Image of Monteplaya Hotel

Monteplaya Hotel

6 of 14 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Passeig MarĂ­tim, 50, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Suitable for those looking for a relaxing holiday with lots of activities. The swimming pool with its cascading waterfall provides the centrepiece for this delightful hotel. During the day you can relax on the terraces, soaking up the Mediterranean sunshine.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Amanda Evans
Excellent hotel, food and location
7 years ago
We stayed here in August. The rooms were spotless, nice pool view.

The food was excellent, one of the best hotels we have stayed in for food. We have a fussy 17 year old but he even found something to eat each meal.

The location was excellent and we would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Emma
9 years 10 months ago
on arrival hotel looked very nice and clean,receptionist not very helpful.our room was on the small side but very clean, towels changed daily.breakfast ok but sausages and bacon didnt look appealing.dinner ok but basic, chips everynight plenty of sweets.walls are paper thin in bedroom and noise from above also very annoying late at night.entertainment ok but not for children,happy hour on drinks changes daily,some drinks are expensive.location is good can walk to santa susanna
and across road to beach.pool very small and not in the sun allday,you get an allocated time slot for dinner and are expected to share table with strangers.bar area gets very smoky if non smoker very uncomfortable.overall very good for price paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended
C Madge
9 years 11 months ago
Hotel room was cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis , the room was extremely small and basic , with an unpleasant outlook , the main issue being the noise coming from a basketball court below the room , The Hotel alsom must have paper thin walls as every sound could be heard.

Food was good , enough choice for everyone , location excellent near to all shops and beach , with an unoverloooked pool even though the pool itself is quite small.
The staff barely cracked a smile all week although they were on the ball as far as service is concerned.
Entertainment was ok again something for everyone. although i'd say this is a quieter hotel, a place to stay if you want to avoid riff raff.
I'd say its probably one of the nicer located and smaller friendlier hotels on the malgrat stretch and i'd consider staying again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: shearings

Recommended
Mrs Bullock
10 years 2 months ago
We just returned from the Monteplaya, Although the hotel is lovely and clean, it is not suitable if you are under 60 or travelling with children. We had four children aged from 10 to 15 and they were shouted at on numerous occasions by the grumpy staff to be quiet. We were even shouted at to be quiet by an old dear in the next room at 11.30pm while out on balcony watching thunder and lightening!!
The breakfast was okay, but evening meal left a lot to be desired, chips were served all week, as well as squid and veal, whatever was left over was disquised as something else the next day, chicken nuggets were served for breakfast.Desserts were the same every day, do try the mousse it is interesting!
Malgrat is a nice place, Santa susanna is more modern and up to date, Try the Balck Bull and The Eureka Bar they are really friendly and good value for money.
We would go back to Malgrat again, but definately NOT to the Monteplaya.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris

A Fisher
10 years 3 months ago
My husband, 2 kids aged 7years and 7months and myself have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel (today in fact). Staff were friendly although sometimes a bit grumpy. Hotel was extremely clean, Fresh towels and beds made every day (if you dont leave items on them).
Food was made for the foreigners, if your looking for the slightest bit of english food then you will find none here. Breakfast wasn't to our tastes at all not one single english bit of food so after that we ate out every breakfast time, which defeats the object of paying for half board. What ever was left over was reheated for the next day and disguised as something else. Evening meal eating times were from 7pm till 8.45 but you are allocated a time slot and table. Ours was 8pm which is quite late for the kids, the manager noticed that we had eaten out one night and changed our eating times which was nice of him.
Nothing for the kids whatsoever, although we were shocked to find we were the youngest there, aged from 7months to 29 years every one else was 50+. BOGOF in the hotel bar only happened once while we was there. Usual price for alcohol, about 3.20 euros for a pint and 4.50 for a spirit with mixer (quite dear i think. Glad to say we will not be returning to this hotel, but if your 50+ and enjoy spanish food then its ideal for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris accomadation

Katherine Goodall
11 years 10 months ago
Arrived at the HOTEL MONTEPLAYA, does'nt look too bad from the outside but the inside is very basic.
The bedroom was clean but the decor and condition of the room was more worthy of a 2star hotel.
At breakfast the next morning we found that the food was in keeping with the condition of the room and was very very basic.

At dinner that night because we were in a party of 2 we were expected to share our table with 2 strangers which I felt was unacceptable.

GOOD POINTS; The staff were very nice and it had a good central location
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Matthews
11 years 11 months ago
Hotel was welcoming and friendly. Food was not up to the standard we would have liked.

As usual the crowds walking the main streets meant you were weaving about and as we had a buggy with us we found that walking to the Santa Susanna end was not practicable.

We stayed around the pool all day and found that as long as you put your towels out by 0930 you could have a sunbed but as the weather was not always sunny it meant it was a bit hit and miss.

Staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly - if only the food was the same.

Will not be coming back to Malgrat again it has changed too much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Ibbotson
11 years 11 months ago
Stayed in the 'playa' on a half board basis. Room was spotless and cleaned everyday, communal areas were constantly being cleaned and the pool water was tested twice at least during the week to ensure its tip-top condition.

Pool was very good despite some people's reservations about how many kids were in it. What did they expect, the kids to sit and watch the adults whilst they swam in it.

The hotel was full with a good mix of families from right across europe and that made for a great experience (its nice to mix with our european cousins). The food was better than I expected but they do some strange things with the eggs at breakfast which was a bit of a disappointment at times (I like a good breakfast).

Only downpoint was the lack of refridgeration in the rooms, it would be a nice extra to offer which I suggested on the feedback form the hotel provided.

Overall, great value for the money paid and we would definitely stop there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris

Recommended
Stevenson
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel was not bad.
The rooms were clean.

The food must I say was not good at all, we paid half board but ate out for 12 days of them, not for the British.

The pool was not very big.

No entertainment, only if you are Spanish.
Not for families.

Would not come back to this hotel if you have kids not for them at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Claire
12 years ago
We stayed in this hotel it was lovely really clean and frendly. There is air con in all rooms which helps, there is a park in the hotel for children. This is an overall very nice 3 star hotel and we would return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum