fresh and plentiful and staff really lovely).

I could go on and on but with over 130 to choose from the list ...
is simply too long. We love the boat trips and have hired them with friends for the evening (very inexpensive but fix price first).

The beach clubs are very luxurious with the Kalamar Beach club usually coming up favourite. Patara beach is very close (15 minutes on a dolmus). The ride takes you through stunning Lycian ruins and onto a totally unspoilt beach with just one restuarant and some beach beds and umbrellas in one small area.

During March the broadwalk is sported either side by wonderful flowering yellow Mimosa. We think Kalkan has so much to offer.

The more we go there the more we fid. It is definately a resort for the more discerning traveller. No real discos and no egg amd chips. Our favourite bar has to be the old tea gardens at the bottom of the harbour.

Just take a book and read under the leafy vines or watch the boats chug in and out from late afternoon to early evening.

Their freshly squeezed pmegranite and orange just is simply delicious. We love Kalkan and are looking forward to spending even more time there through 2007.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Ian & Tricia visited here on April 2005
A very upmarket small Turkish town, with arty crafty shops in the old part. The restaurants in the old part are more expensive than the ones farther up the hill.
Uphill all the way, so be prepared to have well formed calf muscles at the end of your holiday! Spectacular views once you get to the top though.
Pretty much laid back entertainment. Jazz in one or two restaurants, traditional Turkish music in another, and then a few of the loud music bars.
The beach is on the small side, but clean enough.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


derrick visited here on August 2004
Kalkan is a very pretty little town with some great restaurants and really friendly people. The views from the hills and roof top terraces are extremely good. There are several interesting shops selling other than the usual tat.
The main drawback are the hills and steps.The brochure describes it as not suitable for people with walking problems but I thought that is was worse than that and would recommend taking climbing crampons with you!
There are a few places to visit within easy distance but no tourist \"musts\" particular to Kalkan itself.
The small beach is shingle (clean)and there are beach clubs to swim from. Patara beach (sand) is a short dolmus ride away.
Restaurants are too numerous to single out BUT one that ...
I must mention is \" Taylor restaurant\". This is run by Seviliy and Mustafa and only serves turkish food, from a daily menu of 3 starters ,2 main courses and 1 desert.
There are no menu cards, just pick your food from the blackboard at the entrance.There are only six tables and it is in between builings so has not got a roof terrace (or a roof).But if you are vegetarian,as we are, then Sevilliy (my spelling!) will make something especially for you, just basic homecooked fresh food at a very good price. While you are waiting have a word with Mustafa and buy some shirts at trade prices, he makes a lot of the ones you see in the shops there.He also makes the only desert available, Apple cake, so good that we brought one home.
Most of the other restaurants have roof terraces and eating on them is very pleasant after a hard hot day sunbathing.
The only reason we are unlikely to return is the constant climbing of steep hilly streets and steps.
Some oth hotels at the top of the town are a fair walk away from the central area.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


pa and george visited here on August 2004
Kalkan is a very clean and tidy resort. Entertainment at Samira is low key,resort has a couple of bars. Beach is pebbly but clean, you can buy jelly shoes in the resort which will help you walk on the beach and into the sea. We love this resort so much that we love to return as often as we can. The people are so freindly.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


Roberts visited here on June 2004
Kalkan is a small town with literally hundreds of restaurants and some very good ones too. Great value for money, plenty of choice, good shops. Not for the weak hearted there are some steep inclines/steps to negotiate to get around.
Good boat trips available.
Beautiful views over the harbour - a pretty resort.
Enjoyable if you want sun, sea and good food.
Excellent market selling usual tourist \"Genuine fake\" goods - casual clothing, jewellery etc.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Kelebek Hotel  stars Kelebek Hotel
The Kelebek Hotel enjoys a central location, just a short walk from countless restaurants, bars and shops. The beautiful local beach lies beside the Turkish Aegean, just 400 metres from the complex. This family-run hotel was very recently renovated.

Latest Review: Apr 2008

Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

4/5
Lizo Pension Hotel  stars Lizo Pension Hotel
The Lizo Pension is owned by husband and wife, Mehmet and Gulsen and they have been working with British guests for the past 11 years. The cosy atmosphere here is what attracts the majority of guests, it is easy to feel at home.

Latest Review: Jun 2015

Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

5/5
Nur Suites & Hotels  stars Nur Suites & Hotels
Small and friendly are probably the best words to describe the Nur Hotel and Apartments. This well run complex appeals to everyone from couples and families to groups of friends, with its central location in the pretty town of Kalkan making it a great base.

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

2/5
Paradise Hotel  stars Paradise Hotel
Address: Kalkan, Turkey

Latest Review: Aug 2005

Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

3/5
Pirat Hotel  stars Pirat Hotel
Latest Review: Sep 2005

Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

4/5
Rhapsody Hotel  stars Rhapsody Hotel
The Rhapsody is a brand new hotel exclusive to Anatolian Sky Holidays, set in an excellent hillside location with superb views down over Kalkan Bay.

Latest Review: Apr 2005

Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

3/5
Samira Hotel & Apartments  stars Samira Hotel & Apartments
Address: Mentese Mahallesi, Sehitler Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Kalkan

4/5
Sevgi Hotel  stars Sevgi Hotel
This family-run hotel offers a swimming pool and enjoys a peaceful location, a short walk from the lively village of Kalkan. Enjoy the stunning views from the roof terrace over Kalkan and the sea.

Latest Review: May 2012

Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Kalkan
Share