Image of Duva Aparthotel

Duva Aparthotel

17 of 24 hotels in Puerto Pollensa

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Carretera de Pollença a Port de Pollença, 07470 Port de Pollença, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Duva staff make it a holiday.
1 month ago
It’s our fifth time at Duva and again it has been a wonderful, amazing holiday. From friendly communication before arrival from Miguel and Magda until now just one day before we depart for home, the entire Duva staff make everything about being here enjoyable, relaxing and an absolute pleasure.

On our arrival, Toni on reception sorted out three rooms, safes and a payment with a smile and good humour. Every member of the reception staff are a pleasure to talk to and will sort out any issues that you may have, nothing is or has ever been too much trouble for them.

The bar and restaurant team of Pedro, Pablo, Andrea, Claudia, Antonio, Anna and Carlos are wonderfully polite and not only offer excellent customer service but also good local knowledge. No matter what you ask of them or how often you ask them for something, they will always give you first class service with a smile. So many places fail on their customer service but Duva exceed in this and every other area.

The pool area is very spacious with a large main pool and an adjoining smaller one for young children or non swimmers which are open from 9am to 8pm with a qualified life guard on duty from 10am to 6pm daily. There are approximately 90 sun beds surrounding the pool and seating and tables for around 140 in the snack bar area which is adjacent to the pool. There are plenty of shaded areas for eating or simply having a break from the sun. For anyone that wants a break from swimming or sun bathing there are two pool tables, a table tennis table, a Mickey Mouse ride and 4 amusement style machines where kids can win prizes.

The bedrooms are quite spacious with the majority having a separate bedroom with 2 single beds, ample hanging and storage space and its own air conditioning. There is also the living room area again with great storage which can sleep two, with its own air conditioning, a dining table, an equipped kitchen and access to the balcony.

Duva has a good sized restaurant seating about 200 and there is always a good selection of hot and cold food available, a live cooking station where you can see your food being cooked and a good selection of deserts and ice cream. You can also get the usual hot and cold drinks with lager and wine available at lunch and evening meals.

One thing that has always without fail, stood out about a holiday at Duva is the amazing entertainment. Luciano’s ability to always entertain is unsurpassed and this year now working with Alexandra make a formidable team. The hotel entertainment runs from Sunday to Friday, starts at 10.30am and ends at 11pm and includes for the younger children activities such as arts and crafts and pirate day fun, water basket and football. For teenagers there is rifle shooting, football, pool and table tennis competitions and water basket plus many more. Twice a week there is also chance for kids and adults to try a “Zorb” on the pool for the very low price of €6.

Luciano and Alexandra also have daily “cocktail games for both adults and children where you can win an adults sangria or slush for the kids. These games are quick challenges for people around the pool which take just a matter of seconds but are always highly amusing, lots of fun, probably very stupid and that is thanks purely to the hard work and dedication of the entertainment staff.

Every evening the entertainment starts with the kids disco where they can dance along with Alexandra to catchy, easy to learn songs which the kids all love. After that is the reasonably priced, hilariously funny, family bingo which Luciano makes his own and has everybody laughing. The last hour or so of the entertainment can be anything from a rock group to a magician or Mallorcan Flamenco to a tribute act, but every act is worth watching.

The grounds of Duva are really beautiful and always perfectly clean, tidy and well maintained. Over the eleven years since we first visited Duva we’ve never noticed any mess or litter in the grounds, even though there will always be the litter bug holiday maker, Duva staff are always quick to respond.

Duva is situated away from the main port and the hustle and bustle but is only a 20-30 minute walk away from the front or a taxi for between €5 and €6 which can be easily ordered with reception.

For the health and fitness fanatics, in the basement there is a fully equipped gym, sauna and guided fitness classes.

Within a walk of less than 3 minutes there is a bar with screens showing most major sporting events and an international super market selling everything from water to whisky and snorkels to sandwiches.

For a family with children, this is the ideal place to holiday, you can rest assured that they will be safe, entertained and happy, but don’t be put off if you don’t have children, you’ll still have an amazing time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2holidays.com

Hotel tip: Try to avoid repeatedly paying by card, pay just one bank charge by paying with cash. There is a cash machine outside The White Rose bar just two minutes walk from the hotel.

Recommended
Tracey
10 years ago
The hotel staff were excellent and very friendly. The location is a bit of a walk to the beach but you can get a bus which stops across he road from the Hotel.
The rooms were nice but our floor had was a little dirty and could have done with being swept, kept finding hairs off the cleaners on the floor.
Pool was busy as it was peak season but there is another quieter pool.
We ate in hotel 2 nights and it was fine with quite a lot of choice, something for everyone.
Bar was on the pricey side 6 euros for a cocktail!
Evening entretainment was not too bad, the younger kids enjoyed it.
The spa across the road is handy and is not too expensive, great for croissants for breakfast and water - 5 litres was approx 2 euros!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Houghton
11 years ago
Booked via Thomson, Hotel is ok although when we first arrived our room hadnt been cleaned and smelt musty, complained to reception and they sent th cleaners back in, Hotel is a good 20 min walk from the beach and the centre of Puerto Pollensa (its advertised as closer in the Thomson brochure and this is incorrect)its no where near the 500 mts Thomson advertise- the road is also very busy and unlit, the hotel itself is ok and clean and tidy, but the entertainment is rubbish apart from the african boys (i think they were called) who were excellent, ate at the poolside bar nice and clean with good reasonably priced food- dont book onto the BBQ that is held it wasnt good value for money and they dont cook all the food together so you are eating a part meal before the rest is ready to be eaten
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Alistair Gretto
12 years ago
This is a rare treat, very few places will you find this sort of attention to detail.

It is clear that this hotel is striving to listen to what the guests want...you can't always please everybody of course but here they try to do everything that they can.

We stayed during the school holidays so there were naturally lots of children and the entertainments team here were just fantastic, I have travelled widely and have never experienced such a wide variety of real live entertainment from an "in house" team, I especially was impressed by the live music which was top class.

Accomodation is as advertised i.e 4 star

Food in my opinion varied day to day, on the whole very good, but there were 2 days when frankly it did not match it's star rating.

Club Duva Spa, excellent !!!

Would highly recommend
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Direct

Recommended
Brown
12 years 1 month ago
Stayed first week July 07 with two boys 10 and 13.
Very clean. All inclusive and we thought it was excellent. Its a 10 minute walk into Porta Pollensa which was fine for us and the boys were happy to be at the pool 99% of the time. The food was very nice and the restaurant manager took real pride in his work.

The entertainers were in my view the worst I have ever seen or heard and the group we made friends with appeared to convey that was their take on it too, - it became quite a joke. In saying that the children would tell you it was fantastic and they certainly all seemed to enjoy it especially the bingo. I think possibly they were new entertainers and perhaps they will improve.

We would definately go back. Tennis courts right next to it and a lovely indoor pool and fantastically equipped gyn, - infact amazing to be honest.

For us a 9/10 and our boys tell us best ever holiday so what more can you ask for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: you2

Recommended
Sam
12 years 1 month ago
We visited in July 07 on a self catering basis and was pleased with the standard of accommodation. Very clean, nice bathroom and enough space for us. Cleaners came every day other than Sunday and changed towels frequently.

We were in the main block and my main moan would be was that our room was in front of the speakers for he entertainment which was pretty poor although my 5 year old daughter thought it was great!! therefore, as we were so close we had no choice but to listen to the end or stay out until after midnight.

We liked the hotel and the staff were great and felt that the location although a bit far out from the centre was ok as we personally do not like to be in the middle of it al and it was a pleasant walk to the beach.

My parents joined us for a few days and they booked the trip independently. Reception were happy to move them near to us and help them when they arrived.

The main pool was very busy and the sunbeds were gone very early - there is a quieter pool at the other block (didn't know it was supposed to be exclusive to that block - no one said that!) which we preferred although the beach for the day.

Lovely restaurants and able to walk round in the evening. We were there for part of the festival which was nice. Ate at some lovely restaurants along the front - the ones round the square are nice but are more expensive and was much warmer round there!

I would definitely go back and would recommend to others although perhaps a car for some of the holiday would be a bonus
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Kevin Newman
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed in a 2 bed premium appartment during June 07, and had no major complaints about the accomodation as it was a good size and clean.

Although within the premium block not all of the 2 bed appartments are the same size! A minor complaint would be that there was no information in the apartments on how things worked!(i.e Dishwaher, oven, etc)this would of been handy. Taking an iron with you would be handy as there is none within the appartment and the hotel does not rent any!

The one down side in relation to the hotel is it's location, and this is the one reason we will not be going back! The Hotel is located on the outskirts of Puerto Pollensa, and I would estimate it would be about a 15-20 minute walk into town. We had a car which proved very useful, as getting my 5 year old to walk down there would of been a nightmare and there is not a pavement all the way!
The staff at the hotel were friendly and the standard of English spoken was very good. They are definitley used to catering for British guests.

One possible complaint I could imagine for people staying in the premium appartments during the busy months (July/August)is that part of the extra cost incured for booking these appartments is that you get the use of a seperate pool to the main complex! We found that people from the main complex were coming over and using this pool as it was quieter. This was abit annoying as we had paid more for this facility, but would be more so during the busy months as the sun loungers and particulary the parasols may be full by the time you get to the pool as this area is not as big as the main complex pool, and there were only three parasols! When you have young children these are essential to give them a break from the sun.

There is some entertainment put on at the hotel, but in our opinion it was very limited, we went for one night in the first week and did not go again! Some people liked it and some did not, it's all to do with personal preference.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Villa Parade

13 years 1 month ago
Stayed at the Duva in July 2006. I bed apartment with 2 very comfy sofa beds in lounge. Small kitchen diner. Very large bathroom and bedroom with large wardrobes and set of drawers. Good balcony - safe so LO's couldn't fall over. The grounds were beautiful with lily pad pool with loads of fish and baby ducklings!! Pools were Ok unfortunately no shallow end in large pool so you have to keep your eye onthe non swimmers. We did try the food from the snack bar which was really good. There is a small shop around the corner (opposite habitat apartments) which sells amazing freshly baked rolls and pastries. The evening entertainment was Ok - kids loved it and OH liked it when there was scantily clad dancers!!

Bit of a walk to the main square and pine walk but we had a car so used to drive down every night to eat. Some fantastic restaurants on the square. Little arcade for children ( air hockey etc..) on pine walk. Loads of stalls selling jewellery, portrait painters, kids can paint their own pots. There are musician s that come round the restaurants but are not pushy so don't feel obliged to pay them. There is also a childrens entertainer on the Pine walk every night balloon modelling etc... If you eat on the square and you have children take a ball - all the children play here whilst their parents have a nice drink.

Do visit cala san vicente - bit of a pebbly beach but the snorkelling is out of this world. My 2 boys (4 & 10) were swimming with shoals of fish and octopus.

Water park in alcudia is small but worth a visit - no rowdy teenagers so your children can enjoy without being dive bombed IYSWIM

Have a great time
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: unpackagedholidays

Recommended
Nick
13 years 3 months ago
The hotel itself is located about a 15 minute walk from puerto pollensa town and the beach.

We had our son who was 12 months old at time of holiday and used the walk to stroll to the beautiful promenade of an evening.

Staff were very welcoming and friendly, however their wasn't a great deal for young children to do other than the pool or a few activities at a neighbouring hotel who shared the same entertainment team.

We were All inclusive and stayed for one week. The food was decent but a little limited on choice and was a little repetitive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hello

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.