Image of Capodimonte Grand Hotel

Capodimonte Grand Hotel

15 of 29 hotels in Sorrento

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Via Capo, 15, 80067 Sorrento Napoli, Italy
Gold choice award winner 6 years in a row the Capodimonte is one of Sorrento's premier hotels. Set in a magnificent hillside position boasting stunning views across the Bay of Naples, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach with great facilities.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gary
Room lottery
6 years 1 month ago
Will never return to this hotel. I paid for a partial sea view with balcony. On arrival entering the room it smelt strongly of damp. There was no balcony and the view was off the building opposite where the occupants hung out their washing daily of big of white pants. The road noise made it impossible to sleep with the constant traffic and beeping of horns.

Views from the swimming pool terraces were beautiful but the paved area was quite dirty and dangerous because it needs reappointing. Food was quite a limited choice but staff were very friendly. At breakfast you had to get your own tea and coffee which made it dangerous with everyone walking around with boiling water.

The management and reception staff were very rude. They showed no friendly emotion at all, this is something I have never experienced. My room number was 316 and the management made it clear they would not move me. I am very well travelled and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have never complained about a holiday before. The only thing that was good it close to the town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
CHRISTINE
12 years ago
This was our third visit to the hotel and again, we had a really good and relaxing holiday. The only (very minor) complaints we have about the hotel are that the pools are very very cold and the dinner menu, although it varies each night, needs livening up a bit.

We shall probably go back, Sorrento is a good base for visits to Capri, Pompeii and Naples, although we may try the Grand Hotel Royal, which is part of the same group.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSONS

Recommended
Karen
12 years ago
The hotel was beautifully positioned with fabulous views, however, unless you book extremely early theres no chance of getting sea view rooms, our room was nicely decorated and beautifully clean, a credit to the cleaning ladies.

The pool was far to cold for us to go in even though the weather was hot, it still took a lot to entice you in which was disappointing really, my main gripe was the cost of the sunbeds at 5 euros a day which soon adds up to quite a lot when there are 3 of you, over the week it became an expensive item to purchase.

The hotel staff were not as friendly as I thought they could be, the younger staff was lovely but some of the older waiters was quite grumpy and made you feel uncomfortable when you needed to ask for anything.

The food was ok but quite repetative and a bit more choice would have been nice. Don't let me put you off trying this hotel as I can be quite fussy, then again it did cost us a lot of money so I expect good quality all round.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ricky
12 years 1 month ago
This hotel has great views over the Bay of Naples if you get a high floor no. We were on the tenth floor with a sea view which was excellent. If you don't book a sea view you'll get a cliff view which means you look at a rock face 10 meters away from your balcony.

Food is good but not enough genuine Italian dishes for my liking, I suppose they have to cater for every taste. Look out for Genaro the waiter, serious looking but a great sense of humour.

There is a shop across the road but if you need snacks and drinks go to the supermarket down the hill.

The only down side of Capodimonte is that you have to pay 5 Euros per day each to use the sunloungers which feels like a bit of a ripoff considering what you pay for your holiday plus sea views etc.

Great resort to unwind.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel is in a fantastic setting with beautiful views over the bay from the public rooms.

The food is very tasty - once it arrives! The service was very slow - but the hotel had only just opened and they were very under staffed.

Most of the staff are lovely but the management of the hotel were rather patronising when we asked to be moved to a sea view room - despite the fact we had paid for it! I would not recommend visiting this hotel at the start of the season as the rooms were damp and they were still painting many sections of the hotel; the price of the holiday did not reflect the poor quality of service on offer. I'm sure that once the season is underway then things will improve.

Top Tip - ask for a room on a higher floor as rooms which are on low floors suffer from road noise and only a partial sea view.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

David & Julie
12 years 11 months ago
Loved staying at this hotel, lovely rooms and public areas.

Enjoyed the food, and staff were very good.

It is in an excellent location for walking in to town, only a couple of minutes walk.

I can recommed the half day trip to Pompey, the full day may have been to much for me.

Also the trip to Capri, You can do this as part of an excursion, or make your own way to the island. both methods involve traveling by ferry, the only difference is that you get a walking tour by a guide.

Drinks around the pool were a little more expensive than outside, however you would expect this being a good standard 4 star hotel.

Didn't agree with having to pay 5 euros for a sun bed being my only complaint. We started going down to the beach, you still had to pay, however we prefered it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Krysia & Chris Davies
14 years 2 months ago
Having never visited Italy before, we were unsure if we would enjoy staying on a half board basis.

The Hotel was fantastic, and was extremely classy, in keeping with the Italian theme.

The location was just right, it took approx 10 mins to walk into the sqaure, however, lots of shops and restaurants on the way.

The rooms were spacious, and would highly recommend booking a room with a bay view. The views from the Hotel room were spectacular, and will probably be hard pushed to get that type of view in any other European Country. Hence we will be booking Italy next year.

The pool was on three tiers, and again looked out over the bay.

The breakfast was buffet style and dinner was a 3 course a la carte, with a choice of a varied menu.

The staff and in particular the waiters were very friendly, and the service was excellent. Most of the waiters looked like characters from the God Father, and really enjoyed the fuss we made of them.

Would recommend walking into Sorrento for lunch, as there are so many little Italian restaraunts in little side streets serving mouth watering dishes.

The poolside snack bar was pricey, bottle of beer
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kirsteen Campbell
14 years 3 months ago
I stayed in room 928 at the Capodimonte and it was cliff facing with a small patio and looked straight onto a lemon grove which was very pretty.

The hotel is built in several styles over different levels and the entrance was is built into the bottom of the cliff. Very unusual but fabulous. The staff, food and public areas were immaculate and the 5 tier swimming pool surrounded by flowers and trees was stunning.

However my one gripe was my room. I paid a hefty single supplement and I don't think my very dark room
with bland tiles justified the cost. I looked in a
double room when the cleaners had the door open and it
was light and airy with a lovely outlook.

The hotel is just a short stroll along the main street
from the main square, close enough without getting the
noise, although be careful when crossing from the pavement to the hotel driveway as the road is very busy
with cars and mopeds which don't think they should stop.

I am going back to Sorrento in August 2005 but to a different hotel. I think the Capodimonte Hotel is excellent for couples and I will go back in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Paul Warren
15 years 1 month ago
The Grande Hotel Capodemonte Is a fantastic hotel, We went for our honeymoon and wanted to go some where we would remember.

Even from the moment the coach dropped us off you could tell this hotel was classy. The rep called reception from the phone at the lift enterance and a porter came down and took our cases away. We quickly took the lift to reception checked in and straight to our room with Queen size bed and meal waiting for us.

The hotel had plenty of sunbeds and 3 cascading pools with a shaded area to keep out of the sun.

There was also a snack bar which served at lunchtime's.

Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it. Evening meal was generally a 3 course selection and once a week the Grande Buffet this was fantastic!!

We had a wonderfull time here but as with any hotel you are best to buy your water and snacks from the local supermarket as things cost about a 1/4 of the hotel prices!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum