Image of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Hotel

Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Hotel

3 of 30 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
Calle del Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Spain
The Barceló Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, is situated on the edge of the Caleta de Fuste beach, on the Canary island of Fuerteventura . This recently built hotel, with a wide variety of facilities and services, is one of the top hotels in the area.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lovely Hotel with Good service
9 months ago
This is a lovely hotel, much larger than I had realised however the staff without exception gave personal service and nothing was too much trouble.

I had already e-mailed the hotel prior to arriving and asked if I could be placed in block two as this seemed to have better reviews, and I was pleased with my choice, I did not suffer from noise and it was well sited in the complex for the amenities.

Check, in was efficient and had to wait about 40 minutes to get to room, and you were given welcome drinks in the bar, orange juice or fizzy wine and the bar was open of course, and you had given your band (if all inclusive) for a drink of your choice.

The room was lovely, two double beds a sofa and separate sink/dressing type room and loo shower/bath. There were plenty of plugs and near mirrors too so no worries about appliances not being near mirrors. There was a flat screen TV with 5 English Channels and quality of reception was very good. I have to say the bed was very very comfy too, I like a soft bed and this was indeed soft, like sleeping on a pillow, lovely.

Restaurant, the food quality was good and varied and the reason I have dropped one star is because it did tend to be a little cool for my liking. In particular at breakfast when they had sausages the were cooked but cold, so most mornings I asked the cook who was cooking fried eggs etc to heat up in her pan. This really was the only criticism.

The pools were clean and plenty of sunbeds round the pool, it does state that you are not allowed to reserve sunbeds, but still some folk feel the need to get up at silly o clock to sit in their favourite position.

There are a few Centro Commercial 'shops' near by with cafes and restaurants and a little harbour within walking distance, although there is not much there. The area is quiet but has charm.

The beach work should be finished in a month, my TO send me e-mail 7 days before to tell me, although the works have been ongoing for several months. The spa across the road from the hotel, only the Gym part was open, and neither the TO nor the Hotel mentioned this either.

I enjoyed my stay here very good hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Hotel tip: This is a large hotel and I stayed in block two which seemed the best option (I had e-mailed the hotel previously to request) it is not noisy and close to amenities

Recommended
Mr Ward
Returning for a third time
6 years 5 months ago
This is our third visit to this resort over the last 10 years and were pleased that everything was as good as we remembered.

The food was excellent with plenty of choice even for a 7 & 12 year old. The staff are all cheerful and happy to help.

The evening entertainment was first class with shows such as star light express & we will rock you to name but a few put on by the excellent animation team plus a whole host of professional shows. The waiter service in the theatre was also first class with no problems getting drinks in a full show.

The highlight of our stay must be the animation team who worked tirelessly to entertain & always with a smile and a hello.

Fantastic holiday in a great hotel. We will return for a fourth time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cheryl
7 years 5 months ago
Arrived after a taxi transfer which was booked directly through the hotel. Our room was not ready but we were given our wristbands straight away and went for lunch. Found the food lovely at most meal times, the breakfast was not very warm some mornings and it was a bit of a free for all so you had young children running around the restaurant with plates in their hands. Was not aware till the last day that you could order a bottle of wine and the waiters would keep it cold until the next day for you if you didn't drink it all - the drinks system was not very well explained. Food in the snack bar was a bit hit and miss but you can get a take away if you'd rather eat a pizza or burger at your sunbed. As far as the room went it was fantastic, got a room in block 3 which we thought was the quietest in the hotel. Had a few teething problems with the air-con but again nobody explained that you have to keep the patio doors closed for it to work. We had two large beds pushed together (and the mattress is not as bad as a lump of concrete), a double sofa bed for our son and a cot for our baby and there was still plenty of room. Staff were all lovely, the waiters all loved our baby and the cleaners could not do enough for us. Kids club was not everyone's cup of tea but they did go out and play mini golf and had a trip to the beach which our 5-year old loved. Evening entertainment was ok, it starts with a kids mini disco at 8.45 which consists of the same songs every night. You have to wait until 10pm for the main show but you have to get your seats early else you can't see anything!!
All in all, yes you have to get a sunbed early because people reserve them (but tell me where in the Canaries they don't) but the hotel and pool were spotlessly clean and we were made to feel very welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independantly

Recommended
Cheryl
7 years 6 months ago
Arrived after a taxi transfer which was booked directly through the hotel.

Our room was not ready but we were given our wristbands straight away and went for lunch. Found the food lovely at most meal times, the breakfast was not very warm some mornings and it was a bit of a free for all so you had young children running around the restaurant with plates in their hands. Was not aware till the last day that you could order a bottle of wine and the waiters would keep it cold until the next day for you if you didn't drink it all - the drinks system was not very well explained. Food in the snack bar was a bit hit and miss but you can get a take away if you'd rather eat a pizza or burger at your sunbed.

As far as the room went it was fantastic, got a room in block 3 which we thought was the quietest in the hotel. Had a few teething problems with the air-con but again nobody explained that you have to keep the patio doors closed for it to work. We had two large beds pushed together (and the mattress is not as bad as a lump of concrete), a double sofa bed for our son and a cot for our baby and there was still plenty of room.

Staff were all lovely, the waiters all loved our baby and the cleaners could not do enough for us. Kids club was not everyone's cup of tea but they did go out and play mini golf and had a trip to the beach which our 5-year old loved. Evening entertainment was ok, it starts with a kid’s mini disco at 8.45 which consists of the same songs every night. You have to wait until 10pm for the main show but you have to get your seats early else you can't see anything!!

All in all, yes you have to get a sunbed early because people reserve them (but tell me where in the Canaries they don't) but the hotel and pool were spotlessly clean and we were made to feel very welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr Mrs Brown
7 years 6 months ago
We have stayed here over the past Ten years however after this trip its no longer for us, The place was full of children and the Hotel was focusing on just this as a couple to relax you couldnt, the entertainment was great for the children but not what it was ten years ago when it was top acts.
If you wanted a sun bed you would need to be up by 7am as all the beds were gone by 7.30 for the day, most guests never went on the beds until late afternoon but they saved them all day, we did talk to the hotel manager regarding this but he said there was little he could do to change this?
The staff were never pleased to see you or even happy in their jobs which I must say in most cases I could see why, guests were treating the Hotel appauling letting their children climb on the chairs, drop food all over the place, screaming and shouting, running round like the hotel was a huge play ground while the parents sat drinking.
We went out of kids holidays and it was like Butlins on half term which is fine if thats what you are expecting however if you want a nice relaxing break its not.
You can rent pool towels for 20 euros returnable deposit and you have to pay 2 euros per day per towel to change them.
The spa is very nice and peaceful and worth a visit however this is 25 euros each.
The gym in the hotel is rusty dirty and not a nice place so if you are going to think you could use the gym etc you cant you will need to pay to use the one in the spar
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Mrs Lawson
8 years ago
We booked this last minute for 10 of us to go for 7 nights at this hotel and all of us have said we can't wait to book for next December!! This hotel is fabulous. The rooms are big and spacious and are cleaned every day, with fresh towels left. You don't need to take beach/pool towels as these are provided by the hotel for a charge of 10 Euros each which is then refunded when you check out. The beds are enormous, and very comfortable. The SKY T.V channels arn't brilliant, but who goes on holiday to watch t.v anyway!! The hotel in situated right on the beach, which is lovely white sand and if you walk further round on the promanade, turning left once out of the gate of the hotel, you will come to some rocky areas where you can feed wild chipmonks and doves, they will take the nuts right out of your hand, it was lovely. The staff are really friendly, you may get the odd one that doesn't smile very much but on a whole they are great and work very hard. The Animation team is AMAZING!! They work so hard with activities happening during the day but then performing in professional shows in the evenings too. Victor you are FAB in everything, but especially Lion King, the Grammy Show, and the kids mini disco. he Lion King Show is NOT to be missed especially if you have kids. The food is of good quality and what is expected of a hotel of this quality, lots of variety of salads, pastas, fresh pizza, different meats, fresh fish and local dishes too. The Thallaso Spa is well worth a visit, very relaxing, one tip, do the wellness circuit on the wall as you walk in to gain the best result from your day in there, its good fun and all for just 20 euros per couple, as per the discount you receive on checking in at the hotel on arrival. My son (age 5) thoroughly enjoyed the mini club which runs from 10.30 - 1pm then 3-5pm, they do lots of activities with them and you get a break too. Cant wait to come again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Riley
8 years ago
We flew out on boxing day and arrived with the sun shinning down on us, the transfer was about 15 mins so was perfect. On arrival we saw how grand the hotel looked from the outside and on entering we were impressed by the inside to, unfortunately the reception staff were not helpfull and as the Brits do we formed a queue and waited and waited until after about 15mins we were given forms to complete and then told rooms were not ready!. After a few attempts wew were given our all inclusive bands so we could at least go and eat, and around 2 hrs after we arrived we got our rooms. Well we could not believe it! we had a huge bed and a double sofa bed for our son and the room was very clean modern and large we were not disappointed. (apart from the mattress was like sleeping on a slab of concrete). The hotel staff as in waiters and entertainers were fantastic as were the meals etc and new years eve was amazing from the food to the fireworks at midnight, the only downside was the local band who came on after they were a bit old fashioned, but all in all a great hotel and would return but this time will be prepared for the very slow and unhelpful reception staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Tom
8 years 3 months ago
found this hotel very good mostly
but reception on arrival was poor filled in a form sent to the bar for a drink that was it so 12 of us from the coach waited and waited nothing we then found out you have to go back and ask for your room so while we waited another coach with 20 more people now wanting to check in it was chaos it took over an hour for us to get our room and did they care no just a shrug of the shoulders
cats everywhere at the pool on the stairs to our room in the outside bar beware they can be a bit of a pest but a good toe up them soon sends them away
on the plus side room was good
food the whole time was also good
and we will go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomascook

Recommended
Anonymous
8 years 4 months ago
We've just returned from this hotel, having spent a lovely week there with two boys aged 16yrs and 10yrs. The hotel rooms are very clean,large and spacious and the maid service was excellent. We found plenty of choice at each meal for all of us. The waiters attend to each table in the restaurant at lunchtime and dinner, with good quality bottled soft drinks, wine and bottled San Miguel beer. The food was getting a bit repetitive after a week, but there was plenty of choice of meat, fish, salads, puds, etc. and we felt it was good value for money. Considering the amount of people they were catering for, they did very well. We felt that the All Inclusive refreshments at the Aloe Pool Bar could have been replenished and maintained a bit better, but other than that, had no complaints. The entertainment was fine for families and most of the kids there seemed to enjoy themselves. Considering it was the August holidays, there weren't big queues for drinks in the evenings at the main bar and the waiter service in the theatre area certainly helped.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jack
8 years 6 months ago
This was our 4th visit to this Hotel, having spent summer holidays with family and winter holiday beginning of this year. The Hotel is superb in many ways and the staff very nice. Unlike other visitor we found reception staff to be very pleasant and helpful and knowledgeable.
The food is good but have to stay not just as good as it was last year or 2 or 3 years ago. Meat could be a little more tender and this year the service (clearly not so many waiters) was just that bit slower for clearing away plates between courses. Having said that and having visited numerous hotels this one is still very good.
Entertainment from the crew is pretty good but for us now repetitive,, would be nice if Starlight Express and Les Miserables, Lion King were given a miss and maybe we got something new. Some of the acts brought in were excellent others disappointing. Daytime activities for all ages were well organised and a lot of fun.
Room cleaning excellent and the maids all very nice.
We shall no doubt be returning to this Hotel sometime in 2010 as it is great for families from grandparents down to the grandchildren who can enjoy the kids club and give the adults a short break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons/thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices