Image of California Apartments

California Apartments

29 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
2 stars
Calle Noelia Afonso Cabrera, 2, 38660 Playa de las Américas - Arona, Spain
Centrally positioned in the heart of Playa de las Americas‚ surrounded by restaurants‚ bars and shops‚ these apartments provide simple‚ conventional accommodation. The California Apartments is an ideal base for those who want to live it up in this lively resort.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
McFarthing
Rooms very basic yet clean
7 years ago
We stayed in California Apartments for New Year.

Room very basic but clean. The apartments were filled with noisy young people who at times got a bit abusive.

We did not feel safe and would not go back again. If you are under 25 they would be ok.

The staff are very good and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
8 years 9 months ago
Booked studio with Alpha Rooms, when arrived were allocated a 1 bedroom apartment.
Accommodation was of a good standard with everything needed for an excellent self catering holiday if you wanted to cook in apartment. Maid service was very good and daily, though 2 of these days were to empty the bins only.
Pool area is quite small though there were plenty of loungers, would imagine it to get very busy in high season.
The apartments have a bar which was very quiet, the snacks served there were good.
Location is very central with just a short walk to many bars, restaurants and shops.
Oh La La which is across the road is excellant for a coffee. HiperDino supermarket is next door to this and stocks everything needed, found it very reasonably priced and used by the locals.
Many good restuarants to choose from, we particularly enjoyed Michaelangelos and Giddy Goose (both close to the California) and The Bistro in LC is excellant.
We used the public service bus (488) to and from the airport to the apartments, bus stop is just outside and excellent value at 2.5 euros each. Buses run every half an hour.
Would not hesitate to stay again in these apartments for a Winter break.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
ERO
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed once again at the California in January and I have no reason to change my previous good reviews on these apartments, they are basic but well kept and clean. The reception area has been altered since last year giving a more open plan effect. I have no gripes however I originally booked this holiday for my wife and myself as a package with Thomas Cook and a few months later my sister in law booked a week privately through Holiday Nights and flew out with us on same flight. When we arrived the receptionist said my wife and I were OK but due to a technical problem my sister in law was being 'upgraded' to the nearby Columbus. To cut along story short my wife (normally non confrontational and leaves all that to me) kicked up a stink which resulted in the manageress coming to see us and after some strong protests she backed down and lo and behold even managed to get my sister in law a room 2 doors from us. We were told by nearby bar staff that this happens regularly at the California as Scandic companies pay more for the rooms the independent travelling UK guests get bumped elsewhere. This is fine if it suits you but some people have been moved to Compostella Beach Apts which are not central at all.

I actually saw other UK arrivals being told of this 'technical problem' package travellers seem OK its only the independent ones that get moved. Worth bearing in mind if it happens to you and you dont want to go stand your ground they will back down and then move someone else.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jane
10 years 1 month ago
Third time staying at the California apartments. Great location, lovely large sunny balconies. Good places to eat nearby and supermarkets 100 yards away if you really want to cook! Heard it is full of teenagers in the summer but we always go November or January when it is mainly couples in 40-50 age group. Trying to book for 2008 but it is always fully booked as it is not a big place and soon gets booked up with many holidaymakers going back year after year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
ERO
10 years 11 months ago
I have stayed at these apartments 3 times (always in January) and have always found them to be well cleaned if a little basic. The studios are quite large and balconies always get the sun. They are fairly well equipped compared to other places I have stayed. The apartments are fine for a winter week break, however as there is no aircon I would imagine they would be very hot in summer, we had to open patio door at night to let some air in when we staggered in from the Sax Bar or Dubliner in the early hours.

For excellent breakfast or lunch visit the California bar (1st bar on your left as you go towards Apartments from main road. Dave and Mary will make you very welcome.


The California apartments have an excellent maid service and are fine for a week but I dont think I would stay there for 2 weeks, but I would stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dan Bushell
12 years 4 months ago
I just got back and i had the best time off my life! I think this is definitely a place to stay for a lads, girls holiday or young couples. Greg our rep was the daddy!

Thomson offer a banana card block in the welcome meeting and id say it is EXTREMELY WORTH IT for 200 euros you get entertainment for 5 day/nights of the week most including a free bar which we took full advantage of!!

As for the hotel itself it's really nice for the price!

Your room gets cleaned 5 of 7 days.

The pools clean and the rest of the hotel is mint!

All the staff were amazing apart from after 11pm the guy on the desk lol all he can say is the word "key" and a whole bunch of abuse if you come back drunk n jump in the pool lol.

There's great places all round to eat there's a 24 hour mini market right next door n one more to the left of that is a lovely English bar which severs all English food all day called the California bar I really recommend that.

As for the night life definitely go to Veronica strip and go to Tramps night club it's purely amazing!

Well I'm just about to book up to go again in a few weeks so I'm off cheers hope you take my advise, this hotel is an overall 9/10 for me
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Lisa
12 years 6 months ago
The thing I liked most about this hotel is it was clean. You were supplied with new towels every day.

There is plenty of places to eat surrounding this hotel.

There is a pool bar which is open 10-6 and serves chips and toasties.

The hotel staff seemed friendly and the rep Greg was great fun.

There is no entertainment on a night round this pool.

This hotel is best suited for couples and groups of friends not families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Abbie
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel was basic but clean and the staff were really friendly.

The only thing that really bothered me overall about the holiday was simply that I didn't feel very safe walking about due to muggings that happened and quite often . I personally did not experianvce this but someone was mugged in the hotel car park.

The hotel is not really suitable for families as there is no entertainment and the bar is only open during the daytime. A good bar was the Royal just around the corner kareoke and comedians were good fun.

There did seem to be a lot of trouble in the hotel between the hours of 2-5 mainly people coming in drunk but it was loud and quite intimidating (the welsh girl screaming at 5 in the morning and banging on everyones doors u know who you are).

Beside this the hotel was of a good standard the rep Greg was cool and we had a fun holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Vickie
13 years 7 months ago
Overall the hotel was very basic.
We did not appreciate the waste disposal being collected daily at 3am as they made far too much noise.

No entertainment in the hotel at night or bar open.

However the staff were very friendly and the hotel was spotless.

But please note: We once came out of the room with the keys left in the door on the inside and the door locked shut. To our surprise we were told there were no spare keys and the staff had to get a janitor to climb through a window and it seemed to be no bigger than a letter box!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places/Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices