Image of Atlantic Palace Hotel

Atlantic Palace Hotel

29 of 29 hotels in Sorrento

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Via Capo, 76, 80067 Sorrento Napoli, Italy
The modern Atlantic Palace boasts stunning views and a pleasant coastal walk into town. The accommodation is of a good standard and there's a calm and welcoming atmosphere throughout. This hotel is perfect for couples wanting a relaxing base.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Emma
10 years 1 month ago
Hotel is not 4 star as advertised. Lobby is clean but the rooms are not to the same standard. Floors could do with a good wash, and bathrooms need updating - rusty fittings and dirty shower curtains. Balconies are large but crawling with ants, and too noisy to sit out on with the busy road out front.

I wouldnt recommend eating in the hotel every night. The restaurant has a strange stuffy atmosphere. The staff are over-bearing and watch you eat. I never thought you could get too much attention from waiting staff, but in this case it is true. They lift your plate the second you put in the last mouthful. They ask you awkward questions if you do not like a dish, and they try to joke with you but they overdo it and you just want left alone! That's how we felt anyway. The bar is dead at night, we were the only people in for a drink on 2 nights. They have entertainment but it is dire - a wee man singing pop classics karaoke style. It was quite funny in hindsight!

The hotel location is OK. It is only 15 mins walk from Sorrento but the road outside the hotel is so dangerous you would have to be mad to attempt it! There are no footpaths and the Italians drive all over the road. There is a shuttle bus to and from the hotel in the mornings and evenings which proved to be a life saver. Ferdinando the driver is a good laugh aswell, and very reliable. He will come down for you even if you are the only person needing picked up from town.

The pool was a good size and not too busy which was a plus point. Although by the end of the week it had a green line around the edge - i dont think it is cleaned very often.

Overall the hotel was fine, but more a 3 star than a 4. Therefore it is not good value for money. I would not recommend it to my friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

S.doran
12 years ago
Had a good holiday at this hotel. Totally relaxing don't expect a lot of razzamataz. This hotel is not suitable for youngsters more for couples.

Staff were bright cheerful and friendly.

Food good and plentiful.

Can be noisey, but views from front of hotel balconies across to Capri are captivating. Would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked direct

Recommended
Wilson
13 years 2 months ago
The hotel is situated on a very bad bend on a hilly
main road.

We often walked to town but found that half way down the road the pavement ceased to be for approx.300 metres,making this extremely dangerous
while pushing a baby!

We had rooms on the front and found it to be very noisey.We were on the third floor and had to access a spiral staircase down to the pool area which was frightening with a young child.

The food became repetetive after three days but the service
was not too bad.The rooms were always cleaned to a
good standard and the linen and towels were immaculate.

The staff were friendly and professional. The entertainment was abysmal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

M. Crowhurst
13 years 11 months ago
This was the fourth time we had stayed at this hotel. We like walking and so enjoy the stroll into Sorrento. We have also found some beautiful walks and views as we explore the area around the hotel, which those who stay in the centre of Sorrento might miss.

The hotel staff have always been friendly and both the food and service, very good. The hotel is under new management this year and although the food is still of a high standard perhaps some of the decor is looking a little 'tired'. In previous years we have been able to control the air-conditioning, which was very important to us to be able to do during August.

The front rooms of the hotel overlook the road and so sitting on the balcony can be very noisy. The rooms are spacious and our experience has been that the bed linen is changed every other day and the towels everyday.

The waiters are very accommodating and we notice how well they respond to children. We hope the new management will offer the standard of hotel we experienced in previous years and perhaps utilize some of the areas that are unfinished on the upper floors to create quiet, comfortable seating areas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Liz Smith
13 years 11 months ago
Sorrento is a very beautiful town and we have stayed there before. This was the first time at this hotel and it will definitely be the last.

The hotel was dirty as was the pool which has a green algae line the rim.

The food was poor.

The nasty smell in the bedroom turned out to be from the black mould on the bathroom ceiling (which leaked when it rained).

More a 2 star than a 4 star.

Won't stay there again - nor will we trust First Choice holidays who recommended it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

CW
14 years ago
Cleanliness:
Appalling in the bedrooms, floors often not cleaned, in the 14 days that we stayed, the bed linen was only changed twice. Carpet in reception was filthy, as was the pool, with a lovely collection of Sorrnto's wildlife floating on the top. Often the plates were dirty at dinner.

Food:
Food at dinner not bad, have to appreciate that we are not going to get typical English food that most English holiday makers are accustomed to abroad, and were willing to try the Italian cuisine. One gets 4 courses, a buffet salad and the starter and maincourse are served to your table and then one goes up to the buffet table for your sweet. What I did not appreciate however was that we had to wait for a waiter to come over and serve us our sweet, as we weren't allowed to get it ourselves. And to add insult we could then be left waiting for 15minutes for the waiter to come over. Lunch time food was diabolical though. After ordering you be lucky if you got the food bought out until after 45 minutes, then it would sit on the trolley to get cold whilst they figured out which meal was for which table, and then once you got yor meal it was cold and more than likely wrong.

Location:
Not bad, no beach unless took 45 minute coach ride to Meta beach. Shuttle bus to and from the centre was good

Staff:
Friendly and helpful on the most part

Entertainment:
Appalling, entertainment was a man on a keyboard singing songs which he clearly didn't know the words to, and that every night got a little irritating. Couldn't really relax of an evening in the bar with that.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Andy And Nicola
14 years ago
We stayed at Atlantic Palace Hotel on our honeymoon. To be fair, I wouldn't have rated it a 4 star hotel - more like a 3 star. However our overall opinion of our stay was very satisfactory.

Upon our arrival we had a nice bottle of bubbly and a courtesey bowl of fruit in our room. The room was kept fairly clean with towels changed regularly. The bath and shower look a bit grubby though. Our room was at the front of the hotel so unfortunately it was a bit too noisy for our liking; traffic noise into the early hours and, as there was a campsite opposite, noisy parties into the early hours also. The air conditioning at night was restricted and so it wasn't too comfortable at night, especially since it was August (probably the hottest time of the year!)

The food was very satisfactory - lots of it and very tasty (especially if you like tomatoes). The waiters were also very friendly and very helpful, except for one whose name escapes me!

Not enough sunbeds around the pool (as usual) and loads of people go out at the crack of dawn and leave their towels out to reserve the best places (although we were lead to believe this wasn't permitted). Also very annoying that other guests put their towels out to reserve their sunbeds and then disappear for most of the day on an excursion.

The location of the hotel was fantastic - on a clear day there is a fantastic view of Vesuvious, Sorrento and over to the Bay of Naples which is a beautiful area. However, walking down to the town was a bit dangerous due to the fact there is no pavements most of the way. Regular bus services to and from the town though and a free shuttle bus was available 3 times a day courtesey of the hotel although you had to book it a day in advance.

We only stayed for a week and only saw our rep once or twice but when she was available, we found her friendly and helpful.

I would definitely go back again to Atlantic Palace Hotel although probably not in August because the weather was soooooooo hot!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
14 years 1 month ago
Rated as a 4* but worth only a 2-3* at the most. Ground floor consists of lounge/bar, reception and dining room. These were very plush and pleasing to the eye. Marble floor and beautifully decorated. Once up the stairs a different story. Carpets are worn and very dirty. Walls were shabby in places. We were given a room with dirty linen and unmade beds, dirty shower and dirty towels stuffed in the bidet!! We complained and were met with disbelief but eventually were given another room which was very clean. Hotel was generally exceptionally clean. Rooms were basic. Safety deposit box was a box in wardrobe and operated by input of preferred number. However, nothing safety about it as it could be picked up and carried out of the room!!!!!

Bathroom was shabby with dirty looking shower curtain. One would expect fridge/bar, tissues, tea/coffee machine in a 4* hotel but not this one. Rooms very basic indeed although did have bottle of sparkling wine as a pressie on arrival. Beds were sunken and very uncomfortable to sleep on. Pillows very hard. Sheets clean but stained. Towels in bathroom were old, worn and rough although did look clean.

Food was absolutely diabolical. Plenty of choice for breakfast but hot food was actually just luke warm. Lots of juice and lovely fresh fruit available. Dinner was 4 courses. Selection from salad bar was adequate but consisted of stuff such as cold sprouts, cold cauliflower cheese and cold broccoli!! Rest of buffet was quite nice. Hot starter usually okay. Main meal was dreadful. One plate would arrive and vegetables to accompany would arrive later (often after you had eaten your meat). Vegetables were disgusting. Overcooked, wet, soggy and very unappetising yuk!. Dessert table was excellent but be warned and do not help yourself else you will feel the wrath of the waiter. Head waiter was rudest man I've ever met. Husband arrived one night for evening meal wearing shirt (with collar) and tailored shorts to the knee (not beach shorts I may add but golfing tailored shorts). However, he was turned away from restaurant by head waiter and told to change to long trousers. However, as we walked out of restaurant in walked a young woman (about 17/18 years of age) wearing a skimpy haulter neck top exposing all of her shoulders back and most and of her midrif with the tinies denim wide belt for a skirt and flip flops!!! There was more skin showing than clothes! My husband called the waiter a sexist pig and we were scowled at from then on. How can you turn a man away wearing tailored shorts and collared shirt and let in a young woman dressed as a tart!!!!

The swimming pool was awful. The pool was very dirty and uninviting with lots of dead insects floating about. The water looked thick with sun cream residue. Nothing pretty about the poolside either. I don't think there was a pump operating in the pool as water went down the drain and pool filled up again by the hose pipe which draped over the wall, along the deck and into the pool at the deep end. Looked as if this water was coming from a tap the other side of the wall. No chlorine in the water.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Sorrento and although quite a walk (dangerous at places due to lack of pavement) it was not a problem as the local bus stopped right outside and took about 5 minutes drive into town. Buses are very regular and usually on time. Hotel does provide a free bus to edge of town throughout the day - they call it free but the driver expects a tip of 1 euro each way which works out more expensive than the local bus.

We went with Direct Holidays who we found to be extremely good holiday company. Reps were lovely and very helpful. What we paid for the holiday was good value for money and although I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, we did have good value for money and a fabulous time. You get what you pay for. We thought we were getting a very very cheap 4* holiday but what we got was a cheap 2-3* holiday and so overall we have no major complaints. The hotel was adequate for our needs as we went out all day and most evenings. In fact we ate out 4 evenings as the food was so awful. Sorrent is a beautiful place and well worth a visit. We can't wait to go back again - to a proper 4* hotel next time though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum