Image of Green Garden Resort & Suites

Green Garden Resort & Suites

37 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
3 stars
Calle Landa Golf, 1, 38650 Playa de las Américas, Spain

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Margaret Park
18 years 11 months ago
Our 1st impression was Fantastic, we originally booked a 2 bedroom appartment, but was allocated 2 seperate 1 bed adjoining appartments, overlooking the Golf Course, the Appartments are lovely one of the nicest we have stayed in, the complex is very nice plenty of sunbeds, which are all taken by 8am!!

They have a no cash policy, you use your room card to buy from the shop and pool bar, but be carefull as you can get carried away, my advise is to pay your 'bill' every couple of days.

The pools are lovely but a bit over run with lilo's and balls, its a shame 1 pool is not 'lilo free' pool, this would allow those without kids to swim in peace.

The Hotel is a bit out of the way, a good half hour walk to Town we opted for the easier option of Taxi's each night and there is a taxi rank right outside! But by the end of the 2 weeks we had paid out approx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

L Phillips
18 years 11 months ago
Was glad to see that the brochure lived up to the accommodation!

We stayed in a 2 bed duplex apartment right next door to the mini marketand right opposite the swimming pools. The apartment was extremely spacious and very well kept.

Our maid Gladys ensured she did a thorough clean on each visit. As per other reviews, you did have to get up early and reserve a sun bed, otherwise none left.

The hotel staff were very helpful, and all requests were dealt with promptly. Did not see any of the entertainment but could clearly hear it! Some were good, and some definitely bad!

The only downside to this complex was that there was not enough for the children to do, the place could benefit from some sort of childrens club.

Was also surprised not to see a microwave in the apartment. Overall, the holiday was a pleasant one, and we too did hear of two break in's and like others thought it could be an inside job. However, this has not deterred us from wanting to come back again in the future even though the complex is a little out of the way.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
18 years 11 months ago
This is the worst holiday we have ever had!!!!!

Upon our arrival I spent the first hour in reception as our balcony sliding doors didn't lock and also the wooden spindle was hanging loose on the balcony (not a good idea with 2 children) To be fair both of these were fixed that evening but also the dining table in the apt was damaged and that was also reported.

Apart for that these apts LOOK nice although as stated in other reviews security is a big issue. There were at least 3 brake in's whilst we were there and as the children sleep in the other end of the apt we did wedge the sofa bed up against the sliding door (shouldn't have to do things like this on a 4star complex)

Apts appear to be clean but not upon closer inspection, the stairs to our apts were not brushed once during our 2wk stay and the apts don't have a broom or I would have done it myself.

We returned for a night out to find our apt over run with ants (500+) along with the odd cockroach and raw sewage in the shower tray. They offered us 2 separate apts as they didn't have one for the four of us that would have meant splitting up overnight but as it was after midnight we declined and spent over 3 hrs sorting it ourselves!!!

Also the apts have NO AIR COND the temps during our stay reached 107 which was ridiculous as apart from no air cond you can't leave the windows open for fear of being burgled and there is no other form of ventilation! You can hire fans for 2.50 euro per day but these are noisy. You can also hire the TV remote for a deposit of 12 euro and 3 euro per day along with the safety deposit boxes again approx 3 euro per day with a 35 euro deposit. Considering the crime within the complex these should be free!!!!

The complex operates a no cash policy which again appears to be good but please check what you are paying for as we were charged 3 diff prices for a coke at the bar and other people also had discrepancies with their bills.

The pool area became very busy and often not enough room to swing a cat.

Although it states you can't reserve sunbeds people do and don't return for hours upon end leaving the beds empty all day with just the offending towels for company!

The service in the bar is very slow and the beer was flat for the full 2 weeks, prices were ok but 6 euro for a Bacardi and coke was pushing it!

The only good thing about our hol was the weather!!!
We would never stay in these apts again!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Susan N
19 years ago
The apartments were large and clean with good facilities,mainly bungalows,we were lucky enough to have a great view of the golf course.

The pool area was lovely but there is no shallow end(1.45m to 1.55m) which is difficult for small children although there is a very small baby pool.

Very quiet at night as there is little evening entertainment but that makes a nice change from the usual holiday karaoke, etc.

There is family entertainment at the Compostella Golf 111 which is only about 3 mins away, so the best of both worlds.

The main resort is about 15mins walk but taxis are cheap and a bit hair raising if you need them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Barrhead Travel

Recommended
P. Ferguson
19 years ago
My rating for this accommodation would have been 'excellent' but for the disregard of the guests' personal safety.

There are patio doors in this resort that are NOT secure. Robbery is not uncommon but we only found this out after we were robbed. Do not think "I've got insurance, I'll get a security box...so it's OK"

You WILL NOT get over the fact that a person will break into your room and walk past your sleeping kids and into your bedroom to steal stuff from your bedside table. They knew what they were doing and so unsurprisingly we have found out that we were not the first.

Bar and other staff were friendly and polite but do not rely on the hotel to be of any assistance if you get robbed: Reception staff were obstructive and actually lied to us: Presumably to keep police out of the hotel.

Call 112 for the police immediately if anything happens.

Green Golf could be great if they spent a few pounds on security per door. But they didn't....so:

AT GREEN GOLF CROOKS CAN GET IN YOUR APARTMENT VERY EASILY....YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Barrhead Travel

Moore Party
19 years ago
The Green Golf is a beautiful complex. Well kept gardens and apartments are clean enough.

Security is an issue though, we had read previous reports which made us very wary. The doors & windows are not secure so I would advise that no valuables are left in the apartments.

The sunbeds are also a big issue, people do put towels down and they maybe don't arrive until mid afternoon. The RESIDENTS seem to be the bigest culprits of this.

The restaurant is adequate but a bit over priced compared to the restaurants in town but this is to be expected.

Entertainment - Very basic, not much life about them at all. Nothing that really makes the crowd interact with each other.

The location is a bit out of the way but the taxi rank is just outside and they are very cheap so this is not really a problem.

There is a small area for children to play but it could do with a bit of lighting as it is dark at night and the kids so seem to play here while the adults have a drink at the bar.

Overall this is a nice resort and I would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Neil Kemp
19 years ago
We stayed at the Green Golf for 2 weeks at the end of July. It has to be one of the best self catering holidays that we have taken.

We had a 2 bedroom duplex room that was very clean, very spacious and had excellent kitchen facilities. The whole complex including the pools were kept in immaculate condition at all times.

The only downside was the evening entertainment which usually consisted of female vocal singers singing Abba songs. We went to the Compostella, a hotel at the bottom of the road, a couple of times to see their entertainment.
We also found that in the first week of the school holidays got very busy especially around the pools.

It's a pity one pool could not be used for ball games and lilos and the other pool for children and people who wanted to swim.

The location of the hotel was ideal for us as it was only a five minute taxi ride to and from the centre of Playa. After a night out in Playa or Los Chritianos it was very nice to go back to the peaceful setting of the Green Golf.

We would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact we have just booked to go back next year for 2 weeks.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Karen
19 years ago
Lovely clean spacious apartments and nice pool area which was not over busy.

A good 20 minute walk to the resort centre ok early evenings, but not advisable to walk home after midnight as a few undesirables on the road side. However taxis only cheap around 3 - 5 euros.

Entertainment was not good but ok to return for a drink after visiting the resort. The "no cash" basis worked well for us, was easy to check your balance and just settle the bill at the end of the stay.

Security was an issue, we had to chase someone from our balcony at 5:20 in morning trying to get in, and unfortunately he managed to break in to another couple of rooms. I would suggest report it immediately if in any doubt about doors windows etc not shutting securely.

Food was a bit pricey compared to rest of resort however it was very good.

All in all was a very good complex apart from the security issue but I would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Steve
19 years ago
We went to the Green Golf Resort as a result of the past positive comments on this, and similar websites. I feel however, that although true at the time, the resort has gone down hill a little since.

We occupied one of the duplexes at the front of the resort which looked onto the main road.

The apartment itself looked on first impressions very impressive with a downspiral staircase to the main bedroom and en-suite below. But the more we stayed there the more faults we found, and I think it was down more to the hotel ownersy not renovating and replenshing furniture, cookware etc than anything else.

Things like the settees in the living room had collapsed springs, the en-suite shower head was hanging loose, tiles missing in the en-suite, door knobs missing from doors, and pots and pans seeing better days.

Have to say however that the cleaners were fantastic, and left the rooms spotless every time they came in.

The main rpoblem we had was the noise from the building work taking place opposite the hotel complex. We were disturbed from 8am in the morning with pneumatic drills, grinders, vehicles coming and going and the noise of the crane screeching as it moved.( When you hear it you will know what I mean ! )

We complained to the First Choice rep, who offered to move us within the partment block and even to the single bedroom apartments, and thank god we didnt, as we were there when the burglaries took place in those same apartments.

I would advise anyone going there to take advantage of the safety deposit box system which costs you about 2.5 euros per day with a 30 euro returnable deposit.

The taxis were a shot in the dark when it came to costs of getting anywhere, they almost made up their own figures, but it ranged from 4 - 6 euros to get into los Critianos/Playas. This is depsite the fact that the taxis are metered.

There is a free bus service to and from the hotel to Los Cristianos, but it stops at 5.10pm which is silly.

The entertainment was pathetic - and didnt keep many people entereained,and because you are so far out of town, keeping teenagers happy can be difficult unless you're willing to go into town every night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they sorted out their decor,facilities and a method of getting to town and back cheaply - ( subsidised taxis ? ) AND until that building work is finished !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sarah
19 years 1 month ago
The appartments were very clean, we had a 1st floor appartment with two balconys, one facing the sea, the second facing the hills which were great views.

Two appartments were burgled whilst we were there, both being ground floor and facing the golf course, however did speak to young girls who had it and they left door open to air!!

You have windows or doors, then shutters over top, we had both locked at all times when not in appartment, several left doors or windows open and just pulled to the shutters!just lock up why take a chance.

The entertaiment bit tiring to listen to every night, women singing along to music, however being fare she had plesant voice.

The pool area really clean beautiful with all the plants around and well tended to, no life guard or anyone watching the antics that got up to tho that was frustrating at times, as ball games did get out of hand and ball hit people on loungers several times and if it hit you it HURT.

Would be an idea to have one pool for swimming, one for games, lilos, rings ect.

Great complex for couples, adults, we were just relieved we did not have our kids with us on this week break as they would have been bored to tears here, like most childrens faces that were there, there was nothing for them apart from the pool and two pool tables and one table tennis table, for tots a little area with a swing.

I would advise no one to take kids here unless you are going to entertain them yourselves 24/7. My children would have hated it they are 17, 14, 13.

Hotel staff ok, however cleaners hard working and always smiling.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.