Holiday Advice

Holiday Advice From HolidayTruths Admins
I would recommend that you contact HMRC or the personnel department of your employer for accurate advice. I am an accountant but wouldn't want to give you advice on this as it's not something I have experience of.
It doesn't matter that you'll only be here for 9 months - you will still have a tax liability because you will be earning more than the personal tax free allowances within the tax year 2018/9. If you are an employee of the company being paid a monthly salary they'll have to register you for PAYE and deduct tax at source each month as if you were here as a permanent resident. This will possibly mean that you will be entitled to a rebate of tax as you move back to France. There will also probably be an NI liability too but as Elaine says the Human Resources/Personnel department of the London operation of your company should be able to sort all this out for you.

On the other hand if they are paying you a fixed lump sum and your status is that of a self-employed sub-contractor then you will still have a tax and NI liability but you will be responsible for sorting out paying the tax direct to HMRC yourself. In that case you should contact them direct. You eill find a lot of very useful info on their website and as long as you file your tax return by the relevant date they will work out how much you need to pay.

https://www.gov.uk/topic/personal-tax/self-assessment
  • Edited by SMa 2018-04-30 21:33:10
Surely it will count as a secondment from the French operation?? So, your salary should be paid thru the French payroll ?