Image of Albena

Albena Holidays

4 out of 5 from 136 reviews

Hotels in Albena, Bulgaria

Image of Albena Beach Club Hotel
8 of 15 hotels in Albena
12 Reviews
Image of Arabella Beach Hotel
7 of 15 hotels in Albena
1 Review
Image of Boryana Hotel
1 of 15 hotels in Albena
1 Review
Image of Elica Hotel
9 of 15 hotels in Albena
3 Reviews
Image of Gergana Beach Hotel
3 of 15 hotels in Albena
24 Reviews
Image of Hotel Amelia
5 of 15 hotels in Albena
Try The Beer Kellar Restaurant near to the Moby Dick Also try The Shadow Bar, it is opposite the tall Hotel Dobrugha. Steffy's Bistro alongside the Hotel Dobrugha.
14 Reviews
Image of Kaliopa Hotel
2 of 15 hotels in Albena
2 Reviews
Image of Kamelia Hotel
11 of 15 hotels in Albena
1 Review
Image of Lagoon Mare Hotel
6 of 15 hotels in Albena
2 Reviews
Image of Laguna Garden Hotel
4 of 15 hotels in Albena
4 Reviews
Image of Magnolia Hotel
14 of 15 hotels in Albena
18 Reviews
Image of Malibu Hotel
11 of 15 hotels in Albena
1 Review
Image of Panorama Hotel
15 of 15 hotels in Albena
8 Reviews
Image of Ralitsa Hotel
10 of 15 hotels in Albena
53 Reviews
Image of Vita Park Hotel
13 of 15 hotels in Albena
15 Reviews

136 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    43
  • Very Good
    69
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Poxicator
8 years 4 months ago
Albena is kept very clean with regular washing of the streets and bin collection, so no bad smells or fly issues. There are however, broken pavements in abundance (mostly caused by cars parking directly on them) and the occassional building hazard which is one of the few negatives.
Albena beach holds the blue flag category for cleanliness and supporting amenities - you'll find showers, changing booths, restaurants and refreshment bars along its long stretch of pure sand. There's plenty of loungers/umbrella's and the beach is cleaned every night. The sea is clean with a slow decline making it excellent for children. There didn't seem to be any outcrops of rocks or islands or even dense patches of seaweed so not great for snorkeling but other than that you can't fault it.
Late night entertainment is very limited, there's only one main disco which seemed almost the only venue that was open later than midnight. There are 2 parallel (for the most part) pedestrian walkways, one running alongside the beach the other, busier one about 50 yards away. There's plenty of bungee swings, rodeo and tandem bike hire as well as a number of other amusements. All of the bars on the seafront stop at either 11pm or 12pm and this area quickly becomes very quiet. The busier street sees all the shops shut at the same time and very few bars stay open much after midnight. I'm guessing much of this is a consequence of All Inclusive as even in the early evening these bars are only half full. A number of the bars/restaurants have live music. Prices vary along this area, Bulgarian lager often at 2L but international brands at 6L. We found Laguna bar on the seafront offering Stella at 2.5L and cocktails at 4L. You'll find pancakes stalls range from 1 to 3L so its worth shopping around. Personally I was surprised in the increasing and I object to paying more than I would in London!
The beach train runs til after midnight with a charge of 2.5 Lv, just make sure you get on the right one.
Overall a nice resort, great beach but lacks a late nightlife.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sue
8 years 6 months ago
Albena is a very nice resort, some excellant restaurants, the beaches are clean and lifeguards are posted every 200 meters.

Very nice shopping area of local goods, the locals are friendly and not pushy for purchases.

we visitied the polyclinic and the staff were extrenely helpful.

The whole resort is a pleasure to visit.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jeff & Claire
8 years 6 months ago
the resort was dingy not much to do unless you were a minor as there was a lot of fairground rides
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sophie
9 years 4 months ago
it was very good but there just wasnt much night life.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Becky
9 years 4 months ago
This is our third year in Albena, we loved it and will be going back in the future.
We have made so many great friends and alot of the bulgarians speak great english.
x
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Galina A.
9 years 4 months ago
The resort was awesome. I would go again just not to this hotel.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
A&M
10 years 3 months ago
I really liked the resort of Albena. Found it to be very clean and well set out. It is definately a family resort and would probably be too quite for anyone looking for a lively holiday but suited me fine. I enjoy the beach and pool, my partner likes walking around stopping off for a drink and chatting with people he felt it was a little too quiet for him. This may be as a lot of the hotels seem to be all inclusive so not as much outside the hotels.
Theres plently of stalls and an indoor market for holiday gifts, clothes etc. There is a entertainment park with rides for children and bowling alley, horse riding. The beach is excellent with various water sports available.
We visited the next town down Kranevo and has a couple of excellent meals at very reasonable prices. Also found the best excahnge rate of the week a the main bank in the centre 2.40 as oposed to 2.35 the same day in Albena.
I would definately visit Albena again and would recommend for families with young children.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mr P Morris
10 years 3 months ago
Although quite a small resort, Albena had a cleanliness and friendliness that very much in keeping with what I had hoped to see.

The beach was kept very clean and tidy and there were life guards on duty operating a flag system to let holiday makers know if it is safe to swim etc. There were also numerous beach volleyball courts available for use.

In addition to this, there were a large selection of watersports available, along with a good selection of beach front entertainment such as kids rides, bicylce hire, shops, bars and resteraunts.

Along the beach there are plenty of parasols and sunloungers available for hire.

In the town, there is only one main shopping street, but this supplies you with a good range of nik-naks and souvenirs to take home.

Again, there are a vast array of bars and resteraunts offering a good selection of foods from Cuban, Mexican, Italian, Chinese and even a healthier option. Most of these places offer inside and outside seating, and most provide live entertainment to keep you amused.

Transport around the resort is plentiful, from buses, taxis and a road train which has routes around both the town centre, and the hotel trail. This is payable at a very reasonable price.

There is a local bus station from where you can travel to nearby Varna where there is, again, a good selection of activities available to you.

In conclusion, I found the resort very charming and would definately return here, however, the choice of hotel would be one thing I would change.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Karen Roberts
10 years 4 months ago
There was no entertainment on the resort and found ourselves bored after day 1!

The beach was the only thing going for this resort!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Annalucia
10 years 4 months ago
The cleanliness was incredible! They were always seeping and picking up carbage (if some stupid turist didn't find the trash can *:D* ). Entertainment at this resort is not so good, but we mainly went for the lovely beach. Beach was 7km long with very fine sand. A perfect place for kids (not deep at all).

Albena is really cheap place to be, the have lovely little stores and especially the rose-products are lovely (and smell great!). So if you want to bring something home, take them. Albena is a quite small place, ideal for kids, elderly people and people who want a quite holiday on the beach. As it is so small, I wouldn't go again, cause once you've seen it, you've seen it all. But I do recomened it to first timers.

Have a nice holiday!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
Albena, Bulgaria
Great for Families
Image of Boryana Hotel
Boryana Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
5* Treatment
Image of Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
An enjoyable time
Image of Gergana Beach Hotel
Gergana Beach Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
The rooms were super small and outdated. All 7 of …
Image of Ralitsa Hotel
Ralitsa Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
We stayed at the ralitsa 3 because we didnt know y…
Image of Arabella Beach Hotel
Arabella Beach Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
The hotel staff was great, really helpful and alwa…
Image of Albena Beach Club Hotel
Albena Beach Club Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
The hotel was basic, but clean and comfortable. Th…
Image of Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
Albena, Bulgaria
The Hotel was clean enough and the cleaning staff …