Image of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Sheraton Luxor Resort

4 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
5 stars

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian
Return year after year, fantastic hotel
6 years 6 months ago
Been staying at the Sheraton since 1996, every year, sometimes multiple visits, lived in Luxor also.

The Sheraton has the best Nile position in Luxor, the staff are excellent. If you go more than once they remember you, like you are family visiting again. Yes on occasion the service is on Egyptian time, that's Egypt, live with it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
LYNN STONE
11 years 8 months ago
Stayed here with my husband and father in law after one week on the Nile Commodore cruise.

I wish I had booked a nile view room the garden rooms are very clean and spacious but the view of the sun set over the nile is priceless.

Did not eat anything other than the fab buffet breakfast with lots of choice and snacks by the pool which were pricey but worth it to have drinks and gorgeous sandwiches using bread that is made by two beautiful egyptian women using a traditional fire oven.

Speaking of the pool the guy that runs the poolside beds etc who has been there for 14 years is also first rate, getting beds and towels for you, you get better service next day for 20 local pounds which equates to two of our pounds - mind you a little tip goes a long way in egypt all the staff here really know how to give service and are happy to do so we will be going back - but this time paying extra for the nile view
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago

Had very enjoyable week at the Sheraton. My girlfriend and step-daughter had already stayed there about 2 years previously so I had idea as to what to expect but even so my expectations were exceeded.

We stayed in one of the apartments (although referred to as bungalows by staff)in the hotel gardens which I think increased the enjoyment of the holiday as you didnt feel you were staying in a hotel. This was cleaned to a high level every day.

Food wise breakfast was good, with self service buffet style so could fill yourself up ready for day ahead! Poolside grill was also good and at a reasonable price. Also tried the Italian and Indian in the evening. The italian was really nice with pizza's to die for (although a little chilly as the nights were still fairly cold in Feb). The Indian though was quite bland and expensive. This restaurant was quiet and I can see why! Apart from this the food was worthy of a 5 rating.

Didn't see any entertainment hence the 1 rating (isn't there a not applicable section??).

The hotel is situated at the end of Luxor and so is in a nice quiet area on the banks of the Nile however to get into town is a 15/20 min walk or a short taxi ride.

The staff were always eager to help and nothing too much hassle for them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self organised

Recommended
Rob
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Sheraton in August after a week on the Nile on the Ra 2.

We found the hotel to be perfect in every way.

The food was fantastic and lots of choice with the option of the on site Italian and Indian restaurants.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pool with the Nile view was very clean and beautiful.

The best experience of the whole holiday was sitting out at night and watching the sun set over the Nile, it was like being in another world. As a whole it was a fantastic stay which we would repeat tomorrow.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
We had a 14 day trip to Egypt, one week Nile Cruise with lots of early mornings so wanted to chill out for 2nd week.

Hotel generally clean, but some parts staff very slow to clear drinks and let one pay!

Breakfasts were first class, lunches satisfactory. Italian restaurant very good, friendly eat in or outdoors.

Main buffet evenings erratic. Much better value to eat out in Luxor.

Entertainment occasional singer in one bar.

Room clean, good shower did not use TV.

Pool area very hot and very crowded.

Enjoyed the "Sunset Felucca Sail" with afternoon tea
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very clean, and there was a turndown service every night as well as your room being cleaned in the day. It might scare you a bit if they leave the tv on after the turndown service though!

The breakfasts were amazing, there was a table with a choice of 16-20 croissants, pastries and doughnuts every day, freshly squeezed orange and lemon juice, lovely yogurts, cereal, cooked breakfasts and fruit. Being sceptical of food hygiene I didn't eat the fruit or cooked breakfasts but they did look nice. Plus there was fresh coffee and tea to your table. We ate either in the Italian restaurant which was delicous and you could sit inside or outside by the mini pond with pelicans and flamingos. We did not try the buffet evening meal but ate a la carte at the back of the restaurant, again this was delicous. However you have to put your foot down - they would rather you ate the buffet! All meals in the restaurants were very good value for money.

The Sheraton is right on the Nile and a Nile View is well worth paying for, the views are fab. However if you're on the top floor then the balcony is really small, if I went back I would ask for a Nile view on the 2nd or 3rd floor! Although not in the city centre. The hotel puts on a bus on and there are taxis outside 24/7 so the 5 minute ride into the centre is easy to do.

The staff were all very friendly although a little slow at serving at times.

There wasn't much in the way of entertainment, the singers in the bar sung the same songs every night.

I thought the hotel was very good value. I work with two Egyptians from Luxor and they say it's one of the best hotels there - enough said.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jimbo
12 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Sheraton in Luxor we could not fault the place.

Only problem was the night entertainment. We had a duo but every night same songs/same routine/same volume

All staff were wonderful even down to the lady baking fresh bread & rolls every day near the pool

Food excellent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
B Goss
12 years 10 months ago
We had a room in the grounds, lovely location, shame we had permanent wooden shutters across the windows.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel for one week after a week on the Nile Commodore Cruise ship.

Our room was available quite quickly after arrival, though it was a twin bedded room instead of a double room. We asked for this to be changed which took four times of asking before anything was done.

The location of this hotel over the Nile is unbeatable.
This hotel has fantastic views over the Nile, you will never tire of the Sunsets. You can lay on your sun bed watching a great variety of boats going past on the Nile, every day.

However, other areas of this hotel leave a lot to be desired.
We put an early morning call in at reception for us and two more couples, this call was made one hour earlier and unfortunately one couple had not realised this mistake and sat in reception for an hour. The hotel reception staff thought that this was really funny, instead of apologising, they stood laughing!!

Breakfast was the best meal of the day at this hotel, we were pleased we had not paid for half board at this hotel. The two evenings we had an evening meal at this hotel, we had the trots, to put it politely, within the hour.

Service around the pool, at the poolside bar, and bars inside the hotel was virtually non existent. Staff prefer to stand and talk in small groups than actually serve meals, snacks or drinks. It takes an hour to have a drink served to you and another half an hour to see the bill. Very Poor.

Cleanliness of our room was to a basic standard, bins were emptied when they felt like it, we placed the bin in the middle of the room, so they had to empty it.

Entertainment as this hotel consists of a couple in the corner of the bar, trying to sing and failing badly!! enough said about them!!

This hotel needs a complete overhaul with regard to the attitude and work rate of staff, send in Aggie and her pal to show them how cleaning and service should be done.


Our first week on the Nile Commodore was excellent, we only had to raise your hand and somebody was there helping you or serving you. it is unfortunate that the Sheraton Hotel has allowed its standards to slip so badly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Holiday Place

13 years 2 months ago
This holiday was September 2005 not 2004 as you have printed in the review.

We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel for one week after a week on the Nile Commodore Cruise ship.

Our room was available quite quickly after arrival, though it was a twin bedded room instead of a double room. We asked for this to be changed which took four times of asking before anything was done.

The location of this hotel over the Nile is unbeatable.
This hotel has fantastic views over the Nile, you will never tire of the Sunsets. You can lay on your sun bed watching a great variety of boats going past on the Nile every day.

However, other areas of this hotel leave a lot to be desired. We put an early morning call in at reception for us and two other couples, this call was made one hour earlier and unfortunately one couple had not realised this mistake and sat in reception for an hour. The hotel staff thought that this was really funny, instead of apologising, they stood laughing!!

Breakfast was the best meal of the day at this hotel, we were pleased we had not paid for half board at this hotel. The two evenings we had an evening meal at this hotel, we had the trots, to put it politely, within the hour.

Service around the pool, at the poolside bar, and bars inside the hotel was virtually non existent. Staff prefer to stand and talk in small groups than actually serve meals, snacks or drinks. It takes an hour to have a drink served to you and another half an hour to see the bill.

Cleanliness of our room was to a basic standard, bins were emptied when they felt like it, we placed our bin in the middle of the room, so they had to empty it.

Entertainment at this hotel consists of a couple in the corner of the bar, trying to sing and failing badly!! enough said about them!!

This hotel needs a complete overhaul with regard to the attitude and work rate of staff, send in Aggie and her pal to show them how cleaning and service should be done.

Our first week on the Nile Commodore was excellent, we only had to raise your hand and somebody was there helping you or serving you. It is unfortunate that the Sheraton Hotel has allowed its standards to slip so badly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Holiday Place

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: