Image of Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel

Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel

2 of 4 hotels in Gouvia

4 out of 5 from 35 reviews
Gouvia, 49100, Greece
A popular choice for couples and families this hotel offers an excellent range of facilities including a watersports centre on the beach, children\'s mini-club and playground. The hotel is set in attractive gardens and situated directly o nthe beach.

35 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Goodall
14 years 5 months ago
We were allocated on arrival and the hotel could not have been better. Reception were very efficient indeed. Staff were very helpful and informative.

The rooms and public areas were spotless. We found a very good selection of food from salads and hot food (which was different every day for the seven days we stayed)half board.
Low fat and dietary foods were also available. The waiters could not have been nicer to us explaining the different wines and Greek food which we wanted to taste.

The grounds are out of this world we could not believe that we had been so lucky, Although the hotel seemed to be full the swimming pools and sunbathing areas are so well positioned that there was never a crowd around you, there was any amount of privacy and quietness. Unfortunately for some people the grounds were a bit hilly with lots of steps.

Luggage was collected by the porter therefore there was no need to carry suitcases. Maids kepts the bedroom so clean but the air conditioning needs to be addressed.

Entertainment well the children there were enjoying themselves and parents seemed happy. We were quite content to socialise on the beautiful terrace with breathtaking views.

We would certainly visit this hotel again and take our family along.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
David
14 years 5 months ago
The hotel is clean,well maintained and comprises hotel rooms and bungalows in the grounds, which could cause problems, depending on location of bungalow for persons with walking difficulties or prams/buggies etc as they are set on a sloping hillside-but what an outlook over the bay from the terraces of most.

There is a childrens pool and play area, a normal size swimming pool and at the front of the hotel the lagoon pool which is huge, but totally safe for kids.

Food was excellent with great selection of hot and cold buffets breakfast and evening meal. The location of the hotel in its own grounds means that it is unaffected by road noise.

The small, clean beach has sun beds etc, water sports area and a boat which does a variety of trips for reasonable prices.

Staff are friendly and accommodating from reception to maids.Animation team do their best for evening entertainmant, but visiting acts (6 in two weeks)were far better.

I would visit this hotel again as I believe that it has earned its standard.
Gouvia itself is a small village with a crowded main street, but plenty of bars/restaurants if you fancy a change, plenty of small shops and supermarkets.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
K Muirhead
15 years ago
The hotel was always clean and the maids were superb.
The food was nice but grew boring after the first few days. Breakfast had no variation and lunch was almost identical everyday, tea time differed slightly.
The hotel location was very quiet and isolated, it was almost impossible to walk anywhere. Although it is sited almost on the sea's edge which was very nice.
The hotel staff were usually very freindly and helpful.
The entertainment was generally horrendous. It started every evening around 9.45 (Following the kids disco from 9 which played exactly the same music every night and became very boring) and was finished by 10.30. It was boring, childish and far from entertaining. The hotel had nothing other than this however so we were in bed every night by 11 latest as we were at a loss as to what to do with ourselves. At the beginning of our second week a storm began, and other than visiting the rest of the island we were again left with nothing to do.
The room was not on a floor that has recently been refurbished, the furniture was falling apart, tiles were broken and the air conditioning was non exsistent. Our balcony was to the back of the hotel so faced a wall of trees and was just above the kitchens, where the staff were very noisey every morning-I was pleased I had taken ear plugs.
Personal reasons meant we had to leave 3 days early and even though we were all inclusive the hotel still charged us just short of E200 cancellation fee!
The reps were fantastic especially the Thompson rep Alex.
On the whole I would not recommend this hotel or the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

TM
15 years 2 months ago
We arrived at this hotel to find that our rooms would not be ready for another 3 hours and worse, despite booking adjoining twin rooms, were on separate floors - not acceptable when one room is for 2 children. Having spent half an hour arguing with a hotel manager who could not see this was a problem we were given rooms on the same floor. Naturally the Thomson rep was nowhere to be found when we needed help!

Having got to our rooms they were clean and tidy and had good views over the bay. The shower didn't work in one room but the hotel did act quickly to fix this.

The food was pretty good and the waiter service good. Drinks were extortionately priced and bar service is frightfully slow.

The grounds were pleasant and the location on the beach was good but watersports were outrageously expensive - 18 Euros per person (inc. children) per 10 minutes. A much better bet is a trip to Aqualand at 60 Euros for the whole family for the day. A taxi from the hotel costs just 12 Euros each way so making your own way is a much cheaper alternative to Thomson's overpriced trip. Thomson tell you that their trip means you don't have to queue to get in but Aqualand was so efficient there weren't any queues anyway. Be aware that any hotel activity costs extra and is fairly pricey - 13 Euros for the children to play one round of mini-golf on a very poor standard course.

The swimming facilities are good for adults but those with very young children may find them limited since the main pool is extremely deep (3 metres at one end) and even the lagoon area (just freeform pool no slides etc. which is open to the public so you don't have to stay at the Corcyra beach to use it) is mainly 1.4m deep though with a small shallow shelf. Parents may also want to know that the deep pool is right next to the evening entertainment area with no barriers etc. so again young children will need to be carefully watched.

The waiting staff were good and friendly but management were rude and unhelpful.

The entertainment was truly appalling. Each night the team did musical numbers (two nights were whole musicals) but unfortunately clearly none of them can sing so every track was lip synch'd. Only Serena and Mirko looked professional and were entertaining - the rest of the team seemed to be there under duress! In fairness games night was hilarious and the only good show of the week but the night of the Rocky Horror Show was a real low!

The childrens club was bad - certainly nothing for older children (approx 7 upwards will be bored) and only 2 hours per day. Thomson say the kids club runs 3 nights a week but this costs extra and surprise, surprise, isn't cheap for what you get.

A real disappointment was the standard of service we got from Thomson. Having had no help with checking-in problems and witnessing the coach rep being exceptionally rude to another family bluntly telling them on the coach that actually they weren't going to their choice of accommodation because Thomson had overbooked, we weren't optimistic by the time we found the elusive rep at hotel the next day. We hadn't received any details of the welcome meeting, which we consequently missed. When we found him he was extremely rude about us missing the welcome meeting, and unhelpful about my enquiry as to why the hotel was trying to charge us for meals although we'd paid Full Board. It transpired that Thomson had listed us to the hotel as B&B but I had to offer to get my invoice faxed out from the UK before he agreed to even phone his office to check that we had paid Full Board and sort the problem with the hotel. His attitude was clearly that he didn't believe that we'd paid and were obviously just trying for a free upgrade. Its disappointing to be treated like dirt when I thought we were paying customers!

I would recommend this hotel to couples, not families, but certainly advise you to choose a holiday company other than Thomson.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Cazz
15 years 2 months ago
I loved the hotel especcially during the day at the pool. The animation team were friendly and enthusiastic, as were those working at the bar. The activities during the day were a laugh and they differed each day which meant they were not repetitive. The entertainment in the evening(the shows) were also great! We were in hysterics most nights.

The food was good and there was a good atmosphere in the restaurant. The waiters and waitresses were very polite.

The hotel is situated at one end of Gouvia so it was a short walk to where some of the better bars were but Gouvia was a nice town to walk through so it was not a problem.

I thought the cleanliness of the hotel was good and the cleaners did a brilliant job each day with our room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Vicky
15 years 3 months ago
I stayed in the corcyra beach hotel in July for 1 week with my partner and found my stay most pleasant, the room was kept clean and the standard of the hotel was most certainly 4*. The views were wonderful and we even enjoyed the entertainment at the hotel. The breakfast was great but the dinner lacked variety i'm afraid. The lagoon however was gorgeous, a really attractive, fun pool with a lifeguard and snack bar, everything you would need. The staff were friendly and helpful and i would definately consider coming back here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: argo

Recommended
15 years 3 months ago
The hotel is in very pretty grounds down a hill to the small beach. We had a studio family room which was in the hotel grounds, a single storey room in a block of about five. The room was fairly basic looking but spacious, clean and plenty of storage space. There was a fridge, toaster and two electric rings. Air conditioning worked well and the room was very quiet.

We only had breakfast at the hotel. This was very good with plenty of choice.

All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

We only went to the evening entertainment one night as it was so awful we could hardly keep our eyes open. We mainly went to the Lagoon pool so didn't see the day time entertainment.

The Lagoon complex is huge about the size of 3 or 4 big pools and kept our children happy for the week. As guests have the choice of the lagoon, pool and beach there is no sunbed problem.

The hotel is in an excellent location very short walk to all the Tavernas, shops and bars of Gouvia.

We would definitely consider staying here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Natalie
15 years 3 months ago
I've been to this hotel 4 times and it is by far the best hotel i've stayed at.

The grounds are very large with bungalows spread all across them which can accomodate up to 5 people. There is also the hotel itself with rooms in at a cheaper price, an apartment block and 6 or so farmhouses which can sleep up to 6.

The hotel staff are superb and always ready to help. On our first year there we had some problems with the rooms but since then it has been superb and top class.

The food is varied everynight and serves all, with lots of salads and food from different countries.

The entertainment during the day cannot be faulted. The animators are always friendly and encourage people to join in. There are activities from 10 o clock until 5 with a break for lunch, there is a programme running on a day to day basis with things like volleyball, mini golf, waterpolo etc for 14 yrs upwards.
There are two mini clubs, Thomson and Jet Air. The Thomson club is mainly for English children and the Jet Air for children of other nationalities. The reps speak many languages so the children would always find someone to talk to.

The evening entertainment is different on a daily basis. There is a mini disco from 9 until 9:30 and then the evening shows start at 9:45, these vary from musicals to cabarets to games nights. All the animators put in 110% learning all the dance routines etc. They may not sing all the songs themselves but as they are all from different countries it is understandable that they mime, but they are all very good at what they do.

The hotel is like my second home and plan to go there again next year.

Outside the hotel there are many bars, restaurants and clubs so there is always something to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Argo

Recommended
Karen & Gary
15 years 4 months ago
When we drove up to this hotel i was very pleased as it was worth its cat A rating.
However, saying that what a disappointment the room was. It was out of the main building and stunk of damp including the sheets.
The redeeming feature was the view, the hotel overlooks the bay, which i found the next morning after a bad night, it was breathtaking and certainly calmed my down from demanding a room change. Saying that once aired it was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff and the beds were changed at least twice in one week.

Food, while not out of this world, plenty of it, lots of choice and very hot. Even replenshing the breakfast buffet and 9.55 (closes at 10). Staff very nice and friendly. We intend going back one day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kirsty
16 years 2 months ago
This hotel was great.

We had lots of fun here as a family. The entertainment was great and the animators were really freindly and there was lots of different activities for the whole family to join in with.

There was also a club for the children who also did lots of fun things.

The hotel food was great. They had a big variety of food and had a kids buffet. They also had a big range of puddings with ice cream for the kids.

The staff were extremely friendly and helped us get our bags to the room. I would recomend a sea view window on one of the top floors.

The maids visited daily and were ever efficiant.

The location is near lots of shop and resteraunts or pubs. There is many souvenier shops nearby.

The hotel have their own boat, and there are daily trips to many lovely places and the people are very friendly.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Brittania

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.