Image of El Luxor Hotel

El Luxor Hotel

2 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ten years later - a revisit to the El Luxor Hotel
5 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights only from late on Monday 27 August until lunchtime Wednesday 29 August when we departed to join our 7 night Nile cruise boat. (I've added my review of the M/S Serenade Nile cruise boat under the Resort details as it's quite relevant to people booking this option as a direct booking). We booked our cruise with sunshine.co.uk

We had stayed at the hotel some 10 years previously with my stepson (aged 12 at the time) for 2 weeks so we were very much looking forward to a revisit to see what changes had been made.

On arrival it was very much like coming home - the Reception and entrance area was still the same as was the dining areas dotted around the ground floor.

We were given a complimentary upgrade to Nile View rooms which was an added bonus as we were travelling with 4 other people, 2 of whom had never been to Egypt before.

Our room had 2 lovely comfortable beds with soft mattress toppers, crisp white linens, flat screen TV, safety deposit box, tea making facilities (no coffee or tea provided) and a view to die for.

Breakfast consisted of eggs (cooked to order), pancakes, a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, mixed breads, toast was cooked to order by the breakfast room staff, plenty of tea and coffee plus cold juice.

Guests who chose to take meals inside the hotel as opposed to the bed & breakfast basis we booked received a 25% discount, which made a lunchtime snack by the pool very reasonable at less than 4 Euro per person - cheaper than where we live in Cyprus.

The pool area is very clean and the gardens/grounds are well tended.

Our friends were very pleased with the hotel and we most certainly would go back again as it's in a great location for the ferry to the West Bank, local shops and the souk plus it's within walking distance of the Luxor Temple and you can also walk to Karnak Temple if you're so inclined.

We didn't see any entertainment within the hotel during our stay but the first evening we arrived it was 01:00hrs so all was quiet. The next evening was a fairly early night for us as 3 of us had an early morning pick up (04:30) for our Balloon Flight.

I've marked the pool area under "Entertainment" and the only down side to this is the sunbeds are in a fixed position so you cannot lounge and read at the same time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago

My wife and I have stayed at the Mercure Luxor a number of times now, our last visit being the 10th June 2009 for two weeks.

The position of this hotel is excellent, right on the Nile, if possible you should book a Nile view room.

Fantastic cool reception area, the reception staff are professional people who welcome everyone with a smile and cannot do enough for you.

Rooms are of a good size, being fully ensuite, air conditioned, radio, television with English speaking channels, balcony or terrace, bedding changed on a daily basis by very efficient room service.

Restaurent is excellent with plenty of variety and the staff in the restaurent are out of this world, they cannot do enough for you.

Swimming pool is probably the best in Luxor, large lagoon type, sensible depth with one end shallow for children or just lazing in.

Plenty of sun beds with mattresses and towels provided, plenty of shade, good service from the pool restaurant serving mainly snacks.

Lastly I must mention Aly Mohamend, guest relations, he is magic, any problems just see Aly and all will be sorted, a very nice guy.

Looking forward to our next visit in the near future.




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Luxor for an excellent two weeks holiday.

We have spent many wonderful holidays in Luxor and staying at this hotel is no exception.

On arriving at the hotel you enter a fantastic large cool reception area where you are met by staff who are dedicated in making your check-in as smooth as possible and go out of there way to make you welcome a special thanks go out to Kamel who was just a gentleman.

There are either double or twin bedded rooms, garden views, pool views or Nile views (with a supplement) all the rooms are of an excellent size with full ensuite facilities, balcony or terrace, air conditioning, large screen television, fridge, fitted dressing table etc etc, they are cleaned to a very high standard every day with a daily bedding change.

The restaurant is of an excellent size with a huge variety of fresh bread, pastries, cheeses, local delights, jams, tea and coffee, eggs as you like them, cooked to order infront of you, special thanks go out to Osama and Mohamed.

The restaurant staff work to a high level making your visit to the restaurant a pleasure.

There are a number of specialised restaurants in the hotel where the food and service is second to none.

There is a shopping arcade within the hotel containing a variety of shops selling just about everything.

To the rear of the hotel there is an excellent large lagoon type swimming pool, at one end there are graduated steps into a water level good for younsters, the pool then slopes away to a level of approx 4ft which is ideal for all types of swimmers and the great activities that are are held in the pool on a daily basis, well done to the two pool boys who work hard for the guests.

Overall all the hotel staff work hard to ensure that all guests enjoy themselves, which must be difficult as there are quite a number of different nationalities in the hotel at any one time.

Our praises must go out to the gentleman who is responsible for guest relations Mr. Aly he is a dedicated employee and an excellent example of how the job should be done - well done.

If you enjoy good food, excellent accommoation, relaxation and wonderful staff you MUST stay at the Mercure Luxor, whether its whilst visiting the many fantastic sights Luxor has to offer or just soaking up the 24/7 sunshire the Mercure Luxor is number ONE.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Bet +steve
10 years 6 months ago
We did the Nile cruse then stayed at the mercure. We only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: discover egypt

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We had a wonderful week's holiday here during a February half term. Even though it was half term it was fairly quiet. Not many children here, but enough for our daughter to befriend a few.

The room is basic but comfortable, it was dated. We had a lovely view over the Nile although it was very noisy at night and first thing in the morning. If we return I would request a room overlooking the garden area or the pool area. (Noisy from constant horn beeping, horses and loud speakers.)

The bed was comfortable and the room suited the 3 of us basic but comfy. It had a fridge and a tv and clean towels every day.

The hotel itself was in need of a lick of paint and an update but it was clean and tidy everywhere and the pool area was lovely. Nice steps sloping into the shallow end with the volleyball net dividing it into the shallow and deeper end. The pool was clean and warm, 26' and we all had plenty of space to play or swim or just cool off.
There were plenty of sunbeds but only a few had the adjustable backs. Towels given out each day so handy not to take towels in the case.

There was a play area with a little play house, swing, table and slide. There was boules, datrs, chess board and table tennis too. Even a selection of books to borrow from the towel man!

The restaurants were very good. We ate in all of the a number of times, the French one was the prefered choice with the pianist playing whilst we overlooked the Nile and had very good food. They even cooked things that were not on the menu for our daughter, such as jacket potatoes and pizza. Very helpful and all are keen and eager to please.

The bar has a happy hour 5pm-7pm and once you have your first drink the next are then half price. The wine was ok and the beer was lovely. Sakara or Stella(not same stella as home!) Both lovely though.

Breakfast was substantial, plenty of choice but as (hubby and daughter are fussy) you could survive on fried eggs or omlette freshly cooked for you, boiled eggs, toast, cereals, pastries, breads and rolls and plenty of other stuff cheese and salad etc if you are willing to give anything a try. Coffee was lovely served to your table. The waiters all played with my daughter every breakfast time, pinching her teddy when she wasn't looking and all very good humoured.

The staff within the hotel were all fantastic. Would go back no hesitation, but would request a room that was quieter!

Hotel is well situated for shops, the Luxor museums and temples too just a short walk away. Although for the eating out area it was a good 15 min walk or 5 mins haggling then 5mins taxi ride sometimes we opted for the walk as it was less stressful!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Mecuir Luxor
11 years 11 months ago
What a fantastic hotel, the staff are incredibly helpful and you can book every thing to you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years ago
We have stayed at this Hotel twice a year for the last 3 years, & have never been able to fault it.

The rooms in the main block are very spacious, with balcony, ample storage space for clothes etc, TV & mini-fridge.

Everywhere is kept very clean. We often use the laundry service - leave dirty washing on the bed in the bag provided before breakfast - by 5pm it is hanging in your wardrobe & quite cheap!Breakfast is more than adequate, a wide choice, including eggs cooked to your taste by the chef.

There is an international restaurant, a french restaurant, a buffet, and a snack bar for coffee/ sandwiches/ cake etc. There is also a poolside restaurant & bar.

The pool was refurbished last year & is now absolutely lovely. No nasty ladders to get in & out, nice shallow steps leading in. Pool heater is on during the Winter months. The staff are very friendly & helpful - I even had the Egyptian Gazette ( english newspaper) delivered to me at the pool each day last Nov.

There is not a lot of entertainment, but for those who wish to join in, there are games of darts & boules organised during the day. In the evenings on various days there are pool competitions, bingo, karaeoke & once a week a cocktail making competition. There is live music at the outside bar every night & the nightclub is also open each night, with a belly dance at around midnight.

If you wish to talk quietly there is plenty of room in the inside bar, which is air conditioned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ann Priestley
12 years 5 months ago
The choices for the breakfast were very good, it is a buffet style thing and there was plenty on there all fresh and nicely set out.

The hotel was very clean and there were always staff around should you need anything. I travelled to luxor on my own, it was my first holiday by myself. The location was excellent, the sights across the nile were stunning.

The hotel is very close to all the temples, museums, valley of the kings etc. that you may want to visit.

The entertainment wasn't that good but there was always something going on. The staff couldn't do enough for you and will always be pleased to stand and chat to you time permitting.

I would not hessitate in going back to this hotel again next year and am in fact planning it now. Luxor and this hotel are great places to visit. Give it a go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
William And Kathy
13 years 4 months ago
We both enjoyed this holiday immensely.We were there in July 2004. We did one weeks cruise and one week in the hotel. Considering we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cruise control

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: