Image of Ralitsa Hotel

Ralitsa Hotel

10 of 15 hotels in Albena

3 out of 5 from 53 reviews
3 stars
Albena, Bulgaria
Completely refurbished in 2001, this is a spacious, lively complex with a friendly feel. On an incline, above the main resort, there is plenty within walking distance, whilst the good selection of facilities on site will cater for most needs.

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    20
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sophie
9 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the ralitsa 3 because we didnt know you could have family rooms at the ralitsa superior anyway we all really loved it there the pool was massive with great entertainment throughout the day and night although there wasnt much nightlife as it was for familys suiting young children , the hotel staff were very friendly especially the animation team they were very funny. Without the animation team it would have been quite boring.
There is entertainment 6 days a week in the ralitsa 4's theartre but ralitsa three could go to watch it too.
We never had a problem with getting sun beds.
The town was about a ten minute walk from the hotel and there was loads of market shops full of authentic bulgarian gifts.
The only downpoint was the cleanliness of the entertainment pool toilets and the snack bar toilet but the room cleanliness was extremely good !! :)

we would definatley come back to the complex but to the ralitsa 4 rather than ralitsa 3,As we are english and the english tend to go to ralitsa 4.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed in the Ralitsa Superior which is 4 star! We were pleasantly suprised by our room which had 2 bathrooms and was like a room at the Hilton! Rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed every day! Air con and use of fridge were free. Irons available free of charge at reception!

The food was fine, I have a family of fussy eaters but there was something available for us all. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, croissants etc, french toast, eggs, bacon, sausage (frankfurter style), toast, pancakes (kids loved these with chocolate sauce, yoghurt, dried fruit.... list goes on... Lunch and dinner had the same kind of food available, but was always varied. As we were all inclusive all the local spirits and beers and soft drinks were free... lucky for us from the 14th July the hotel went Ultra all inclusive which meant all the cocktails and further drinks were free, there was a drinks menu to let you know what was free!

The hotel is about a 10 min walk (slow walk in the heat) from the beach but there is a free bus that takes you every 30 mins - we didnt feel the need to use it. There are taxis waiting around the hotel, you can haggle a bit with the prices of your journey, they will take you wherever you want to go and wait on you or come back for you if its somewhere close. The bus service isnt great, we got a minibus to Varna, it was 5lev per adult but you have to run to get on the bus as no-one seems to recognise a queuing system! Found it worse trying to get back from Varna, we had to become quite rude and just bunk the queue like everyone else!

Some staff were friendlier than others, I sometimes got the feeling that they pretended they didnt understand english, I asked for a coke (from the coke machine) and one bar staff looked confused, I simply asked for cola and he understood! I also felt that sometimes we were ignored when queuing for a drink, but quite frankly it was the other guests in the hotel who didnt believe in queuing, they just walked up to the bar and got served immediately, so I ended up doing the same!

There is an animation team in the hotel, the kids loved them. They were mainly located at the Ralitsa 3* pool a few minutes walk from the 4* which was much quieter. There is a show on every evening in the animation hall at 9.30 to 10.30, quite amusing and some great dancers!

The only downside to the holiday was me and my hubby had the runs a couple of times, not sure what caused it, I put it down to the fact that I dont usually eat 3 course meals at breakfast lunch and dinner!

The only reason i wouldnt visit this hotel again is the fact that we had to travel to Bourgas Airport which was a 2.5 hour drive (we were in a minibus as we were the only n.irish family staying there), our flight was originally to Varna which is about 50 mins drive and would have suited much better as my son suffers from travel sickness.

All in all we enjoyed the holiday very much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Co-op Travel

Recommended
Jo And Mel
11 years 3 months ago
We found that the Hotel was very clean and tidy but the food was rubbish, very little british food, we had to live on toast for breakfast and eat out for lunch and dinner, it was cold no matter what time you went for it and was good for German/Dutch. They were very rude to the British people and only cared for the German/Dutch. The location was very good and food away from hotel was nice. The entertainment is very bad and is done in other Ralitsa Hotel which the staff and German/Dutch do not like you using, entertainment finishes far to early well thats when you get told there is any!!! Also we thought we were staying in the 4 star hotel and got placed in the 3 star hotel and we would never go back there again. One good thing we did enjoy was at 12.30 down by the pool all the animations team would go round pool and get people up to do the Bomba it was fab!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Connie
11 years 3 months ago
the food , well wat can i say me and my group aint fussy eaters. but the food was diabolical, same choice for the whole two wks we were there. we ate there the first day but after that ate out every night. the smell was enough to put any one off.

Rooms were cleaned every day by our cleaner, lovely lady. worked all hours for rubbish money, she was happy with the big tip at the end from our group.the only thing our shower didnt work properly, half the time.

The location of the hotel, well we was about 10 mins walk from the town, the town was about 400 meters long, was glad to see the back of it after two wks looking at the same shop.

Hotel staff not the nicest, they were more for the germans than the english, they had prioty over us.

Entertainment wat is that, during our stay there was one show up by the pool side, this was a german lady singing.

would NEVER visit this hotel again, worst place we have every been.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Racheal Batsford
11 years 4 months ago
Just got back from a two week holiday at the Ralitsa absolutely loved it the staff and bulgarians are so friendly. If you go with First Choice then i defiantely recommend the jeep safari. Will defiantely miss 12:30pm around the pool not dancing to the bomba. Can't fault the cleaning our room was cleaned everyday even down to the making fans out of our towels. The food was really good so much choice our 6 year old loved the chocolate puddings especially. Definatley going back next year love to all the animation team especially Ivona in the kids club.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Michelle Coates
11 years 4 months ago
We booked this holiday and then decided to read reports on it. Needless to say we were really worried about going. We were pleasently surprised when we did arrive.
The rooms were clean, well maintained with frest towels when needed and clean bed linen twice a week.
Cleaners were absolutely lovely. My 2 year old loved them as they would grab him and cuddle him whenever they set eyes on him.
Reception were always helpful when needed.
Bars do close at 11pm on the dot even if you are in a queue they will not serve you with all inclusive drinks after this time. You must get your drinks in early to avoid disapointment (as we found out the hard way).
We never had the same meal twice in the 2 weeks we were there. There is so much choice that you do not need to eat the same each day. Unless you are fussy. None of us suffered with stomache upset and we all tried most things.
You do have to pay for extras like air conditioning, some of the drinks and safes. None of them are expensive though. If like we had 3 rooms, they give you a remote for the air conditioning and it will work in each room so only pay for one room!
Pleasent walk into town or to the lovely beach, but they do supply a bus free of charge if you would prefer.
Pools were great, we stayed by the quiet pool as we had kids withus and it was not so busy. Even the little one was happy to play in the pool. There were a few accidents because of people doing things they shouldn't have been doing around or in the pool and then security stepped up a notch. Until then life guards were nowhere to be seen.
Quite a small town with mostly the same shops throughout. Lots of bars and restaurants. Poco-Loco is lovely and well worth a visit.
Did not see much of the evening entertainment as the hall was packed. What I did see was very basic. By the time they had said it in 6 different languages you had kind of lost the plot! We prefered sitting at the bars and chatting. The kids could let off a bit of steam that way.
For the money we all thought this was a good hotel. For the extras I would probably spend a bit more and stay in a 4-5* next time.
Not a bad holiday all in all.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ali
11 years 5 months ago
we were very worried about going to this hotel after reading the reviews but i am glad to report that the hotel was very clean, the staff were all friendly and the animation team tried hard to keep all the guests happy. the food was pretty good as it had something for all tastes (my kids loved the pizza, chips and pancakes).there dosent seem any favouritism towards anyone as other reports have mentioned, the restaurant staff didnt seem to speak much english but smiled at us instead. we are currently looking at booking there for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstart

Recommended
Karen N Andy
11 years 5 months ago
The usual! After reading some of the reviews was a bit aprehensive but no need to worry. We all had a brilliant time!Really didnt want to come home and face reality- car broke, bills, weans arguing and rain!! etc! I think some people forget they are abroad and expect home standards- holidays are what you make them! Accomodation was absolutely fine and kept very clean by 2 lovely maids. Only thing was where we were ANTS! Bought some insect repellant and sprayed the room problem solved!My 2 kids - Molly 12 and Ryan 8 had an absolute ball and spent most of their time in one of the lovely pools. Im a wee bit fussy and didnt like the food too much but there is plenty of choice and hubby and kids did ok. First time weve went all inclusive and it was well worth it- food and drink from 7am till 11pm the kids were on a sugar and junk food binge for 2 weeks ice cream soft drinks pizza sausage n chips best of all they could help themselves! We met some lovely people and teamed up with them - seperate families and the kids are talking now Birmingham-Glasgow due to the internet! We have to send "Still Game" to a lovely couple we met!Us 2 wives got rather greedy on the "orgasms" and "sex on the beach" Cocktails which were cheap as chips! No probs reccomending this hotel enjoy!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Bob & Jenny
11 years 7 months ago
Food was brilliant with different meals every day with a vast choice to choose in the self service restauraunt eg, Roast Chicken, Roast Turkey, Pork, Beef, Rabbit, Fish, Pasta, Pork sausauges 4 different soups every day. Cold meats, many different fruit's and Yogurt's, loads of different bread's, Salads all varietys of Fresh vegetable's, Chips, Rice, Boiled Potatoes, Mashed potatoes and loads more.

Yes this hotel is Full of German and French tourists, I recomend this accommodation to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
T.j.
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very clean and tidy.

Maids cleaned the rooms every day- and were very creative in the way the beds were made.

The bar staff seemed to not be at all interested in serving and I found most of them were more into talking to each other than pulling pints.

The food was always cold and very repetitive. On more than one occasion the resturant staff had whisked my plate away before I'd actually finished eating.

There was not much to do if it rained(which it did for 3days solid)if it is wet the floors become extremely slippery.

The hotel is located in a nice wooded area, only 10 min walk to the beach. There are ramps to help disabled or pushchairs to reach areas that have steps.

This hotel is more geared up for adults than children and it is very noisy at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum