Image of Guinea apartments

Guinea apartments

45 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
2 stars
Calle Helsinki, 4, 35290 San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Spain
The Guinea Apartments are as close to all the holiday amenities on offer in Playa Del Ingles as you could wish to be. A good choice for holidaymakers of all ages the accommodation is basic but comfortable and the large attractive swimming pool.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Annonymous
8 years 4 months ago
We have just been to the Guinea apartments in Playa del Ingles and I will relay the pros and cons of the accommodation.

Pros...
1) Excellent location.
The apartments are a one minute walk away from the main beach and for young people the Kasbah centre with various clubs/ pubs is one minute in the opposite direction.

2) Nice views.
We stayed on the fifth floor and had lovely views of the pool/ area.

3) Clean.
We found the rooms were cleaned daily and although basic they were more than adequate considering the cost of the holiday.

Cons...

1)EXTEMELY noisy!!!
All of the rooms face onto the pool which has a road running outside of it. When all the tourists/ locals come back from the Kasbah centre they go via the road directly outside the hotel. This meant that at 4am all the drunk people shouted and partied along the road. The windows in the hotel are not thick at all and do not prevent any noise. I can not emphasise enough how noisy this hotel is. On top of this the hotel are not strict at all about people going around the pool which meant one night there was an extremely loud pool party (with people in the pool) all night and up until 6am. When I complained the hotel manager was very helpful and said he would inform the night guard but it still went on every day after that. Oh and there are people that own some of the apartments with dogs and let them swim in the water!

2) No air conditioning...
When we went the wind blew across a 43 degree heat from the sahara desert which was unbearable to sleep in with no air con.

3) Smelly toilets...
The bathroom smelt constantly because of the smell wafting through the pipes and when people have been out drinking and return from the Kasbah centre they go to the toilet all along the road which means it is smelly all day and night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: qwerty travel

Jim & Liz Green
8 years 7 months ago
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and there was a note in reception to tell us our keys were in the door. Apartment basic, but if you are paying for a cheap hoiday you wont get 5* accomodation. Toilet was a bit smelly when we arrived but next morning it was ok. had no water for about an hour and when it came back on it was brown but we just ran it for a while and it cleared again. Cleaner came 6 days a week and couldn't do enough for us. Right next to the beach and withing walking distance of the shopping centre. Only fault was the car park next to us at the weekend when all the Spanish youths appeared and sat drinking and playing music up loud. Would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Sue
11 years 10 months ago
Stayed here in 2000 not impressed then, overrun with cockroaches, luckily we let local cats in who used to catch cockroaches and flip them on their backs. Have stayed in a few apartments since then, but on my last visit in 2005, saw that it looked impressive from the outside, decor etc, how wrong can you be/

The only thing I didn't experience this time was the cockroaches, but shower was fought over because of little hot water, towels changed once, no change of sheets, was very embarrassed because I booked the holiday, and invited a friend along, she couldn't believe how it was run, never again. Next time it's the Corona Blanco for me, couldn't wait to get home and have a decent shower, other than that we had a fantastic time as usual.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

LEANNE FLETCHER
12 years 3 months ago
I have never been to such a run down place at all. We arrived here at 4 in the morning and I immediately thought "This does not look like it did on the internet", but thought would give it the benefit of the doubt till I saw it in the daylight, which made it even worse.

We were put on the ground floor even though I requested not to be! We were in an end room where everyone who went to the bar and restaurant had to walk past our room and as there were people coming back at all hours in the night, we couldn't have our doors open in case anyone came into our room when we were asleep and with no air conditioning you can imagine how hot it was when its 32degrees outside!! Our room was over run with cockroaches, could not even have a drink in the room out of a glass or use cutlery as cockroaches were swarming inside the kitchen cupboards. The table from outside was in our room and had graffiti all carved in it, the small table in the main living area was smashed and as for the bedroom, there was an hole in the wall and ceiling and the bed sheets were dirty and so was the floor.

There was a gap underneath the door to the terrace about 5 inches high which meant we had insects etc inside all day and on one morning we even had a lizard in our room because the gap was so large, which totally freaked me out.

The pool is dirty with fag ends and empty bottle strewn everywhere too. After complaining that I wanted to be moved to the manager in reception, he said they were fully booked for rest of week and nothing he could do, he was not interested, so I complained to the rep who got me a tin of cockroach spray - what an insult!!

As for maid service - What maid service?? I Think they came into our room once and that was to fold the dirty towels up and put them back on the rail, the floor was still as dirty as when we arrived after they had been in and we had no toilet paper all holiday, I had to buy it myself from the local supermarket. We also had our own towels pinched from outside our room, this was probably because we had washed them ourselves and some other room who had no clean towels either wanted them!!

This hotel is a disgrace and would not go back here if I was given a free holiday.

The staff are rude and unhelpful and no one wanted to know at all. Unless you like staying in a dump and don't mind cockroaches everywhere then I would not recommend staying here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: GLOBAL LATE DEALS

Leanne And Catherine
12 years 5 months ago
Catherine and I stayed in this hotel the only thing that redeemed this hotel was the location, really good night life. We'll definatly travel again to the same place DIFFERENT APPARTMENT ( already booked).

Bin men came in the early hous of the morning very loud and disruptive this would go on for aprox 15 to 20 min. The smell was really bad off the rotting drains. We only got about 5 min of hot water, 2 min of scollding water then it got icy cold.

I stayed in the hotel one morning and the cleaners came in no cleaning products were used and the floor was not even half swept SHE PICKED UP THE DIRTY TOWELS OFF THE FLOOR AND FOLDED THEM BACK ON THE RAIL AND ONE OF THEM WAS PLACED FOLDED NEATLY ON THE B DAY.

There was quite an abundence of cockroaches in the kitchen and bathroom. On the other hand out side of the hotel for the full two week we only saw one.

One morning the curtain rail came down by it's self we left it for some one to repair the rail but still it was hanging so does that mean that the cleaners have been or not bothered at what thy saw.

This place is NOT suitable for an animal never mind a human being. There was a member of staff who regularly watched hard core porn in the reception area and was caught on many occasions pleasuring him self. The night life was enough entertainment for me without doing public obsanaties.

This was very unsafe un clean and un maintained place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Unknown
12 years 8 months ago
My partner and I found the Guinea Apartments online and booked an apartment for 1 week. After booking, we were slightly worried after reading some of the reviews here but we had no need to worry, since the hotel turned out to be exactly what we wanted.

The front entrance of the hotel was not particularly inviting, especially since we first saw it arriving at 1:00 am, but don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Hotels

Recommended
Mike
12 years 8 months ago
Guinea Apartments have not been refurbished for a long time and everything seems very shabby, the fridge in my kitchen area didn't work.

Hot water was running only for 5 min, not enough to have a proper shower.

There is no locker room in the hotel and reception staff was very unhelpful about it, I was told to pay 20 Euros for room to keep my luggage there.

There is a bar downstairs, so loud music was blastering all day from there.

Location wise - Guinea is close to the central beach area if you don't mind steps.

I was staying just over a week but the apartment was only cleaned once, towels/bed was not changed.

I saw cockroaches in the kitchen.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: www.medhotels.com

Jo, Jen, Claire And Nik
12 years 9 months ago
The room was basic but adequate. The bathroom was adequate in size but the hot water supply was limited. The room was cleaned 3 times throughout the week.

The staff were helpful and all spoke English so there wasn't too much difficulty in communicating, they helped us arrange day trips and helped us obtain a kettle and toaster for our room.

The pool was cleaned daily and the location was excellent being literally minutes from the beach and the plaza shopping center.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Broadway Travel

Recommended
Carly N Gaz
13 years 2 months ago
I would say this apartment is suitable for all types of people especially those on a budget.

The apartments are basic but clean the maids were in everyday cleaning our rooms and giving us clean towels ect.

Pool was really clean and suitable for children and staff were pleasant.

The only down fall was that there was no entertainment whatsoever but otherwise it was well worth the money.

I would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday hotels

Recommended
Kaytony71
14 years ago
Just got back from these appartments and will glad of a quite nights sleep in a clean bed, people come home very noisy average time 04.00 to 05.00 and then go in the pool making as much noise as possable, that would not just be one group either, even after change overs it was always the same. the dustman came at 05.00 ish and again were very noisy.
The appartment was very basic, the bottom cubboards in the kitchen were rotten and we had to ask for clean sheets after a week, the ones we had were stained when we got there, we sleep on top of the bed it was cleaner.
On a plus side was the location to the beach, if you don't mind a lot of steps and the staff were friendly, the bar was closed.
This is very much a young persons place that just want somewhere to crash out

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: