Image of Atalaya Apartments

Atalaya Apartments

25 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 43 reviews
2 stars
C/ Pedro Barba, 17 Puerto del Carmen Lanzarote Spain 35510

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul
9 years 2 months ago
these apartments are very clean ,cleaners in 4 days out of 7 . poolbar serves a range of snacks which are good enough for keeping hunger at bay (poolbar only at bottom pool by reception) , the apartments are in a perfect location if you prefer to be in the middle of things . a short walk left from reception and you are on main throughroad with options to either left or right . on arrival(early evening) guy on reception at first refused wife and i entry because we hadnt printed out confirmation of our booking(if booking online make sure you have this) and after sending us down street to find a hotel with internet (yes he was online as we spoke) to get the said confirmation he finally relented and settled for booking reference and admitted us . i dont know if couples rgularly turn up at atalaya and try to bluff afre weeks stay but i thought the reaction of staff member was a bit ott . fortunately it was all said and done and i must say rest of staff were very friendly and obliging remainder of week . i would have no qualms about recommending these apartments and would deffinitely return to use them again . its not the ritz but at price we paid great value for money ...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
Rob
9 years 2 months ago
This was our 1st visit to Lanzarote so I researched these apartments before going. The vast majority of people liked this complex and I have to agree. The room was cleaned 5 days a week and was basic but a good standard with a living/kitchen/dining room, bathroom with a bath and shower, and a bedroom (obviously!). There was a kettle, toaster and ironing board supplied and a safety box cost about 10 Euros for the 10 days we were there. This is insured for up to 600 Euros. I was a bit concerned as the bedroom overlooked the street but it was fairly quiet at night and not a problem. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and there was always someone on duty. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds (may be due to the credit crunch and time of year though). The location was good with a 2 minute walk to the main strip and a 10ish minute walk to the main beach. I would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On the beach

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
We were told on arrival that the complex was full and that only one room was left She was rather abrupt on reception and said that she could not do anything about it being on the ground floor even though I had requested a high floor.We got to the room and it was awful no privacy no sun she also said we wouldnt be able to change rooms.I was very unhappy so the following morning went to reception there was a different woman on and I explained the situation.She said she would speak to her manager and to come back at 9 0 clock.They gave us a room on the second level which was perfect sun all day lots of privacy.So always complain and avoid Room 103 like the plague
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Winter Sunshine Holidays

Recommended
Bill H
9 years 10 months ago

The rooms were cleaned every day during our 7 day holiday. Bed linen and towels were also changed as regularly as well.
Hotel staff, partic at reception all spoke English, were friendly and only too happy to help.
If you have difficulty walking and get a room on the top floor you will struggle. We asked for and got a room on the first floor because of my wife's knee problem and she coped well. The apartments and grounds were kept very clean with sunbeds put away every night. Ther is also a poolside cafe which did a steady trade in drinks and meals/snacks.
The apartments are a one minute walk from the main street in PdC - Avenida de las Playa - where you will find all the bars, clubs, cafes, restaurants, shops, kiosks, supermarkets, street vendors, etc. (Weather was also brillant, apart from first day when it rained so much Noah's Ark was spotted!)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Martina
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at these apartments for 2 weeks, having just returned today. My first impressions were not great. The gentleman on reception on our arrival was very arrogant and rude, the maid had no manners whatsoever and had no time or patience with the children. The only good thing was that there were 2 pools, one on the lower area and one on the top area. The childrens pool was very good in both locations. Another put off was the amount of steps you had to climb to get to the upper apartments. These are not suitable for anyone with any kind of disability or for older people. The apartments are excellently located just off the main promenade.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Slatterys/Stein

Kerry
10 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Atalaya apartments and were very happy with the room we had. Very spacious and had all you needed for a self catering holiday. We had an excellent sea view and also just above the pool. We were on the higher level but you did get used to the stairs and was actually good exercise.

The staff were very friendly and so helpful and rooms were cleaned 5 days per week and also to a high standard.

The sunbeds were a bit uncomfortable but we picked up some cushions at the local shop which helped.

There was no entertainment but this was actually quite nice as it was nice and quiet in the daytime and in the evenings there was plenty of bars and restaurants near by.

The spa is great and you can get all you need here. The apartments are also perfectly placed away from the madness of the strip. If you turn right at the end of the road, it leads to all the clubs but left is less hectic.

We did not like the resort much, a bit too mainstream but loved the harbour which was about a 45 minutes away with lovely fish restaurants and not a mcdonnalds or burger king in sight!

The Atalaya was perfect though and was the perfect setting for my wedding proposal!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Atalaya.

We arrived mid afternoon and although our room was not ready for us we were told it would only be a 30 minute wait.

We were invited to leave our bags in the locked luggage room and headed off to the restaurant just past the Spar supermarket for a drink and a bite to eat.

Our room was 81 steps up!! yes we did count them but it was so worth the hike. No good if you are less able bodied but brilliant if you are able.

On first impression the room was spotless and I mean spotless. Two single beds and fitted wardrobes were in the bedroom, along with two bedside tables and a dressing table, more than enough space to put your clothes away. Bathroom was next door, usual bidet, bath, loo and shower. Shower was brilliant so much power. Kitchen was very well equipped with kettle, toaster, two electric rings and fridge all of which was immaculately clean. There was ample plates, cups, glasses, cutlery, tin opener, juicer, teapot etc. We loved the balcony which was a good size, on this was 3 chairs and a table but there was still enough room for the three of us to lay down on towels and sunbathe. Our balcony overlooked the pool and the sea so was well worth the walk up the steps.

The maid changed our sheets and towels 3 times whilst we were there and we had to ask her for more blankets as it got a bit chilly at night, she returned within the hour laden with extra ones for us. Every day exept two the maid comes and cleans the whole apartment ours was very scrupulous and even did our breakfast dishes! I cannot say strongly enough how clean these apartments are.

The gardens are tended to every single day and there is not a flower or plant out of place. Unfortunately our teen was poorly on day two and needed medical help. Reception telephoned a doctor who arrived at our apartment within 15 minutes, he recovered well with treatment.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Barbara Barton
10 years 8 months ago
Great holiday apartment was spotless and maid service very good. Kitchen and bedroom had everything you would need for your stay, we even had an ironing board. Hotel staff were all very friendly.

The food at the pool bar was good more expensive than going out, but was good enough to have your dinner there while lying round the pool.

The shops are in walking distance and it was nice walking down the front.

The views were fantastic and there were lots of bar and places to eat, all very friendly. And yes I would go back to the hotel it was lovely.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Redfearn Family
10 years 8 months ago
Just arrived back from Lanzarote staying at the Atalaya Apartments in Puerto del Carmen, very pleased indeed.

On arrival we were allocated an apartment on the ground floor, however after speaking to the receptionist (literally 5 minutes) she had changed our room for one on a higher level...82 steps in all (but well worth the view). Maid service was superb! she really took pride in her work and even made ducks/swans out of the towels in the bathroom, one day she had even washed up our pots that we had left in the sink!!! The apartment we got had just recently had a brand new kitchen fitted, this was fabulous and even had microwave, kettle, toaster, ironing board...etc. Cleanliness of the hotel grounds was top notch, nothing was out of place every plant, garden areas were well maintained.

Not able to comment on the food as we always went out as the main area was within 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Although they did have a poolside bar area but this was only located on the ground level pool and not the upper level one.

Great location as just described but far enough away from the noise as the nights went on. There was a spar shop right outside the apartments and open from 8am to 10pm they had everything you could possibly need.

Staff were brilliant, spoke very good English helped with everything they could.

As far as we are aware their is no entertainment on within the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We booked a Lanzarote AOA Easter holiday only a couple of weeks before we went and were very pleased to end up at the Atalaya apartments.

The apartments are officially 2 keys but this is a very good 2 key complex and better than some 3 star-rated complexes we have stayed in before. Our only problem was finding it!

As the deal didn't include transfers, we hired a car at the airport for the week (I can recommend Autoreisen). Unfortunately, due to the so-so map provided by the Thomson rep and the many roads in Puerto del Carmen that are one-way only, we ended up going round in circles. What should have been a comfortable 15 minute drive to the apartments ended up taking us nearly an hour before we found them.

Our apartment was in complex B which is a hundred yards further back from complex A. It is also at the top of the much-mentioned external flight of stairs. Once there though, we could not complain about the apartment. It was spotlessly clean with a big south-facing terrace that had the sun on it all day.

It was also well-furnished and equipped with enough cutlery and crockery for 4 people, an electric toaster and kettle, a microwave oven, a two-ring ceramic electric hob and a fridge with freezer compartment. Most of these looked brand new. There was also an ironing board though you have to hire an iron from reception if you want to use it. You can also hire the use of the safe in the bedroom if you want to.

The apartment also had a portable television with some English-speaking satellite channels namely Eurosport, CNN, BBC World and Sky movies(Family).

The Atalaya apartments are a very well-maintained complex. Our apartment was cleaned 5 times in the week we were there and the bedding changed once. This is also one of the few complexes I've been to where they provide the loo rolls for your whole stay. As well as the interior cleaning, the terraces were hosed down a couple of times by staff and dead leaves swept up on an almost daily basis.

The views from our apartment and the pool area (nb. both complexes pools are unheated) were very nice with a pleasant open sea view above the low level roofs and palm trees leading down to the sea front. Being fairly high up from the road, it was quiet as well.

I would say that the location is almost ideal for anyone without transport as there is a Spar supermarket right at the bottom of the stairs leading down to the road and the complex is only a couple of hundred yards from the main promenade of Puerto del Carmen. Turn right onto the promenade and in less than 10 minutes easy walking you can be on the excellent Playa Grande beach.

I would have no problem going back to these apartments at all. In fact, staying at the Atalaya was a big factor in helping make our holiday a very enjoyable one. Easily recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: