Image of Eleni Holiday Village Hotel

Eleni Holiday Village Hotel

32 of 64 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 61 reviews
St George 5, Chlorakas, Paphos
Now in its second year, this family-orientated holiday village offers a range of leisure facilities, including various sports, and children's play areas. Entertainment is provided every evening.

61 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Donna
This is never a 4 star place
5 years 9 months ago
I returned from Eleni Village 2 weeks ago. We booked it as a last minute holiday but it was not cheap. Lots of mixed reviews on here so I thought bite the bullet and go, the most recent reviews at the time were positive so I thought it would be OK. We arrived at midnight, the check-in was with a night porter and he was very helpful and we got a carrier bag with some water and a sandwich in - nice touch, although not edible!

ROOM
Our room was like stepping back in time, similar to holidays I took with my parents in a self catering apartment in the late seventies (we booked a room with a kitchenette). The bedding and towels in our room also looked like they were from the same time zone. The temperature and speed of the air conditioning on the coolest yet fastest fan setting was like cats breath, which made for very uncomfortable nights. Beware of the water, we had a 7yr old with us and I had to run her a bath every night as we could not have used the shower. The water ran from freezing, to comfortable to scalding within seconds and was constantly like that - some nights my husband and I took cold showers because it was safer. The cleaners come round and literally whip round the room, there was hair and grit on our floor the whole time, months of dust behind the doors and the towels and bedding were changed 4 days after our arrival - we were only there 7 days! The first lot of bedding on my daughters bed had an old plaster stuck to it. On our final day we were being collected at 11.30am - we went to breakfast early having not finished packing, when we had come back the cleaners and changed the sheets and towels for the next family and made all the beds even though we were still in there!

WAITING STAFF
Reception staff were OK, not overly friendly but service with a smile. The cooking staff were lovely as they often came out and surveyed the food in the restaurant and always chatted. The waiting staff were beyond rude as were the bar staff. You got offered one drink at dinner or lunch and they didn't come near you again. Towards the end of our week I would order double our drinks to their dismay just so I could have more than one water in a small skinny glass!

DRINKS
Appalling quality. We pretty much drank water all day or coke. The water resembled the swimming pool taste and the coke/diet coke syrup was so diluted - we bought water from the supermarket in the end. I drank alcohol some evenings, this too was weak unless you particularly asked for more.

SUNBEDS
Everyone round the pool gets a sunbed and then they leave their towels on it for the whole period they are there. We realised this was clearly a need after a few days as the chance of a sunbed becoming available was slim to none. A couple of days we shared one sunbed up against the side of the building and half way through our holiday when we did manage to secure 2 they were moved by other people wanting your spot! All sunbeds are lined up round the pool with no room to walk between, we regularly had to walk the length of the line and go round to get on our beds or pull them right out of the line, get in and pull them back in line. So you end up sitting elbow to elbow with everyone.

POOL
The pool we never saw be cleaned, there is a dirty thick tide mark round the whole pool. Out of 7 days we were there, 3 days everyone had to leave the pool as a child had done a poo in it, gob-smacked. They added more chlorine and we had to wait 1.5hrs before getting back in. Not a tempting offer. Talking to one family who had been there 2 week, it was not an uncommon occurrence.

Overall this hotel is never a 4 star. Its tired and although the building is in good repair everything in it needs updating. The entertainment staff were fine, they looked bored but probably fed up with the what they had to work with. The food was the only positive thing I could say about the place. A large selection of Greek food.

Don't waste your money, I would have rather stayed at home.
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sue
9 years 6 months ago
loads of food and drink but apart from breakfast always lukewarm best to order from pool bar as cooked while you wait so very hot the staff were fantastic and it was very clean
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st choice

Recommended
Elizabeth Price
9 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Eleni Village from 20th August to 3 September 2008. I had some reservations from reading previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Check in was very quick, the receptionist was lovely. The room was spacious, clean and well set out. The air com was fantastic, the best I have encountered but boy did you need it! You have to pay 20 euros to get the air con, you get this back when you check out. We did encounter some problems with sunbeds the first day we were there but, once we had bagged ours, we left them in situ on the grass overlooking the sea and to be honest, we returned to them with no problems the next few days. On the second week, most of the families had gone home for the children to return to school so we were able to get sunbeds by the poolside. The food was fine, a bit repetative but that's what you get on all inclusive - we had no complaints. We only had lunch once at the top restaurant, we preferred to eat at the pool bar which was undercover and had a lovely cooling breeze from the sea - Tibo and Valentino the barmen were great and Anna the waitress was a scream. The hotel was out of the way - we caught a bus once to Paphos - I would not recommend this in the middle of the day as the buses were boiling hot! We then ordered a 7 seater taxi which cost 15 euros each way. All in all, we had a lovely time at the Eleni Village - the only all inclusive so far that have included cocktails - try the "Collins", its lovely!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jan Dyer
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from Eleni today. We had much reservations about staying at this village,as this type of holiday is not our thing - but we were taking our daughter, son in law and 2 grand daughters. After a terrible terrible flight (some 2 and a half hours late leaving) we arrived at 5 a.m. and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms (block 31) both overlooked the sea and were spacious, quiet amd well kept. The swimming pool was brilliant for the two babies, and the staff absolutely charming in all areas. We were inclusive and enjoyed all the meals, although it could be repetitive at times. We hired a car for the duration of our stay and it was an excellent location for visiting West and Central Cyprus. We dont do entertainment , but sat out on the balcony baby sitting overlooking the sea, drinking cocktails etc.We had a lovely time, and the only downside we encountered was the fact that we had paid First choice
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Clark & Berry
10 years 7 months ago
When we arrived we were given rooms overlooking houses so we paid 30 Cyprus pounds for a room with sea views. It was well worth the money.

Rooms were lovely but only downside was clean towels every second day. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so we had to taxi into paphos every night which was 18 Cyprus pounds return which soon adds up.

The entertainment in hotel was geared for children and there were a lot of them. We thought going in September would be quieter.

Food was ok lunch was really good. Drinks were well watered down. Would not return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Naomi
10 years 8 months ago
I have just come back from the Eleni hotel village and i really didn't want to leave. We stayed for a week but i think 10 days would have been just right.

The food was good and they had a variety every night and the lunch was good aswell. I can't really comment on the breakfast as i only had it once but it looked like everyone else enjoyed it and was pleased with it.

The entertainment was absoloutley brilliant. I couldn't have asked for more! Barbera (That is how you spell it!)was bubbly, funny and always put a smile on my face and everyone elses! She worked very hard in the hotel and all the time she always had a smile on her face. She is very kind and also Mohammeed was good as he did bingo most nights and fire breathing and standing on glass etc

The waitresses were very quick to take your plate away and direct you to your seat.

Nearby their is a mini supermarket and some shops but we knew that it wasn't that near the centre when we booked it. we did hire a car though for 3 days so we could go anywhere.

I really want to visit this hotel next year because i miss the place already! Would reccomend it for anyone!! xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay.
Location....
Yes it isn't in the centre of Paphos. but a five minute walk and you have a handful of bars, restaurants, pharmacy and a large supermarket.
The bus stops are located there to, and arive every 15 mins, also you can get a taxi from the bus stop, just arrange a price before you get in.

Hotel Room
Very clean..our room smelt a bit musty when we went in, like it hadn't been used but was very clean, as were all the cooking utensils, The microwave and kettle looked brand new.
We booked a superior room with a jaccuzzi bath. It was on the ground level over looking the pool.
It was very spacious and the maid came in every day to clean, and the bedding was changed every other day.
The air con was a god send, you have to pay a deposit for it when you check in, you get a remote control for it along with the Tv remote and get your money back when you return them both.
There is a safe in the wardrobe of the room well worth hiring one. To work the lights etc you have to place your room key in the slot. Remeber to take it out before you shut your door.
a good thing is the plugs in the hotel are the same as ours so no need for adapters.
oh yes and you can't flush the toilet paper down the loo, but a bin provided
The bedding was lovely and clean and so were the towels.

Food...
We went all inclusive which we were glad about as it looked to be quite expensive to eat there, a lot of people while we were there were upgrading to AI
the Breakfast consisted of continental, cooked, cerals, fruit juices, coffee, tea,hot chocolate, croissants, cakes, pancakes or waffles.
You could have snacks in between but not AI while the restaurant was open,
Luch was cold buffet hot buffet fresh fruit and desserts.
Evening meal, Soup. cold buffet, plenty of hot dishes a seperate buffet for children and some lovely deserts.
The AI drinks included cocktails for adults and children
the only down side about the food would be it would be repatative if you went for two weeks.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the entertainers Barbra And Mohamed worked very hard .
the Entertainment wasn't brilliant typical 3* and we saw some ants but they were outside not all over the rooms
The little supermarket on site is small but there is another one 2 mins across the road or 5 min walk a much bigger one. same prices in all of them.

Good Points about the hotel
Clean, friendly staff, good variety of food. fantastic pool.

Bad points about the Hotel
The entertainment Room got very hot, and very crowded, don't think I would like to go there in the height of the busiest season.
We did have a problem with some of the the guests one or two nights., mostly kids running around the pool screaming on top of there voice and trying to throw the sun loungers in the pool at 2 in the morning not funny but told reception, next night security guard patrolling the pool area. but that was down to the guests not the hotel.
would not go back to this hotel again as we don't like going to the same place but would recommend you go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Neil And Emma
10 years 10 months ago
Not long got back from from our wedding in Cyprus. we had a fantasic time staying at the Eleni-village.

Just would like to thank all the bar, entertainment staff for making our holiday brilliant.( special thanks to Mahamid and Barbra) and all the First Choice staff for all there help and support during our stay.

Eleni is a little far out but didnt bother us to much (just could do with a bank a little nearer).Either hire a car or jump on the bus for 80c. I would recommend that if you walk to the bus stop and await a taxi or bus you will save money as the taxis more often or not will take you for your bus fare. They charge more if the hotel calls them.

Hotel was clean and the pool was excellent for families.
Had no problems getting a sunbed (could have a lyin which was cool).

Food was good, good variation. Drinks was good value if you are all inclusive.(Keo and Carlsberg on draught)

I would definitely recommend the resort for a family. holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Kate Jones
10 years 10 months ago
I Thought it was amazing the staff were outstanding.
The food was really nice all my favourite foods and different kinds of foods.
Swimming pool was large and never got too packed. Just a shame because you werent near a beach but we rented a car. which was pretty cheap

THANK FOR A GREAT HOLIDAY..!

Would Go Back Again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Martin
10 years 11 months ago
The apartments are quite nice & the cleaners keep them clean. Shame I couldn't say the same about the Pool.

The Pool is a great size & goes from nothing down to 6 foot with a great waterfall, so its great for all the family but the pool only got cleaned once in 2 weeks from what I had seen! & it was only one side of the deep end. The filter grid round the pool was broken in a few places & I see someone telling the rep about them but they never got repaired while we were there. The sunbeds around the pool are in bad need of repair so make sure you sort out some good ones & reserve them with your towel in the morning (Same here as everywhere, signs up about towels but no one does anything about it), But saying all that we still had a great time in the pool.

The air con you have to pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum