Image of Kiotari Bay Miraluna Hotel

Kiotari Bay Miraluna Hotel

3 of 3 hotels in Kiotari

3 out of 5 from 28 reviews
4 stars
Main Steeet, 85109, Greece
Located on the peaceful east coast of Rhodes, with access to the beach, this spacious, low rise hotel is an ideal family choice. The pretty village of Lindos and ancient walled city of Rhodes are within easy reach for sightseeing.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Keri
Proberly better in peak season
2 years 10 months ago
Where can I start, this hotel whichever one I stayed in (as not clear to whether this is a 5 star or 4 star) I would rate a 3 star at most. The best part of the hotel was it large grounds and lots of swimming pools. The cleanliness was average but nothing to sing and dance about. The food was ok but most of us did suffer with upset belly’s for a few days the reception staff were rude and didn’t care about us English tourist and only cared about the German and Swedish tourist as this hotel is a German based one which was not stated either when booking. So unless u speak Greek or German, you will find it hard to make your way around or get help. The beach area was awful, with rubbish and broken beds. They had the cheek to charge for these even though the beach belongs to the hotel. The area the hotel was lovely but in the middle of nowhere. We rented a car from the hotel for a few days and the person working there who we dealt with (who was South African) and probably the best part of the hotel. He couldn’t be any more helpful and it was a shame he was not a bigger part of the hotel.

Our experience was such a shame as this was our first visit to Rhodes, but will definitely be coming backk to Rhodes, but shall stay closer to Lindos as that is stunning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: love holidays

Great hotel for kids but out in the sticks
6 years 11 months ago
This hotel is now called the Kiotari Seaside.
We stayed all inclusive and the food was very good. There was a variety of food to cater for everyone from pasta to fish to freshly carved meat and fantastic salads, even chicken nuggets, fish fingers and chips for the kids.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and spoke good English and the hotel was always clean and tidy. Our room was cleaned every day.

It was our sons 7th birthday whilst we were there and the hotel wanted 32 Euro for a cake which was too expensive. Our fabulous Thomson rep had us one made at his local bakery for 14 Euro and he collected it for us.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but the brochure tells you that anyway.

The entertainment team were fabulous and were all different nationalities including English. They did water polo, football, darts, aerobics, quiz and kids clubs too, my son went to the football club which had English speaking reps in as the others were Greek, and he thoroughly enjoyed it.

The swimming pools were great so many to choose from so therefore you didn't have to fight to get a sun bed everyday. The kids pool with the pirate ship with slides and the sprinkle pool was great. The kids had hours of fun splashing about and made lots of friends too.

The beach is very stony so you will need beach shoes but once you are in the water there is more sand and its very clear and very warm. You have to pay for sunbeds on the beach and at the snack bar as they are not part of all inclusive.

All in all a great hotel if you don't mind being out in the sticks but there are excursions to go on if you do want to get away from the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
On arrival we were disappointed where our room was, but not at the layout of the room. (We were in the Kiotari Bay Hotel part of the resort). However the next morning we discussed with the wonderful Nancy and arrangements were made to move on the Saturday (we had arrived Thursday morning). Excellent! We were moved to a room near to the pirate pool which was ideal for us with the age mix of kids.

Food - we went knowing what to expect from an All Inclusive with the reports we had read. To be honest my only complaint was that sometimes some of the food was not hot. So I simply put that food on a sideplate and waited for fresh (hot) to be brought out. Problem solved! There was pasta and chips every day and then a mix of other things. Some people were taking the same dished every day which would get repetitive but by just taking a couple of dishes and veg per day there could be a really varied diet. We loved the souvlaki and the kleftiko, plus the cabbage. At night we had pizza from the snack bar to eat on the way back to the room for the nightcap. The kids found something they liked at each meal every day - and the little ones are fussy eaters! Breakfasts were fine too.
We ate in the a la carte 5 times and varied what we had for main each time. That was really nice and you can eat there every night if you want to (apart from Monday when it is closed)

Staff - loved them all. Nancy on reception was really helpful and friendly, as were the other staff. One of the lovely older ladies was cutting up the hotel towels for us to breathe through when we evacuated due to the fire/smoke. The staff at the pool bar were great and friendly: the evening one knew our 'round' as soon as we came up and was pouring it while we were in the queue. My husband even got his drinks poured and mixed how he liked them. Excellent! Also would mention that there is a lovely greek woman in the site shop - the lady with the american accent - who was really helpful when I needed some assistance and also 'broke' my larger euro banknotes for me. If the rep is not about, or you want to speak to a local about things to do/where to go then go see her.

Site - our room near the pirate pool was great - near to the ampitheatre for the evening shows, near to the snack bar if the little ones wanted to go get a snack or a drink, and near to the main pool for the daytime entertainment.

Sunbeds - I was up at 7.30 each day anyway so would go and lie on a sunbed and read, and reserve another one. There were usually a few spare that that time but I was amazed that normally when the family came to get me at 9 there were only a dozen people actually on the beds. Bit disappointing really but as we had ours I am not complaining (and I did reserve one other beside mine).

Entertainment - the team (Aurelio, Andy, Sam, Rob, Christina and Jo) were great. The boys did the sports and the girls did the kids and the stretching/waterfit/salsa dancing. I took part in everything from water polo to salsa, lazy quiz to football. Activities were basically the same each day (crazy games differed each day) but at least I knew where to be if I wanted to play waterpolo, or when to salsa. Evenign entertainment was okay. Mini disco (which mine LOVE), fire show (did not realise who the fire eater was until the end), samba show, showgirl show, plus some hotel run shows. Not world class but we always watched the shows and enjoyed.

Kids Club - First Choice - BRILLIANT! The oldest went to Wavelength with Dave and Nicky and he loved that. Their own room, events and friends. The gift bags were also really good. Ideal way for 9-15 year olds to make friends and have somewhere to hang out together. The little ones were at Superstars and loved all the staff. There was a good spread of activities and lots of them were educational (like the Bugs session, and the Hula session)too. Its also a good way to get the kids indoors out of the fierce sun into an airconditioned room for a couple of hours!

Room - we had a family room with bathroom, main befdroom and lounge area with sofabeds. We actually put the 3 kids in the main bedroom and slept on the sofabed so that we could sit out on the 'terrace' in the eveings and chat. We had brits to our left and right so usually all ended up on the grass chatting while the kids slept. Only the main bedroom had aircon so we just left the door between the 2 rooms open at night. There was enough space for the 5 of us and we did have enough space for all the clothes.

Is this really a 4* hotel? In my opinion it is not, but it is a perfectly good 3* one. Did we get value for money? I think we did - we were kept busy but could relax, the staff worked hard, the bar staff were lovely, most of the waitresses were lovely. The local brandy was drinkable, the beer was cold, the fizzy orange was nice (the cola was not good). The food was fine and some of the dishes were really good. The pools were really clean, the rooms were clean and the resort was clean.

An enjoyable holiday all round. (apologies for the length of review)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Welch
10 years ago
We had to place a review after just returning from this holiday. We booked on a late deal via Teletext 3 weeks prior to we flew out. As being regular visitors to Rhodes we knew where the resort was and that it was some distance (around 50 minutes direct or according to other travellers about two and half hours on the transfer bus) and booked a hire car prior direct from the Airport. I would definately recommend this, the price of transfers fees for two being around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel.Com

Recommended
G Caine
10 years 1 month ago
we stayed in the Miriluna part of the complex.The family room we stayed in was very clean comfortable and modern.The only downside was that there was no airconditioning in the second bedroom (which you had to walk through in order to reach your patio),so we had to leave our bedroom door open at night so that the kids could benefit from it as well,which sort of defeated the idea of having two bedrooms for a bit of privicy.However we were lucky to be given without requesting a room with a private pool which was great.
All of the hotel was really clean and well presented.
Food was average with plenty of choice and although we had Miriluna wristbands, unlike other reports i have read, we often found the choice and standard better in the Kiotori resturant.Although of course the surroundings were not so plush.
We thought the location was quite isollated but beautifull and although the beach was shingle it was very clean with really good watersports managed by John.
We found the hotel staff to be the most helpfull we had ever come across on our many greek holidays. Nancy on reception was absolutely wonderfull going out of her way to ensure you were happy with everything,as did all the staff.
Entertainment was enough for us as we are not really party people.The entertainment team worked hard to ensure people were enjoying themselves and our two teenagers and younger son loved them.

I would also book direct with the hotel and not through a travel agents as this saves
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We were transferred to the hotel quickly enough and shown to our room by the night staff. BUT our room was awful, it hadn't been cleaned and the previous peoples rubbish was still in the bins, their wet towels hung in the bathroom and their sheets were still on the bed!!! They made up our kids beds (they had to take in an old camp bed for our youngest) and got some clean towels for us. It was 6 in the morning and we decided to wait until the morning staff came on and then go and see about sorting the room out. We never got the chance, the Reception were on the phone and asked my hubby to come up and see them, they were very sorry for the mix up and gave us a free upgrade to one of the Mirulana rooms - with a VIP wristband. This was FANTASTIC what a difference, it's true that the 2 hotels are 2 different worlds. Our room had a shower over bath, large wardrobes and dressing table, the bed was 2 singles together which made for a very big double, there was a separate room where the kids had their beds (2 large singles) and a TV which did have BBC News and SKY news. Our patio doors opened onto a nice patio area with loungers, chairs and table another 6 steps and you were in the pool. The snack bar which was open from 9.30am - 12.00am every day was great and the guy was continually cooking fresh food. The best bit was you served your own soft drinks, coffee, beer & wine. The daily free ice cream was also a great hit!!
The meals were good, some days better than others but we never left feeling hungry!! We always found it to be well cooked and hot which was the main thing.
We hardly went in to the Kiatori Hotel but when we did we were so glad we got an upgrade, it just had a feeling of neglect.
Yes we would go back but only to the Miraluna.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ms. S C
10 years 8 months ago
I have recently returned from a holiday in Kiotari Bay Miraluna and i have to say it was one of, if not the, best holiday we have ever been on.

The hotel was amazingly clean, as we noticed right from when we arrived at about 6 in the morning. The rooms were cleaned daily, the maids done an amazing job. Towels and bed sheets also changed regularly.

The food in the hotel caters for all extremely well. I found the food to be delicious and there was a very large variety. If a fussy eater, like my children, there isn't much choice, but they were happy enough with pasta, pizza and chips.

The hotel is very remote, but we enjoyed the hotel so much we didn't find the need to leave the hotel more than twice throughout our 2 week stay. Buses stop right outside the hotel, so it is extremely easy to travel to Rhodes Town, Lindos, Pefkos or anywhere else on the island for that matter.

The hotel staff were great. They all worked extremely hard and are a credit to the hotel. They are all very polite and speak good english. Some staff, ie. reception and bar, could speak many languages to cater for everyone staying at the hotel. The restaurant staff are all very polite and speak basic english.

The entertainment was extremely good. The animation team worked so hard to make sure every nationality could be enetertained. There were mainly, Britains, Italians and Germans. Some people comment on the rudeness of the other nationalities, but i found the Brits to be more rude than any other nationality and the Italians and Germans perfectly polite.

I would definetely visit this hotel again without a doubt, and im not the type of person to visit somewhere more than once. I am currently arranging dates for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Danny
10 years 9 months ago
Dear All,

I just wanted to cheer up anyone who reads these reports after booking their holiday only to discover not one good write up
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

10 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from the Kiotari Bay-Miraluna resort and we had a great holiday. But can I say that there is a good reason for the double-barrelled resort name because this is a tale of two hotels (and two different types of holidays).

I first booked this holiday with a standard family room but having read the reviews posted on this and other websites, chose to upgrade to a select family room (adding about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Andrews
11 years 10 months ago
Kiotari Hotel

We have just come back today 13th August 2006 from a FANTASTIC weeks holiday at the Kiotari Bay Hotel in Rhodes.

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel from the moaners who have posted negative things about it (you can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum