Image of Hotel Amelia

Hotel Amelia

5 of 15 hotels in Albena

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Albena, Bulgaria

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great for Families
4 years 7 months ago
Hotel Amelia (Formerly Drouzhba) had a name change last year also a new part added to Hotel. The new part is de-lux. We stayed from 5th June to 19th June 2014 in the older part of Hotel. New reception area makes a great impression on this Hotel, The Staff from the Manageress down to the cleaners was first class, so polite and well mannered. the rooms were serviced each day, clean bedding and towels every other day, a great advantage was having your own safe in your room with your choice of a 4 digit security code, this saved a lot of time queuing at reception also your door entry was by electronic card, so again no queuing at reception each time for keys. We took breakfast in the adjoining Amelia Restaurant, not a complaint here. So much to choose from, food was hot and the chef was always at hand cooking more Pancakes, Eggs and Bacon, plenty of seating, waiters were always clearing tables, I cannot find one moan about our stay. Tonyt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Hotel tip: Try The Beer Kellar Restaurant near to the Moby Dick Also try The Shadow Bar, it is opposite the tall Hotel Dobrugha. Steffy's Bistro alongside the Hotel Dobrugha.

Recommended
The Tweedies And Smiths
12 years 4 months ago
Although we were on a Balkan Flight we ended up on an Air Adriatic plane (Croatian) for the outward journey. This caused much consternation at MCR airport because nobody had told them it was a different plane (MD80) and only had 5 seats across not 6 ! A lot of boarding passes had to be reissued in the departure lounge. The 5 seats across was great as the seats were wider and it seemed there was generally more leg room. Normal Balkan food but we only got drinks with the meal
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Jemma Ullyatt
12 years 5 months ago
This hotel is probably the best hotel any of our family as stayed in abroad.

We have been going to the same hotel for the past nine years.The hotel is worth more than a 3 star rating.The staff are terrific especially Dido and Mikey!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Albena.

We will be back in August see you then.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
N Woodward
13 years 4 months ago
The hotel is ideally placed for the town lots of places to eat and drink and very close to the beach.

The only point we would state is that the hotel does not have air-conditioning, although fans are available to hire.

Food is available from the bar in the hotel and for your Breakfast you use the neighbouring restaurant.

The hotel has no pool or outdoor sunbathing area however, we were able to use the pool of the neighbouring Laguna Gardens hotel without paying for sun loungers (mattreses were only 2 lev each).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
John
13 years 4 months ago
First time in Bulgaria, and an excellent hotel had all we wanted great staff and although we had to use the pool in the next hotel Malibu it was just as easy as having your own pool in larger hotel.

Would recommend this resort for those who like a quite time and early night as no noise after 12 fantastic.

Boys aged 12 and 15 loved the beaches and pool time.

Room cleaned every day and towels changed every other day.

Entertainment by Pub singer who knew nearly all the words.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balken

Recommended
Coates
13 years 6 months ago
The hotel, although clean, was old and basic. The lift broke while we were there and took 4 days to fix. On the plus side the hotel staff were brilliant, Zack was fantastic. It was my husbands 50th birthday while we were there and Zack supplied me with balloons, hats, candles and a cake all shopped for on his half day off. The bar is 24 hour and Danny and Vinny worked long night hours but were still as cheerful at 10am as at the start of their shift.

The beach is lovely, all white sand. The town itself is busy with all the stalls but very safe for adults and children alike. The B&B was basic and a few mornings no milk or tea bags or fruit was available. The restaurants on the front are lovely, I recommend the old house although a little more expensive well worth it.

I would go back to Bulgaria but not to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jeanne Carney
13 years 6 months ago
This hotel is great the staff are lovely. The hotel is very clean we were on the fourth floor and our cleaner was really nice, are room was left spotless everyday. Hotel location is ideal for shops bars restaurant's all on the doorstep the beach is not very far away. The breakfast food although not horrible could of been better. The entertainment although nice could of been a bit more varied.
We would definatly visit this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Hazel Nicoletti
13 years 6 months ago
Loved this hotel Druzhba stayed here last year as well.

Bar staff are absolutely fantastic and very friendly, they are called Danny, Zak, Mike, Vinny and Sven also Ivor the boss he was brilliant with the kids. He opened an Irish bar since last year, so I have sent him over some Irish traditional things to hang up to help decorate it. I don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelmax.co.uk

Recommended
Lauren
14 years 5 months ago
Me and my kids were astonished to find how friendly the staff were, especially 2 men called Ivor, the boss and Danny, a barman. The location was ideal, seeing as though we were nearly on the beach every day. And the good thing about it was we didn't get bored with it. I am definatley going to this hotel again, and I advise other families aswell.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lunn Poly

Recommended
Geraldine McParlane
14 years 5 months ago
The hotel was in a central location, easy access to the beach and practically everything on the doorstep.
The staff were friendly and obliging particulary the bar staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Tours Ltd

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum