Image of St Josephs

St Josephs

5 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 5 months ago
We have stayed at the St Josephs twice now,so that must say something.We could of opted for one of the swankier hotels in Luxor,but from our experience in larger hotels/resorts you are just a number,staff do not know you.Here it is small and friendly,the staff help you if possible,one of the receptionists,got the phone number of a taxi driver i had used the previous year and we used him all week,he is very friendly and helpful.

We have gone B/B both times,intending to eat out,but when we get there,we always decide to get their meal tickets,6 4 course evening meals for about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Not good.
Some years ago the St Joseph was 'reasonable' and well priced but now the price is fairly irrelevant as the hotel is poor and not worth another stay there.
The rooms had insects in them - ants and even fleas (or jumping ants!) and the mattresses were disgraceful.
Food: Very poor and not edible on some days out of a fourteen-day stay. I found ants in my breakfast bread! Complaints yielded no change.
The roof-top has magnificent views and the location is quite good, not far from central Luxor; Luxor Temple etc.
Not the best, by far, but for a cheap and cheerful holiday it's OK-ish, in my opinion.

Mark
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Andy And Jayne
10 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel and chose it because of the glowing reports we read on holiday-truth.

The hotel was very clean and probably looked very nice in the 70's but is now looking dated. As we were on the 3rd floor it was very noisy. We closed the balcony door and curtain but the traffic noise still came through the air con vent.

Make sure you close the bathroom door as you can hear the disco in the basement through the bathroom fan vent.

I've read that the staff were very friendly but I can't agree. We would say "good evening" to the guys on reception but they didn't reply or even look up. I even tried "good evening" in Arabic, but still no luck.

The guy who cleaned the room was a little better especially later in the week when it got closer to checkout (tip day)

As for the food, we only ate breakfast.
If your idea of a good breakfast is mashed potato then you will love it. Every day it was the same mash, sliced sausage, sweetcorn (I kid you not).

Every day the amount of mash and sweetcorn got less so it was obvious the food was being reheated and brought out for us each morning.

Next year we are going back to the 5* Sonesta.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

MickB
10 years 9 months ago
First time at the St Joseph and Egypt. We were plesantly surprised, Hotel is kept very clean and beds are changed every day and rooms are cleaned likewise.

Food at the Hotel is of a very good standard and the staff are very friendly. Air Con units in the bedrooms are a bit outdated and a bit hit and miss as to whether they actually work property what with buttons missing etc.

We had room 503 which is one of many on the front of the Hotel over looking the Nile, but be ware it appears that part of the Egyptian driving test is to be able to sound your horn at every oppurtunity so take your ear plugs.

Hotel bar excellent as are prices.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Doreen Moore
11 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at three of the five star hotels in Luxor (The Meridan, The Pyramis Isis and the Sonesta St George).

We have also cruised the Nile three times. We agreed that this was our last time in Luxor and it was time to move on. That is until we stayed at the St Joseph 3* hotel.

We had only been there three days when we were talking about our next holiday in Luxor. Our room 503 overlooked the Nile, the valley of the kings and Hatputshet's temple. the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. They love to share a joke and laugh with you.

The hotel is large enough to have all the facilities and small enough to be friendly both from guest and staff. The Satuday night entertainment is designed for everyone to get together and have a great laugh.

People on this site say that rooms are basic but spotless they have everything you need and towels and sheets are changed everyday. So you do not get shampoo, shower cap and body lotion the 5* hotels provide but who needs these.

The price more than covers a couple of gallons of these extras. The food in the resturaunt is second to none that we found in Luxor and very cheap.

The hotel is family owned and one of the brothers made himself known to us and shared a drink with us. the rooftop bar and resturaunt overlooks the nile the swimming pool is also on the roof.

I cannot knock this hotel in any way shape or form.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thmson

Recommended
Simon Mark And Stuart
11 years 5 months ago
I think that we had the best room by far (601) which was on the top floor and on the end, the view was fantastic looking over the nile to the valley of the kings and hatshepsut temple, our view made the holiday even better, when we arrived we went straight to the balcony and i stayed there for 20 mins just taking it all in. Staff were good and rooms were clean with a nice rooftop bar. They have good deals on meals but after the 1st night we were more adventurous and ate out which was twice as cheap even though it was cheap in the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
Our 2nd trip to St Josephs in 3 yrs.
Fantastic hotel - not posh but comfy & clean & the staff all fantastic - can not do enough for you.

St Jos has a fab rooftop terrace where you can spend the day or a few hrs looking at fantastic views over the nile to hatshepsuts temple & the valleys.

Good coice of snacks at reasonable prices & we once again sat up there in the sun drinking a few stellas.
Has a small heated pool & some sunbeds.

Rooms basic but comfy & cleaned every day to a high standard.

We were b&b & brekfast is simple but more than enough, we didn't have any other meals in the hotel as we preferred to go out to different eating spots but heard from other guests the food was good.

We didn't go to any of the entertainment nights so can't comment on them.

Was lovely to spend another (unexpected - got a very last gasp cheapie here) 2 weeks at St Josephs & would recommend it if you want a friendly well run clean comfortable hotel in a good location in Luxor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Richard Kendall-Tobias
11 years 11 months ago
We stayed over Christmas and had a great time. The hotel is cheap and cheerful but the service from the staff and management is first class.

The food is very nice and cheap (if you buy the vouchers for the restaurant) The roof top bar and restaurant if fantastic value.

Highly recommended for a place to stay and use the hotel as a base to see the sights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Sally And Stephen
12 years 3 months ago
Very nice hotel with friendly family atmosphere. Very helpful staff from the cleaners to the management. Excellent rooftop bar and pool area, bar open all day until midnight.

Excellent views of Nile and West Bank, from room balconies and Roof. Accommodation basic, but enormous comfy bed and fridge and air con included.

Very clean and sheets and towels changed very regularly. Limited night time entertainment, but well patronised Egpytian evening Sat nights. Food fine, nice to eat on the roof in the balmy breeze after a very hot day!!!

We shall def return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Sanderson
12 years 4 months ago
This is our 7th time to this fantastic hotel, once again never failed to impress in any way whatsoever!

The hotel may be a bit dated, but it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independantly booked

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: