Image of Alykanas Village Hotel & Apartments

Alykanas Village Hotel & Apartments

5 of 9 hotels in Alikanas

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Alikanas, Alykanas, Greece

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not Specified
Excellent apartments
7 years 1 month ago
Nice big self catering apartment on 1st floor. Adequate facilities for food preparation & storage, large fridge, two ring combi microwave/cooker, kettle, toaster plus plenty of utensils and crockery.
Cleaned every day bar Sunday. There were 4 single beds, 2 separated off by low wall, the other two pushed together to form a double although still made as singles. Lots of room for clothes storage. Plenty of hot water for showers both morning and evening. Good size modern bathroom. Big balcony overlooking the complex - nice to sit for breakfast or a drink before going out in the evening.

Very much a family hotel - many young children which made the pools very noisy and busy during the day but meant that the place was nice and quiet at night.
7 years 11 months ago
Just got back today from our fab holiday in Zante. Our stay at Alykanas Village apartments was fantastic. We was in room 123 which was the best block to be in as we over looked the pool and the sea. We had a fantastic full on sea view wow! I was pleasently surprised to see the room. We had a 2bedroom apartment. Very clean, basic but hey we were never in. The pools were always clean and great fun to be in. My kids spent all day at the pool. It's fantastic that you can just step off the grass verge and you're on the beach. Very thin strip of sand but the sea makes up for it. It was shallow for quite a distance. We loved it. There's a small ship wreck that you can walk out to in the sea. Great for photo's. Back to the apartment... As i say basic but you have got what you need in there. Bath towels soap and plenty of cutlery and plates. The TV was old and lacked any descent channels and went black and white all the time but we only ever watched when we got ready for the evening. The enterainment was a bit boring the 1st week (last week of june) but got better the 2nd wk. Although we hardly ever went. We spent all our time eating out in one of the many fantastic restuarants in the village. If you are going to Alykanas Village Apartments you will not be disapointed. We all loved it. There was loads of us as our great friends from Middlesbrough were getting married. Congrats to them! Defo go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
I stayed at these appts with my son aged 12 and my Granddaughter aged 2 and half. The complex is a Thomson super family and therefore lots of children have to be expected.

We stayed in room 104 which was ground floor facing the beach / pool and in my opinion one of the best rooms in the complex for the location.

The room its self was average as far as i am concerned.... Maybe 4 star in their standards but 3 in mine
( bathroom could do with updating and nothing exciting to warrant 4 stars )

The room appeared clean but dust lay in the corners and also along the top of the headboard for the wk we were there.
Bed sheets needed changed after an accident on the first night but despite making the beds daily the sheets were not changed until day four so had to sleep with blood on the sheets !

The pool areas were spotless and very well kept. We only used the beach pool as the other one in the center of the complex was too rowdy for me.....
Daily entertainment of darts bowels and quiz isnt my idea of fun but fair play to the staff who work hard to keep people entertained.

There was a snack bar selling drinks and food in between the two areas but i felt this could have been open longer and also was a bit expensive
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mark
9 years 9 months ago
Our rooms on the 1st floor overlooking the sea were clean,adequatly appointed and had good storage.Good sized balcony with stunning view.
Ground were well kept and generally clean.
Location was excelent right on the beach but within easy reach of the bars and eating places.
Didn't have much to do with the staff or reps,reception staff were helpful and friendly and apart from one surly girl the bar staff were fine.
Couldn't comment on the entertainment other than it seemed very family friendly.
Despite all the positives I don't think we will go back but only because now Our kids are grown up we would probably choose a more peaceful hotel,but would recommend it to anyone with little ones.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Parker
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Alykanas Village. Hotel right beside the beach with wonderful views out towards Kefalonia, the beach being perfect for young children as it shelves gradually and is like stepping into a bath it's so warm. The hotel itself was perfectly adequate for our requirements, the rooms being fairly spacious with a small kitchen area with everything that you might need. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating and the maid service very good. Lots going on around the pool if you want to get involved, but no pressure if you don't. The usual problems with sunbeds, but to be honest we were a big party of 19 and we never neared the pool area much before 11 and we managed to get sunbeds everyday by beg steal or borrow!! We ventured out mosts nights, so can't comment on what the evening entertainment was like. The little supermarket on site had everything you might need but was quite expensive for the basics. I would definately take the basics with me next time, ie tea bags, coffee, sugar, cereals. One word of warning, 5 of our children got ear infections whilst there, so take the necessary precautions with you. If you call the doctor out for this it is quite expensive upfront, but you can alternatively go to a local pharmacy (half hour walk up into the hills) sorry forgotten the name, and you can buy prescription ear drops. We had a wonderful holiday here and would highly recommend it for families with young children up to teenagers.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Paige
9 years 10 months ago

just wanted to point out that it is good for teenagers
as from reading these reports as a teenager i would have felt really angry my mum and dad had booked a holiday here and not in laganas lol (like i did haha)

but turned out to be a really good holiday! rest of the family also really enjoyed themselves
so would definately recommend it

only like 5 minutes in the cab to laganas soo was quality when u fancied going to the strip
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Baines Family
10 years ago
Absolutely fabulous time at the Alykanas Village! Loction of the hotel is fabulous - right on the beach. We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment - which was rather basic but very clean and for the time we spent in there, was suitable - lots of wardrobe space!

our two children really enjoyed the kids clubs - the kids reps were fabulous. We did have to queue up at 5pm each day to sign up for the kids clubs the following day, which felt like a bit of a bind at the begining of the holiday, but once you're into the routine, it wasn't too bad sitting in the sun with a cold beer and chatting to the other mums (and dads!).

We only ate once at the hotel snack bar - nothing wrong with the food, but we preferred to go to the Ammos beach front bar just along the beach - good food and really friendly service.

The only criticism with the hotel was to do with the crazy guests getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds (aaaaggghhh!) - some people didnt appear by the pool until well after lunch time, sat for about an hour then disappeared again, yet took up four sunbeds all day. Very frustrating!

The sunbeds on the beach cost 7 euros for two beds and a parasol, and we did visit the beach a lot. Beach is excellent and really shallow water, which in the heat felt like a warm bath - lovely!

We'd definately visit this hotel again - everyone from the owner, to the receptionist, to the family who run the on-site mini market were so friendly. The thomson reps were great too - plenty going on all day, but no hassle if you didnt want to join in (and really, who wants to play football in raging 40 degree heat???!)

We all had an absolutely fabulous time - couldn't really fault anything.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dinglebert
10 years 8 months ago
Stayed in hotel first week of October. 2 adults, 3 young children 9,7,3.

Kids Club - Excellent, no problem at that time of year getting kids into the club. Was told by staff that during the Summer peak times there were well over 200 children on site and so big queues the day before to book next day. When we were there only around 20-30 kids so no problems.

Entertainment Reps - worked very hard without being in your face. Good standard of shows, we even joined in some of the poolside games which went on from around 11-4 (which is not luck us!).

General Reps - to be honest seemed to be only interested in you if you wanted to buy a trip. We didn't so did not have much to do with them.

First time we had been self catering for a number of years instead of AI. However early October in the resort all the restaruants were doing 5 euro meals. Cheaper to stay for the week than I was expecting.

Poor snack bar was a bit more expensive than other areas but the food was OK. Closed at 4pm which was a pain when the kids had an even kids club as you had to get changed, go into town for a snack.

The onsite shop was adequate, but there are others very nearby.

We would go again and priced it up for this year 2008 but the increase from 2007 was far too much.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomoson

Recommended
Scott And Amanda
10 years 9 months ago
my husband and i have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. we stayed there 7th to 21st sept 07.The hotel is fantastic, we were self catering and found the snack bar and the on site mini market to be quite good both both not over priced.The hotel was very clean and we found the standard of our room very good.The location of this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in and we have travelled around abit.Right on the beach, and only 10 minute stroll into the town of alikanas, were there are plenty of bars and resturants.The hotel staff we found to be very friendly and always had a smile for you. Although we have'nt give entertainment a score there was always something going on for the kids during the day mainly around the two pools inclosed within the complex.the pool nearest to the beach was great you could just relax reading a book with no loud music playing.Or if you wanted go onto the beach which we found great there's a nice breeze you get off the sea which is nice. you have to pay for using the the sunbeds on the beach, for 2 beds for a day it's 7 euros.The ones around the pools are free but sometimes it could be abit too hot around there for my hubby?All rooms have either a view of the 2 pools that are together or if you are lucky has we were you get a room over looking the 3rd pool and the wonderful beach.This hotel is truly wonderful i was very sad to come home as we had such a wonderful holiday.this hotel is one you should go to with out doubt.we will be back??
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Donna Christy
10 years 10 months ago
We've just got back from 2 weeks at this hotel.
We had an apartment for 3 and there was ample space for my partner, our 8 year old daughter and I.
The maids came 6 says a week and always did a fantasic job.
All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and Nick the barman is a legend !!
The location was perfect - you simply cannot get a better setting for a hotel.
3 pools with 1 right on the beach !
A few things we weren't happy with -
Sunbeds - you have to make sure that you are downstairs by 9am otherwise you will not get a sunbed even though there are 3 gorgeous pools. And you have to stay with your towels or they will be removed.
The snackbar is slightly overpriced (compared to the local town) as is the on site shop..
The snack bar closes at 6pm, it would be better if it stayed open a bit later

Kids club - to get your child in for the following day you have to queue the previous day at 1.30 in the snack bar - although all the crazy Mum's start queing at 12.45..! As there are only a limited number of places you have to join the queue !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum