Image of THB Gran Playa Hotel

THB Gran Playa Hotel

11 of 15 hotels in Sa Coma

3 out of 5 from 49 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Passeig de Colom, 126, 07458 Can Picafort (Santa Margalida), Spain

49 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Antony Shaw
17 years 1 month ago
the hotel was kept very clean,the pool area could have been cleaner,the adult on day one was clear but by day three you could not see the bottom,also plastic cups and plates all over.we ate out every night due the state of the food,very small selection at all times also could not determine what some of the dishes were,the rooms were very small my son slept on balcony because it was bigger main light did not work you could have hung your washing on thr flex hanging from the ceiling also no where to put clothing we had knives forks pots and pans why? we were all inclusive,the entertainment was just a complete joke kids club 4 dances bingo (with lots of adult comments in front of kids)every night,20minute magic show on first night and parrot show last night
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medinland

Reynolds
17 years 1 month ago
Have to report that none of us suffered from conjunctivitis or impetigo. These were our main worries after reading some reports on this resort.
The food was ok some days. We mainly ate just breakfast and lunch. The evening meal was not to my personal liking. However, the rest of my party seemed to just have the soup in the evening. As a vegetarian I was limited in my food as there is an abundance of meat and fish served daily with only an option for my diet a couple times a week. Daytime snacks were served in a covered heated bain marie outside by the bar area in the shade. However, rolls, salad and crisps were left uncovered.
I appreciate why the drinks are served in plastic cups. Children are able to go and get drinks from the bars so serving glasses would not be a good idea.
The pools were clear and as for rubbish lying around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hello Holidays

Harper
17 years 1 month ago
We went from 30th August to 6th September, just 7 days and we enjoyed everything about the hotel, the staff were friendly and always busying around ensuring the hotel was kept clean and attending to your needs.

Rooms were very clean ( I can assure you I am very fussy)

We all enjoyed the food lots of new things to try, drinks were even better.

The pool was great, very clean, yes a few loose tiles, but nothing to bother with, we spent hours in the pool and we were all fine.

The location of the hotel was perfect, near to shops and beach.

The entertainment was ok, to be honest we went to relax and the kids were tired at night so we only spent a short while in the club, but they enjoyed the kiddie disco, parrot show and the magician.

We were very sad to leave and would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Scovell
17 years 1 month ago
We arrived on 31st August - 15 September and could not wait to go home. I know this was a budget holiday but this was really bad.

The first pool was the adult pool, this was clean a twinkly clear at all times, but the larger, shallower pool which was mainly used by the babies and little ones was filthy dirty. If like us you where on the 7th floor, you could actually ses the brown water under the bridge, and not the bottom, which was probably a good thing as all the tiles where either loose or missing.

I must say the rooms where very clean, but very hot, there was no-where to store your clothes but the fridge came in very handy. We purchased a fan from the local hyper-market for about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Murphy
17 years 1 month ago
The overall cleanliness of the Gran Playa was very poor, yes, we wanted a budget holiday, but it isn,t much to expect clean surroundings. The pool area was particularly disgusting, with losts of broken tiles, rubbish and left over food all over the place. Snacks were brought out to the pool area during the day and flies could go onto the food as it was left uncovered. The children's pool was very unclean and murky (a breeding ground for E Coli if there ever was one). The food became boring very quickly, and you felt as if you were having the same meal all the time. The food was lukewarm and flies were able to go onto the bread and food as they were not covered. The staff didn't know how to smile and quite frankly feel, felt embarrassed about the poor standard on offer. Complaints went unheard and there wasn't a proper rep to help. The entertainment was a joke and even the entertainment people did a runner from the place which I think sums it up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Steve Jackson
17 years 2 months ago
there is hardly any entertainment for the kids 10 mins in the morning killa pool,or quiz,or games in pool (each lasting for approx 1/2 hour)in the evening bingo,kids disco (aprrox 4 songs)then party games really butlins like no spanishy themes.food ok ish breakfast same everyday,then snack (sometimes better than lunch)lunch okish,(watch your plates waitresses very keen to clean up plates )then snack not much better than lunch but worth filling up as dinner very poor,evening snack make your own toasted sanwiches,drinks all ok no limit to order expecially at 1145pm,pools ok filters were broke at least 6 cases of impertigo in the kids 2 of my 3 caught it,and most adults had cold sores,alot of broken tiles in pools and sharp edges on sides,rooms very good cleand 5times a week,would reccomend only staying here 7 days i did 14 and was bored afer 7, overall 5/10 and thats just for the room
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medinland

Gregory Family
17 years 2 months ago
Nice clean hotel, food disgusting no choice at all unless you liked pasta with bolognaise sauce every meal time, bar and restaurant staff did not know how to smile, we agreed with the use of the plastic glasses for safty but found that they were very greasy and slipped out of your hand. entertainment was boring, same thing every night, more entertainment staff needed.
the most helpful approachable person was Danny the guest relations manager,who was absolutly brilliant,would possibly visit again if food was much more improved,and entertainment was 95% better.good location near to shops and beach,maintainance of the swimming pool needs looking at (the tiles).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mediland

Paul Dawson
17 years 2 months ago
The rooms were kept clean but thats about all that did, the pool ares was full of empty drink cartons.

The food was always just warm and very little choice we hate out nearly every night as we all got fed up of chips.

The entertainment was well there wasn't any all they could do was play bingo. They could do with some bar staff who might smile as well. This hotel is ok if your going self catering and are going to be out everyday but not in there pool as there was a lot of broken tiles.

Over all if anyone reads this and your thinking of going I wouldn't bother we were glad to get home glad we only had 7 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext holiday

Ron And Ann
18 years ago
We stayed at the Gran Playa in Sacoma which is a 3 star (or suppose to be) hotel. This was the WORST Spanish hotel that we have ever stayed at and we have visited Majora several times. Altough the cleanliness was reasonable the food was terrible. Where people below who have written reviews saying there was lots of choice - err I don't think so. The breakfast was probably the best meal of the day. The lunches were mainly of fish and salad, which yes isn't bad I can cope with that, but with the evening meal there was very little choice. My husband practically lived on bread and cheese, yes I am serious, no exageration. Hotel staff, well when I say staff I mean all five of them were just OK. It was as if they didn't want you there. Entertainment was as in most resorts passible but if you didn't have any children with you, as we didn't, then you had to sit outside at the outside pool bar - but the bar was CLOSED so you had to go inside to get a drink!! The bar closed at 12.00 and a notice was put on the door to say you had to finish your drinks off as the door would be locked shortly after. The measure of the drinks just covered one ice cube and the choice was limited. I've never been in a hotel where they ran out of a liquer and didn't replace it. As for Sammy who thinks this hotel is fantastic all I can say is either he must work there, own it or never ever been away on holiday before. Most of the people who have written a good review are people who have never experienced all inclusive before. I can assure you we have been on several all inlcusive holidays and this is by far the worst. Please take note of these comments otherwise be prepared for a dissapointing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.