Image of Waikiki Riu Hotel

Waikiki Riu Hotel

11 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Gran Canaria, 20, 35100 Playa del Inglés, Spain

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Perfect Hotel
5 years 3 months ago
Just back from the Waikiki after 10 days. What a great hotel. The food was marvellous with lots of choices, the staff were friendly and helpful and the in hotel entertainment was very good.

The hotel is in easy walking distance to the Yumbo centre, the Casba and the Chaperal. There is a free bus from the hotel to the beach although it is only about 1.5k.

We have stayed in 4 star hotels before and they were not as good as this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anna Ling
Good location and value for money
5 years 3 months ago
This hotel is really good value for money. It's all inclusive and whilst there is only one buffet restaurant, there is a great selection of food on offer and plenty of tables whenever you want them. Upon first arrival at the restaurant they will allocate you a "seating time" for dinner but in reality we turned up whenever we wanted and no-one minded a bit.

The swimming pool is big enough but unfortunately in the shadow of the next door RIU for a lot of the day so beds in the sun go very early (we were up by 8am every day and still had trouble sometimes).

Plenty of the usual daytime entertainment. Unfortunately the evening entertainment is pretty awful so we went out after dinner each night. There is a bar 100m away which does beer for 1euro - it's really friendly and do great quiz nights etc.

The location is great - 10 minutes’ walk to the beach, 1 minute walk from nearest shops and 5 minutes’ walk from main town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jane, Sue, Angie
7 years 6 months ago
food was varied,main dishes cooked in front of you, and whatever table you was given the 1st day that 1 is yours 4 the rest of your stay so no looking 4 a table which is good. hotel is very clean and staff very friendly.hotel is in the right place for short walk to the beach, or a nightly stroll to pubs "Big Bens" is the place to be... GinaG is great to see,especially if you join in, a very good act.. the yumbo centre is a 10 min walk and that is an eye opener we had quite a few nights down there.. Football was on while we were there England V Germany which was not quite so good as they hammered us 700 of them staying at the time we were there lol.we didn't see any entertainment so i cannot comment on that one.. the best thing of this hotel is that you serve yourself drinks apart from shorts n cocktail never long queues either which was good, something going off all day long if you want 2 participate
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
we have just come back from a 2 week stay here, and i have to say it was one of the best holidays we have had. we go as a family of 9 and there was something for everyone. the hotel was very clean the staff are very friendly and there was plenty of freshly cooked food all day!!
the only thing i didnt like was that there was plenty of sunbeds but there was also plenty of guests so you still have to get up early to reserve them. the hotel is mainly made up of german people and i found the hotel is more for them (e.g food).
we would go back to this hotel and would recomend it to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Peter, Hazel
8 years 9 months ago
stayed at this hotel for two weeks, very much a german hotel plenty of brits and others to make up the numbers, the hotel and rooms are all very clean if a little dated, the hotel could certainly do with a referb but no major faults, plenty of food at all times, lots cooked fresh, the best thing about this hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful, entertainment not to good but the animation team work very hard, the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the beach but a shuttle bus is available if required.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Jan & Dave Crookes
9 years ago
This hotel was absolutely fantastic right from the start of our holiday. All areas were cleaned on an ongoing basis all day , if the staff weren't serving they would be cleaning . The food was brilliant, plentiful, hot and the trays were changed with full ones when getting down to the last bits (not just topped up ), there was a huge selection for every ones taste from different salads with cold meats and fish to hot selections of meats ,pasta, rice etc., and different selections daily , it wasn't boring at all ! The hotel was a short bus ride to the beach but this was overcome by having a free shuttle service provided by the hotel , so that wasn't a problem.
The staff were all fantastic , polite, helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them . I had an accident while I was there and the staff pulled out all the stops to assist my wife and our family. I cannot fault them at all.
The entertainment wasn't very good at all,it was the "animation" crew, but we made our own anyway.
We would without doubt visit the Riu Waikiki again , hopefully quite soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Pam
9 years ago
Stayed at the Waikiki for New year and found it to be a very good hotel. It wasnt the best RIU hotel we have stayed in but still very good for. Food was great location was great and we had super weather, so yes I would recommend, enjoy and stop looking for faults
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Katie
9 years 6 months ago
All inc. was very good you could get your own drinks so there was waiting in line for drinks.
FOOD was very good what I liked was that if the trays were half empty they came and refilled and did not pour the leftovers onto the new food. Also, they checked the temp. of the hot food and if it wasnt right they took it away.
HOTEL was clean tidy rooms were cleaned everyday and properly.
LOCATION was ok would of liked to be closer to the beach.
STAFF were really friendly and made you feel welcome
ENTERTAINMENT the team were very good and funny if you wanted to join in then you could if not they didnt bother you. Evening entertainment was good but could of been more as it finished at 10:30pm
I would go again really enjoyed it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Jackie
10 years 2 months ago
We loved this hotel. Hotel is very clean with maid service everyday. Quite a lot of German guests but this is the same throughout the Canaries. Room was spacious and we had a pool view which was good.

Food was very good lots of it and very fresh and hot.Drinks and snacks were available all day included in the all inclusive.Entertainment was ok but we tended to go out most nights. There is lots to do in the surrounding area which is the main reason we booked the hotel.

Large clean pool although a little chilly.Free bus to the dunes.
Overall good value for money and nice hotel in a fab location.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Relaxabroad

Recommended
David Flint
11 years 2 months ago
Arrived early evening,checked in by a very helpful member of staff who also advised us that food was available up to 12pm if we were hungry.

Room itself was spotless and cleaned daily. The pool area was always clean and always plenty of sunbeds available.

Food available from 8am until 12midnight everyday, wonderful choice of foods.

I will definitely be visiting this hotel again,A1 service,A1 staff,mixed crowd of guests from German,
French, Scandinavian who where all friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Great location,close to Kasbah, Irish centre, Yumbo centre. All I can say to anyone thinking of going here is GO!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: