Image of Riu Tropical Bay Hotel

Riu Tropical Bay Hotel

6 of 6 hotels in Negril

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
5 stars
Norman Manley Blvd, Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for two weeks from 15th June to 29th June 2008 and had an absolutely brilliant time. We have been to the Caribbean only once before to Mexico and we thought that couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
This hotel was fantastic!! The room was beautiful and the maids cleaned every day and left flowers on our bed. There was a well stocked optics bar with gin, rum, brandy and vodka and a selection of mixers and beers in the fridge in our room. The staff there are amazing! They entertain you all day at the beach or pool with volley ball, aquarobics, beach and pool games, disco and then at night time they are there again putting on fabulous shows and always always smiling! The food is second to none! Try out the Japanese restaurant it is amazing. There is a wide selection of food to duit everyone's tastes. I also loved the bbq chicken hut on the beach. It was an amazing holiday and truly chilled out. Yeh Mon!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Jacky Mandley
10 years 9 months ago
just tried to book another 2 weeks in june fully booked great holiday hotel clean 5 star all the way
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st choice

Recommended
Williams
11 years 8 months ago
Read the reports before we went out and was quiet worried, we was hoping that the reports were far fetched, but they were not.

Firstly the staff were rude they just wanted your money if you didn't tip ever time you had a drink they wasn't to quick to serve you the next time.

The food was the same every day so the first 3-4 days we thought the food was good, then it got boring, the a'la carte restaurants were not worth queing for.

There is nothing for the children to do, the children club was rubbish there entertainment was walking the kids up and down the beach no play ground so it was very hard to keep our son amused.

Now the rooms there are very much in need of decorating and do smell we also had to change rooms because of this, this hotel should be rated a 3 star, while we was there two couples were robbed out of there rooms, so security hadn't improved, we then carried everything round with us. Which was a worry!

We went and had a look at the Sandals and Beaches hotel they were fantastic which made us feel very depressed when we had to return to our hotel, we will not be returning to Jamaica again.

The Drugs and poverty put us off.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Davis
11 years 9 months ago
First impressions when we arrived was WOW the reception area was great, but then we was given our room, on entering the room the smell was terrible, so we turned straight around and asked for a room change, the girl behind the desk was very rude, we was given another room which was a lot better but the Mats on the floor were so dirty we rolled them up so we didn't have to walk on them.

The hotel, especially the rooms are in desperate need of re-decorating. There is nothing for you to do outside of this hotel due to location.

The entertainment did try there best but was like watching a school play most night. Food was ok plenty of choice but the same choice every night, so got a bit boring.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Limb
11 years 9 months ago
First time away without kids, so we went all out and booked a 5 star.

We were so looking forward to being spoilt, what a disappointment.

The journey to the hotel takes two hours which is exhausting after the flight.

The reception area was beautiful, so I thought we'd hit jackpot.

The room did smell fusty but thought we would get used to it, but by morning we had to ask for a room change which they did and that room was much better, but I would have to agree with the other reviews, the hotel is in desperate need of updating.

The pool was dirty so didn't bother going into it.
The beach is nice but you will get bother with the locals offering drugs and all sorts of things, don't take them up on the offers for cheaper trips to the dunes etc one couple ended up spending 150 dollars more than if they booked with rep.

The entertainment staff tried their best but some nights it was mind numbing.

The food was ok but was the same choice every night, maybe too much choice, they could have varied it with less choice. Lunch time was the same every day, burgers, hot dogs, pasta.

The staff weren't as friendly as we would have liked, when we've been to other islands the staff can't do enough for you, these just expected you to tip them whether they deserved it or not.

There is nothing to do outside of the hotel and you can't walk about at night, if you do want to go out take a taxi but agree a price first.

I would not go back to this hotel again, I have stopped in a lot better hotels which were only three stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ork
11 years 10 months ago
When we arrived and was given our first room, we nearly died the room reeked, we went straight down to reception and complained and was given another room. When we went up to that one it faced the gardens and we had paid for a sea view, so we had to go down yet again to complain. We eventually got a sea view room, but that smelled fusty as well but by this time we were to exhausted to go down again, so waited until morning. When we went to reception to tell them about the smell they were very rude to us.

The food was ok, but very much the same each day especially at lunch time, burgers, hot dogs, and garlic & herb pasta, every day.

The pool was filthy when we asked about it they said the filter had broke and was waiting for repair man, he didn't come the whole two weeks we was there so we decided not to go in.

Several of the staff were rude asking for tips before they even fetch your drinks, some were very nice.

This hotel is in desperate need of being decorated the furniture is very old and looks shabby, most of the guests complain about the smell in the rooms and two couples had raw sewage flood there bathrooms.

We heard of several couples who were robbed out of their rooms, no forced entries has they had copies of room keys and safe keys, we went to reception and demanded that our safe key was changed and we picked it and wouldn't let them write the key number down, it made us feel a little safer.

Overall we was very disappointed with this vacation when you book a 4 star hotel you don't expect to get 2 star service, would not go back to this hotel or recommend it to anybody
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

D Froggatt
11 years 11 months ago
the hotel is in need of redecorating especially the rooms, the rooms smell and a lot of guess had several room changes before they got a suitable room.

Hotel staff do try with the entertainment but much the same thing every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Mr D
11 years 11 months ago
We booked this hotel for our Honeymoon, on the 3rd day there we was ROBBED out of our safety deposit box they took everything, no forced entry they had copies of the room key and safe key, 5 other couples were ROBBED in the same way. On talking to the staff they told us that this had been a problem within the hotel for a while and 6 weeks before our departure they had all the safe keys and barrel destroyed and new ones order, this didn't solve the problem because it an inside job and the thieves who had access to the keys before still had access to the new ones. New Management had been sent out to try and sort the problem out but were of no help to us, I had to ask for a room change because we just didn't feel safe.

The new manager also said we must have misplaced our belonging because it was impossible for anyone to get a copy of the keys. A gentlemen called Nigel reported that he had gone to the wrong room and opened the door thinking it was his room but had only can up 2 floors instead of three, it only turned out to be the General Managers room he gone into and surprise surprise the locks were changed within 30 mins.

SO BE WARNED BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOUR GOING TO THIS HOTEL!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Caff
12 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a outstanding two week all inclusive two week holiday in the glorious sunshine at the Riu Tropical Bay Negril.

The hotel was very well kept, all the staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Our room was kept spotless, fresh towels every day. The restaurants served various dishes to suit everyone which was of a high standard.

The beach was relaxing and peaceful (no hawkers!) the ocean was clear and very clean, with trees if you prefer some shade. The sun sets were spectacular.

The entertainment team were very enthusiastic and tried very hard.

We relaxed totally and would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum