Image of Yaliscari Palace Hotel

Yaliscari Palace Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Pelekas

4 out of 5 from 32 reviews
3 stars
Sinarades, Σιναράδες, Sinarades 49084, Greece
Suits couples of any age‚ especially those who enjoy walking and anyone wanting a peaceful holiday in tranquil surroundings. This hotel is not suitable for the less mobile because of the steep inclines.

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cheryl Watt
9 years 11 months ago
this hotel has changed names it is now called The Golden View Hotel and thats about all i can say in its favour. We only stayed in this hotel for one night before we managed to book a private villa (thank goodness) we arrived to find we were in the annexe it was dirty, electrics ahnging out the wall, mould growing all over the shower room wasp hives on the balcony mattress filthy door had big hole in it blood up the walls. These were just a few of the delights that greeted us. The reception staff were less than helpful and the hotels4u rep was uninterested and unhelpful. The one night we were there the dining room staff weree very efficient but the food was bland and cold and we couldnt figure out what half the food was. The entertainment was ok but we had to fight for a seat as there was not enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Lin & Pete
10 years 11 months ago
This hotel was sold to us as a 5star - no way. It just about merited the 3 stars Thomson gave it. Luckily we did our homework before we went, so knew it was crucial to hire a car. I have walking difficulties and would have been hotel-bound without as it is literally in the middle of nowhere. The hotel staff went on strike while we were there, but in all fairness we didn't go without anything, apart from our rooms not being cleaned for a couple of days.
The drinks in the all-inclusive package were not brilliant and sometimes in the bar, they were served in plastic cups. Okay at the pool bar, but not in the main hotel bar.
We were extremely lucky with the weather - the sun shone all week, but even if it had been raining all week we would still have been out in the car. There was not much to do in the hotel and the entertainment was poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Your Hioliday

Sally Das-Gupta
11 years 1 month ago
This is not a five star hotel. Hotel very remote, nothing to do. Very unsafe due to wires hanging out of the walls. Nothing worked in the room. I.e. Air-con, fridge and hair dryer. Room dirty, bed was like a camp bed. Stained! Nothing like the picture on the internet. The hotel food was terrible. My cat has better dinners. Food was very repetative. Hotel location was on a mountain which was very remote, with extreamly steep roads to the beach. The hotel staff were very firendly. But couldnt speak very good English. Difficult to communicate with them. Entertainment was very repetative, But they did try hard! This hotel is the worst hotel i have ever been to. How it has passed the health and safety act, i will never know. The worst thing about this hotel was the sewage tank situated next to the hotel. The smell was horrific and our rep said she will put a report in. Swimming pool area very unsafe due to no safety slip matts. From this several people had fallen over on my stay. One was one of my party. We were all inclusive on this holiday and felt that we had been given cheap drinks and poor food. I will not be coming back to this hotel or resort ever again. I'd advise not to go and save your money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med hotels

Laura And Steve
11 years 2 months ago
Just Returned From This Hotel On Friday 13th July, Had A Fantastic Time We Both Really Enjoyed It Here! We Stayed Here For 2 Weeks All Inclusive, Hotel Was Beautiful It Looked As Though It Had Just Been Done Up, Couldnt Fault The Place!!

Our Room Was Lovely Had Clean Bedding And Towels Everyday, Room Was Spotless Not A Thing Wrong With It. Only Thing Is We Did Not Opt For A Sea View Room And We Wish We Had Now As The Sea View Rooms Had A Gorgeous View From Them.

The Couple Of Downfalls To The Hotel Was The Location, It Was Very Out The Way With Only A Taverna And Two Mini-Markets At The Top Of The Very Steep Hill So We Wouldnt Recommend It To People With Walking Difficulties Or People Who Like To Go Out And About. Another Thing The Choice Of Alcohol Was Very Limited, And After 11pm The Drinks Were Not Classed As All Inclusive And Were Very Expensive. The Food Choice Was Not The Best As It Was Mainly Catered For The Germans, The Waiters Could Not Get You Out Quick Enough At Meal Times It Was Very Rushed All The Time In The Restaurant.

There Is A Mini Bus Down To The Beach And Back Up To The Hotel Everyday As Its A Long Way Down A Very Steep Hill, The Beach Bars And Restaurants Were Not All Inclusive But The Yaliscari Beach Bar Was Quite Cheap And Lovely Food. Pools Were Lovely But Be Quick Trying To Get A Sunbed Otherwise Theres No Umberellas And You Need Them In The Heat, Most Staff Were Pleasant Not Had A Problem With Anybody, Entertainment Was Ok.

Overall We Had A Fantastic Two Weeks Here Will Definatley Go Back, Would Recommend This Place To Anybody Who Wants A Nice Peaceful And Relaxing Holiday, Views Across The Sea Are Fantastic Especially The Sunsets!! Met Some Brilliant People In The Hotel Really Enjoyed Our Holiday And Will Definatley Return Again One Day!!

Laura And Steve
Stoke-on-Trent
xxxxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hotels4u.Com

Recommended
Alan
11 years 2 months ago
This hotel is not just in a quiet area, there is literally little else in the town.

I recommend it for a week but if you are going for 2 weeks then you will definately have to hire a car to break up the monotony of the hotel complex day in day out. Don't get me wrong the hotel is nice but 1 week was enough without travelling further afield.

If you have funny/arkward flight times then I recommend you book the extra night as we found out to our peril that the hotel was full & they couldn't offer to extend our room for a late checkout & didn't even have facilities for a wash/shower after we had been turfed out of our room. I'm not blaming the hotel for this, but it is for info, don't come expecting a late checkout in peak season unless it has been prebooked.

The staff were pretty helpful & friendly apart from possibly the one or two of the reception staff who didn't want to know, & that has nothing to do with our room predicament. The entertainment staff were really friendly & always up for a laugh.

Entertainment was great in the day with activities for adults & children alike if aqua aerobics, water vollyball, table tennis etc are your thing. Night time entertainment was okay, nothing spectacular but generally enjoyable.
Sunbeds were pretty plentiful & you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get your towel down on a couple like at some hotels I've been to. 1 kids pool & 2 big pools. Thought they lacked clarity. Seemed a little cloudy at times which is probably why I caught an ear infection from one & I'm still trying to get rid of.

I think it was a case of luck as to what room you got. Some said their room was really nice. Ours was small but clean, nothing special. Don't know if it was just our room but at certain times there was no water pressure so you couldn't have a shower as all you got was a drip, I'm not exaggerating. Rooms were cleaned almost everyday but they just had the feel of lacking a bit of cosmetic TLC as did the hotel in general.

The food was the hotels strongest point. Plenty of choice, plentyfull. Mostly nice & it didn't matter when in the time slot you ate as the food never run low. You will not go hungry. Kids ate plenty of ice cream which was always available. They loved that.

I sound like a right moaning minnie don't I. I'm just telling it like it is. I didn't dislike the hotel & I had a nice relaxing time it just isn't a four star. It lacks that little bit of something for me. It's nice & plesant, you will get away from it, the sunsets are to die for. Don't go expecting too much & you'll come away happy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bookable Holidays

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the Yaliscari from 18th to 25th June and was amazed that this was sold as a 5 Star hotel. The food was okay and nobody would starve with the range of food but I have had as good in a 3* and definitely much much better in the 5*'s we have stopped in before.

The restauraunt service was very slow which really came down to the Bulgarian students who were doing the work not being shown or told what to do.

We had to wait 3 hours before our room was ready, which seemed to be the normal waiting time. The reception is total chaos most of the day with people complaining about various things.

In our room there was no remotes for the TV or air con, the hairdryer was next to useless, the toilet flush was never strong enough to take away paper let alone a number two so we had to resort to using the waste bin filled with water to flush.

The toilet was reported twice and still not sorted. Our shower curtain was taken by the cleaners on the 4th day and we never saw it again, reported again.

I asked the reception if the cleaners were on strike as we saw them in meetings with the management on three seperate occasions and the receptionist nearly bit our heads off saying that they always had meetings. What at 12.00 when our room had not been made up and was not ready until three?

Take euros with you as there is no ATM and the only ones you will find are in Corfu Town. While I am on the subject of money, one guy was walking round with a safe under his arm making a statement that he had paid for a safe and when he went to open it the safe came away from the wall.

I went upto our room on the night and put one hand on the top of our safe and pulled and lo and behold ours came away as well.

On the plus side, yes there is one, we met some great people. This was probably because everyone spoke about their problems with their room, the reception, the staff, the food and the drinks. Tell a lie there were two others, George and his right hand girl in the restaraunt were great and the other staff tried to do their best, which for the money they were on was commendable. Spiros, Theodora and the other bar staff were great, worth tipping as we did.

Would I go back, possibly, but now I know what to expect I would be looking for a far cheaper price than what I paid.

If anybody can tell me how this is rated a 5 Star and prove it, I will be keen to know?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Eddolls
12 years 1 month ago
Isolated location but very beautiful.

Not for people with walking difficulties but lovely if you want to go for walks through the olive groves.

Hotel prices for beer, wine etc very expensive. Food not to our taste with a lack of fresh veg and not much in the way of traditional Greek food!

Entertainment the worst we have come across and this needs to be looked at as there are only a couple of local tavernas so you are a bit trapped!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sax
12 years 1 month ago
It was up a mountain, the sea was down.

The food was great.

The mountain was called Pelekas.

If you go the becareful bring mosquito repellant - ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Argo

Recommended
Claire Barlow
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Yaliscari Palace.
I thought it was a great holiday we all really enjoyed it.

Food was reasonable, alot of choice.

Personally I thought the entertainment was quite good but you do have to be up for a laugh!

The hotel seemed very clean which was good.

Unfortunately my friend who came with us fell ill (nothing to do with greece or the hotel!!) and all the staff were very helpful and considerate and extremely caring.

All the staff there are absolutely lovely people and some of the bar staff and other staff are very cute!!!:D

Yes I would go there again, it was a very enjoyable holiday. I'm very glad I went.
I would recommend this holiday to any one who would like a fun and active holiday but I don't think it's very suitable for people that have trouble getting about.

The food was quite nice.

Everyone is extremely polite.

The location is a bit out of the way but at least there was no traffic noise! I loved this holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Maxene
12 years 3 months ago
Returned this morning from a 1 week stay at yaliscari Palace hotel. Spent a fabulous time with my husband 2 children and 2 nephews.

Excellent accomodation. Rooms were cleaned daily and included a change of linen each day (essential as weather so hot we all sweated profusely) Air conditioning in rooms was free! And easily controllable to our preferred tempearature.

The meals were excellent with a wide variety essential as most of our party are vegetarian. The staff were very friendly and informative, requests were dealt with speedily and efficiently.

The nightly entertainment was variable, with something for everyone and took place in the outdoor pool bar, pleasant on the balmy evenings.

We would definately stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum