Image of Iberostar Regency Beach Hotel

Iberostar Regency Beach Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Agios Ioannis

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Agios Ioannis, 49084, Greece

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Adrian
7 years 8 months ago
many thanks to everybody who wrote reports on the regencey beach hotel the hotel is on the busy road with no pavement so very dangerous to walk to beniteses at night the food is very good in fact cannot find a bad thing to say about this hotel. day trips done with thomas cook were island hop paxos &anti paxos & corfu highlights well worth doing 10 out of 10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Nicola
8 years 6 months ago
The Iberostar Regency Beach hotel was amazing.
I found it incredibly relaxing and pleasant.
The hotel was incredibly clean and the food was amazing.
The chefs certainly knew what they were doing.
The staff were very friendly and couldn't help you enough.
The manager ( Andreas ) Was a complete gentleman who was very friendly and went out of his way to wish my mum a happy birthday whilst we were there.
The entertainment was also very good, the animation team were nothing less than fantastic!
I take my hat off to each and every one of them (Niko,Jerome,Rik-e Etc) for all the effort they put in to keep everyone happy and entertained. Niko was very funny and dragged almost nearly everyone up on the stage, as well as nicknaming me Christina Aguilera!
I loved the team so much that if possible i would love to personally give them all a big thankyou from me and my family.
Please, If anyone has any contact with them could they please tell me so i could tell them how much they made the holiday special, or if the team can read this then Niko your amazing and i wish the whole lot of you the best of look for the forcoming year. x
The only down side to the hotel is its location, unfortunately you do have to catch a bus either into corfu town or into benitses itself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Danielle
8 years 7 months ago
I just came back from my holiday at the ibero regency and i have never been to and iberostar before, i was gladly surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel.
The food was lovly he chef really knew how to cook certain types of meat and there was always a varity of things to try.
the location of the hotel was the only thing that wasnt as good as it could have been it was slightly isolated althought the town wasnt that far up the road but still i think it would have been nice to have another hotel nearby.
The staff were amasing the manager (i think it was the manager) was so kind and friendly.
The animation crew
*Nico
*Dora
*Jerome
*Rik-e
*and another girl i cant remember her name
were so nice and friendly they always welcomed you to dinner with a smile and nico made me dance with him which was rather funny but i would have liked to get some way to keep in touch.
Of course i would visit this hotel again it was spectacular.
You have to go there
if nico is there tell him Danielle or Dania as he calls me says hello x
Hope you enjoy your stay .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dinhara Walters
8 years 8 months ago
This was our second family holiday to this hotel and I can safely say it was even better than last time. From the second you arrive you are treated like royalty, the hotel staff are so friendly, they are always smiling and very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them! Andreas, the manager is a lovely man and as he recognised me from our previous holiday, I got a kiss and cuddle every night and he always saved us our favorite table. The food is excellent - greek kebabs....mmmm I think we managed about 4 each one day - they are so lovely! Everything is always hot and fresh and variety was exeptional. Sadly this holiday we had two slight issues, a) we had come earlier in the year and there were not many children there B) We had a week of rain....these issues were however overcome! My son made friends with some German children of a similar age (my sons 15), language barrier didn;t seem to be an issue but the entertainment team made him holiday!!! Niko, Dora, Jerome, Rike and Anais made sure he was involved in every game that went on, he helped out with discos in the evening and Jerome and Niko even took him to play football on their day off. He had such a great time at the end of the holiday he cryed and didn;t want to come home! The entertainment team were excellent when the weather was bad, they had people doing dance classes, meditation, playing silly card games, anything to keep spirits up and it worked! They were such a credit to the hotel and worked so hard (I am very upset we cannot go back this year as Niko emailed me earlier this week to say he is manager of the entertainment team there this year!).

The location of the hotel is quiet but the buses run frequently and we went to Moratika, Benitses and Corfu town on more than one occasion. Bus fare Eur1.50 and if you ask at reception they give free bus tickets to Corfu town!

The staff at the hotel are all very hard working, Panos the night manager is a lovely man and always came to sit with us and have a drink in the evening..he does not speak great English but is a real gentleman and has lived a very interesting life, so it is lovely to chat to him!

I think the only one fault with this hotel is the wasps but I think this is an issue for the majority of the island, we got used to them and they did not seem to be agressive or sting anyone while we were there so it would not deter us from visiting again!

Loved the hotel,loved the holiday.....saving to go there again!!!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Laura
9 years 9 months ago
We have just recently stayed in this hotel and felt that although the hotel provided excellent standards unfortunately the resort was extremely isolated.

We have previously stated in Iberostar hotels so was aware of the certain high level of cleanliness that the hotel provides. The rooms are cleaned daily and our maid was exceptionally friendly.

In relation to the hotel food, again there was a huge choice however due to not being able to leave the hotel (unless you had a car) then this was quite repetitive.

The hotel staff were very polite and friendly and tried their best. However we found the entertainment to be quite poor and repetitive. I think there was only so many times that you could hear "Follow the Leader" and "YMCA".

If it wasn't for the friends we made whilst we were there then we would have seriously been considering booking the first available flight home.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Andy Sutcliffe
10 years 6 months ago
Hi 5th year running at this wonderful hotel. great welcome by the lovely staff. Again major gripe was the entertainment, quite poor really. as above review said not geared to the brits, many many french and belgians. go again probably will but entertainment needs sorting out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Pawsey
10 years 7 months ago
We had a very good experience at this hotel, we have given location 4* only because the stretch of pebble beech it sits on is lovely but it is a long way from civilisation ie any shops etc.
The pools were not very special and one is a long way up a slope to get to it.
All outside bars had bad wasp problems and my wife got stung once but the bar staff were well equipped to help instantly with wasp sting removal equipment.
On the positive side the food is of a very good quality, most of the staff were excellent with the children and very understanding.
The beech is lovely with bar and restaurant. Free loungers and parasols and plenty of them.
Lots of watersports available at next door beech which a very high speed boat collects you and returns you (good fun).
We hired a motor boat for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Williams
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Regency Beach hotel in July 2007. We had a nice weeks' break and thought the hotel staff were excellent, despite a number of 'challenges' during the week.

We had booked 2 adjoining rooms (as there were no family suites left at the time of booking), but when we arrived, we found that the interconnecting doors didn't work. A visit to reception to sort the problem out was greeted by the very friendly & helpful staff who arranged for a maid, & then maintenance technician to sort the problem out straight away. This was all sorted within 30 minutes of our arrival, meaning we were still able to make it down to the restaurant for dinner. Throughout the week, the room and refurbished (very nice) bathroom were kept spotlessly clean (although the style of the bedrooms is a little dated).

We were very impressed with the friendly welcome in the restaurant - from all the staff. While we were there, a significant part of the island sufferred a major power-cut, right in the middle of evening meal time and the restaurant staff had a real challenge in getting the food served hot & keeping all the guests well looked after - despite a number of guests getting rather upset at the situation & taking it out on the hotel staff even though it was out of their control. I really can't praise the attitude of the staff at this hotel high enough - they worked tirelessly all week in very hot (mid-40's
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Michelle
10 years 9 months ago
My husband and I spent a week at this hotel on our honeymood and we had a fantastic time!

We arrived at 2.00am, were welcomed at the 24 hour reception and quickly located our room. The room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. We had a bottle of champagne, fresh flowers and a fruit basket left for us from the hotel manager as a "congratulations on your marriage" which was lovely!

The food was much better than we expected from an all inclusive hotel! There was something different to eat everyday and so much to choose from. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main reasturant and lunch is served down at the beach which was really good as you didn't feel like you were eating at the same place for every meal! The drinks are self service.... including the draft lager!

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. We had the same waiter every night at dinner (we sat in the same place, outside over looking the sea!) and after a couple of days he knew our drinks order without asking!

The entertainment was hit or miss to be honest. The animation team really tried hard (they had only been together 3 weeks and work 17 hour days!) but a couple of nights their show wasn't up to much. The hotel did get in live singers, Greek dancers and a magician, all three shows were really good!

The location of this hotel isn't fantasic, there is nothing to do or see within walking distance around it but if your after a relaxing holiday by the pool or down at the beach, with good food, drink and friendly faces... we would strongly recommend Regency Beach!

Would we go back there???...... YES!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
J Corcoran
10 years 9 months ago
We stayed here in may and the hotel was very quiet.we had no problem getting a sun bed at the pools or by the sea.

Yes the hotel is out of main resorts but for a week this was not a problem, easy to catch a bus to corfu town only half hour trip.

The restaurant is very nice and food was excellent nice also to eat lunch down by the sea afternoon pancakes were great.entertainment not so good at first but after a few drinks did not seem so bad,but no greek dancers they changed the night so did not see them.

Rooms a bit basic pillows were the worst ever had, but the sea view made up for that.

The rooms at the back do get the sun in the afternoon. The hotel is kept very clean and we had a lovely relaxing holiday,only moan was the pillows and the air con was not on so alittle hard to sleep as it was so hot at night, but to be fair because of the carpets you could not hear any noise at all from next door rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum