Image of Maripins Hotel

Maripins Hotel

2 of 14 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

5 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Passeig Marítim, 20, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Neil Wilson
Fantastic Ferris
3 months ago
This will be the third time traveling to spain with ferris for my self and my family. Some peoples reviews i have read do annoy me. Yes it can be a bit uncomfortable at times on the coach and Yes there might be some delays but the service is fantastic and affordable . Hotel Maripins is Top Notch , it was a three star when we first went and now is a four star. The ferris Rep at the hotel is most helpful . Cant wait to go this august. Nice one Ferris and hotel Maripins
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris Coaches

Hotel tip: All rooms at Maripins are great with great views

Recommended
Jim Davidson-Ferguson
Back again
2 years 7 months ago
Just back from another visit. The hotel is now officially a 4 star hotel.

I stayed in room 702 with double bed and great views over the pool and sea. The rooms in this block of the hotel have all been upgraded since last year. The rooms have been upgraded with new beds with thick mattresses, new linen and furniture. They also have new flat screen TVs on the walls. They have BBC news and CNN in English which I suppose is all we can expect now that you need the internet to get other BBC/ITV channels. The bathrooms have also been remodelled with new shower cubicles and very effective showers. There is a hair dryer. The room I was in had a separate toilet to the shower room.

The outside area has also been transformed with new decking and new sunbeds and furniture. There is a further area of decking at first floor level so there are now a lot more sunbeds. They still provide a great service with most of the old staff still there. It is always nice to be remembered when you return. The choice of food in the restaurant has increased with more hot dishes for dinner and a wider selection of salads. The quality of the cooking was excellent. They also had hot rolls at breakfast and a huge selection of bread and croissants at every meal. They had a chef at the hotplate most nights grilling meats and fish.

There was entertainment some nights, I expect they will offer more during peak season, and although I did not see any other guests did tell me they were impressed with the acts.

They have been doing All Inclusive, you get a wristband. You get local drinks but if you want branded drinks you have to pay half the price other guests pay. The house wines on the All Inclusive at lunch and dinner were surprisingly good with the rose being particularly good. Their bar prices were reasonable if you are not on All Inclusive and compared well with the local bars and you can get a reasonable bottle of wine at dinner for 6 Euros.

This has always been one of my favourite hotels but after seeing the improvements they have made it just gets better and better. I will definitely be returning here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris

Recommended
fantastic refurbishment
3 years 7 months ago
Just back from another visit and this hotel has been renovated over the winter since they became part of the Fergus chain.

What a transformation!

All the rooms have been upgraded with new beds with thick mattresses, new linen and furniture. They also have new flat screen TVs on the walls. They have BBC news and CNN in English which I suppose is all we can expect now that you need the internet to get other BBC/ITV channels

The bathrooms have also been gutted with new shower cubicles and very effective showers.

The outside area has also been transformed with new decking and new sunbeds and furniture.

They still provide a great service with most of the old staff still there. It is always nice to be remembered when you return.

The choice of food in the restaurant has increased with more hot dishes for dinner and a wider selection of salads. The quality of the cooking was excellent.
They also had hot rolls at breakfast and a huge selection of bread and croissants.
They had a chef at the hotplate most nights grilling meats and fish.

There was entertainment some nights, I expect they will offer more during peak season, and although I did not see any other guests did tell me they were impressed with the acts.

They have been doing AI; you get a wristband. You get local drinks but if you want branded drinks you have to pay half the price other guests pay. Their bar prices were reasonable and compared with the local bars and you can get a reasonable bottle of wine at dinner for 6.

I asked about upgrading to AI from HB and was quoted 20 per day which I thought was a bit expensive but if I was with friends I would probably have paid this, but as I was on my own this time it was not worth it to me.

This has always been one of my favourite hotels and like many other regular guests I did wonder whether the new owners would ruin the atmosphere of this hotel but after seeing the improvements they have made it just gets better and better.

I will definitely be returning here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris

Hotel tip: get a room overlooking the pool to get the benefit of afternoon sun.

Recommended
Jimd-f
yet another visit
4 years 5 months ago
I'm just back from another visit to this hotel. This has always been one of my favourite hotels in Malgrat, but this was the first time since the change of owners to Fergus hotels

On arrival, at around 9.30am I was checked in and had to return to get my room key at 13.00. I thought they had done away with this shambolic system of distributing keys as it can take an age to get your key.

My room was very clean with a pool/sea view, thank you.

TIP - request a pool view, proper seaview rooms are in short supply, and you will also be able to see the sea and get the sun in the afternoon/evening.
The TV (with BBC world news/CNN and a Kids channel), toilet and a/c all worked fine. There is a hairdryer in the rooms. Please Maripins get a proper British TV channel like BBC1 or ITV nobody watches the world news channel!

The hotel in general was kept very clean. One of the best features of this hotel is the balcony up the steps from the pool where you can get the benefit of the sun for most of the day. There are a limited number of beds there. The pool is adequate for the hotel with plenty sunbeds, tables and chairs.

The terrace staff do a great job and will bring drinks etc out to your table/sunbed. They have a separate grill in the restaurant where they have a chef cooking various dishes fresh. The quality of the food/choices available do seem to have dropped from the excellent standards of before although what they did offer was very well cooked. The restaurant Manageress has a good memory and seems to remember all her previous customers.
In the restaurant they have soft drinks/water at 1.85 and 1.45 and bottles of wine at very reasonable prices starting at less than 6
.
There is an internet Pc in the bar area and a book exchange in the reception area..

They do have the normal holiday entertainment, with singers/dancers of various standards but the parrot show is always a good night.

I thought this was an excellent break in a very good hotel, and for the money paid it was great value.

I will definitely visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended
Brilliant Hotel
5 years 3 months ago
We have been going to this hotel twice a year for the last 6/7 years we are in our mid 50s and never found a friendlier hotel from staff down to guests you see the same people return year after year so that must tell you something, from reception, restaurant, bar and cleaners treat you as though you are one big family.
You can always find something at mealtimes so no one need ever go short and it is the only hotels we have been to that have plumb tomatoes on at breakfast time.

There are children’s entertainment and the music entertainment was very good especially a band called D Covers who at the end of the night got the crowd shouting for more.
They do a discount card in the bar where you can load a card up with 20 euros and have food and drink from the bar at a discount rate when you get your receipt it tells you what the items should be and what you have paid for them, which was good.

The rooms are always kept spotless and over the last couple of years they have had hairdryers put in the bathrooms and safes in the bedrooms and the TV remote is free of charge.

This hotel is facing the sea and in the middle of the shops but situated so the entrance to the hotel is up a path with gardens so it is nice and quiet what more could you ask for perfect.
Since we have been it is no longer a serhs hotel but has moved to the Fergus Hotel Group.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Excellent complex during mid-high season.
5 years 7 months ago
I've just back from another visit to this hotel.
This has always been one of my favourite hotels in Malgrat, but this time it seemed as if the staff had not properly got into top gear. There was nothing badly wrong, just a lot of little things that niggled.

This hotel is situated on the main street, opposite the beach, with the railway line running between the road and the beach. It is in one of the best locations in Malgrat.

On arrival, at around 9.30am the check-in was very quick, the room was not ready but I was told to put my case in the baggage room as they have separate rooms for arrivals and departures- and return to get my room key at 12.00.

My room was very clean with a pool/sea view. The TV (with BBC world news/CNN and a Kids channel), toilet and a/c all worked fine. There is a hairdryer in the rooms. Safe deposit box was 20 Euros plus a 10s Euro refundable deposit.

The hotel in general was kept very clean but I felt the rooms were not cleaned very thoroughly. Little things like the ashtray not being cleaned and the balcony not being swept rather let it down this time.

One of the best features of this hotel is the balcony up the steps from the pool where you can get the benefit of the sun for most of the day. There are a limited number of beds there. The pool is adequate for the hotel with plenty sunbeds, tables and chairs.

The food was well cooked and there was plenty of variety. They have a separate grill in the restaurant where they have a chef cooking various dishes fresh. They have a toastie machine at breakfast with ham and cheese available, and also garlic and tomatoes beside the normal toaster for Spanish toast.

They do have a drinks cart in the restaurant and the staff will go round with this selling soft drinks/water and bottles of wine at very reasonable prices.

There is an internet computer in the reception area available to use for a fee.

There was no entertainment during the week of my stay, but I tend to avoid this anyway. During the season they do have the normal holiday entertainment.

I thought this was an excellent break in a very good hotel, and for the money paid it was great value.
I would definitely visit this hotel again as I am sure, from previous experience, that the little glitches I experienced were solely because it was just the opening week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Good
6 years 2 months ago
Great hotel on seafront entrance in between shops and also another entrance to pool area. Good food for price and excellent choice rooms cleaned every day and towels changed every day as well.

All hotel staff very friendly and helpfully not much entertainment on a night time but plenty of hotels and bars to go to in area .Lovely clean pool with sun beds near pool and also on sun terrance .

The pool is very cold takes your breath away but soon warms up when you get in .Walls quite thin between rooms but we had no problems and the hotel was full.

Would go back to hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Great Little Hotel
6 years 6 months ago
This hotel is a great little hotel. A few feet from the beach and bars near to everything, but it does not feel too busy.

We had half board which in other hotels we have stayed in can be hit and miss, we thought on the whole the food was good we did not need to eat out in the evening at all and the breakfast has something for everyone a cooked breakfast or cereal and toast and many other choices.

The hotel was clean and all loos are really clean. That’s one of my pet hates dirty loos and this hotel provides good clean loos .the bar and outside areas are spotless and so is the pool area. The bar staff are all great.

The entertainment surprised us ,you never get entertainment every night ,this hotel gives you good entertainment every night ,and for children the entertainment girl is great ,we did not have kids with us but she works so hard all the time we cannot fault this hotel and we will go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Berry Family
8 years 2 months ago
Overall, an excellent choice -a good standard 3 star hotel in a nice location - room pleasantly spacious with a good arrangement for the kids,i.e, a dividing wall forming their own 'room' and'proper' beds too - not put u ups which is what I expected. Cleaned everyday, you'll have no problems from that angle.

Food was brilliant - do not take any notice of the idiots that say otherwise- they'll be the ones that came expecting chicken nuggets, chicken tikka masala and meat and two veg. Instead, you'll find a great imaginative salad selection, at least one fish dish, a couple of meat based dishes, loads of veg - I could go on & on but see for yourself - it's great. If there was one tiny criticism, I thought it was a little mean to not offer some kind of drinks with the meal, even if it was water - I thought
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently booked

Recommended
Anon
9 years 1 month ago
We booked through the internet. Flew with easyjet to Barcelona airport, the transfer is longer than from Girona airport but still not too bad. This is 3rd or 4th time to this hotel and again it's fantastic. Hotel very clean, staff friendly. Food is excellent in my opinion, always a large range of food to suit all ages and all nationalities. Entertainment is ok, depends what's on. Pool looks nice and never too crowded. Lovely terrace to sunbathe on, and also sunbeds by the pool. Bar does some snacks and drinks throughout the day. Only problem we had was some kind of football event during the time we stayed (i think it's the 3rd-11th October), a lot of kids running riot at night time and a lot of noise from the rooms, the reception staff did persist in shouting at them though after complaints from other guests and eventually it did go quiet at nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None - Booked On Internet

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: