Image of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Country Club

Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Country Club

6 of 8 hotels in Montego Bay

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall 33126, Jamaica

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bev
9 years 1 month ago
A group of 14 went to this hotel ,some of the group went when it was a wyndam hotelthey thought the hotel was better then.But i have to say we had a great time food was fine was very good at the three palms restarant but one draw back this restrant did not open until 4 days before our return due to refurb ,although thoese who had been before said it was the same.The nightclub was still being refurb so you could not get draught beer and some other drinks
The beer was red stripe which statred off ok but as the holiday went it got worse.staff at the hotel were very helpful and always had a smile.
We stayed by the pool as beach was quiet narrow and on a slope also water was not clear and lots of seaweed on beach.
Had a great day at Dunn river , had a good day at montego bay beware you dont get ripped off in shops look around first and check prices ,we paid to upgrade on flight had a bad service going not much to drink it was not worth the money. coming back they gave half of us seats in back of plane we also supposed to have priorty check in we was one of the first there and the last to be checked in, complaind to thomas cook on our return but had no joy so if you do go and up grade beware would not recommend it.All said and done i would return to hotel and would recommend this hotel to others, just make sure no big work conference is on or you may have trouble getting lunch
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sean
10 years 3 months ago
Overall I was quite impressed with the hotel, and the holiday itself was great, but there were a few 'situations' which have lowered my ratings a bit.

The rooms were of a high standard, well decorated and had all the facilities you would expect. We did however have some issues with the cleaners turning up very late (past 5:00pm on occasion) or not at all, even on one occasion claiming they had cleaned our room when it was clear they had not!

The food during the daytime and at the formal restaurants was very good, although there was somewhat limited choice at lunchtimes. Most evenings we had dinner at the buffet-style restaurant, which was OK. Although the food changed every night, somehow there didn't seem to be much variety, and the room itself was described by some as being like a 'school canteen'.

The staff were very friendly and willing to help out whenever you needed it. There are also a team of photographers which can be found all around the hotel, and at the end of the holiday you can purchase your pictures from reception.

The hotel boasts an impressive sounding variety of entertainment, but there is very little for people around my age (16-20) to do, especially in the evenings. When we were not on trips most of our day was spent in the waterpark, which is much more entertaining than your average hotel pool(s) but I'm not sure its a 'waterpark', having only real 1 slide and a lazy river! The main pool in the centre of the hotel is very plain, but if you just like doing lengths of the pool then it is perfect.

The nightclub only really had anybody in it on saturday nights, and for karaoke on thursdays. The evening entertainers weren't all that entertaining, although the steel band on the sunday are a must see, they were amazing. The best night-time entertainment is to sit by the sea watching the shooting stars or the (seemingly nightly) storms on the horizon.

There are plenty of watersports to do, including tubing and waterskiing. You can also just walk up and get in a kayak or mini-catamaran anytime in the day.

Although I have pointed out a lot of problems with this hotel, I would still recommend it! The holiday was amazing and the problems above are all quite minor, as long as you are aware of them beforehand (which we weren't). If the evening food was better and the entertainment was slightly improved I would have rated the hotel 5/5 overall.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
William
10 years 4 months ago
hotel was clean and the staff we good i would stay else were next time (a riu) beech i missed it food was cold but not in the outside pool bar or beech bar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: virgin

10 years 5 months ago
The Rose Hall Resort was by far one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The rooms were very comfortable with air conditioning that you can adjust to your own comfort. Everyday there was a large buffet with a very wide variety of choices which changed everyday. The quality of the food was also good. The location of the hotel was spot on as it was right next to the beach and away from all of the noise of the roads. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and more than happy to talk to you about the island. Some of the staff even came to the hotel nightclub with us after their shifts. The entertainment was also very good. There was entertainment shows everynight, and activities in the day such as aqua aerobics, volleyball, tabletennis, and one of my personal favourites - Reggae Dancing Class!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Nikki And Ken
11 years 9 months ago
Just returned from our honeymoon. The hotel has a great entrance with porters for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Whenever you step out of the hotel they ask you where you need to be and assist you with this. Check in was OK and we managed to get our upgraded room which was large with great views of the golf course and sea, however it was clearly one of the un re- furbished rooms because it was a little tired around the edges but is was very clean, the maid service was very good.

We were very comfortable, which was just as well because there was not much night life to speak of and as we are quite active holiday makers, playing golf and horse riding etc. we were retired in our room at a respectable time each night.

However the huge TV in the room had lots and lots of channels so we watched a film each night. The all inclusive package was worth doing, so nice not to carry money all the time. Our experience of the food was fine, plenty of choice and there wasn't the usual stampede for food, quite a relaxed atmosphere.

The only problem was that most of the dining was outdoors although undercover and as we had some strong breezes this could be quite annoying. The separate restaurants are well worth the visit especially the one at the golf course. Cinnamon Hill was beautiful and they really look after you well when you play golf.

The hotel setting was perfect, right on the beach front with the water park an added fun bonus. Our only complaint was that the trip to Dunns River Falls we had booked fell through as the bus didn't show up!

This was the day before our departure so we booked for an afternoon of horse riding instead, which was good but we were still a little disappointed to miss the falls. We would like to go back to Rose Hall in the future and would recommend it to most people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Alison
11 years 10 months ago
Hotel was very nice, we spent new year there and it got very busy with Americans visiting for New Year but after 2nd January quietened down. My son loved the lazy river & swimming up to the pool bar for a drink. We had a room overlooking the golf course which was ok but one of the rooms still to be refurbished. Beds were very comfortable & clean but bathroom was a bit tired & patio furniture & windows needed replacing. Would hope on a future visit to get a refurbished room.

Food was very good at the terrace & plenty of choice so something for everyone & they had a section with all the kids favourites. The resturant at the golf course was lovely & you were very well looked after by the waiters & had your meal out on the lovely terrace. Didn't think the italian resturant was that good, the waiters seemed to be very busy on the night we went, so the service was not that good & my son did not like his pizza, not a very nice base.

Plenty of sunbeds down at the lazy river right beside the sea which was lovely.

My only grip would be that there was nowhere to have a good walk, you where eating all that lovely food but had no opportunity to walk if off. Good for a week but not sure about any longer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Brown
12 years ago
Just came back from two weeks at Rose Hall resort.

Bit disapointed with hotel room at first, bedroom ok,but bathroom and balcony quite dated, but once settled in, got used to it.

Room was kept very clean though, fresh towels every day and bed linen white and crisp.

Food was good,I admit was repeated on second week, but we never left anything. Fine dining very good, in particular the "Three Palms". Staff were very friendly and hardworking.

Entertainment every night was resident reggae band, with a guest singer/dancers .

Although I said the rooms were dated, the hotel is refurbishing , and we arranged with the concierge to view a couple of rooms which are just about finished, and they were superb, very modern new beds,furniture and bed linen,and they are replacing the patio doors.

Also the hotel grounds are immaculate ,the pools and the water park excellent. Weather was very good, and for our first visit to the caribbean, we had a lovely time , and would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kevin Fisher
12 years 2 months ago
Paid four thousand for this and would rather have gone to skeggy.

If you have already booked try to make the best if you are yet to book.......

Staff were not interested in the slightest, a bottle of water is 5 quid !!!!!!!!!

They kept running out of booze, we knew we were in trouble when they greet you by telling you what is not included.....to be fair I wouldn't go to Jamaica ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel (i think)

Carl
12 years 5 months ago
What a mixed bag!!!
I stayed in this hotel from 22/5/06 to 5/6/06 as part of a group of 16 people attending a friends wedding.
I'll start by saying I had a fantastic time and would re-visit.
In the interest of helping those who are planning to go there in the future I will be honest and give as much detail as possible listing the good and bad points so you can make an informed choice.

The food - I have to start with the two a la carte restaurants, the Luna De Marr and Three Palms, both of which we visited twice (as a group and also as a couple) on each occasion the service and food was second to none.
In the buffet restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, there is an good choice of food, all prepared well. The evening menu's runs on a one week rota so you will expect to find the same dishes on the same day if you are there for more than a week but this is not a problem.
Breakfast offers a wide variety (don't expect fresh fruit, tinned only), the omelette station is excellent offering a wide variety of fillings, the bacon was not for me (streaky and crispy) but each to their own!!
There is the Beach Grill open around lunch where you can get jerk chicken, burgers, fries, nuggets etc etc all very nice. I don't personally try the food from near the water park but I heard it was similar to the beach grill.
For an additional charge (about $35 incl tax) you can attend the lobster fest served by the beach which is also very enjoyable.

The Water Park - excellent for entertaining children and adults alike. The long waterslide is fun and there are three shorter slides to have a go on. The highlight is definately the lazy river....lie back and let the current take you round and round.

Hotel - I was initially given a room with a view of little more than the reception roof but a quick trip to reception saw me immediately moved to another room with fantastic sea and pool views. The rooms are comfortable, have towels replaced and are cleaned daily as you would expect. The TV has plenty of channels including sport and movies which is useful if you have a few days of poor weather as we did. The room floors are tiled but the corridors are carpeted which after some recent flooding has left the lower floor smelling damp and musty. Speaking of funny smells, there is the distinct smell of the 'herb' synonymous with Jamaica lingering in some of the corridors. The shops in the hotel are overpriced...a cigar costing $25 there was less than $10 outside the resort.

Staff - I met some of the friendliest people ever at this resort, particularly in the Luna De Marr and Three Palms. Unfortunately I also met some very rude and ignorant people there too. Unless you have a tip for them, the bar staff will serve you when they feel like it, often ignoring you in favour of the person who has just arrived at the bar with a few $'s in hand. I tip generously once I have received good service, I don't pay for it in advance, unfortunately the majority of bar staff never got to know this. Reception operates on Jamaican time which is a little slower than I would have liked but having them sort out my initial room gripe so well, I looked upon them favourably.

Entertainment - Through the day I saw plently listed on boards but all I actually saw going on was morning aerobics and water volleyball. The band who are on most evenings are very talented but the entertainment finishes quite early around 10pm. After this there is only the bar where you have to make your own entertainment (open till midnight) or the Cricket Club disco open till 2am with music and pool tables. Sunday night is the beach party with live entertainment and a craft market temporarily set up where you can have fun bartering. Little is done in the way on entertainment if, as we were, rained in for a few days.

Out and about - I would recommend a trip to Dunn's River Falls, take money for tips and barter hard in the markets you can get some great deals. Also, on Wednesday you get a round of golf on Cinnamon Hills for $65+club hire (about half normal price), which is a great experience.

Weddings - Catered for and organised well although the extra's such as flowers are over priced. You may have seen pictures wedding at the ruins on the golf course, again this will be extra, I believe about $2000, yes thats three zero's....

I could probably say much more but I hope this gives you a good idea about the pro's and con's of this resort. If you go, have a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Fiona Barnard
12 years 5 months ago
I have been to the caribbean many times before and I am used to the laid back attitude but this is the very worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel needs a major revamp with bits of ceiling falling off all over the place. The rooms are clean but very 80's looking and are in desperate need of updating.

For the first week I had cables dangling in front of my balcony while ganga smoking workmen repaired the balconies in our row.

The food was fine nothing special always something for you to eat even with fussy children, however actually getting served is a different matter.

You could stand and wait to be seated and be blatantly ignored while the staff stand out of the way having a chat to each other, at first you let it go but when it continues to keep happening it ruins your holiday.

I personally dont go on holiday to complain for 2 weeks. The location of the hotel is great as it only takes 15 minutes from the airport - which takes about 2 hours to get out of as you have to queue for immigration in a airport with no air conditioning and only 2 fans in the whole room, and as for the baggage handlers they don't give a damn and I lost count of the bags that were ripped open or damaged in some way.

The hotel staff were the most rude, ignorant people i have ever met and I can honestly say they ruined my holiday.

The entertainment was quite pants as well. The band weren't bad and 1 night they had some outside entertainers in that were good but apart from that the hermit crab racing really wasn't my thing.

There are alot of americans at this hotel and 90% are just as rude and ignorant as the staff - if you were not phsically sitting on your sun bed they would throw your things on the ground and set themselves up, I lost count of the times I was in the pool and had to confront people moving my things to suit themselves.

Don't bother going to the luminous lagoon it is a total waste of money and really not that great, your herded onto a tiny boat made to feel guilty so you tip more and get bitten loads.

Wyndham pulled out of this hotel a few weeks before we got there by which we were told in a letter and you can understand why when you see the hotel,personally I wouldn't put my name to it either.

I really wouldn't recommend anyone going to this hotel just dont do it go somewhere nice instead......please.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum