Image of Steigenberger Nile Palace

Steigenberger Nile Palace

3 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
5 stars

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve
6 years 8 months ago
Stayed at this hotel, with my husband and our children, we got Nile view room. The service and staff were both excellent. In the hotel is a large hotel and seemed to mainly cater to tour groups when we were there.

Good facilities; pool, gym and restaurants. The Nubian restaurant served good food. The rooms were spacious and clean. We have arranged our trips, Full day West Bank, East Bank, Cairo tour from Luxor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Donna Norrie
8 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Nile Palace after a weeks cruise on the Crown Prince. My two friends were sharing a room and I had a room of my own. On arrival the staff were friendly and attentive, my friends had paid extra for a Nile view room and were given a city view! The manager of the hotel rang Thomsons and it turned out the relevant paperwork hadnt been sent from their Belfast branch to head office. The manager of the hotel could not have been more understanding, he immediately gave them a Nile View room and the Thomson rep had to pay the difference in price! Apparently Thomsons have a habit of doing this! My room was a courtyard view and was fantastic, I had a lovely king size bed all to myself. There was a telly, safe and mini bar (fully stocked) in the room. My balcony was a good size and had two chairs and a small table, I was able to sit there at night and watch the "entertainment" if I wished. The room was immaculate and cleaned every day, towels were changed twice a day. The mini bar was stocked after 3 days, I was disappointed that there was no price list, slightly trivial I know but considering they knew I was using it it is something that should not have been overlooked. Breakfast was good, there was a choice of cereal, egyptian fare, fruit, eggs, toast and lots more. The poached eggs were delicious, unfortunately the tea wasnt :( The location was beautiful on the banks of the Nile, it was about 20 mins from the centre of Luxor (temple) or 5 mins in a taxi. We used Mr Fish who was situated just outside the hotel and only cost 15LE, his cars were lovely and air conditioned! There are lots of places to eat including the Kings Head Pub, Puddleduck, Snobs, The Lantern and 7 days 7 ways plus lots of others. Down the side of the St Joseph is Arkwrights supermarket where you can buy your water and soft drinks plus lovely homemade subs :) Snobs was the nicest place we ate in, a fillet steak with chips and peppered sauce was only 4.40 stirling. Their roast sunday dinner was to die for. The staff at the hotel was fantastic, very friendly and very accommodating. As its Egypt you don't expect good entertainment, it was the same every night. There were dancers (thought we were watched Strictly)! and the usual Whirling Dervish (who was very good though). The doorman was such a lovely man, he always had a big smile for you as had the security guys beside him. He always had the door wide open before you even got there. We did get a tad addicted to the cocktails, the Mai Tai was very yummy. On the first night we ate at the Italian, it was ok! When you see what you can get from the eateries around the hotel you will be inclined to go elsewhere and not eat in the hotel itself. The restaurants in the hotel were never very busy. A bottle of water in the hotel was 12LE but in the supermarket it was 3LE, a bit of a difference. Overall an excellent hotel which I look forward to going back to with my husband in the next year or two.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
This hotel is now called Seigenberger Nile Palace and we arrived there after a weeks nile cruise.
Check in
This was carried out very efficiently and prior to our arrival we had sent an email asking for a particular room, the receptionist acknowledged this without any prompting from ourselves and we got this room and the room next door for our friends. The rooms very spacious clean and had a great courtyard view. Our friends room had twin beds and they were asked if this was ok as many people complained about not having a double!!
Restaurants
There are several restaurants in thehotel but as we were on half board it was the nubian buffet one that we used. There was always plenty of choice and non of our party ever had a problem with this and we are all fairly picky eaters. If you wanted to go to the italian or lebanese restaurants you got a 35LE discount per person, but in the Thai which was epensive you had topay fullprice. We did ask if we vcould have luch instead of evening meal one day as we all wanted to try the Thai but you could not swop your half board evening meal to lunchtime.
Pool
Fantastic pool although not enough sun beds if the hotel is busy. The towels arrive around 9am but if you want a decent bed by thenyou must be down earlier and if you just leave towels on for a long time & not use the beds, they may be removed.
Location
The hotel is in a great location immedistely you go outside, you can experieince egyptain life, yes I suppose some would call it hassle, but with a sense of humour and a firm La Shukran there is no problems.
Trips
We did two trips whilst here one with eagle travel our tour company which was to dendarah and abyos it was a full day and was great. We also used www.reallifeegypt.com for the hot air ballo trip which was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Longe/Eagle Travel

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
Stayed at The Meiriden in October, first impressions were good, very quick and efficient check in, a cool refreshing drink offered whilst you waited and your bags taken and delivered to your room. Beware of city view rooms (if you want to listen to the sound of cars horns all night, they don't indicate just honk), but went straight to reception next morning and was promptly moved to a courtyard room, much better. Given the price we paid, I really couldn't quibble
Pool area is small but we never failed to get a sunbed any day after returning from your excursions, remember all the tours go very early in the moring and generally your back in the hotel by lunch time, afternoons spent lazing by the pool, with the most astonishing view of the Nile - to die for. The food at the bar was good , if a little expensive for out there.
There was no end of excellent resturants near the hotel, so we never actually tried the resturants in the hotel, but didn;t hear any horror stories or bad report s about them either.
All in all, a lovely hotel, excellent service, staff weren't in your face all the time for tips. Food was good and the views over the Nile at sunset to be remembered for a lifetime.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
Le Meridien was a wonderful hotel when it first opened in 2001 and was better than the Sonesta now, in my opinion.
The hotel is now under different management and has changed its name to: Steigenberger Nile Palace - the level of customer service, food quality and cleanliness has dropped considerably but varies (according to others) as sometimes it seems to be a 'class hotel' and at other times it seems to rate at about three-star.
We won't be going back, sadly, but it's a magnificent hotel (in design) and relatively well placed with taxis available to take clients in to central Luxor (maximum of ten minutes by car).
I was saddened to see Le Meridien Luxor change... but I suppose that's inevitable. Food was OK in 2007 but not what is was in 2002 or 2003. Overall, three-stars in my opinion. If you get an offer of a good deal at the Steigenberger Nile Palace, try it?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

10 years 8 months ago
The hotel was only some 15mins from the airport through the centre of Luxor - the perfect way to start our holiday.

It was almost as far as you could get from the town which means that Luxor temple is about 5mins by car or 20 Min's walk, this is a good point as you are staying right on the Nile and away from the chaos in the town centre. Check-in was simple, friendly and efficient.

The Nile view rooms were good and in fair condition - the bathroom was always clean with towels etc changed daily. The previous occupants were smokers and we found out later that the 1st floor was the non-smoking floor.

As this was really only a place to sleep, it was more than acceptable - the whole point of going to Luxor is to get out and get the culture! Yes, the pool is small but there always seemed to be spare loungers and someone to dash out with towels (!) who goes there to sit by a pool - well, if only to recharge the batteries ready for the next foray into the ruins.

Breakfast was decidedly average with not that much choice; fine if you are into yogurt, fruit etc. The Moroccan and Italian 'restaurants' were acceptable but nothing particularly exciting - reasonable grub for a reasonable price.

The Oriental at the Sonesta next door was superb and an absolute must (a little more pricey). The staff were always polite and very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Walking around the town we were repeatedly 'hassled' but in a non-threaten way, always with a smile and a joke and they soon got the message if you said no and left you alone. So much better than Tunisia!!

Entertainment was interesting and a little hit and miss but more than acceptable for whiling away an hour or so over dinner. Overall, I've stayed in better 4* hotels with better food but for the money and the location it is difficult to beat - definitely one to go back to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
Sonia
10 years 10 months ago
I would give this hotel a maximum 3 star rating.

The rooms were very standard and could tell had not been refubished for quite a few years. Dust and dirt from the ceiling tiles above the bath would drop down every couple of days.

The pool was tiny and certainly not big enough for the size of the hotel.

The restaurants on the hotel grounds were quite nice but they never changed their menu's and even had the same one for luch as evening.

The gym didn't really have that much in it either and was basic equipment. If your looking for a luxury holiday stay in the hotel next door (Sonesta St George)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Susan/michael
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and the breakfast you had plenty of choice from the hot/cold buffet.

The entertainment was a bit basic but it cost nothing we had a look around at some of the other hotels around the resort an thought our was one the best we would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
We only stayed at this hotel for 3 nights but thought it was lovely and if we were staying in Luxor again would definately pick this hotel again.

The staff were all very friendly and everywhere was kept very clean.

The restraunts were all very nice to eat in, I particularly liked the Lebanese one in the courtyard, we had a very nice meal here and it wasnt very expensive at all.
The main restraunt for breakfast or dinner had a very good selection which should suit even the most fussy eaters.
The pool bar was very good for lunch snacks but the service seemed quite slow.

The hotel was about 20mins walk from the temple of Luxor and the mumification museum, if you are going to walk I would advise you to go early in the morning before it gets too hot.....seemed like a lot farther on the way back at lunchtime!!

Hot air balloon trips can be arranged, we went through our rep but I think there is a man who sells trips in the main lobby.

The entertainment that we saw wasn't bad, a chinese show and music in the courtyard most evenings I think.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
Cathryn
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel was very clean. We were supplied with clean towels everyday. The maid survice was excellent, with the rooms being cleaned daily.

The breakfast in the hotel was excellent, plenty to choose from. Hot and cold choices available.

The hotel in situated write on the nile, with fantasic views. Not to close to the city center but only a short walk alway from shops and resturaunts.

Most of the staff were polite and very helpful.

The entertainment was good, however i found that they repeated the same acts a few nights in a row.

I would visit this hotel again.

The local horse rides and taxi's are very cheap, and easy to get access to!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: