Image of Sol Tenerife Hotel

Sol Tenerife Hotel

41 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Avda Rafael Puig, 12 Playa de Las Americas 38660 Tenerife EspaƱa, 38660 Playa de Las Americas, Spain

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Trish Richards
Enjoyable holiday
6 years 4 months ago
My mum and I stayed in this hotel in September and totally enjoyed ourselves. The food was lovely, plenty of choice both for breakfast and evening meal. The dining room was massive.

Hotel was really clean, as was our room on the first floor. Towels were changed every day except Sunday.

The location was fantastic, right on the sea front, with bars and restaurants near by. The hotel staff were very friendly, anything you needed you got almost straight away. We went out most evenings, but the nights we stayed in the entertainment was quite good, singers, Chinese balancing acts. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tilbury
7 years 11 months ago
very enjoyable,alwrite food,entertainment quiet parrot show very good.hotel pleasant and clean,two nice pools one heated lots of sun beds,just walk through gardens to sea turn left for long sea front strol or right for nice beach. i shall return.....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
Paulo Macdonald
9 years ago
This is the third year at this hotel and althought the general standard was good and the same as previous years, I must say that the fgood had deteriorated since last year. Breakfast in particular was very poor. Only one toaster was working for most of our two weeks stay. The fruit juice was very poor and the coffee very bitter and tasted of chicory more than anything else. The hot food was limited with watery scrambled egg and watery partly cooked bacon. The sausages, when provided were small and hard. The only thing that tasted good was the baaked beans.
We had two gala meals at Xmas and New Year and they were excellent with free wine provided. As much as you wanted as well!
Evening meals were generally O.K. with a good variety of meats and A lot of fish on most days.
Hotel wine was not expensive and started at about six euros a bottle.
We had the usual noise from Veronicas next door but it didn't seem as bad as previoius years.
Next time I'm going to try the Bitacora hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Moira Martin
10 years 2 months ago
I have to be honest and say after reading various reviews before i tavelled to this hotel i was slightly anxious but i have just got back and can honestly say i cannot omplasin about anything. It right on the beach but if u want snd u walk a few yards and its there. Its clean inside and out and the staff are lovely even down to the ladies down the rooms each day. there is entertainment during the day by the pool (fashion show and falconry shows) It is next to the Veronicas but if u get Torre B u cannot hear anything and it is so peacefull..not even a lot of traffic noise. People have complained in reviews about the food. Maybe it could have done being a little hotter but it was perfectly fine and quite a lot of veriety and there is a microwave if u want to use it. All in all i would go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
Booked this holiday 7 days before travelling, very good price. Bit dubious as the proximity to Veronicas is closer than close!!!

Seasoned travellers to the Island, have stayed Torviscas Playa, Vulcano. Bahia Principe, Caladonia Park.

All in all we enjoyed it, the Island is very quiet.The rooms are very small and a bit on the grotty side, but the public rooms are very well decorated.

I would not choose this hotel during the summer months, again, only due to the location, we did'nt use the pool, it was too cold.

The food was ok, nobody eats to restaurant standard at home (good luck to you if you do!) there was a good choice at Breakfast and at the Evening Meal, i.e. couple of meats, fish, salads and potatoes. Nice choice of cakes for dessert.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Palm travel

Recommended
Margaret Cox
11 years ago
The room we had was on the 10th floor which was a great view but they do seem to have a problem with 1 of the lifts breaking down but we did not let that bother us.

The hotel was spotless and theer always seems to be housekeepers on for anything that you need.

Reception staff were really very nice and nothing was too much bother.

The food was fine and plenty of choice you can always find something to eat.

The location is right on the beach so out the back gate and you are on the promenade.

As for the entertainment I could not tell you as we went out at night.

Yes and sunbeds are very hard to come by as they are taking very early in the morning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Tracey
11 years 4 months ago
I am just back from a sol tenerife with my mum and 15 year old little brother. We did have a good holiday! i had read some bad reports so was prepared for the worst but was pleasantly suprised!

On arrival there was a bit of confusion with our room but that was quickly sorted out!! My first impressions of the reception area was yes a bit dull but very clean and presentable! The first receptionist spoke little english but someone assisted her and they understood me!

We had two rooms and the room where quite small but big enough for two! not enough room for three though! the room was kept clean, the maid we had was very friendly even though she couldnt speak english! she changed our towels every second day! the general cleanliness of the hotel was of good standard also!

The hotel food was average! there was a lot of selection! most things were meat however, which i dont really eat meat and i am a bit funny as to what i will eat abroad anyway! i could still find something to my satisfaction though!! the waiters were very friendly and they really do work hard! In fact, all hotel staff i found to be very friendly and hard working!

The entertainment team were great they worked hard during the day and at night! dont think they take any time off!! quiet pleasant at night to sit and watch them with a drink! However, what i didnt realise was at night it got a bit chilly and windy!! perhaps, becasue the hotel and pool area are practically on the sea!!

Did not have a problem getting a sunbed!! we would go down at 9.30 - 10am and would get one fine!! they are stacked up and you just position them where ever you like!

We were in Block B which was quiet noisy at night!! However, this did not bother me or my brother but my mum did find it hard sleeping as it went on all night!! i do believe, after talking to other guests that if you asked to be moved to the other side they done it without a problem! and the other block is meant to be quieter!! Apart from the noise the hotel is in an excellent location!! very central slap bang in the middle!!

i enjoyed my stay in sol tenerife but everyone will have a different opinion! depends what you are used to and what you are looking for!! On the last day i spoke to an elderly couple who were very upset about there stay here! the noise and the food were their main complaints!

i would go back and stay at this hotel again but next time i will go with my friends so i can check out the disco scene! and i think i would go self catering as i would like to have ate out somewhere different each night as it is not that expensive and believe the food would be of higher standards!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fly Globespan

Recommended
Siobhan Dougan
11 years 6 months ago
on arrival we were allocated room looking onto veronicas on the first night we found the room particularly noisy. we asked to be moved first thing next day which staff were more than happy to accomodate.
the room was lovely and clean, and staff were very friendly.location was very central, and a short walk to the beach. cant comment on hotel entertainment as we were out every night.great selection of food, would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Sheila Clarke
11 years 7 months ago
Hotel room dirty not like picture in brochure. I think they are in the process of refurbishing hotel found out at end of stay that the second building is nice inside.

Pool dirty black mould around water level in all three pools.

Food worse ever had never complained before but this was bad alright if you like mix veg/runner beans/broccoli for breakfast.

Bedlinen never changed sheets turned upside downown because blood from foot ended at top of bed.

Lifts constantly breaking down glad to be home never go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Martin
11 years 8 months ago
The Sol Tenerife is definatley not a child friendly hotel, little entertainment for children and very little to interest them in the dining room.

The room was clean and well maintained but as we had our 6 year old Grandson in with us they just pushed in another bed which left us like the 3 little bears.

Whilst the pools and surrounding area are very good getting a sunbed was impossible as they were all claimed well before breakfast. No Thomas Cook rep at hotel or even English Thomas Cook notice.

Beware if watching the Parrot Show in the hotel, the pictures you pay for do not materialise and you will have thrown 10 euros down the drain.

Good location - would visit hotel again but not with children or food included.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices