Image of Three Corners El Wekala Resort

Three Corners El Wekala Resort

4 of 10 hotels in Taba

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
4 stars

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Chris
8 years 4 months ago
On arrival at Taba airport i was`really beginning to wonder what i had done when i booked the holiday! Taba airport is something to be endured, not enjoyed!! The baggage handlers demand payment before they will touch your cases and if they dont think you have tipped them enough they will demand more and are quite aggressive about it too! make sure you take small denominatins of Egyptian money with you to "tip" them!! The journey to Taba heights is really something too, first of all you have to wait for your place in the convoy which travels with an armed guard!!
Three corners resort however was a nice suprise. It is clean and tidy with two beautiful pools which are clean and well looked after. We were shown to our room (after being offered an upgrade which of course would cost more!!)the room was large with a perfectly adequate bathroom and balcony and all in all very comfortable.
For the first couple of days we thought the food was lovely but quickly realised that it was the same food day in, day out. very bland and very boring. We did visit the Flying Carpet restaurant twice for respite! The Flying Carpet is a fantastic restaurant and very highly recommended!!
After 2 days the dreaded stomach upset hit and i dont know if ive ever felt so ill!! We spent three days in bed and a further two recovering so half our holiday was gone before we knew it. Thank god for Dr Amir and his pharmacy. It took anti bacterials and antibiotics to put us right(ish)
The street festival on friday evenings is fantastic and well worth going to. The nightly entertainment at the hotel is a bit lame and predictable.
The waiters are mainly superb and very hard working as are the pool boys, Amir and Mustafa.
The outings are very expensive , as are the shops in the small town at El Wekala. Everything has to be haggled for!
The hotel does try and extract money out of you for various things and although the holiday was "all -inclusive" they do charge for meals at the beach bar and drinks etc are only free between certain times so do check the times before you tuck in!!!
Waterworld and a trip in the yellow submarine are a must (although very expensive!) just to see the sealife- absolutely amazing!
All in all It is a wonderful place, July is not for the faint hearted though, the heat is something else. No bugs, mozzies or nasties to contend with either!
The locals are quite poor and consequently they try and get every penny out of their visitors so be prepared to be accosted outside every shop and persuaded to go in! You wont get out without spending your money either! Their hospitality and friendliness is amazing though!
I would return but not flying to Taba Airport!! If that experience can be avoided then DO avoid it!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Phillipa
8 years 8 months ago
i really liked this holiday everyone was so friendly and helpfull the best holiday yet.x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Ingrid
8 years 8 months ago
Our second trip to this hotel - it is well worth a visit! We would rather stay here than any of the other hotel sin the area - like someone else has said, the staff get to know you and due to its smaller size you cant reaslly help but make some great friends during your stay!

Food excellent - good choice and it has improved even more since out first visit. They do a lot more cooking in front of you now and are really trying to offer variety throughout.

The staff are just superb - the waiters, the bar staff, the housekeeping, the pool staff, reception - everybody. You see the food and beverage manager in the restaurant most evenings - he is approachable and always wants to know if people are enjoying their meals. The chefs are immaculate and very proud of the food they produce, and rightly so.

I cant really recommend this place highly enough - it's just perfect, and I could sit and look at the view over the red sea towards jordan and saudi arabia for a lot longer than the week we were there for.

Go - you wont regret it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Vicky Calver
8 years 9 months ago
This was my 3rd stay at the El Wekala in 9 mths, my first being June 2008, then again in Oct 2008. I love this hotel, it is clean and well maintained. You will always see the gardening, maintenance and housekeeping staff around, making sure everything is well looked after. The pool boys are always around cleaning the pool itself or around the sun loungers.They have security staff who man the hotel 24 hrs a day, to ensure everything is ok and make sure no problems arise.

The peanuts bar is quite small and you sometimes have a bit of a queue to get a drink - but they have made it that you can only be served 2 drinks at a time now to get the queue's down as some people were ordering 10 drinks per round.

The pool bar is lovely and does get busy during the day - so dont expect to be served straight away (but you may well welcome the shade depending on the time of year you go).

The food is very nice but can get a little repetitive if you are there for 2 weeks - but this doesnt mean it isnt well cooked. The manager is always available, so should you feel anything isnt cooked properly, they will get it recitified straight away (and the chefs get a real earful, so they do take any complaints very seriously). Having submitted a letter of thanks to the manager for a meal that was prepared especially for my friends, we got a tour of the kitchens and they are clean and everything is well organised. With over 30 members of staff in the kitchen, you would think it would be a bit hit and miss, but I was amazed at how well it was run.

I love the location of this hotel as during the colder months, it is actually the warmest place to be and during the hotter months, you get a nice sea breeze wafting up the hill to the hotel to keep you a bit cooler. It is right on the shops, so you can always have a good wander round to look for gifts to take home. If you buy sweets, chocolate or crisps from the supermarket, you will find these fairly expensive but thats due to tax in this region.

Entertainment is very good on the whole. Depends on the type of music you like as to how well you will enjoy the disco part of the night, although you can always request songs and they will play them if they have them. The animation team work hard with the shows they put together and during the busier months, they have the street festival with visiting entertainers and they have dance shows as well. The animation team try hard during the day to get people to join in the activities but during the quieter months, a lot of people are just not interested..which is a real shame.

On the whole, all the people are very friendly and the staff are all great with kids. It isnt an ideal hotel for teenagers as they isnt much for them to do as Trixie club only goes up to 12 yr olds and they isnt much of a night life, so teenagers may get a little bored.

Room upgrades are available when you check in, for a bit extra, so if you want a sea or pool view, remember to take extra money with you to upgrade. The rooms are clean and I love the bathroom in them. Housekeeping will make you animals with your towels and always make your room look nice. Some rooms have slightly bigger balconys than others, depends which block you are in.

It is worth looking at the other hotels on the sea front but I dont think they can beat the El Wekala on the intimancy of the hotel, the way the staff really get to know your face and as it is smaller than the other hotels, you really get to know people and make some good friends while you are there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We upgraded to a pool and seaveiw room. Very clean and tidy hotel, great staff and a nice place to chill out.

Food was OK always plenty to eat and the rose wine was lush.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
love every minute of this holiday and hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Anne
9 years 10 months ago
I booked this hotel as from the brochure it looked fantastic for my honeymoon, but overall it was a holiday from hell. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and filled some forms in and then offered an upgrade of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Lorraine+David
10 years ago
We visited El Wekala in November, I didnt know anything about Taba so couldnt wait to look around.

I thought El Wekala was very clean and not far from airport which is great because I hate long transfers (took about 45 mins).
Staff were very pleasant and really nice people and genuinely seemed interested in what you had to say, they dont expect tips but are absolutely delighted when you give them. We only did this at the end of hol.

Pool is lovely and cleaned often. Only snag is Hotel can overshadow the pool area early on, about 2pm so try and sunbathe in an area where you wont be overshadowed, this does mean going out very early - 8am - to put out your towel. We went in Nov and sun had gone completely by 3.30pm and it was pitch black by 5.30! So get out sunbathing early.

The entertainment is poor unfortunately. We went to the other restaurants in hotel complex, food was beautiful and we got a 20% discount each off the bill for being a guest at El Wekala. Food in hotel is nice and varied but we did fancy a venture out as got sick of every night in hotel. Wouldnt like to stay 14 nights, 7 is ample with being a quiet resort.
We went to look at other hotels for future reference. Intercontinental looks fab, we had our welcome meeting there and looks the best in resort.
Sofitel also lovely.

Peanuts Bar has lovely wine but you cant sit in the bar as it smells of sick! I think its something they clean the wood with, dont think it was actually vomit but it can be quite overpowering but there are plenty of seats to sit outside at night.

The resort of Taba Heights itself is very quiet as there are only 5 hotels but they are building more and I'm sure soon it will be a very good up and coming place.

We did get the shuttle bus to the El Wekala area of the beach one day, it was wild and windy that day which left me with wind burn but I enjoyed my day, was a change from the pool. It was nice to walk along the beach and look at other hotels for future ref, you can walk in others and look around no problem, we did get our bag searched by security which is understandable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gill
10 years 2 months ago
I went to this hotel when it first opened (2006) and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect, it was immaculate then. Can you imagine my horror when i see that the dining room is now dirty, the staff looked like they had been fixing cars before they went to work and forgot to change, i wonder what the kitchen looked like? Both my partner and I got sick as did many people and felt obliged to eat in the restaurants next to the hotel once we had recovered. It has been suggested that this was due to handling eygptian money - how can that be in an all inclusive? I would never every go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Longwood holidays

Tracey & Nick Parr
10 years 4 months ago
It was 1am in Taba by the time we arrived and it was still very warm. We were welcomed with a cold glass of orange juice which was very welcoming as we had had a very long day after being delayed at Gatwick for 4 hours.
The Hotel was very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, if you want to tip they are greatful but they do not always expect it, we gave to the porter who ran up the stairs with our suitcases (which were not light)but then we didn't give again until the end of our holiday when we gave to Sharif (pool boy) who always had a smile and would help around the pool and the man who cleans our room each day. The food leaves a lot to be desired, we are not fussy eaters but unless you like Beef and chicken braised, stewed, boiled but never roasted covered in onions and peppers you will be OK. There is a good selection but it is very repeatative, breakfast was the same every morning, with the exception of mashed potato or potato chunks which alternated. We had fresh fruit twice in the week which was water melon one day and orange segments another. If you have a nut allergy please let them know as there is Coconut or nuts on nearly every dessert, the fresh bread and rolls at meal time are lovely. This is listed as an All inclusive Hotel but snack in the afternoon are not included, so if you had a late breakfast and don't fancy lunch you will have to wait until the evening meal or pay at the pool bar for some thing. Down on the beach you have to buy your food,all soft drinks and coffee is included but you will need to buy your alcohol. There are water containers around the hotel and the beach for you to refill your bottles, we brought a couple or big bottles from the shop and kept them in the fridge and then we would refill them at the end of the day ready for the next.
It is about 5 minutes bus ride down to the beach (20 minutes walk down, 30 minutes back up), there didn't seem to be any time table as to when these little blue buses would come so you had to sit out in the sun as there is no shade anywhere, for up to 30 minutes. The hotel has a shuttle bus (its a people carrier)but again no set time.
If you want a game of golf while you are on holiday the course is very good and the greens are very well looked after( so my friend says who got up at 5.30 so he could tee off at 6am). It is a long walk down to the club house and again back up to the hotel as the shuttel bus runs when it wants to again no time table. Some of the Hotels nearer the Club House had golf buggies in front of their hotels but not at Three Corners.
The entertainment was very poor, we only went to one show and it was titled Oriental but there was nothing oriental about it they did nearly the same dance to to different music with a quick costume change in between, it was more fun watching the animation team from days joking around behind them. We knew the entertainment was poor before we went so we were not disappointed. The days entertain manly consisted of Water Polo, Aqua Gym, Darts and salsa dancing, we went for a relaxing week in the sun so we were quite happy to sit by the pool or on the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choce

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: