Image of Olympic Park Hotel

Olympic Park Hotel

30 of 33 hotels in Lloret de Mar

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda del Camí de l'Àngel, 50, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
A large, spacious hotel, the Olympic Park is a great choice for an active holiday, with a wide range of facilities for sports enthusiasts and ideal for families. The centre of Lloret de Mar is nearby with numerous bars and restaurants.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Irene And Mick
11 years 3 months ago
Our hotel was actually the Olympic Gardens which is part of the Olympic Park and Suites complex but is not mentioned. Though the hotel was lovely we found that we were about the only English people in the Olympic Gardens. Everyone was either German, French or Spanish who we found to be very ignorant. The staff apart from the headwaiter didn't seem to smile or be willing to help. I feel that the hotel is geared towards the other Europeans and not the English. We would not advise English to go to this Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

John
11 years 3 months ago
if anyone who reads comments before arranging their holiday destination and hotel then please do not do what myself and brother did and ignore them. we booked this hotel on the basis of it being 4**** believe me this is as far from the truth as you could get it,yes the hotel was clean and tidy but thats where it all ends,the food was unedible most days. breakfast we settled for a buttered roll and coffee,lunch after the first day we ate out and evening meals again we spent more money eating out than sitting in what i can only describe as a works canteen. the entertainment during our two week stay was to put it mildly non existent,comprising of an hour in the evening with a few boy/girl dance routines followed by nothing else,the main dance floor was full of german/french come dancing couples because the enterainment was of a single guy playing a casio organ very badly and not knowing any english at all and as for the staff/bartenders well if you were english and all inclusive you were treated as second classed citizens totally ignored if anyone was playing for thier drinks then they took priority even if you had been waiting long before they came to the bar you are ignored,im afraid i wish i could say something nice but im not prepared to lie and give people the impression this hotel is anything like it says in the brochers believe me its not. stay well away thats my advice
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

11 years 3 months ago
We were sent to the Hotel Olympic Park,Lloret De Mar, having actually booked The Aquamarina Hotel in Santa Sussana. It was only on arrival at Gerona airport, we were informed our chosen hotel was fully booked.
We were booked in as half board and I was happy with the choice and type of food available always a meat, fish or pasta dish available and an open gril with a chef cooking ribs/steaks etc. The breakfasts were standard spanish hotel breakfasts all ok again.
The hotel is a 4 star and although I was happy with the hotel I would say it is more towards a 3 star simply bacause it is in need of a little upgrade. The furniture and windows/doors on our room balcony looked a ittle old and worn and the reception area and lifts could do with upgrading but the general hotel areas all ok.
The location of the hotel is set back from the main resort about a 10/15 min walk to the main bars which didnt bother us as we have small children and it meant there was no noise at night. The beach is another 5 minutes on the other side of the resort centre.
The Hotel staff were all fine and friendly the cleaning staff especially were always pleasant and did a good job of cleaning our room.
The Entertainment in the main bar in our hotel was aimed at the older people in the hotel with usally a singer or keyboard player for them to dance to but there was another area in the room between the Olympic Park Hotel and Olmpic Gardens Hotel that had the childrens entertainers/dancing and night time shows - The Bejing Acrobats show was the best show whilst we were there and I would recommend this if you get chance to see it. The only slight whinge about this room was all drinks had to be in plastic glasses.
Alot of the other reports I have read about this hotel have said that the hotel had alot of dutch and french guests and whilst this is true we had no problem. There was also a good mix of UK guests too.
The best part of the Olympic Park Hotel is the swimming pools of which there are three outdoor pools and one indoor.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Donna
11 years 5 months ago
My family and I stayed half board and basically it catered and was full of people from italy france netherlands and germany The food was basically the same every night Unless you liked foreign food. The rooms where cleaned everyday but the maids where only allowed 10mins max to do it so otherwise it was only a quick lick. Most of the staff where ignorant and arrogant Treated UK people like trash. The entertainment was ok if you could understand it as again it wasn't in english.It was situated ok about 10min walk to centre of town that was the best thing about it Its location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Dear
11 years 7 months ago
In our group were my husband (age 50),myself(age 49),my daughter(age 27), my son-in-law(age 32) and our grandaughter aged 10 months.We stayed in The Olmpic Garden on a half board basis.

We had read bad reviews on this hotel and are pleased to say that we found it to be a pleasant and enjoyable holiday.

On arrival at reception we received a good welcome. We had rooms next to each other on the 2nd floor, which overlooked the main road that became quite noisy at 7.30am with traffic as there is a school/college opposite, but were cleaned every day and clean linen and towels were provided.

The food was hot and there was always a choice,some evenings you had to wait 5 or 10 mnutes to be seated, but the dining room was always clean and the staff cleared tables very quickly. Yes I do agree with other peoples comments in reviews that the majority of guests were Spanish, German and French but we did not find this spoilt our holiday in any way.

We didn't stay in the hotel in the evenings for the entertainment as we walked into the centre of Lloret which took us about 15 minutes. The location of the hotel was ideal for us as we enjoyed the walk into Lloret centre. The pool areas are kept clean and there were plenty of sunbeds, (perhaps this is because we went in May and not high season).

We would return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway Travel

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
Just returned from 2 weeks.

This hotel is not 4 star quality, the position is poor, about 15 to 20 mins to walk to the beach.

Cleanliness generally good, though the furniture in the public areas was dirty particularly in the main lobby (though they were replacing this on the day before we went home) The chairs in the dining room are dirty and the tables in the entertainment area were disgustingly sticky!

The bedroom/bathroom was reasonably comfortable and clean, but thin walls means it could be noisy especially with screaming kids next door!

There were a lot of French, Spanish people, with a smattering of Dutch and German, plus quite a few Brits.....The food was generally poor, and not up to the standard we have usually found in Spain....choice very limited.

The pool areas were ok, and some of the bar staff were nice.

In the 2 weeks we stayed, there were about 3 evenings that had good acts on in the entertainment area, the other evenings the entertainment was the poorest we have come across......The NOISE in the room was deafening, the speaker system far too loud.

We go to Spain probably 4 times a year, and apart from the Gregio Mar in Terrormolinos (!!!!) the Olympic Park was the worst overall that we have ever stayed in.....perhaps we were particularly unlucky with the other 'guests' staying at the time, parents letting their screaming kids run uncontrolled around the hotel, and having no consideration for others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

S. Fox
12 years 6 months ago
A belated report on this excellent Hotel due to the misleading reviews being posted about it!I cannot believe some of the utter rubbish posted to date! Firstly, how can anyone with half a thinking brain expect any Hotel to be full of just British holidaymakers. Good grief people of all nationalities are just as entitled to visit the same place as us Brits and I for one welcome the chance to make new friends. Accomodation brilliant, food ditto, staff friendly location a MERE 15 min stroll to main beach/centre etc, hardly a route march unless you are overweight or possibly totally obese!! Entertainment NOT on par with Las Vegas and you would hardly expect it to be surely, adequate whilst relaxing in the evenings. Again, if not to your taste the resort is hardly short of quality outlets to visit-surely a normal thing to do on holiday?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Shearings

Recommended
Leanne
12 years 7 months ago
Hotel Cleanliness

The main public areas of the hotel such as the lobby and the bar area were as clean as you would expect from a four star hotel. The sheets in our room were changed each day aswell as our glasses and ashtrays washed out which is more than we had expected. The restaurant and snackbar seemed to be hygenic so no worries there.


Hotel Food

Very disappointing. breakfast was totally inedible to the point we skipped it altogether even though we had paid for that privilege. Dinners generally consisted of flavourless salad items, flavourless meat dishes and pasta. The dessert was also very bland and unappetizing with very little choice. How this hotel earned it's four stars when it offers food such as this I don't know.


Hotel Location

It'll take you at least 15 minutes to reach the town from the hotel. In the brochure it stated it was a mere 5 minutes away from the local nightlife. The distance meant no noise from the bars woke you. However if you had spent the night in town and were hoping for a lay in, the building site adjoining the hotel will ensure you get a fairly early start. Something which they obviously neglect to mention in the brochures. Also to spend the day at the beach It will take you at least half an hour to get there, whereas i was told it would only take 15 minutes at most.


Hotel staff

Nothing to complain about here. The staff were good with their english so there were no communication problems. The bar staff were friendly and efficient. During meal time you were seated quickly and your dirty plates were removed from the table soon after you were done with them. However the staff at the reception desk were a little less reliable. They weren't exactly in a hurry to help with your requests.


Entertainment

In the main bar the entertainment was generally poor. We mainly just sat and had a drink and a chat until the Hotel disco below the bar opened up. The disco was adequate. The music played was generally aimed at the spanish public (who rarely entered) and when modern english/american musicwas played songs were repeaed throughtout the night eachnight. There is fun to be had in this little bar but this is more to do with who else was in the club at the time rather than any skill of the hotel's. We didn't see any childrens entertainment but from what we heard it was the usual party songs you find in every other hotel.


Would we visit again?

Absolutely not. From reading the brochure we were supposedly staying in a hotel aimed for the young as it is close to the nightlife. Unfortunately we were the only people under 25 in the whole hotel, and probably two of the very few people under 50. This wouldn't have been too much of a problem if it hadn't been for the looks of disgust or shock on peoples faces when we walked throught the hotel as if we had no right to be there. The nightlife and restaurants were too far away for our liking as when you've been in the bars you generally want to fall into bed, not walk for 20 minutes. a Four star hotel? Not quite.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: melitours

Anon
13 years 3 months ago
Olympic Gardens

Hotel cleanliness: Overall the hotel was average, but the rooms were never cleaned - only the beds made - which meant that there was still dirt from the previous occupier of the room scattered around under the beds, chairs and in the wardrobe. Overall; below average.

Hotel food: For a 4 start hotel, the food was extremely poor, and we honestly felt was had been tricked into coming to the hotel based on the bogus 4 star rating. Essentially the eating areas (they cannot be called restaurants) are located in 2 rooms, one of which serves appaling food with very little variety; i.e. only 1 vegetable, flavourless meat dishes and cheap desserts. As you would have expected in a real 4 star hotel, the guest would make an effort to dress at least smart/casual, but there was no rule indication about what you could where hence people turned up in beach shorts and flipflops. Having moved from this very poor cafeteria on the first evening we went to the second cafateria which is bigger and is eseentially where most of the other European guest stay (mainly French, German and Italian). The food was marginally better, but only really would fit in a 2 star hotel at best. A little more variety, but food was re-served from the evening before - especially the desserts, which just had something extra added to them - which is absolutely unacceptable. The other very annoying 'feature' this cafeteria is that even though there was at least 2-3 staff standing around, you would end up with around 4-8 plates stacked up on your table before one of the staff realised they should be collected; this is the strangest set-up I have even see in a so-called 4 star hotel. Overall; very poor.

Hotel Location: Hotel location is OK, and is about 15-20 minutes walk into the centre of the bar/restaurant area in Lloret. It was fairly quiet (except when the overly loud evening entertainment started) and would be OK for families. Overall; average.

Hotel Staff: Again, for a 4 start hotel the manner of the staff was unacceptable. During check-in they really did not greet you as guests, and remained indifferent about the whole procedure. They did not even give you a short run-down of the hotel facilities, times of opening etc. The cafeteria staff were even worse and did not even take you on when you politely asked them for something - it was almost like they did not want to be there. On some occassions they were rude and really didn't lend themselves to help you or your family. Overall; very poor.

Hotel Entertainment: Can't say much as we never went, but from the overly loud show host, it did not sound very original or very interesting - pretty average/standard stuff you'd expect at a hotel that should be rated a 2 star.

Summary: Absolutely NO - we would not go back this hotel based on the reasons above and also from the point of view of a non-smoker, you would be simply overwhelmed by smoke in virtually ever public part of the hotel. This is not good if you have allergies to cigarette smoke or are concerned about yours and your childrens health. Please did not fall for the description and classification of this hotel in the brochure as they are simply not true. Overall - very disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC/Thomas Cook

Daz
13 years 4 months ago
Sorry to put a downer on any ones future holiday but stay well away if your English/British the hotel and 90% of the resort do not want to know you. My family and I felt as though we had two heads it got to the point where we only spoke our native language in our room so as not to upset anyone.

We actually stayed in the Olympic suites rooms were very good as were recently refurbished.

The hotel bar area was like sitting in departures at terminal one Manchester airport "ABSOLUTELY NO ATMOSPHERE".

We paid 2600 for two weeks half board we only ate in the cafeteria (cannot think of anything else to call it) four times then only because the wife made us, breakfast was no better so even gave up there spent a fortune on eating out.

After 5 days we asked our rep to be moved to the hotel Samba although a bit run down the people who stay here are down to earth real people. The pub down stairs is basically for the English holiday makers Russell, Rob, Caroline, Sharon, Jose and Pedro all work, there honestly really great people and certainly made our holiday for the last 9 nights.

Hopefully we will be returning there next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum