Image of Royal Star Hotel

Royal Star Hotel

17 of 33 hotels in Lloret de Mar

3 out of 5 from 76 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda de la Vila de Blanes, 70, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Girona, Spain

76 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    24
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kathleen Wall
Wouldn't bother
3 years 7 months ago
The accommodation was very basic, no kettle and you couldn't get a hot drink anywhere until restaurant opened at 07.45, so if your an early riser take a travel kettle. They don't have a fridge but you can hire a mini one at 3 Euros a night. It is a plastic cup system for All Inclusive which means you can only get one drink at time of which it is only a half pint size cup. This was a pain as my partner and I drink at different speeds!

There was no entertainment, no shuttle bus, no reps, the food was inedible and there were loads of stag groups and hen nights to keep you awake at nights, literally all hours coming in banging doors and shouting.

The rooms were cleaned every day and the pool area was clean. I asked staff for bus times into Barcelona and they didn't have a clue.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

Hotel tip: Avoid if you want an All Inclusive holiday and don't want to pay for anything as this hotel charges by the minute it seems for anything they want to.

Robert Ridley
Not for families more 18-30.
4 years 5 months ago
Well I will start with the positives, hotel was very clean and the staff were great and very friendly food was the usual all inclusive that you get fish, chicken, soup and pork, the salads were great and the fruit was fresh. The swimming pools were cleaned every day the best thing about the pools they didn’t open the doors until 9 o’clock so no towels on sun beds until then. The animation team were great my daughter went to the club every day and nothing was a bother.
Now the negatives the say it’s a family hotel well that’s rubbish there were more German, Belgium and Dutch youths than families. We were on the first floor they were under us and next door ,they were very loud banging doors at 3,4,5,6 o’clock in the morning got about 2 hours sleep the first week end. On the fourth night they were kicking doors and the security man came up and sorted them out. I complained the next day and demanded they moved me and my family as my 7 year old daughter was very upset. I got a room facing the pool with the stairs. Was like another hotel I was in. I would not recommend this hotel with small children. Just a pity, this would have been a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave.com

Hotel tip: Get a room on highest floor possible, keep way from first floor as they put the German, Dutch and Belgium youths in there.

Pete Atherton
Dirty filthy horrible place
4 years 5 months ago
This place is horrendous, very abrupt staff, the all-inclusive is a joke, it’s a card system designed to frustrate you and believe me it does. If you are aged over 25, avoid! Rooms very small, wall paper was thin, full of youths, there were 2 days when one of the above decided they wanted to throw excrement from the balcony to the pool are that was full of kids. The hotel didn’t care. The toilets around pool area broke and over flowing. This place is a total disgrace. Worst ever.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Hotel tip: Do not stay here.. Worst ever so called hotel I have stayed in

Pete Atherton
Dirty filthy horrible place
4 years 5 months ago
This place is horrendous, very abrupt staff, the all-inclusive is a joke, it’s a card system designed to frustrate you and believe me it does. If you are aged over 25, avoid! Rooms very small, wall paper was thin, full of youths, there were 2 days when one of the above decided they wanted to throw excrement from the balcony to the pool are that was full of kids. The hotel didn’t care. The toilets around pool area broke and over flowing. This place is a total disgrace. Worst ever.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Hotel tip: Do not stay here.. Worst ever so called hotel I have stayed in

Pete Atherton
dirty filthy horrible place
4 years 5 months ago
This place is horrendous, very abrupt staff, the all-inclusive is a joke, it’s a card system designed to frustrate you and believe me it does. If you are aged over 25, avoid! Rooms very small, wall paper was thin, full of youths, there were 2 days when one of the above decided they wanted to throw excrement from the balcony to the pool are that was full of kids. The hotel didn’t care. The toilets around pool area broke and over flowing. This place is a total disgrace. Worst ever.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Hotel tip: Do not stay here.. Worst ever so called hotel I have stayed in

Ian
9 years 8 months ago
The hotel was kept very clean, however the food was poor, very repetative and certainly not of the standard expected from a four star as was advertised. The location was between Fenals and Lloret and although across a busy road, the walk into either resort was a pleasant one. The staff were a mixed bunch, some were polite and helpful but some were very impolite and rude to the english guests whilst giving preferential treatment to the spanish guests. This attitude towards the British may possibly be explained by what seemed to be quite a few guests who had arrived with mental health problems. Because the entertainment was so poor for the British visitors the only form of enjoyment for them seemed to be "get off yer face drunk". We got a real good price at this hotel, the other guests kept us amused with their antics and as a one off break we could hardly complain, but do not come here with family or kids esp if you are offended at bad language or behaviour.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

C Pearce
10 years 2 months ago
Very clean hotel, friendly staff and excellent choice and standard of food...and lots of it! Location between Lloret centre and Fenalls. Ideal for us as away from hustle and bustle but easy enough to walk to either. Only downside...think we went on a week when all oap's from other nations arrived! So were surrounded by noisy (lol) old folk who at times were quite rude. Overall though (even though the weather was like home!)we had fun and a laugh which is what holidays are all about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Next Escape

Recommended
Rachel
10 years 3 months ago
just got back no way is this a four star. no umbrella's round the pools every bar shuts at 12 no place to sit out at night apart from near one pool and its like plastic city.right next to a main road.
Hardly sny kids stuff for them to enjoy. if this a spanish four star i would hate to see a two star have stayed in better three stars at greace. the food was not that bad but i have to say thank god it was for only aweek.one more thing spain is not cheep any more the euro has made prices rocket had one meal out and it cost more than what we pay at home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: co-op

Sweeney
10 years 3 months ago
The food was boring, repetative and cold. The hotel staff (apart from the maids)were unfriendly and unhelpful. The location was not safe for children because of the heavy traffic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Sandwick
10 years 4 months ago
On arrival I was a bit shocked to see how how far were out of the centre and adjacent to an extremly busy main road.A good 15 minute walk to the centre of Lloret- definatly not for people with walking difficulties.

However, check in was great, with been all inclusive you have you photo taken and given your own personel ID card to use in the bar (kids get their own too), 2 drinks per adult card, 1 per childs card. Drinks were better in the smokers bar downstairs as given in glasses & not plastic beakers unlike throughout everywhere else in the hotel, plus the staff in there were great, very chatty and pleasant.

Food I thought was fine, always a good choice of salad,hot & cold meeats, even had sprouts, carrots, cabbage on through the week which I have not seen before in Spain, sweets were a little repetitive & no mushrooms, black pud or tin toms for breckie. Had a chinese banquet one evening, paella and roast beef.

Staff were helpful and always greeted you with 'hola' & a smile. One grumpy little man in the upstairs bar who's name I cant remember!

Hotel entertainment was quite poor for an all inclusive hotel, pool games, water aerobics, shuffleboards, darts etc during day , evening was rubbish-your'e best to go out to town or take you drink to your room & make your own entertainment.

Rooms were clean, but air conditioning is switched off at 5am for some reason??? so you are awake early cos your burning hot.

Only downside to our holiday was meeting the most obnoxious, ignorant man I have ever had the pleasure to come across!! apparently he comes to this hotel every year for the same 2 weeks (last 2 in july) and takes over! he has a daughter with learning difficulties who was lovely and didnt understand the problems her father was causing with other guests. He was calling one lady a fat pig and give her rude signals in the resteraunt in front of her 10yr old daughter and a travelling companion who also has learning difficulties, It all started because she moved HIS sun lounger over by a few inches!! you know th ones you are not supposed to keep! he then had the cheek to lecture this lady on the disability laws( I later found out that she is a nurse & lectures at college and Im sure she should have been the one lecturing Him!!)

One rule for him and another for every one else I suppose- when reported to the hotel management they turned around & said "he very nice man" .

I will definatley not return to this hotel in those 2 weeks just to be on the safe side LOL!



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday nights

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum