Image of THB Gran Playa Hotel

THB Gran Playa Hotel

11 of 15 hotels in Sa Coma

3 out of 5 from 49 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Passeig de Colom, 126, 07458 Can Picafort (Santa Margalida), Spain

49 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stokes
16 years 2 months ago
Room kept very clean and towels changed regularly. Beds are good for kids, we had to sleep on squeeky couches. Do not rent a fan, cheaper to buy.

Beutiful clean pool when no empty glasses are floating could do with the odd lifeguard, close to a couple of incidents.

Only 5 minutes from a quality beach and british pubs that use glasses for there beer. Food was shocking as the majority of the meals involved warm pasta,dry meat,not ideal for young children.

The snacks were cold and not thoroughly cooked the same sausages and burgers each day a variety would of been nice. Ice cream was nice though.

Entertainment in the daytime was not well organised or controlled with 12 year old children competing against 3 year olds some games using physical force, same routine on the night for kids with the mini disco only lasts 30 minutes. Then there was bingo followed by some form of act which gets repeated the next week (same parrot show, magician, tarzan show etc.)then approx 90 mins of cds each night to finish off with.

Entertainers were quite pleasant, the waiters and waitresses did not make you feel welcome.

Would visit again if a great improvement on the food was made.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mediland

16 years 3 months ago
Club Gran Playa is spotlesly clean,rooms cleaned 5 out of 7 days,bed linen changed once a week.

The food isn't anything special but never went hungry,snacks and drinks available until midnight.Thestaff are very friendly and helpful.

The entertainment is O.K,a mini disco for the kids for 1/2hr each night,then bingo and then adult entertainment.
The hotel is about 5mins walk from the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Hammerton
16 years 3 months ago
The hotel was clean.

The staff were friendly and the pool area was as clean as the guests let it be.

The accomodation was small but adequate including a fridge and cooker if you wanted to use it.

The food was average but as you get what you pay for it was extremely good value.

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the beach and had numerous shops and 'British Bars' to drink in if you don't want the hotel entertainment (which was a step above Butlins!)

We would not hesitate to go back to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Hunt Family
16 years 11 months ago
All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean as were the pools(although there were a few broken tiles), rooms were cleaned 5 out of 7 days with clean towels and sheets provided regularly. There was a wide selection of food available at every mealtime and food was available right through from 8-30am to midnight. The food was very nice. Snacks were great. Chips/nuggets/crisps/monkey nuts/bread rolls and salad (that kind of things what the kids love). There was a huge freezer in the pool area that was constantly stocked full of various flavoured ice creams for kids (and us) to help themselves at all times. Drinks were constantly available also and kids were allowed to get their own drinks from the bar. The hotel was about a 5 minute walk to the beach and some rooms, including ours, had a beautiful sea view. The beach at sa coma is beautiful and very clean. Sunbeds are available and ample at a cost of 3 euros a day and with that you get a umberella for abit of shade. The ample shops on route to the beach are filled with souveniers, beach toys, duty free and about 3 exchange points. And a couple of supermarket type shops. There is a large supermarket at the rear of the hotel which is well worth a visit as it is alot cheaper than these smaller shops. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and worked very hard to keep the place clean and tidy. Entertainment was ok, the kids enjoyed it, but there wasn't a huge selection. A parrot show one night, a magician another and live music one night apart from that it was just cds playing. AJ, the entertainment manager, was great the first week, doing silly party dances with the kids but by the second week he just didn't bother at all, which dissapointed the kids abit. We were amongst the last guest in the hotel before winter shutdown and it is to undergo refurbishment over the winter so i'm sure the broken tiles in the pools will be fixed before the new season starts. Altogether we had a fabulous holiday. The hotel was great and the area was beautiful. We'd definately visit Gran Playa again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Peter
17 years ago
The best part of our stay was the accommodation, it was clean and spacious. The worst part was the mess left by other guests.

The food was ok up to a point, the point being unless you were on a tight budget, you could always leave it as there where a wide choice of cafes pubs etc in the resort.

The entertainment was....what entertainment?

The bar staff worked very efficently with good humour and served all guests adults and children equally.

Didn't fancy the pool looked a bit murky.

Big tip if a fan is needed go to the big supermarket nearby and buy one for as little as 15 Euros and sell it on to Danny when finished with, it will be a better fan and cheaper than hiring one from the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medena

Coopers
17 years ago
Rooms tiny.

Food became boring very quickly.

Entertainment non existent.

Pool in need of some major repair.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medinland

G Hood
17 years ago
Studio apartment with crockery and cutlery, no cupboard space so we put pots pans ect under the sink. We made good use of the fridge for cold water.

The food was at best lukewarm at best. Chips chips and more chips - however that was just as well as sometimes we just did not know what was on offer. We ate out quite a lot

Drinks were good and the plastic glasses were all right out side but surely there could be wine glasses ect in the dinning room and entertainment room.

There was very little entertainment at first, then after the entertainment manager left, there was something on nearly every night.

We stayed out of the pool; it was murky and seemed to have quite a lot of broken tiles.

The staff were friendly and very helpful however they could be too quick to clear the table, if you put down your cutlery, the plate was cleared ready or not.

This was a budget holiday and we basically got what we paid for, however it would have been much better if the pool and pool area were clean and there were proper glasses in the dinning and entertainment areas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mendilend

Angela
17 years ago
The room was quite big, pleased that we had a fridge where we could store our water.

Hotel was lovely but could have been cleaner around the pool didn't see anyone paying attention to the pool areas while we were there. The main pool was very murky as the filters were not working and tiles were missing, the other pool was fine but too deep for children, therefore small children were at risk in the murky pool.

Food was always lukewarm and not much choice, toasted sandwiches on offer in the evening but you had to cook them yourself.

Location was ideal just 5 mins from a beautiful beach and close to all of the shops.

Staff were quite friendly and tried their best to please.

Entertainment was ok same routine and music everynight.

Would go back if these areas improved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Stevens
17 years ago
This was the first time we'd been on an all inclusive holiday, as our previous holidays had been either self catering or half board.

The hotel and our apartment were kept very clean, the pool area was a little untidy at times due to some uncaring guests. The children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medinland

Recommended
Ron And Ann
17 years ago
Sept 2007 (had to put date on because it wouldn't allow us to put from 2004 onwards - why I ask anyway..)Stayed at the Gran Playa with my wife and this must be the worst hotel I've stayed at in Majorca and we have stayed in quite a lot. The food was very poor, especially at lunch and evening. It didn't have any choice. The drinks just covered one ice cube and the staff, all six of them, just didnt seem to care. I could go on all day but please take my advice give this hotel a miss. I always go on all inclusive holidays and this is by miles the worst, as for Sammie earlier he/she must either own the hotel or work there. If you have never been on an all inclusive before, which some people haven't, they have nothing to compare it against, if they had been they would know how POOR the hotel was. The entertainment was what you would expect when on holiday, mainly for children, but there was nowhere for adults to have a drink unless you sat at the outside pool side bar (which was closed on an evening)so you had to go inside to get a drink to have outside!!! The bar closed spot on 12 which was fine, but the doors were closed and locked by 12.10 so you had nowhere to finish your drinks. So unless you want to waste you money, which you have saved for all year round, take my advice and do not visit this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.