Image of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Hotel

Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Hotel

3 of 31 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
Calle del Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Spain
The Barceló Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, is situated on the edge of the Caleta de Fuste beach, on the Canary island of Fuerteventura . This recently built hotel, with a wide variety of facilities and services, is one of the top hotels in the area.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
My wife and I have just returned from 11 days in the Barcelo Fuerte Ventura. I have read several reports on this hotel, both good and bad, and agree with some points in all of them but not with any single report in total. One person said that it deserved 5 stars, I can only think that they have never stayed in a true 5 star hotel or they could not have said this. The hotel is very good mostly, but it struggles to deserve even its 4 star rating, I would class it more as a very good 3 star with some 4 star touches.

The staff are mostly excellent and very friendly, but the reception staff were occasionally clueless when it came to asking about information on things like the activities available. They seemed to be closeted behind their reception desk with little idea of what went on in the rest of the hotel.

There is an internet station with three computers but they are slow, very expensive and sometimes fail to give the correct amount of time for the money you put in. I would recommend using one of the cyber cafes in the resort instead.

The maid service was good but totally unpredictable. She would arrive at 9.30 some mornings but not until 3pm other days and there seemed to be little rhyme or reason in her timetable.

We had a room very near the lift shafts and I would advise anyone offered this to refuse and ask for a different room as when the lifts are in full swing on a change over day it can sound like a freight train is running through the room every 5 minutes or so.

As my wife is disabled we had a room on the bottom floor and this is advantageous as instead of a small balcony with just a table and chairs on it, we had a much larger terrace with two sun loungers. The view wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
No leg room on Thomas Cook flights,Barcelo Hotel 10mins from Airport,only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Murdoch's & Outlaws
9 years 7 months ago
there was a group of 11 of us on holiday, well worth all inclusive,drinks include brands such as smirnoff plus bottles of soft drinks,hotel clean ,food was good plenty of choice, location brilliant right on the beach,pools and surrounding area's nice,sauna & turkish sauna plus hydrapool and a small gym which i used every day :-) the beach was o.k but a bit costly for sunbeds 4.5 euro's per bed, staff were hard working & very nice (christine the manageress is a lovelly girl),best entertainment team we have ever seen,we watched 13 out of the 14 shows ,keep up the good work billy luigi,,weather was really nice for time of year, taxi to the airport only ten minutes & 10 euro's, good bus service to airport & rosario 1.30 euro's, if you like a quiet relaxing holiday then this resort is worth a visit,,bars to visit,,flower of scotland(good music & shows all the football),,legends,,pierro's,,all decent ,,,we will come back to this hotel, hopefully soon :-)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Donna Smith
9 years 9 months ago
we have just come back from a fantastic holiday at this hotel, the hotel is only 10mins from the airport and is central to the main area of caleta de fuste, and the beach only a stone throw away,
we started the holiday as half board but soon upgraded to all inclusive because the food was lovely,and the entertainment was fantastic so we stayed in the hotel every evening to have drinks and at 18 euros per day an adult and 9 euros a day for a child i thought it was fantastic value and definately got our monies worth!!:)
our room was cleaned everyday by polite and happy cleaners and towels changed every other, the sofa bed was massive and the double even bigger the only downside to our room was we had no kettle but one could of been hired, and the fridge wasnt very big, im just being picky now!!
every day and night the entertainment team were busy making sure no one was stuck with nothing to do, my hubby isnt one to sunbathe all day so he went off and did, archery, football, mini golf, rifle shooting, french bowls etc but the best was the water polo match at 4pm absolutely hilarious!! the 2 pools are both huge and there were enough sunbeds for everyone so no getting up at 7am to put towels out.......the only thing i was upset about was that we wernt allowed lilos :(
Every night there was fantastic entertainment whether it was mini disco for the kids,comedy, acrobats, a band or a fantastic show by the entertainment team and on the last night my 8 year old daughter got to play 'cosette' in the musical les miserables and she was amazing and thoroughly enjoyed it, i dont think we could of had a better time if it wasnt for billy and mesut they were so funny!! we will definately be back next year and am so pleased we chose this hotel

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
The Finegans
9 years 9 months ago
We picked Fuerteventura for a week in the sun before winter sets in at home. We wanted a hotel on the beach, short transfer time and with decent food. We chose this hotel based on the previous reviews from this and other websites.

Hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. Overall found it to be nice and pretty clean.

The Hotel food (we were half board) was abysmal.
Being a buffet there is a wide choice but to be honest the quality is very poor. Breakfasts were better than dinner but only due to the fresh fruit and yoghurt, anything that the hotel had to cook seemed to go wrong- how can you muck up scrambled eggs? The meat served at dinner was the toughest I have had in years (definately not 4 star). We tried dinner twice and gave up. This was not just our opinion, an awful lot of the people we spoke to at the hotel said the same thing. We ended up eating at The Windmill which is 2 mins walk away. They serve British food which is not normally what we would go for but it was fresh and tasty and Sam and Sue who own the bar are lovely.

Hotel location is fine, right on the beach and anywhere you want to go in the resort is only a short stroll away. There is more in the resort than there first appears- instead of one town centre the shops, bars and restaurants are spread about in several clumps. Rather than book the agents tranport we took a taxi from the airport, 10mins journey and only 10 Euros.

All the hotel staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

We only went to one show but found it pretty good with a pleasant atmosphere in the theatre area.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Family J
9 years 11 months ago
Second visit to this excellent hotel which sits by the beach. Lovely reception and pool areas not to mention the large bedrooms with fab views over the pools and beach. Always plenty of sun loungers (loved the sunbathing cats in the morning by the pool in Block 3).

Food very good and restaurant never too busy. The waiting staff always helpful and friendly.

The entertainment team were excellent - well done to the chief entertainer Billy (Les Mis and Starlight Express esp good).

Looking forward to our next visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
WE HAD A ROOM OVERLOOKING THE POOL AND BEACH IN BLOCK2 FLOOR 3. FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND A REALLY GOOD CHOICE.POOL IS HEATED AT ONE END BUT NOISIER THAN THE FAR END, WHICH WAS COLD BUT NOT TOO BAD! Bedrooms are big and the sofa bed is large too which would actually sleep two kids !!Main bed very big and comfortable.Entertainment good most of the time, especially good were "The Beatles"!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
10 years ago
There was always plenty of choice at meal times, plates were kept hot and we never felt that we had done the wrong thing by being All Inclusive.

There is a snack bar by the pool which sold a good selection of meals and snacks. They had a good selection of my favorite cocktails too :D

The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed at the same time. The cleaning staff were polite and friendly.

The pools were great and the kids had fun, the only downside was that the heated pool was being refurbished and couldnt be used. I thought this would bother me, but it didnt there was more than enough space in and around the other pools.

I have only a couple of complaints. 1.the bar staff in the pool bar could be unhelpful at times. and 2. The TV was really only for German, Spanish, French and Italian guests.. if they watch telly on holiday, why cant we?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
John
10 years 3 months ago
We went to this hotel on the recommendation of our friends who have been 5 times!!! On holidays elsewhere, we had investigated what there was for the children which made us realise how important this must be, not just for the childrens sanity!

The Barcelo was fantastic for our young children (6 & 4) with regular daily activities with awards given out during the evening entertainment for those that did particularly well. The staff work very hard indeed, entertaining the children by day and then providing the rather tongue-in-cheek entertainment by night! Some nights there is professional entertainment which was very good.

The food was of a reasonable standard; can become somewhat boring but the theme nights adds a little variation. Children were well catered for with a good selection of hot and cold meals; the staff were very attentive also.

Accomodation was again excellent, our room was on the ground floor by the childrens pool which was very quiet and very handy for our young ones!

The hotel is located next to the beach, so having the choice of the hotel pool and beach we found to be excellent.

I'm not sure how it would be during peek season as we found it to be just right when we were there. Adults without children may be a little bored with the family theme.

All in all, I would absolutely definitely return with the young ones - the only down side was that we should have booked 2 weeks and not 1.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Direct

Recommended
Rachel
10 years 6 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for 1 week all inclusive.It is just a short 10 minite ride from the airport to the hotel which is great.Rooms are spacious good sized beds and clean and staff are very pleasant. Food was buffet style and very good plenty of choice.Pools good and plenty of sunbeds. Beach can be accessed at the back of the hotel.Shops,restaurants and bars can be found right next to the hotel. All in all a good 4* hotel at a good price we would def recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Relaxabroad

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum