Image of Bahamas Hotel

Bahamas Hotel

3 of 18 hotels in Kos Town

5 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars
Amerikis 85300, Kos, Greece
An award-winning, friendly‚ family-run hotel in a quiet spot, 300 metres from the road leading to the Lambi area of Kos Town. Costas and Billy are excellent hosts and many guests return year after year to this popular hotel.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Latham
9 years 4 months ago
we stayed for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time big thanks to mamma george billy costas and mary hope one day to see you again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Karen
9 years 8 months ago
stayed here for one week june 14th/21st
we have been to kos many times over the last 8 years but never stayed in this hotel before.
all i can say is that it is worthy of all it's awards and great reviews.
the family that run the hotel are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble costas and billy will help you with anything and really go out of the way to make your stay memorable.
mary is a real scream and such good fun her quiz and bingo nights are a great laugh.
The greek night is a must the food is lovely and the entertainment brilliant again mary will ensure you all have fun.
the pool area is lovely and quiet with lots of sunbeds and a great snack bar that's really reasonable for food and drinks.
the bar at night is always lively and everyone is really friendly.
the rooms are clean and roomy and we were lucky enough to get a pool view which was fab and with a private balcony which every room has.
included in the price was breakfast which was very good
all i all a brilliant hotel and holiday can't wait to go back
thanks costas,billy and mary
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Mrs Ann Fitzsimmons
9 years 9 months ago
Stayed here at the start of the season so it was fairly quiet.

After reviewing all the other comments on this hotel we had high expectations but to be honest it was only worthy of its 2 star for the accomodation but 4 star for the service we got.

We thought the bedrooms (although we expect basic in greece) were looking tired and the furniture needs to be updated. We could not understand why they left 2 mugs in the room but no kettle and no provision to hire one? We did agree that the staff were very friendly but we did not bother with the bingo/karoke nights etc as it is not our scene.

Kos is not the best Greek island we have visited and we would not bother going backas we have seen enough of it in trhe one week we were there.There are a lot of places to visit and it is very easy to get around the place using the local bus timetable, but it looks very scruffy and dirty in some of the places we visited its almost as if they cannot be bothered!

Don't however let me put you off if you are planning on going and make good use of the local buses it is much cheaper than using the tour operator trips. Bodrum is a must and only 25euros each with taxes which is half of what Thompson were charging.

Very easy to get around on foot when you get there and very pretty too. The best place we went to in Kos was Zia a mountain village only 1.60 euro each way on the bus fantastic views a good day out.

Kos town although a bit scruffy in places does have a fantastic harbour and lovely little cobbled streets to wander around.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Ganly
10 years 6 months ago
Have just returned from the Bahamas Hotel in Kos Town after a fantastic two weeks. It was our second visit(last year we only had one week and it wasn't enough!)
Once again we were made to feel like part of the family, you could not have been made more welcome if you had wanted to. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the maid who incidentally cleans all 30 rooms herself. The location of the hotel to the town is near enough to walk but far enough away to not have the noise of an evening. The pool bar is brilliant especially mama's breakfasts and omellettes (my daughter will vouch for them!!)The entertainment of an evening is second to none. The family go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and as long as you want a drink from the bar, no matter what time, Billy, Mary or Costas will oblige. Thanks once again for a brilliant holiday and look forward to seeing you again next year. Keep up the good work you are all wonderful
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Andrew A
10 years 7 months ago
This is the 2nd time we have visited the Bahamas hotel the first was back in 2004 and we have just returned from Kos again and plan to go bak to the hotle again in October.
Billy and Costas are fantastic, they love chatting having a drink and making sure your holiday is perfect.
The hotel is clean and the pool side is great, lots of sun beds and snacks.
Town is just a short walk away and you can not go wrong with the greek food and hospitality.

You would be a fool not to visit the Bahamas
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Partner

Recommended
Billy Wilson
10 years 8 months ago
Once again a brilliant holiday, thanks to Mamma and George, Billy Costas and Mad Mary.

Everything you needed it was there for you. They couldnt do enough for you to make sure you enjoyed your time there.

Cant wait to go back next year to my family in Kos.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Pedros
10 years 8 months ago
This is a great family hotel offering a true slice of greece. The family do everything they can to make your time special. Well worth a visit on your next holidays!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Penfold
10 years 8 months ago
I couldnt believe what everyone says about this hotel, but its all true. Billy, Costas, Mad Mary, Mama and Papa all made our holiday at the Bahama's well worthwhile. Billy and Costas especially did all they could to help you have a good holiday. All you have to do is ask if you need assistance. A great time was had by all and we met loads of great people.

The rooms are basic but kept spotlessly clean. I cant think of anything you need more. The breakfast is enough to start the day with. After that there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel and in the town itself too. All are reasonably priced and not one bad meal was had. Except, just be aware of Jacksons (down by the seafront), if they lead you upstairs onto the balcony. Not quite what we were expecting. It turned out to be a rather poor quality Chinese meal...!

If you do need recommendations for meals then I'm sure Billy and Costas can point you in the right direction.!


If all you want is to do is spend the day by the pool then the snack bar is more than adequate. Again all the meals are reasonably priced.

I have yet to find a hotel where at 2pm in the afternoon you have no problem in finding a sunbed by the pool. That is until we found the Bahama's. There was no problems at all in relaxing by the pool after a morning exploring Kos town.

The trip to the volcano Nissyros was just great and a good day out. Highly recommended.

Also recommended is the bar entertainment. Quiz nights, Bingo and Kareoke are all great fun. The Barbeque with the Greek dancers is another good night and again highly recommended.

All I can say is this lived up to its name as a small and friendly hotel.

Thank you Costas and Billy and the rest of the staff for providing us with a great holiday, entertainment and a friendly service.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Cruisecontroller
10 years 9 months ago
This Hotel is in the Thomson Small and Friendly Brochure.

We went on a Late Deal, staying for one week, whereby we were allocated to one of three named Hotels on arrival, all had favorable write ups.

The Hotel is perfectly located at just fifteen minutes walk from the centre. The rooms are kept spotless by the cleaner, who does a towel change every two or three days.

The rooms come supplied with Hair drier, Fridge, two glasses, two good size mugs and two teaspoons. The Breakfast is very basic but gives you a start to the day.

On offer is meat, cheese, two sorts of jam, two sorts of bread(one for toasting), and on alternate days, cereal and cake. Coffee, tea and watered down juice are also available(we made use of the fridge by purchasing juice from the local shops nearby).

Outside, the pool is excellently maintained. There is also a poolside snackbar which does a Full English Breakfast for 5.50 Euros. All the food is cooked by the Mother and is of a very high standard, we used this facility on three separate occasions. She is ably assisted by the Father.

Sun Bed mattresses are 1 Euro each for the day. Entertainment wise, Monday is Quiz Night, Tuesday - Bingo, Wednesday - BBQ and Thursday is Karaoke. Costas and Billy are very good Hosts who are assisted in the Bar in the evenings by Mad Mary who provides good entertainment value for guests.

There is some construction work going on near the Hotel but not enough to hinder your holiday.

It goes without saying that we would have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel at a future date.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Billy Wilson
11 years 8 months ago
The hotel was clean and friendly the cleaner was exceptional mama and papa looked after the snack bar anything you wanted and they would make it for you.Billy and Costas always smileing jokeing you would be having a drink a free one from the boys would appear they did anything they could to make your holiday the best.The entertainment was provided by Mad Mary she should have her own game show on the telly thats how good she is.this is my second time there and next year it will be our third time. So come on everybody that enjoys themselves on holiday join us in june and have a wonderful time. just like to say to everybody at the Bahamas thanks for making our hloliday once again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum