Image of Albena Beach Club Hotel

Albena Beach Club Hotel

8 of 15 hotels in Albena

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Albena Beach Club

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Adam & Becci
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel was basic, but clean and comfortable. The beds and towels were changed regulary. The hotel, but mainly the balcony is in need of redecoration.

The food was very repetitive and most days we eat out. Some looked like the food at dinner time had been reheated from lunch time. We mainly eat the pizza at lunch from the pool bar.
I have been on better AI holidays, where the food has been outstanding.

The staff were helpful until near the end of our stay. It was coming to the end of the season and the staff had a cannot be bothered attitude to its guests. which put all the guests in a bad mood. everyone at the hotel was annoyed by the attitude of the staff on the last few days.

The entertainment was ok if you had kids, but even the children that were there did not join in.

If I was to go to Bugaria again I would go self catering and eat out at the many restaurants.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Woods
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the M part of the hotel the location is fantastic right on the beach and only a slow walk or train ride into the centre, 95% of the staff were brilliant. There was always someone cleaning it was spotless. We were on the third floor with a sea view The room was faultless very spacious and easy to keep clean.I think we had the lazyiest maid going some days she did not even make our beds, there were other people getting fans and butterflies made out of towels and nightwear but we got none of this.

The food in the hotel on our first week was almost faultless i am a very fussy eater and i found something to eat at every mealtime. pancakes at breakfast a must they are delicious, the toaster was very slow and only one i think they should invest in another to speed the process up as some days it took 6 times round the toaster to get a bit of brown colour on it by which time a queue had developed, the second week of our holiday the food did seem to deteriorate quite a bit whether this was due to the fact that the hotel was due to close for the end of seasoni am not sure.

The bars kept running out of glasses so you were given your drink in a paper cup not very good for a spirit drink as it melts the cup.

The animation staff were brilliant in the daytime, darts, french bowls, skittles,water and step aerobics and not forgetting volleyball. The evening was a quiz, a show or bingo which is a laugh in three different languages.

Albena is lovely the people are not too pushy for you to buy anything but alot of the attractions had shut until next year which was a shame

All in all a lovely holiday and would most definetly stay at this hotel/resort again but not at the end of season already looking for next year but the end of August
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balken

Recommended
Alison
11 years 4 months ago
The Hotel was very clean. Our room was cleaned daily, sheets and towells were changed once during our week's stay. The bathroom was clean and in good working order. The shower was powerful. Air conditioning worked well.
The hotel food was excellent. There was a wide variety of foods at all mealtimes. It was comparable to the variety we had at hotels we have stayed in on the med. There were plenty of vegetables, salads and meats. One of our party is a vegetarian; she found plenty to eat of the non meat variety.
The hotel location was excellent, right on the beach. We were at the edge of the resort so at night there wasn't any noise.
The hotel staff were polite and responded very well to our attempts at Bulgarian.
The entertainment was good. We did of water aerobics and a quiz. There was plenty else on offer, but we didn't feel at all pressured into doing it.
We had a really relaxing week, didn't venture outside of the resort, but would recommend the Black Sea coast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Jones Family
11 years 4 months ago
This hotel has had such varying reports, that we went with an open mind not expecting too much. However we really needn't have worried- we booked this hotel expecting a quiet seafront location suited to families and we certainly weren't disappointed. The location is fantastic right on a very clean sandy beach and our two bed apartment on the 8th floor was wonderful, we've never had so much space. The maid came in daily always making shapes from the children's pyjamas and arranging their soft toys. In fact the whole place was kept exceptionally clean.

A major gripe on previous reviews has been the food, which I have to say I do find hard to understand. All the cooked food was piping hot and the variety was great. I would say they were trying to cater for at least 6 different nationalities, so the food wasn't typically English, but it was good homecooked fayre right down to the soups. I'm sure no-one would starve, there was a big variety of fresh breads, salads, veg, cold meats and cheeses at every meal and no-one that we spoke to had been struck by stomach problems. During the day the pizzas from the beach bar were gorgeous.


A big bonus for us was that favouring the two smaller pools rather than the one at the Gergana, we had absolutely no problems finding loungers. At mid-day there would still be free ones. The kids were quite happy in the smaller pools as they were quiet and deep enough for their acrobatics!


The entertainments team were a great bunch of people- there wasn't a kids club as such but the entertainments team spent so much time playing with them on the beach and in the pool, it was actually far more fun for them than being stuck in a room drawing etc They also ran Darts etc for the adults during the day. The evening entertainment was a bit more hit and miss, but you couldn't fault their enthusiasm.


We did various trips some with first choice others by taxi:

Varna- hated it as we had a bad experience in the market with a particularly aggresive trader. After, we were told we should have removed our AI bands.

Golden Sands- much busier and commercial than Albena

Horseriding- an hours treck down the beach for 25 leva each, well worth it.

Aquapolis- not the world's biggest aquapark but the slides were great and it was safe to let the girls aged 8 and 11 go around together. 5 hours wasn't long enough for them!

Kranevo- a lovely walk down the beach and well worth the visit

Bulgaria without makeup trip- a trip down the Kamache river and then into a village to see a typical Bulgarian house and folklore show with food, also a horse and cart ride. A lovely day out.

Jeep Safari- what can I say, fantastic fun!


So all in all we had a great holiday- the Bulgarians are lovely people and if it is a quiet relaxing holiday you are after, the Albena Beach Club won't disappoint
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tait
11 years 4 months ago
On arrival we were dissapointed. Just basic reception, rooms just ok. But after a few days we liked it. Rooms were kept clean as was the rest of the hotel. The linen was changed every day. It was right on a lovely beach. Easy to get a sun bed. Easy access to the town Albena.

Food ok, best of all AI I have been on, I have been on around 6 all around the world. The drink is the usual rubbish but is alcoholic and not watered down, but the beer is too acid and everything else too sweet. The wine is bogging, you would expect better from Bulgaria but it is obviously the rubbish they serve.

The service from the staff is mixed. Some are really nice and helpfull and others (young bar staff in particular) can test your patience. Overall the upsides outweigh the downsides, not a bad AI!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Was a bit dubious after reading some reviews, but had absolutely no need to worry.

We were on our honeymoon and had to push the twin beds together but the maids then but us double sheets on which was fantastic. They also kept the room clean all week.

Staff were generally really friendly, the animation team could get a bit annoying constantly asking us to join in when all we wanted to do was relax.

Food was very german based but we always managed to find something to eat, we found it was best not to eat in the restaurant at lunch but to have the pizza from the pool bar which was lovely. Drinks were also ok all be it very strong.

All in all we had an excellant honeymoon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
What a fantastic holiday,best weve had in the last 10 years.

We were based in the M section.The hotel is very clean and tidy,never saw ants or cockroaches at all the whole stay,also no flies in the dining area or reception.

The rooms were kept spotless by the maids who came in every day,they also changed our towels every day even when we were happy to keep them.

BATHROOM
shower(very powerful) with screens,toilet,sink with large mirror above,shaver point and hairdryer,plenty of toilet rolls and for some strange reason a phone!!

BEDROOM
mini bar (payable at reception) or ask them to empty it and rent as a fridge for 50lev for 2weeks.
free air conditioning,fly screen door if you want fresh air,we used door at night so we could listen to the sea,excellent double glazing if it gets a bit noisey,tv,2or more plug sockets,two double wardrobes and shelves,large mirror next to bathroom,also dressing table with large mirror above.beds very comfy,i normally have problems sleeping but was fine.small balcony with two chairs and table and ours had a washingline already there,so did daughters room.
Wonderful view of the beach and sea.

RECEPTION 24hour
again very clean and air conditioned,lovely leather sofas and chairs,raised area for pool,air hockey,internet etc,small bar which stops serving AI drinks at 11pm but you can still buy them or sometimes we took our own down when we played cards and they didnt complain,Safe hire 40lev 2 weeks.large tv on wall near bar,tables and parasols outside.always very clean and tidy

FOOD
evening meal 6-9pm
we normally ate our evening meal at about 7-7.30,we loved the food,there was always a roast(chicken,lamb,turkey,pork,veal) with gravy,fresh plain veg and potatoes,pasta,meat in different sauces,everything was always hot,loads of salads,cheese,cold meats etc.plenty of fresh fruit and puddings,ice cream.
lunch 12.30-2.30
as above but with pizza,no roast
breakfast 7-9.30
bacon(not english surprise, surprise)eggs-boiled, fried,scrambled,egg bread,beans,cold meats,loads of lovely fresh bread,pancakes,
snacks 11-5pm
salad,burgers,chips,ice cream

We never had a problem with the food and always found plenty to eat,even my 17yr old who is really fussy.
A lot of people complained that it wasnt like a proper english breakfast!!hang on its bulgaria.The reps,Charleen and Chris,tried their best to deal with peoples complaints and got the staff to vary the meals and kept their eye on food temperatures etc.

The staff were very friendly and helpful though sometimes i can understand why they were a bit fed up.some people have no manners and treated them like slaves.
The hotel is about 15mins walk from centre of albena,noddy train stops outside hotel every 20mins,2lev.pleasant walk either on front where there are shops,or along back which is a bit more shaded.

We didnt go for the entertainment but during the day there was always something going on,evening they tried their best to entertain several differnt nationallities,
We really didnt want to come home and would go back again in a flash.Some people were returning for the 2nd and 3rd times!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
R.Smith.
11 years 6 months ago
Very clean hotel in great location.The food was fine and the staff were very helpfull.I would go again....best holiday I have had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
Despite the reports this is a great hotel,yes a little dated and half german but for the money it is a great hotel.

The food is,yes,continental but there was lots of choice and you cpuld eat from morning to night if you wanted.

The bar was small and ai drinks were not like at home but the wine at meal times was great.

Entertainment was poor but trying to cater for many nationalities and reception/bar/entertainment area was always smokey.

Rooms were clean and the staff were as helpful as they could be.

You are not paying the Ritz prices so dont expect that but you will find it better than most.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
We have been surprised at the negative remarks about this hotel, as we all loved it here.

Food
we found it to be very good indeed. It was well cooked and served and there was a very good selection. Everything was fresh - lovely fresh vegetables every day, fish and various meats (always a joint being carved as well). There was a particularly excellent choice for vegetarians, hot and cold food, which often is forgotten in foreign hotels. Bread was baked fresh for breakfast every morning and pan cakes were freshly made.

Dining room had seating inside and outside on the terrace overlooking the beach.

The daytime Snack bar offered freshly made pizza, a few more bits and pieces and a bbq was on every day, .

Rooms
There were 10 in our party so we had 5 room in total, and all were good.The rooms were large and most had a lovely sea view. Ours even had a hairdyer in the bathroom.
My room was located next to the lift on ground floor and was really noisy at night, we had to ask for notices to be put up asking for people to keep noise down at night, this did seem to do the trick and the noise was better.

Location
Right on the beach, Bliss!
Albena beach is wonderful! White sand and clear shallow water - perfect for children. Much less touristy than Golden Sands or Sunny Beach, it's the place to go if you don't want to share the beach with thousands of other people.
The hotel is at the end of the resort, so no noisy bars and people about, its a nice walk into town, 15 mins or catch the noddy train right outside the hotel.
At the back of the hotel is the reserve, so its lovely and shady with trees, a walk to the gergena hotle brings you to a pond with turtles and frogs, fish etc...very picturesque.

In spite of the dire predictions of rife prostitution we never came across a single 'lady of the night' during our stay.

Pools
2 small slash pool in the M part of the hotel (albena beach club), on a decked area on the beach and a nice indoor pool. Plenty of beds to lie out on.

The main pool was shared with the gergena Hotel,(S half..where you are if you ar HB or BB)(this is where the eve entertainment is) nice freeform pool,and not over busy. Lots of sunbeds in this area and we did not sunbath here as it was too busy.
We sat at the small pools and walked round to use the main pool, we found this best

Entertainment
Aninamtion team always up to something in the day, volley ball, step aerobics, darts, boules...the usual sort of thing. They asked you to join in, and its up to you if you do.
Also they arranged activities for the kids, so they could join in too

Evening, cheesy shows, the usual things you see on holiday! but some was actually OK

Niggles! (yes there has to be some)

Lack of bowls, glasses, cutlery in dining room! We were always having to hunt for them.

Paper cups in the evening! You had to ask for glasses if you didn't you got the paper cups.The staff gave paper cups and seemed reluctant to want to give out glasses.
We tended to bring our glass out of the dining room and hang on to it!

Staff... Not over friendly, never smiled alot. I had the urge to say "SMILE for goodness" sake to the bar staff!

Some people we spoke to were unhappy having to carry drinks to the shared area (pool) to watch the entertainment,as that area is not all inclusive, it is abit annoying and we feel this should be pointed out in the brouchure.

Sand flies
Ouch those dam critters dont half bite! Half the guest seemed to have chicken pox! sand flies liked to bite unsuspecting sunbathing guests, the rep said they were non exsistant the week before so maybe we we were just unlucky! Take insect repelent just in case!

There, thats about all I can say... A nice hotel, lovely food, freshly cooked catering for many nationalities, (but dont expect beef and yorkshire pud, you need to go to blackpool for that). Location to die for if you like beaches in a quiter part of the resort, and a nice stroll into town.

Yes we would like to return! You just have to remember it isnt spain and just enjoy it for what it is.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum