Image of Corfu Sea Gardens Hotel

Corfu Sea Gardens Hotel

3 of 15 hotels in Kavos

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
Asprokavos, Kavos, Greece

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not a 4 star, OK rooms but bad food
8 years 6 months ago
We chose this hotel as we were looking for a 4 star hotel. The hotel is up to 2 hour transfer depending on how many drop offs, and this is the last drop off.

The room was fine with the bonus of a fridge, which we used a lot. The shower is a joke, the water goes every where. The air conditioning was good and the towels were changed twice a week.

The restaurant was more like a works canteen. Never more than 25 people in there at any one time. The entertainment was dreadful, not one night with a professional act on.

The beach is man made, but we found it OK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lauren
9 years 4 months ago
quite clean but when we got there there was a horrid smell

the food is pretty awful!! and the beverages arnt any better!

The location isnot for a family place as to all the bars in kavos and cnt realy go out anywhere

All The staff are Very Freindly! Very nice and polite!!

the Entertainment is ok!

Overall I wouldnt come again becoz of the location! There Is No were 2 go to get my hair braided ecsept going into kavos which we dont want to go in!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Samantha
9 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from an excellent holiday here,the room was really big with an upstairs annex and en-suite where the kids slept,air con and tv were free (10 euro deposit for handsets which you get back at the end) maid service every day except sunday. Pool was huge and warm,never too busy.Plenty sun beds. Right on the beach (small and man made but adequate-we hate the beach anyhow!) free pedaloes/canoes for half an hr a day on the beach. Sea is lovely,warm and shallow. Food is excellent,plenty of variety and choice,always fresh and hot,chips,mash,meats (chicken pork beef lamb),fish,pasta's,burgers,fish fingers,veg,loads of salads - cold! bread,soup,cheese etc,ice-cream desserts,fruit,allsorts! Restaurant never seemed too busy either,no queues,bar and alcohol excellent,staff really friendly and helpful,entertainment the same as all these places but better than average i would say,bingo,competitions etc. Kids club 10-12 and 3-5 where they can draw,paint,play games etc. No noise from Kavos at all but its about 10-15 min slow walk away,not a lot of shops but we manages to get souveniers no problem,shop on site is really cheap actually. Weather was in the 40's. We would definately return,no hesitation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes Travel

Recommended
Patrick
9 years 6 months ago
we stayed here for 1 week commencing 27th june.didnt get the room that we requested until monday,and had to pay an extra 50 euro.it was a great room though,with good views.the mosquitoes devoured me before i could get the repellant on.apparantely according to some people we met there,eating marmite keeps them away.staff were excellent,but a pity about the food.i will eat nearly anything,but we struggled to find anything we liked.got by on bread and salad,food did improve by the middle of the week though.the pool is fantastic,and the beach although man made is just down the steps.bathing is safe because the sea is very shallow for a long way out.there is no mad rush in the mornings for loungers,plenty for everyone.on our first day we met our rep,she told us that the hotel had been downgraded from a 4 star to a 3 star,and also the all inclusive package ended at 10pm instead of 11pm.if you wanted to carry on drinking after 10pm you got charged half price,and after 11pm full price.quite honestly we stopped drinking the alcohol after about 3 days because it was awful.we bought our own in the mini market and drank it on our balcony late in the evening.the beer was basically coloured water,the spirits werent a lot better.we were led to belive that although the hotel was 15 mins walk from kavos,it would be quiet,but as we found out it was very noisy around 3amish as the youngsters returned to our hotel after a night out on the town.ive probably come across as negative with this report,but we still enjoyed our stay here.we probably wouldent stay there again,because it is a little cut off from the rest of the island,and i wouldent want to drive there as its a little mad on the roads.we still had a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: broadway travel

11 years 4 months ago
In my humble opinion, this is a 3 star hotel NOT 4. If booked as a 3 you wouldn't be too disappointed.

Previous comments by other users are about right. Lots of wasps (its 35 degrees and sunny what a surprise). Mossies not bad we didn't get bitten - buffoons who don't protect themselves will. Rooms are 3 star - bathrooms disappointing. Food started OK but then became mediocre - again 3 star standard. Drink was fine - i managed to get fairly hammered on vodka and beer. There is no lifeguard for the pool, otherwise good for kids. Location beautiful, right on the beach, again very safe for kids but no lifeguard. STaff generally great apart from the misery in charge of breakfast and lunch.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1 Travel / medhotels

Lynn Pearce
11 years 4 months ago
corfu sea gardens kavos
we had what we paid for and it was excellent value for money.
the grounds the staff the food the drink and entertainment were better than anticipated.
it was great for young and old alike and the weather out of this world as was the beautiful location.
ok there were some niggles like it needs a few bits upgrading, and yes the wasps were pests and the occasional fly, but what the heck your free and on holiday.
we will go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: beach

Recommended
Clairabelle
11 years 6 months ago
Nice hotel and the grounds were well kept. However, the clubber guests who obviously couldnt get into the twenties hotels down the road seemed to be a plenty which lead to a couple of restless nights.

Food very basic and its true the drink is so weak you could drink all day and still be sober. Reception staff lovely but bar staff were stingy!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelbargains.co.uk

Lorraine
12 years 3 months ago
I though a lot of places looked run down and dirty on way to resort but was relieved when reached Sea Gardens. Place was spotless and surroundings beautiful. Pool is beautiful and clean with no problems getting sun loungers. Our accomodation was adequate but understand some of the rooms have kitchen facilities as previously was self catering facility. Air con works quickly on closing of balcony doors but turns off when key removed from slot. There are shuuter doors too which can be shut when going out to keep rooms dark and cool during the day.

All the staff work hard and long hours and are very friendly. The '2 drinks' rule a pain but being a couple didnt affect us too much.

Even the nightime entertainment was above par on what i have experienced before. Rhianna and Brian have great voices and with Tracy, work well as a team. Visiting entertainment great also. Battle of the Sexes was best night for me!

Food! I didnt expect to get served same food as back home and wasn't disappointed with choice on offer. Had enjoyable meal every serving. Wish they would invest in proper toasters like ours instead of those daft conveyer type ones where it takes couple goes to get toast rather than crispy bread!

Approx 15-20 min walk to Kavos main strip so away from main thoroughfare and noise. Recommend Blue Lagoon and Paxos/Anti Paxos boat trips. Dont travel into town to book. Can be booked for same price just outside Sea Gardens and they take you to Kavos Jetty and back too instead of getting taxi.

Would defo visit this hotel again but unfortunately Corfu in general was not my scene.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach Travel

Recommended
Nat & Aldo
12 years 5 months ago
My partner & I have just returned home - thank goodness! I've never been happy to leave a holiday destination until this one! We were sold this hol as 4* all-inclusive, however, it barely had the standards of a 2* and we ended up buying food and eating out at times!

The room we were given had chronic damp which left the room, and eventually our clothes, smelling awful. After a few days I complained and was given a new room that day and, although "better", was still of a very low standard. The bathroom facilities in both bathrooms were disgusting. Both had dirty shower curtains which allowed water to leak all over the floor. All the metal in the bathrooms (including shower heads)were rusting and all the fixtures and fittings were hanging off the walls - I could go on about how revolting the rooms were forever but I'm sure you get the picture!

In keeping with the extremely low standard of the room was the food. This resembled canteen slop. The food was basic, low quality food (deep fried or casseroled and whatever was left over from one sitting was made into something for the next meal). There was very little variety, freshness or imagination in the cooking and there wasn't even a Greek choice everyday. All 3 meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were repetitive, unhealthy and to a "school dinner" standard. My partner and I, as well as others, found ourselves eating out on occasions to avoid the food they offered.
The all-inclusive "snacks" were left over pastries or stale sandwiches which were hidden away at the pool bar. Because of this set-up we felt bad or embarrassed asking for them. Like others, we purchased our own snacks from the shop.

The hotel location was quite good because it was about a 25 min walk to Kavos' main drag which was where the partying happened. You could, however, hear the music from the town centre at night from the hotel but it wasn't really a problem.

Do not get your hopes up about the beach - this is definitely a pool holiday! There is a suspicious, huge pipe coming out from under the man-made beach into the sea and I wouldn't like to say what it is but there is the most nauseating smell of sewage surrounding the whole hotel....! You do kind of get used to it after a few days though!

On a more positive note, the pool is a good size and very clean and it was always possible to get a sun lounger. The hotel didn't seem that over crowded either which was nice. The staff behind the pool bar were very friendly and helpful and the animation staff seemed nice too. The entertainment was your typical holiday entertainment and kids seemed to be catered for each day.

All in all, the holiday would of been acceptable as a 2* holiday. We did enjoy lounging about (except for the smell of sewage all day!) but would NEVER return to this hotel in a million years. If you want a nice relaxing hol, with good accommodation, nice food and pleasant surroundings - go somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

12 years 6 months ago
We didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum