Image of Iberostar Albatros Hotel

Iberostar Albatros Hotel

1 of 6 hotels in Cavtat

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Od ?ala 2, 20210, Cavtat, Croatia
Enjoying a delightful seafront location just 800 metres from the town of Cavtat, the Iberostar Albatros hotel offers an abundance of facilities, including 9 tennis courts and 2 swimming pools. There is a beautiful pebble beach in front of the hotel.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
12 years ago
We stayed for one week at the Iberostar Albatros Hotel in Cavtat (pronounced Savtat). It's only a few miles from the airport, and we arrived at the hotel only 30 minutes after touching down on the runway!

Even though the hotel is located on the final approach into the airport, we didn't find it disturbing. In fact, we enjoyed watching the planes coming in (most of the planes take off in the other direction, so you won't see/hear them).

There are two accommodation blocks in the hotel, with the Reception / restaurant in the middle of them. We given a room in 'B' block (B357), which gets the sun on the balcony in the morning. 'A' block gets the sun in the afternoon. If you want to get a view of the sunset from your room, you'll need to be in 'A' block.

The room was satisfactory - quite spacious, with a balcony overlooking the pool/sea. I'd recommend getting a pool/sea view if you can - it's a pretty special view. The bed was very comfy and they had all the usual mod cons you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The air conditioning is switched on in July and August and was a welcome relief from the blistering heat.

There is a big restaurant and a terrace outside, where we ate our breakfast and dinner. They serve breakfast from 6am until 10am, and dinner from 6.30pm until 9.30pm. The food is very good and there's a huge variety to choose from. We don't usually like to go half board because we like dining in local restaurants, but we were pleasantly surprised by the food here.

The entertainment was okay - it was geared up for kids really, which isn't surprising at this time of year. The staff run an entertainment programme during the day, which we didn't get involved in, and at night they have a kids disco at 8.30pm, and at 9.30pm the adult entertainment starts (two shows per week and other things such as quizzes on the other nights). Everything wound down very early and most people had disappeared from the bar by 11pm.

Immediately next to the hotel are a few bars/restaurants. Our favourite bar, where we watched the amazing sunsets from 'our table', was Caffe Eve, which was located adjacent to the Domizana restaurant. A large beer (half a litre) here cost 15 kuna - approx.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Options

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Albatros and I will try and give readers some up to date info for 2006. Firstly, anyone who wants to go to this hotel please look at doing it yourself. We booked the hotel direct with www.iberostar.com for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Christine
12 years 2 months ago
The Hotel and the rooms were very clean with maid service and towels changed every day.

The food was very good and in abundance, breakfast had the usual mix of cereals, fruit and cooked english. There was also a chef cooking omlettes and pancakes to order.

There was plenty of choice for the evening meals. I was really surprised by the choice of vegetables and they were not overcooked. The meat dishes were really well cooked and tender and plenty of desserts

If you want a quiet holiday then the location would be good for you.

The staff were polite and efficient. we had a problem with the safe in our room and it only took 5mins for somebody to come up an sort it out.

As for the entertainment it was the usual daytime activities the 'star friends' did their best but as the majority of the guests were Mature did not receive a very enthusiastic response.

There was a mini disco on an evening but as we went out most evenings I cannot comment further.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Price
13 years 9 months ago
Lovely, friendly hotel, excellent food and stunning location. Entertainment could have been better, this could have been due to the end of season.

Overall really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Pam & John
13 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Hotel Albatros in the beginning of Sept for our silver wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time.

The room we had was a suite with 2 balconies one overlooking the sea the other the pool. The facilities were 1st class.

There was plenty of choice for meals either hot or cold.

The local bus picked us up outside the hotel and took is into Dubrovnik or you could catch a boat outside the hotel. We also hired a car from the hotel for a day to get a taste of the area.

I think we timed it perfectly for a couple break as it was the 1st week back at school so not too many children about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Opitions

Recommended
Keltarz
13 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the hotel Albatros in Sept this year with our 3 year old son.

This is a wonderful hotel, very modern and very very clean.

Room is big with a small balcony but a fantastic view. Large modern bathroom and great shower.

Very spacious lounge and bar areas.

Excellent facilities, great pools, playground and lots of out door activities.

We stayed half board and food very varied and excellent.

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Location excellent beautiful walk to centre of Cavtat about 10 mins, great restaurants and very little tourist shops, beautiful walks around the sea.

The hotel entertainment is very good, our child was the only child in the hotel as it was Sept and the entertainment team still put on a mini disco every second night and dressed up and danced with him.

We loved this hotel, the staff and the resort.

The tours were great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Concorde Travel

Recommended
Bev Harvey
13 years 11 months ago
Hotel Albatros was spotless, air conditioned throughout, and with a stunning west facing view out across the bay from the dining room and main terrace and pool areas (the sunsets were really beautiful).

Staff were polite and attentive without being gushy, and enjoyed trying to teach us a few words in Croatian when asked!

The entertainment is all put on by quite a young group of people, who alternate between providing games, child minding and keep fit during the day around the poolside (none of which are forced upon you), and then appearing as the dancing/miming cabaret acts in the evening - very sweet but not overly slick! But for us that was part of the charm of the place - nothing was too over the top or 'plastic'.

Half board was a bit repetitive on the buffet style meals for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Options

Recommended
Jos
13 years 11 months ago
I loved the hotel. I had a great time and wish I didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: dunno

Recommended
Linda King
14 years 2 months ago
This is a wonderful hotel,the cleanest I have ever stayed in, everything gleamed! The staff and entertainment team were so friendly. The entertainment was OK, they worked really hard but it was early in the season and I should think there would be more on in high season. The food was good, a lot of variety and HOT plates. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the village, from where you can get buses or boats for trips, and there are some lovely walks round the "fingers" of land that make up Cavtat. All rooms have a sea view so no extras to pay for. There is internet access at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Archers

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Cavtat