Image of Clubhotel Riu Bambu Hotel

Clubhotel Riu Bambu Hotel

2 of 6 hotels in Bavaro

5 out of 5 from 10 reviews
5 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Meyer
Average
6 years 10 months ago
The hotel was clean but swimming pools were only cleaned once a week and sheets for beds only changed once a week.

To say the food is great is an understatement, as it was very repetitive with all mixture of salads which at times were too mixed up that you could not tell what it was. However all food was well cooked and hot.

The location of the hotel was good with only ten yards to beach front where you were met by white clean sand and clear blue warm sea.

Staff seemed to talk to guests who tipped well however they were pleasant but did spend more time talking to each other.

As for the entertainment it was poor we have stayed at Riu hotels before and this did not come up to scratch as too much time spent clapping for team than putting on a good show.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Thomson
8 years ago
This hotel was great really clean and the food was always nice and fresh with plenty of options to choose from. The hotel staff were very friendly the thomson rep stephanie was great, she organised birthday cake and balloons for our daughters birthday the waiters in the main buffet the colonial were great, the entertainment team are always very busy doing different activities through the day and night.
The hotel is right on the beach which is fantastic spent most of our holiday here would not hesitate to book again to go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Chrisand Colin Finch
8 years 4 months ago
Hotel very clean rooms were spotless even though we did not get ours cleaned until about 3 in the afternoons,we were lucky and had one of the newly refurbished rooms all the rooms are being done up at the moment.The food was good always plenty to choose from and the steak house was fab you must try the mixed grill it is very big even for two people, nice in there as waiter service.I found the staff not over friendly they seem to chat too the people who tipped them everyday as we tip at the end of the holiday we did not get as much attention as others. We did tip each time we ate in the steak house as it was waiter service and i did find they were much more friendlier in there than they were in the main resturant. The location of the hotel is set on a lovely beach it is just heaven. The entertainment was fantastic do not miss the circus show wow it was out of this world and yes we would come back again as we loved it and could not fault anything about it. Weread lots of bad reviews about this hotel but we were so pleased we did not take any notice of them because this hotel was brilliant we could not fault anything that could have spoilt out holiday even the two thomson reps Nicki and Wes were super they love you to stop and chat with them so helpful and friendly. Do try this hotel for yourself and i think you will find like us you will love it and not be dissapointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Sue James
9 years 5 months ago
Have recently returned from a two week stay at Riu Bambu and have a wonderful time. All staff was polite and welcoming, mostly speaking decent English, although our attempts at some basic Spanish were welcomed.

The staff was always cheerful and greeted us whenever we met them. I was impressed with the management as it seemed as if all the staff was valued no matter what their job and I am sure that this reflected in the courteous way we were treated. I also found the customer relations to be excellent, both the manager and a customer relations lady were regularly in the restaurant and came to talk to us and ensure we had everything we required. We only had one problem during our stay which was a fusty smell in the room. We went to reception and they moved us the following morning to another room which was fine with no problem. They also left us a bottle of local rum and telephoned later to check we were satisfied with the new room.

The All Inclusive package was 24 hours and it was nice to have drinks in the room, although these were limited. However there were several places where other drinks could be obtained easily. We found the food to be good with plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are other restaurants we could use at other hotels in the resort although we did not use them as we had plenty of choice at the Bambu. We did try the Steak House al la carte which was very enjoyable.

The animacion team were amazing. They worked hard and very long hours, yet were always cheerful and energetic. They provided quite a variety of activities during the day and put on show in the evening. The shows were good and the people taking part were very professional in their attitude. Many thanks to Alex, who was pretty amazing, in addition to being part of the team providing daytime activities, he also sometimes worked in the kids club (they all seemed to love him) as well as being a dancer in the shows and dancing with the guests before/ after the ShowTime. I don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
John Thomas
9 years 11 months ago
The Bambu was clean but extremely shabby.Paint flaking off the pool side ,beach towels stained and fraying, some have holes in.The rooms are small ,ours had rust spots in the bath where the enamel had come off,it had a strange mouldy smell.The food was ok but the choices were the same every day.However the steak and a la carte restaurants were very good.The entertainment team work very hard but the shows were very poor and some of the daytime entertainment comes over speakers which are everywhere,you cant escape it ,if you are wanting a quiet holiday this is not for you.At the weekend the locals come into the hotel and just take over.They take your sunbeds use your towels even if you are sitting on them.I would not recomend this hotel it needs a complete refurb definitly not 5 star more like a 3 at best
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Jane Robinson
11 years 9 months ago
Have just come back from Riu Bambu in Dominican Republic.

It was a fantastic holiday. The hotel was right on the beach, rooms spotless, food exceptional.

We would visit this hotel again. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sue
12 years ago
We stayed at the Riu Bambu in Bavaro from 26th June to 10th July the accommodation was excellent.

Rooms cleaned everyday food was very good excellent choice. Staff where fantastic considering the long hours they have to work and reps Sonia and Helen were really helpful I would recommend the monster truck safari and the Saona adventure. If you do any of the trips there was entertainment every night except Thursdays when they have a carnival on Caribbean street which is very good we didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Claire
12 years 3 months ago
A brillant hotel, 22 of us travelled there for a wedding.

The hotel couldnt do enough for us, the food was brillant with loads of choice!

The activies there were great something for everyone!
Well worth travelling to!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Tony & Pam
13 years ago
Everything we'd hoped for.

The food couldn't be faulted - simply superb! Fantastic variety with excellent, friendly service.

Couple of very small gripes. The room had obviously been smoked in by a previous occupant but not so bad that a complaint was necessary. Also, the daytime / evening entertainment while very engaging and at times even amusing - was occasionally bordering on the 'Butlins' level.

So if this type of entertainment isn't for you there's always the short stroll away from the pool area to the beach - which is absolutely superb.

In our opinion, we thought the hotel was probably too popular for its own good with many people coming from other parts of the resort to socialise, be entertained and filling up the pool area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Steve, Lisa & Kelsey
13 years ago
Hotel Riu Bambu - making the return trip to this Hotel two years later was well worth the effort and as much,if not more enjoyable than the first time round.

The rooms and surrounding grounds were kept spotless by the staff, who worked all hours of the day to do so.

The food quality is everything you could hope for with such variety, that you can try many cuisines that you may never normally have the chance to.

As for the hotel evening entertainment,plenty of laughs to finish off what is normally a fantastic day lounging around on the glorious beach at Bavaro- and lots of hard work put in by the staff. The childrens daytime programme is also well worth a mention and the children are well looked after by Angela and her crew, making our holiday extra special for our daughter - needless to say we are returning this year because each of us had our own little holiday and our child was safe to be with friends around the Bambu complex.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum