Spain - Canary Islands - Tenerife Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Tenerife.
Anybody who drives under the influence of alcohol or drugs on unfamiliar roads driving on the opposite carriageway from home deserves a lengthy prison sentence and also should qualify for psychiatic help when they are released. I am a very experienced driver excess of 50,000 miles per year and I don't fancy driving abroad whilst sober so I am pleased to hear that punishments are being made more severe
Why not adopt the same type of rules in this country? Probably the courts couldn't cope with the influx of cases :)
Couldnt agree more
I live here and admittedly driving on the other side of the road does take a week or so to get used to. However its not an impossible task and I really don't think people should be frightened to do so.

Whilst I agree that drink driving is a no no, I would say that driving education and safety in general over here is pathetic. Most of the Spanish drivers use their indicators as a warning to other drivers that they are stopping rather than their intended use (turning left / right etc.)

An example of this incorrect use is found at zebra crossings... A car that slows up to let pedestrians cross will put his off side indicator on as a warning to cars behind that he is stopping. This is taken as read by us 'in the know' but to all the tourists in their hire cars it looks like they are about to turn left. Many of whom simply drive around the right of the stationary car 'waiting to turn left' and nearly kill the pedestrians on the crossing in the process!

Furthermore, this unauthorised practice goes even further... many cars that stop on the carriageway to reverse park with use the above warning! I.E. they put their OFFSIDE indicator on rather than their NEARSIDE one!