Image of Plaza Palmeras Apartments

Plaza Palmeras Apartments

42 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 80 reviews
2 stars
Calle Anzuelo, 60, 35510 Puerto del Carmen - Tías (Lanzarote), Spain

80 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alison & Marc
Basic but convenient
7 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the Plaza Palmeras for the 3rd time in 7 years and it hasn't changed. It still needs some major TLC but the apartments are a good size, maids in 5 days a week, towels changed every other day and beds changed twice. There is now a modern kettle and toaster there but otherwise very basic 2 ring cooker, fridge, pay TV etc.

The pool area is kept very clean, the water in the pool is very clean and although the sun beds are locked up until 9.00am, no problem as they are plentiful and there is a lot of space around the pool to put them. I would add that they are very uncomfortable.

The reason we go back to these apartments is the location. Its a short walk downhill to the beach and the main area of Puerto del Carmen which has been enhanced since our last visit. There is a lovely promenade to stroll along in the evening and the restaurants/shops seemed to have smartened up because of it. The downside is the walk back up to the apartments but take it slowly and its no problem.

Favourite restaurant is still The Royal, which offered good value as did Pinocchio which is almost next door. Weather was very pleasant at this time of the year, no rain, and just a little breeze.

Entertainment very limited at the apartments but the guys that run the bar offer happy hour a couple of times during the day and are genuine nice guys always with a smile. If you are looking for somewhere to relax during the day and put your head down at night, these apartments are basic but convenient.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve O'connell
7 years 6 months ago
we stayed at the plaza palmera in june 2010,we found the appartment very basic but clean and comfortable.the staff were very helpfull and friendly and nothing was to much trouble,the pool bar was in need of some decent entertainmentbut the staff were very friendly and welcoming (tony and ali)over all exerlent value for money and we will return thanks to all the staff for a wonderfull stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
KW1972
7 years 6 months ago
We first stayed here in July 2009 and this was our second visit. We decided to return as it offered the best value for money when it came to booking our holiday. Again, we contacted the hotel in advance to ask for a high floor room opposite reception, which we were given on arrival. The room was actually much better than last year, at least we didn't have ants or a rusty fridge this time. There were a lot more groups of younger people here this year, but they were all well behaved. The rooms are basic and could still do with a lick of paint but we don't go on holiday to sit in the room. My only complaint about the room is the shower, it has no power and you have to shower in a trickle of water.

The pool area is exceptionally clean and is a lovely place to spend the day. However, the small childrens pool was closed for drainage repairs while we were there which was unfair on the families who had really small children. Luckily my 6 year old spent her time in the big pool an learned to swin in a few days!

The receptionists are always polite and friendly, as is the security man who always spoke when we returned on an evening, even in the early hours. Ali the bar man was still as friendly but a bit quieter than last year, I only managed to see him throw one person in the pool this year!

You can't beat the location, at the top of a hill but once you get to the bottom you are right in the middle of the strip which is handy for shops, bars and restaurants. Also about 200 meters down the road is a supermarket.

Our favourite restaurant is still Don Rafael's (was Lani's Cantina) on the main strip, although the head waiter managed to get our order wrong a number of times. Pinocchio's the Italian was also very nice. We tended to go to the Tequila Bar on a night, the staff there made us feel really welcome, although the Touts outside tried to get us in the other nightclubs/bars every night. As the week got on they became really annoying, why on earth would we want to go clubbing with a 6 year old?

Puerto Del Carmen seemed much quieter this year, but we have already booked to go back to the Plaza Palmeras next July.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Sunset

Recommended
Kelly & Maureen
7 years 9 months ago
Having just come back from the plaza palmeras for a weeks get away stay i was a bit worried about what to expect having read some reviews. I can honestly say that i couldn't fault the place, the appartments were clean but basic, the maids visited the rooms every other day and the beds were changed twice a week. We ate a couple of times in the pool bar and the food was of a good standard, there was also entertainment most nights at the bar but we ventured down town every night. The only thing i can advise people is to bring your own towels to shower with as the ones provided have seen better days. There was no mad rush for the sunbeds on a morning as i got up most days at 9ish and there was plenty left, even tho some of the sunbeds have seen better days! I think the people that are winging are just been very picky and should pay more money and stay somewhere different.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Plaza Palmeras Apartments
8 years 4 months ago
Just back from Plaza Palmeras. Our apartment was kept very clean throughout our 2 week stay. Pool cleaned everyday as well. Staff were very friendly, especially Ali, always got a smile on his face. There was a scramble for the sunloungers every morning at 9 sharp. Also, only about 10 parasols for the whole resort and people were putting their towels down around them before the sunloungers were even available in the morning (they are chained up overnight). This created a lot of tension.
One of the main problems was that anything additional needed to be hired. For example, a fan (no air con in the rooms) cost 32 euros for 2 weeks. Also toasters, microwave, hairdryers etc need to be hired. Tv was also limited as it worked by putting in a euro for 40 mins. Leaflet says you have channels 1 to 5 but only have channel 5.
Read some reviews before we came about cockroaches but we didnt see one. We were on top floor.
Evening entertainment wasn't anything special but would advise anyone to go to the pig racing on Sunday nights. Was a blast and a great laugh.
Overall great value for money, basic but you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
The appartments are centrally located in Puerto del Carmen and about a five minute walk down a quiet steep hill to the main promenade where you can find the restaurants, bars and shops. People who have difficulty walking may find it a struggle but there are plenty of taxis for approx 3 euros.
The hotel had an army of cleaners and the rooms were spotless and well maintained, our room was cleaned about four times a week and had the towels changed regularly. Pillows on the beds are a bit thin ,but you can request extra ones from reception. Extra items like fans and toasters can be hired from reception but as we were on the 2nd floor we left our bedroom and balcony windows open a little and this kept a steady draught going through and as the temp drops significantly at night time so you shouldnt get to warm in the rooms.
The pool bar is ok, Ali and Antonio are the jokers who work behind the bar and they do a great job at keeping people fed and watered, the bar area is huge but just seems to be lacking in something..there are a couple of pool tables and a video game or two to keep the kids occupied, but apart from that it is very much entertain yourself. And if you have young children this could prove tiresome, there are no safe play areas ie fake grass or swings on the complex and the child pool is fairly small and the big pool is fairly deep goes from a shallow end of about 4 feet to a deep end of over 7 feet so young children will have to very rigorously supervised. Also there are no kids entertainers on site although there are the usual reptile and birds of prey shows once a week.
Sunbeds and Umbrellas, a big problem.....there are only 9 static umbrellas for a complex with over 120 rooms, this proved such a problem that the beds were being padlocked to stop people claiming them early in the morning, but it didnt stop people coming down with the towels and sitting under them to stake their claim even while the pool cleaners were cleaning round about them. Also a fair percentage of the sun beds wre either cracked, broken or just generally dirty so you need to be carefull which ones you take.
Bar food was fairly good, especially the pizzas and pretty good value for money. A large beer cost 2.50 Euros but strangely went up to 3 Euros during happy hour. The bar closes round about midnight but if there is a good crowd will stay open.
Cleanliness around the bar area was sometimes lacking, ie food debris on floor and tables dirty but on the whole ok.
There was entertanment on some nights but this wasnt of a particularly high standard. The exception to this was the "Pig Racing night" I wont give to much away but it was fantastic and well worth going to.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Wood
8 years 5 months ago
I contacted the Plaza Palmeras before our trip to request a room with a balcony, rather than a terrace. I had also read reviews where people experienced cockroaches so I thought being on a higher floor might prevent this. When we arrived I was pleased that we were given a room on the second floor opposite reception. Compared to other apartments we have stayed at the rooms were really small. To cut a long story short it didn't take long to notice that we had ants, not just on the floor but also on the worktops around the sink, this was before we had purchased any food. The fridge was really rusty on the outside and had a terrible chemical smell inside. The shower rail fell off the wall twice when the curtain was pulled along, and worse of all the shower came away from the wall when the water pressure was too much, so you had to shower in a trickle of water. Although it was supposed to be a self-catering apartment there was no toaster or microwave provided. We didn't end up buying any food to cook with anyway and prefered to eat out. We did buy a pint of milk that curdled in the fridge within 2 days.

The apartments are excellently located near to the main strip and beach. Everyone mentions the hill, but it is nothing, our 6 year old managed it numerous times during the day in 40 degree heat!

The reception staff are really friendly as are the bar staff. The best thing about the Plaza Palmeras is the pool area, very large and clean.

We have been to Puerto del Camen twice now and our favourite restaurant was Lani's Cantina without a doubt. It might be slightly more expensive than other places but you do pay for the quality. It was also good for a breakfast, 2.50 Euro!!

We will be returning to PDC next year but will book into the Cinco Plaza which is next door. It looked twice as nice!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset/Thomas Cook

Debbie Roome
8 years 5 months ago
I am just back from Plaza Palmera in Lanzarote. The apartments were very clean and secure. The staff were very friendly.

although the entertainment in the hotel was not really my cup of tea it was good for the families and we did have a drink in the hotel/pool bar at night which was good.

All in all I really can't fault the Plaza Palmera and I would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Louise Hughes
8 years 11 months ago
the location is ok although on a steep hill.the road works at the bottom of the hill was a nightmare though with the bottom of our road completely blocked off so do be carefull if you are able to go out.the hotel itself is clean and the pool side is keep clean and tidy.the reception staff are friendly enough untill you want to complaine about something then they dont seem to want to know.no entertainment all week again.(we went last jan 08 and there wasnt any on then either).i wouldnt go back again to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Clare
8 years 11 months ago
The rooms are very basic, you dont even get a toaster or microwave, you can hire these but its a complete rip off 18 euros for a microwave and 7 for a toaster. The tv is a complete skank too 1 euro for 40 mins and doesnt work half of the time.
We had our laptop stolen from the room the second night, there were bars on the windows that no one could fit through so it had to be someone with a key if you know what I mean who had spotted during cleaning. Reported this to reception staff who were very unsympathetic and didnt care.
The rep not one bit helpful either complete waste of space. We were told by the rep that no one else had anything stolen before only to find out from another holiday maker that ours was the fifth robery that week.
Would not go back ir you paid me !!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: