Image of Riverside Holiday Village Hotel

Riverside Holiday Village Hotel

2 of 4 hotels in Alsancak

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
4 stars
Alsancak, Cyprus
Cyprus hotel & holiday Villas are famous for their natural and friendly atmosphere, because they are run by real cypriot families. North Cyprus holidays are plentiful but ultimate in Northern cyprus holidays are if you spend it at the right place.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bengisu
I recommend to stay away from this hotel!
7 years 7 months ago
I stayed in Riverside Garden Resort (A419) with three 60-year old ladies (my mom and my two aunts) for one week. We chose this hotel for a peaceful holiday, but we faced with the biggest insult we have ever heard. We were blamed with false statement, sham, and prostitution!

The hotel is located next to a cemetery, far from the city centre. Although the hotel provides transportation to the city, it is only once per day (at 10:30 from the hotel to the city, at 15:00 from the city to the hotel) and the timing is quite inconvenient especially for summer period, since one spends the hottest period of the day (11:00-15:00) at the city centre, directly under the sun. The same hotel bus stops at the beach, thus if you choose to go to the beach via hotel bus, you would receive the sun light at its most dangerous period.

They serve breakfast and lunch, but not dinner. The minimarket of the hotel was always closed during our stay.

The hotel is located in a beautiful garden. The units themselves may not be superb, but in OK condition. There is air conditioning in the unit, but only on the second floor. Since we visited the hotel during the winter, we used an electrical heater on the ground floor, which was not very efficient and convenient. The units furniture and facilities are quite old.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. Two of us slept in the upper bedroom and two on the sofa bed downstairs. The sofa bed was broken, the extreme part was detached from the head. In the middle of the night you would find your feet hanging down to the floor as this part had been separated. There was a problem with the water pipes. Water runs with a very low pressure. One could not use the toilet in succession, since the reservoir fills in quite some time.

There is a fridge, an oven and a microwave in the kitchen. But there is no plug near the microwave, thus each time you use the microwave, you have to carry it onto the table. There is no central TV-cable, or satellite, TV antenna was quite old. We had only a few channels, all local with poor picture quality, no international channels such as CNN or BBC were on!

On the other hand, there was a problem with the phone in our neighboring unit. Although noone was staying in this unit, the phone was ringing repeatedly. This was waking us up at least 4-5 times during the night. We complained about this to the hotel management twice, but the problem was not fixed during our stay.

I strongly recommend everyone to stay away from this hotel.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
RogerAnn
Happy returning visitors!
7 years 11 months ago
Just returned from a month’s holiday at Riverside and have to say we had a wonderful time there.

The weather was great - sunshine every day! The facilities available were excellent with 3 swimming pools to choose from. The availability of the 'Adults Only' pool was brilliant for people who wanted to swim or relax away from the very popular children's pool or the 'Olympic Pool' for more serious swimmers.

Our villa was basic but perfectly adequate and had superb mountain views. Anything we wanted, such as a toaster was immediately made available to us. Very clean hotel and grounds.

We appreciated the services provided such as the bus to Kyrenia and the beach, and also the availability of on-site car hire and excursion booking.

The staff were all very helpful and the grounds and facilities were exceptionally well kept. The team of cleaning ladies were unfailingly polite and cheerful.
We were amazed at the number of guests who were on a return visit - some having visited 10 or more times previously. We will certainly be joining them!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Rita
8 years 1 month ago
riverside is a complex built in loveley mature gardens each villa has its own outside space just for you, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as there are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance to explore although the food served at riverside is very good,the complex is a short distance from the beach but a free bus is provided each day to take you to and from, the hotel staff are friendly and efficent, this family run holiday village is so very welcoming we have stayed there now 8 times and will be going again in sepember it always feels like we are going home,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Traveler

Recommended
Peter Johnson
8 years 1 month ago
The apartment was situated in pleasant surroundings and kept clean by a realy nice team of people
There was alway plenty of areas where you could relax and the best place was of course by one of the three pools
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatonian Sky

Recommended
Mr Tony Harris
8 years 4 months ago
"Be very careful when booking"

We were looking at the hotel in various brouchures and it seemed to fit the bill peace and quite spring weather (although it poured down with rain) on the whole the hotel/villas not bad and in my opinion overated on the whole.

my problem was when booking they give a uk telephone number starts with 0203 i was lead to beleive by a person called Ali he was in the uk and my money was protected by ATOL they were cheaper than Direct Traveller and said cut out the agent this was so untrue and i was never Atol protected and gave my details looking back this was a dangerous move so be careful make sure they are not like riverside taking your money in what looks like a back room 1000s of mile away we were luckly but it is law in the uk that anybody that sells a holiday should have an ATOL
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: lead to belive by an atol protected company

Shilpi
8 years 9 months ago
My husband and I stayed at Riverside for one week in October 2009. We were not sure what to expect after reading some reviews. We stayed in King Suite where the view was fantastic. The terrace was very relaxing and in the evenings it was nice to have a drink there in a peaceful tranquillity. We had a lovely time in beautiful surroundings. The breakfast was great, cooked and presented beautifully. It was so nice to sit out on the terrace to have our breakfast with views of mountains on one side and sea in distance. The pools and the village are kept very clean. We had lunch by the poolside. Both of us being vegetarians, we were looked after quite well and nothing was too much for the friendly staff. It was excellent value for money. Free of charge WiFi was welcome change from other resorts. Riverside is a family owned holiday village and run with great pride.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own arrangements

Recommended
Steve Sharp
8 years 11 months ago
We stayed at Riverside for the second year running in August 2009. Before stating the facts I'll point out that my family along-with three other families, have all re-booked for 2010.
Facts:-
Excellent value for money
Excellent half board evening meal
Excellent pool facilities for the kids (and adults alike)
Very friendly staff
Great free of charge WiFi
Riverside is a family owned holiday village and run with great pride. Their staff are excellent and they themselves are always on hand to take care of your every need.
Ignore any critical comments, some people just enjoying finding faults.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct

Recommended
J Hills
9 years ago
my family and i stayed at riverside last year and had a wonderful family holiday i can say it was the best holiday we all had together there was plenty to do the children loved the pool and the staff are second to none you could not ask for more when ever we asked for any thing it was never to much trouble and they did every thing with a smile we are just thinking about booking again this year and i no we will get a brilliant deal warm and friendly welcome and as a family we can not wait to get back see you Riverside xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked drirect

Recommended
Julie
9 years 4 months ago
WE have visited Riverside on many occasions and are frequent visitors to Northern Cyprus.
Riverside is a friendly well run resort with very helpful staff who are polite and kind. They do all they can to unsure you have a great holiday.
The whole hotel is clean and well maintained with pretty grounds. The pools are lovely.
C ar hire is reasonably priced and any minor problems are quickly sorted out. Car hire is advisable to explore the surrounding mountains and coast
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Sarah Middleton
9 years 6 months ago
i stayed there for 3 months and the place became like home the staff were so good to me and i loved it that much i am going back in may for 3 weeks. the location is great to got around even if you dont have a car.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: riverside direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum