Image of Vita Park Hotel

Vita Park Hotel

13 of 15 hotels in Albena

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Albena Resort, Albena, Bulgaria

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Margaret And Kelly
12 years 2 months ago
Hotel very clean everywhere, unless you look under the beds. Maids do work hard tho, say good morning and try to please.

Shown to our room by a porter on the run, we virtually had to run to keep up! He did wait for a tip but he didn't get much so ignored us completely (so did his colleague)as we struggled with bags and doors on check out day.

If zero rating was possible that's what I would give for food!! Burnt or raw, very greasy, cold and told to wait by one chef who was cooking eggs (I wanted one before it went completely solid)the water in the urn for tea was luke warm (used microwave to heat it enough to make tea)gave up after second day. No coffee available in dining room after 10am. At 10.10am lights go off and so do all machines. Coffee only available from bar or snack bar, both of which you have to queue at. Fruit juice (from a machine)runs out regularly and isn't replenished. Lovely selection of breads though. Not too happy about everything being uncovered though or bread being left for all and sundry to put their mucky hands on to slice. Birds flying around in dining hall too, I'm sure they won't have been house trained. We ate out most nights so thank goodness restaurants are cheap, still feel cheated though at having to pay twice!!

Promised a hotel no more than 800 metres from beach this one is over 900!

Reception staff friendly enough if you greeted them and offered a smile. Reception manageress very helpful.
What entertainment!!!!

We heard the daily eins, vie, drei over and over again each day as the GERMAN kids club was right outside our room!! We have various other complaints too but I will take them up with the holiday company as there isn't enough space here

Will we visit Vita Park again? Not flippin' likely!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bookable Holidays

Tom
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel was clean, the food was disgusting it was cold undercooked or burnt.

The location was bad it would be no good for the elderley.

The staff was okay as long as you tipped them.There was no entertainment for the english at all. There is no way I would ever go back to this hotel.

I complained to rep several times, and even asked to be moved, but would have had to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Nicola,mark And Morgan
12 years 2 months ago
We went all inclusive but had to end up going out from the hotel every night because the food and drink was so bad.

The food in the restaurand was awful sometimes edible as long as you like sausages. Even the rice had sausages in it.

It got worse over the fortnight the same thing over and over again. The best meal of the day there was breakfast cos you could manage on croissants and jam, bacon and eggs were either raw or burnt to a crisp.

The staff take your plate from you as soon as you put down your knife and fork. They only switch on the coffee machines in the morning if you want a cup with your lunch or dinner then your stuffed.

The only drinks you could get at the bar(if you can call it that, more like a lobby(about 25 seats)was vodka, warm coke or lager everything else you had to pay for it was terrible they had loads of bottles on the shelves but they were all empty just for show.

If you asked for a glass of lager you got one of those plastic party cups half full. If you asked them for a cup of coffee they tut and look at you like you'v asked them to kill someone.

Bar staff were also quite rude.

There is absolutely no entertainment for English guests at all. Kids clubs are available but they are all in German with German reps so the British kids can't join in, which is hard to explain to a five year old when the reps are organising games for the German kids around the pool, trust me.

We had to go out to drink every single night exept one when we stayed in the hotel we were in bed by 10 cos there wasn't even anywhere to sit we were sat on the steps going into the bar.

The pool was quite big and was also quite clean the only thing in the hotel that was any good. But be warned there are poles left just standing that the pools steps used to be attatched to which my son walked into I don't know how many times, and also fittings coming out of the side of the pool under the water which are really easy to swim into I did it a few times.

We also booked with the rep to go on the pirates adventure day. I wouldn't bother we were told that the two ships were going to have fights with water pistols. Fat chance they told us that thay didn't have any water pistols so we had to dip toilet roll into buckets of sea water and throw that at each other we thought that they were joking, but they werent. The kids were really dissapointed.

They also tell you that your meals are included while your on the ship. The kids had a jam filled croissant each and a bowl of cheap wotsits per table to share and the adults had a plate of cheese bread sticks to share.

They also give you a bottle of pop and a bottle of lager per table.

We met two couples from Blackpool while we were on there.(so if you read this we do remember you haha)so our booze didnt last that long but I think that we had everone else on the boats share coz I was quite tipsy when we go off.

Warning don't go to this hotel, we read these pages before we went but didnt think it could be true, but trust us its a nightmare.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Keith
12 years 9 months ago
Stayed for one week, when we arrived it was very early in the morning, around 4am. Waited for our keys etc then someone takes your cases to to the room, they just stand looking at you arms folded waiting for a tip, never encountered this before.

Hotel was spotless and always getting cleaned, food was not too good, they was birds flying in dining area, no problem getting served at the bar in the lobby. but pool bar was hit and miss, as the girl who served at it just used to wonder off all day.

Entertainment was a loss all in German, so I would not take my children to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytours

Cassie Wright
12 years 10 months ago
The hotel was beautifully clean inside and out and it seem the chambermaids worked 24/7.

On arrival porters take you to your room but stand arms crossed until you give them a tip and stay there until you give them the amount they want. This was very intimidating.

It was 90% German all activities and entertainment was for the Germans. We even asked them to repeat it in English so we could join in but was refused. The children also tried to join in the kids club but was asked to leave because they weren't German.

The staff were very unapproachable, especially the reception and restaurant staff who only spoke English when it suited them and they made very little effort if you wanted to ask them something. The hotel manager even turned her back on me and walked away as I was speaking to her.

The food was very repetitive and greasy and again was mainly catered for the Germans. There was never enough cups or plates for the amount of people there.

According to the brochure and rep (on the one time we seen her all holiday.) you could use the Ralista facilities for free but when the staff saw we had Vita Parc wristbands we were asked to leave.

The pool has missing and broken tiles. My children ripped two swimming costumes and my son took the top of his toe off. The grates also tilted up and was very sharp (not very good when you have a curious toddler).

We saw the rep on the first day for a very non-informative welcome meeting after that she was never seen again. We were given a Thomson's 24 hr telephone number but on numerous occasions we tried this it never worked. As stated before my son cut his toe open badly and due to the lack of English speaking staff, no rep and a telephone number that didn't work I have had to wait to get home for him to see a doctor and get it treated.

As this was an all inclusive holiday the snack bar was stated to be open till 11pm. Usually by 9pm it had ran out of beer and milk and the food was finished by 10pm.

The room was very small for the size of family I have (even though we had 2 interconnecting rooms.) The balconies were not safe and the children under 5 years could climb through to the next apartment. The water for the shower was always cold and the toilets only flushed when they felt like it. The babies cot was falling to pieces. After I complained I returned to my room to find they had fixed it with plastic carrier bags. My husband had to fix this the best he could himself for the safety of the baby.

It was a beautiful country that I want to re-visit next year but I will definitely not be going to this hotel or resort again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sky Tours

Lynda Mayne
12 years 10 months ago
The hotel itself was very very clean. Maids worked really hard,the food was terrible we went all inclusive and only ate in the restarant once as after that meal we were ill!

The staff are very unfriendly never smiled or talked to us. The entertaintment was nil and everything was in German I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. We had to eat in the town all the time but there is a lovely place called Peters where the food was nice and the staff were really feiendly. Also the pub called Tropical Cafe was great. Live group on every night and Elvis had a great time there every night. Personally I would not go anywhere near this hotel again so take heed.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Sarah
13 years ago
On arrival the hotel porters take you to your rooms and stand arms folded until you give them a tip, this was very intimdating. Especially since you aren't even given the option of finding your room yourself and carrying your own luggage.

The hotel itself was spotless the maids were the nicest members of staff around. They appear to claen 24/7, both inside and outside the hotel.

As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is 90% German, and all the activities and entertainment is in German. The children were acttually refused entry to the kids club on one occasion because they were not German!

The staff were very unapproachable, especially the reception staff who only spoke very little English and only understood when they wanted to, they were very unhelpful with all requests.

The swimming pool is used around the clock with people swimming during the early hours of the morning (2-3am), which proves to be very disturbing if you have a pool view, and when the pool is only supposed to be in use from 8am till 8pm. Annoying and dangerous, as many swimmers at that time were fuelled with alcohol.
You do need to get up early for a sun louger but even then people move your towels anyway.

The food was very repetitive and again catered mainly for Germans. We had to eat out just for a bit of variety. A lot of the food was either undercooked or burnt!

You can use the Ralista pool and bars for free now but if the pool gets to busy and the staff see you wearing Vita Park bands they will ask you to leave.

The entertainment in the hotel is all in German and the entertainment at the Ralista is again aimed at the German holiday makers but some introductions to the acts were in English. However some entertainment was based in small bars limiting the size of the audience.
Very disappointing for the children.

I will definitly not stay in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Marc-Oliver
13 years ago
All the below mentioned critics concerning the hotel-staff are definitely true !

The room maids are really gorgeous and the hotel extremely clean.

The pool is too small for the number of guests. Nevertheless, even without putting your towels out at 6:00 am in the morning, you always get place to lie down.

The hotel is extremely loud, for there are tourists arriving and leaving all the time, even in the middle of the night. You hear the buses coming and going.

The entertainment is in German: Of Course it is!!! It is organised and paid by the German tourists over their travel agency and not part of the hotel booking.
(For being German, please forgive me in pointing that out. I have paid extra for that children's club! I doubt, that the British guests have paid for this service ? If so: sorry. That is then definitely not all right !).

The food is not too bad (and definitely not catered only for German stomachs - very much on the contrary). It is just the way, that they cook it there. Don't alway blame us crouts !

We found extremely negative, that there were never enough cups, plates, knife, etc. And all drinks are being served in plastic ! (yak!).

The hotel staff is really unfriendly and hardly dares to smile or wish a good morning or good evening. At the bar you are usually being ignored for the first minutes.

We have met some very nice people (English, German, French, dutch) but I would definitely not return to this hotel or Bulgaria at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1-2-fly

Sonia
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel was nice with a good sized pool, rooms were cleaned every day but room was very small for the size of our party.

Food was decent enough with alot of choice but very repetitive, the staff made hardly any effort with english customers and none could speak very much english, all the entertainment was in german including kids clubs, english children were turned away because they couldn't understand what was going on.

There was not enough seating areas around the bars for the size of the hotel and most of the bar staff had a tendancy to over look english customers a lot.

I wouldn't visit this hotel again as it was catered for the germans which we were not told about by the travel agents the rep or in the brochure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours

Mark Haining
13 years 1 month ago
Well as all before have said 80 to 90% are Germans.

The pool looks very nice but there are 4 to 6 accidents in the pool everyday usually cuts from broken items, my 6 year old son on the first day had a 1 inch gash in his foot from a broken lamp under the water. There are loose tiles and loose grates some of which tilt up and will cut you.

Food had a fair range but again to much German content so we ate out a lot.

We were meant to be able to use the Ralista hotel for entertainment but if you do you get charged for your drinks. We were then told it is the Rlaista at the bottom of the road which is part of the same hotel and here you don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medhotels.com

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum